Soul Calibur 5

Discussion in 'Console Couch' started by kaizen, Jan 16, 2012.

1. kaizen

SoulCalibur V is the upcoming sixth installment in Namco's Soul series of fighting games, and will be released for the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 in 2012.The game will take place 17 years after the events of SoulCalibur IV. The main protagonist is Patroklos, the son of Soul series veteran Sophitia, while her daughter, Pyrrha is the deuteragonist. The only revealed guest character so far is Ezio Auditore da Firenze from the Assassin's Creed series.

Jan 31, 2012

Trailers.
    *NEW* "http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CEu9bqg6txM"]SoulCalibur V - Story Mode Trailer - YouTube
    "http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Giy96FeOntE&feature=channel_video_title"]"Soul Calibur 5" Debut Trailer - YouTube
    "http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6EVLRUV58rQ"]Soul Calibur V 'Cinematic Trailer' TRUE-HD QUALITY - YouTube

Character Trailer.
    "http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aHyfdTQYW8Q"]Soul Calibur 5 Characters Trailer - YouTube
    Character Creation
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TMZsoVPnchE&list=UU_ntXHv-XdKCD7CPynVvnQw&index=24&feature=plcp

Enter Ezio.
    "http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h0rzhVcaAv8"]SoulCalibur V - Enter Ezio - Official Character Announcement Trailer - YouTube

Dampierre (Best buy exclusive DLC character)
    "http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uYZ-9kD4BWw&feature=relmfu"]SOULCALIBUR V - Dampierre DLC Trailer - BEST BUY Exclusive - YouTube

Some how to play videos.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ebaw83w2R9o&list=UU_ntXHv-XdKCD7CPynVvnQw&index=15&feature=plcp
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ZS_TrHRYq4&list=UU_ntXHv-XdKCD7CPynVvnQw&index=16&feature=plcp

And extras.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jBKezB9m2wQ&list=UU_ntXHv-XdKCD7CPynVvnQw&index=13&feature=plcp

I've enjoyed the soul calibur series all round though 2 still being my favourite I hope this one is as enjoyable.
    All that being said this gets the official kaizens HYPE stamp :D.

(Info on the collectors edition etc as I get it.)

2. New Era Outlaw

New Era Outlaw Active Member

Wow. Don't get me wrong, the game looks good, but I'm so sick and tired of Nightmare and Siegfried. Also, it looks like Taki and Seung Mi-Na have gone the way of the dinosaur, so I think I'll pass.

However, I'm not going to lie, Dampierre is hilarious. However, the fact that he's a best Buy exclusive and not in the game to begin with is just stupid.

3. kaizen

Well they replaced taki with this new girl so I'll still give in. Possibly taki will be a dlc character who knows, a lot of fighting games used recycled stories so I don't really look at that aspect anymore.

4. Larutus

If you sick of Nightmare and Siegfried how about you just don't use them? Doesn't look like this story revolves around Siegfried anyway. I missed out on SC4 but I always wanted to use that female knight character, Hildegard i think? New character with a similar moveset to taki is always welcome, 17 year time skip... i liking the idea...

Just give me a decent online MP and i will purchase

5. Geese

The story has always revolved around Sieg and by extension Nightmare. Nightmare is the physical manifestation of Soul Edge so he'll always be around as the main series antagonist.

What I wanna know is what kinda sorcery Ivy using on them jugs for them to be the SAME WAY after 17 years..

6. mokofig

mokofig New Member

I remember playing kaizen and blade dem in the arcade in soul calibur 2 in sando like it was yesterday best soul calibur ever gonna get this one as well liking the new characters.

7. New Era Outlaw

New Era Outlaw Active Member

I've never played as them. But if you want to know my reasons why I dislike them so much:

If the characters are compelling enough, I'd bite, but this is what each character amounts to:

Siegfried: I regret everything. I'm a good guy, so I must atone for my actions!
    Nightmare: RAWR I'M EVIL

Yeah. A sword wielding hero with all the personality of a cardboard box vs. a possessed sardine can who's evil JUST BECAUSE HE'S EVIL. And Namco sees fit to keep it this way FOR FIVE GAMES. Like a Mishima (or anyone related to one) winning a Tekken tournament.

Also, read some of the comments below the Siegfried vs. Nightmare intro vid that Kaizen put up. Reactions are mixed. I'd have to agree.

8. Ragdac

Ragdac New Member

From soul edge, didn't siegfried kill his father casue he was playing badman bandit?

9. Larutus

since when has sequels sharing the same last antagonist been a big problem in gaming though? I think you over thinking and nit picking a bit on this, i am not a fan of either character either, but i just don't play them, only time i did would have been in part 2 when they had this kinda quest mode that had you playing various characters.

10. kaizen

I've updated the first post with a new trailer we are 1 week away from launch baby :D!.

11. kaizen

Bump because I can know I said I'd get back to you with the collectors edition info.

"http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ndNLNPxDK4s"]SOULCALIBUR V Collectors Edition Unboxing Video w/ FilthieRich ! - YouTube

12. kaizen

LADIES AND GENTS IT'S HERE!.

"http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6hlUnvaHwUk"]IGN Reviews - SoulCalibur V - Video Review (7.5/10) - YouTube
    XBOX magazine gave a similar review

Don't really care what they said about the story part of the game can't wait for my copy :D.

13. kaizen

Finally got my copy today

[​IMG]:D

Online seems to work fine so far played a few matches with my friend in San Francisco and it ran smooth as for ranked matches it takes sometime to find them other than that I can't complain loving it so far.

14. Imperial_X

Imperial_X New Member

Good morrow fine sirs. I am to inform you that you have approximately 1 month before I repossess all your base. Enjoy the time afforded you...

Imperial_X
    --------------------
    Soul Calibur 5 Management

15. kaizen

prepares to hide offline.

16. Larutus

steupse.. i not buying it again

17. Geese

Was home today feeling like absolute shite so I popped this in and played Story Mode (voices were annoying as ****) for a little bit. I'm liking the game, I hope some people pick it up. Might take the plunge and get the guide that I hear is pretty solid.

18. groff[MFK]©

Notice that this game still have some beef inno ... needs to talk to rb on this one ....