The Great Mac Vs Windows Debate

Discussion in 'Tech Zone' started by Hidden, Jun 30, 2010.

1. Hidden

Hidden New Member

Mac=Better software to run the given hardware? Sexier? An accessory?
    PC=Cheaper, more power , worst software?

What do those running both think?

2. scaR

Mac = For people who want to look trendy smart.

PC = People too smart to buy a Mac or who simply can't afford one.

Two major things have happened that makes this a mostly superficial choice. Apple moving to Intel processors and the advent of Windows 7.

3. gambitt

gambitt New Member

What about us folks who use a PC but don't use windows?

Macs: Prettier. More expensive. Much nicer OS than windows meaning generally more stable and less to worry about when it comes to viruses etc.. Can't just upgrade the hardware when you see a man selling a video card or cpu second hand.

Windows: Gosh, I can't tell you how much I've grown to dislike windows. Having to worry about viruses, malware, drivers, installing drivers BEFORE plugging whatever usb device it is in, degragmenting, worrying about updates, worrying about if it'll recognise the hardware properly.:rolleyes: Sadly it is still the most common, and therefore the one that gets to call the shots. Most programs are easiest to get for a windows machine. I understand that 7 is supposed to be a major improvement over vista. (Still want nothing to do with it.)

Ubuntu on PC: Free. Upgradability of PC. Most hardware works perfectly when it's connected (glaring exception is that blasted MagicJack p.o.s.). Free software, and by free I mean free and actually legit. ;) Not having to worry about viruses and malware as much. Some things are harder to get working right and strange crap sometimes happens for no apparent reason,:confused: but the community is usually pretty helpful when you can get them to understand the need to speak in s-i-m-p-l-e e-n-g-l-i-s-h and give basic instructions for you to follow. Have to be willing to accept a certain reduction in ease of use, but in my experience and opinion very much worth the whole not having to use windows. Gaming can be a pain in the ass unless it's a very popular game and winehq has a gold or platinum rating for it, even then you might run into some glitches.

I interact with ubuntu as my home machine, mac in work (though very little work is ever actually done on it), windows as that-piece-of-crap-mudder-so-and-so thing the rest of the family members keep having trouble with. :D

4. Dn2

Win= more access to diff software. end of story.

Linux = has potential but meh.... and maybe some specialized applications but thats about it. and open ent? average joe better of with windows. less games than win

mac= abobe suite, some video app n' editing stuff, other than that normal users can do the same stuff on the other 2 OSs (mac also has a few cool smaller apps i wouldnt mind on Win), less games than win

it kinda also depends on what you're about too
    oh...i dont hav a mac btw@op

5. Hidden

Hidden New Member

Agree with both of you. I have friends that use Macs and rave about the video /photo editing, and the simplicity of the machines.

I also have friends that do heavy programming for very prominent companies in the US , and THEY also swear by macs as their primary mobile device...not just as a way to 'look trendy'.

6. mojo

Video Editing Performance on Macs has never been superior to Windows for the past 10 years... Anyone who says otherwise is probably still using a PPC Mac so...
    Here's some reading:

http://videoediting.digitalmedianet.com/articles/viewarticle.jsp?id=9806&afterinter=true
    http://www.digitalvideoediting.com/2002/07_jul/features/cw_macvspc2.htm
    http://creativemac.digitalmedianet.com/articles/viewarticle.jsp?id=589477&afterinter=true

At work I have to use both platforms because of Apple's very retarded policy that their software can only be legally run on Mac Hardware. Which app do I use most on Snow Leopard? - Firefox (isn't that obvious?). Other than web browsing, I have to use the Iphone and IPAD SDKs for development.

I work in a slightly different environment from your friends and while I can understand why someone may have that opinion, my position is completely different. It's all dependent on your job requirements and the tools you need to get your job done. Of course, I'm pretty sure that your friends would never suggest that performance on mac is better than on PC but rather the platform that they develop for has better support on mac.

I do development work on Enterprise Applications for multiple Fortune 500 Companies around the world and as stated before I need to use both platforms. Because of the wide variety of technologies used for solutions, a Windows environment is the only viable platform for my mobile machine.

My personal preference is Windows 7.

7. Dn2

i meant more software wise...but its close to even now ah days i think

bleh at win7...will leave that for a new pc

8. Nike

Nike New Member

mojosama is right

if you see the WALL of text i just RAGE out just now but i delete it

this is just my opinion

Windows is the best thing in the world

Mac looks pretty

i used TONS of macs at work and TONS of windows PCs and server 2008 stuff as well Linux servers too!
    i was one of those ''Linux Fanboys" when i was young and stupid.....ohhh Linux servers are the best thing since kiss slice cake UNTIL I ACTUALLY USED IT ALOT and let me tell u sumthing I DONT CARE IF THAT SHIT IS FREE....I BUYING MY DAMN WINDOWS 2008 SCREW THAT CRAP.... OMG I RAGE AGAIN

ok ok windows better
    mac is for people who wana look pretty (which is sumthing i dont have a problem with anyway)

whatever u like GO FOR IT :D:D:D:D:D:D

9. Hidden

Hidden New Member

PC performance for the win.

10. kriminal

i like linux eh, but dayum just imagine trying to install a plug-in for firefox... PITA...

Mac: i dont do video editing.. yet.. so its of no use to me..

Windows: as doobs say = it pays teh bills :)..

11. ecktt

agreed

12. Gravedamn

Gravedamn New Member

Windows- User friendly

Mac OS- Little to no known malware available.

13. bill

the grandmaster has spoken.

14. squarepants

squarepants New Member

at the end of the day windows is what every1 going with. it has support for ALL of your games, its what your most familiar with, when you build your custom pc you gonna install windows on it, you do your homework on windows, you have your porn collection on windows, you grew up on windows etc etc

i admit macs are nice but they cost alot and is hardly versatile as windows. if you got a crap load of money and willing to forsake some games, go mac. the only reason mac is more virus free is cuz less people use it.
    windows is always gonna be the virus/malware king.

15. zWereWolfRipper

zWereWolfRipper New Member

As Much as this is a dead discussion I just have to say this and may be someone out there will understand.
    Macs and Windows are two completely different devices. Which makes them impossible to be compared to one another. You have all heard of Apples and Oranges and how they can`t be compared. It`s the same here windows and macs while both being "computers" they operate and function in entirely different ways and carry out functions completely differently and which one is "better" depends entirely on the person who needs to use the device. I love both and use both for different things **Cough..Cough..Hackintosh** The only real answer to this debate is your very own personal answer which is good for you and you alone. Weather it be Mac, Windows, a Linux distributionals or even Fedora and Unix. It all depends on you the person buying the machine.