Go Back   TriniGamers > Games > Computer Gaming > Battle.NET 2.0

Notices

Battle.NET 2.0 Blizzard Entertainment's online gaming service.

Old 20-07-10, 03:57 PM   #31
Dn2
They Shall Bleed...
Trinigamer

cows

___
“Revenge is an act of passion; vengeance of justice. Injuries are revenged; crimes are avenged."
Dn2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-10, 05:21 PM   #32
Minist0r Of Chaos
Trinigamer

Send a message via MSN to bill
allyuh realize, this is blizzard we talking bout, every 2 outta 10 people i know play wow and every 4 in 10 play sc and wanna buy it, and daz only in trinidad.

1) blizz doh make shit
2) bnet seriously going to be fb for gamers and nerds
3) who not going to **** when the expansions come out
4) no lan? who does lan anymore? , if the only thing u can run is a lan most likely u still play UT GOTY or SOF 2.
5) nobody waiting for SC2 everyone brushing up on their SC micro and trying to play the demo.

and $60 for a game now eh notting special :/ old ps3 games still be $59.99

IF U CA HANDLE THE E-TALKS GET OUTA THE CHAT ROOM

Last edited by bill; 20-07-10 at 05:25 PM.
bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-10, 08:13 PM   #33
Phoenix
Trinigamer

Quote:
Originally Posted by sue View Post
1, the price is hottt! especially for anything other than the basic edition
2, no LAN support for an expensive game
3, they split the game into three parts, making *3 the money
4, they had the community waiting for about 3+years since the initial revelation of their first demo video
5, forced zone barriers, asia, europe, north america (if you wanna play cross server, buy more copies)

1. @ 60USD price aint really that hott for a highly anticipated title eh

2. that have nun to do with pricing of the game... whether it was 30 or 60USD for the game the no Lan support woulda be a problem

3. well it is three full games according to blizzard you know, it wouldnt have been "complete" with just one title and they wouldve had to delay launch again... according to what i heard

4. what that have to do with greedy pricing?

5. i think zone restrictions were in place for awhile no? not just starting with sc2...
isnt that more of a bnet thing?

Antec P182 mirror
Q6600 @ 3.6Ghz (450Mhz x 8 @ 39c)
OCZ 8gb Reaper 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15
2 x Sapphire 5770V2 (CrossfireX)
Asus P5Q-E
Coresair HX1000W
2 x WD Rapter 150GB
SB X-fi XtremeGamer
phoenix31tt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-10, 06:12 AM   #34
Sniper Rifle
Administrator

http://www.gosugamers.net/starcraft2...g-wsj-corrects

SC2 did not cost $100 mil to develop.
Quote:
$100 Million Figure Wrong, WSJ Corrects

Posted by Roy "Phantom[xz]" Kwan 9 hours ago
The Wall Street Journal has recently made a correction to a previous article they published in regards to the development cost of StarCraft II that was false.

An article published by the Wall Street Journal several weeks ago reported that StarCraft 2 had cost over $100 million to develop. They have since corrected this mistake and stated that the $100 million figure was actually in reference to the development cost of World of WarCraft.

In response to this article, Blizzard reps have stated that Blizzard has never disclosed the development cost of StarCraft II and has no plans to do so.

Links The Wall Street Journal - Source
GosuGamers.net - Original Post
Paradoxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-10, 05:04 PM   #35
Sniper Rifle
Administrator

Quote:
Estimating a profit margin of 45% on the $60 game
http://www.foxbusiness.com/markets/2...expected-sold/
Old 30-07-10, 01:15 AM   #36
Phoenix
Trinigamer

http://starcraft.incgamers.com/blog/...les-estimated/

lol...

Break even on Day 1... not bad right

Antec P182 mirror
Asus P5Q-E
Coresair HX1000W
2 x WD Rapter 150GB
SB X-fi XtremeGamer
Old 30-07-10, 08:46 AM   #37
Shotgun
Trinigamer

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenix31tt View Post
http://starcraft.incgamers.com/blog/...les-estimated/

lol...

Break even on Day 1... not bad right
Heh.. that's only europe and Americas.. they didn't even count Asia and Australia.. most important about that is South Korea was left off...
TaC_Up is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-10, 10:26 AM   #38
-{Calamity Trigger}-
Web DeveloperModerator

Also includes digital copies, something they've only recently began using to help further assess proper sales figures.

Does Korea count ? They're using a all in one subscription service right ?
Old 30-07-10, 11:27 AM   #39
Phoenix
Trinigamer

Quote:
Does Korea count ? They're using a all in one subscription service right ?
no korea isnt in that... and yes @ all in one service... wow+craft etc...
if they add that they say it would be 3-4 Million more lol

Antec P182 mirror
Asus P5Q-E
Coresair HX1000W
2 x WD Rapter 150GB
SB X-fi XtremeGamer
Old 03-08-10, 02:02 PM   #40
ck
Adeptus Astartes
Trinigamer

Quote:
StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty sold over one million copies on its launch day last week, developer Blizzard boasted today, declaring it the "biggest PC game launch of the year." Passing the million mark made SC2 "the best-selling PC game of 2010 within its first 24 hours of availability," says Blizzard. Going on to sell over 1.5 million units total in the first 48 hours apparently broke "the record for fastest-selling strategy game of all time."

"He who stands with me shall be my brother"
ck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-10, 05:17 PM   #41
Sniper Rifle
Administrator

Is that US sales alone?
Old 03-08-10, 06:06 PM   #42
ck
Adeptus Astartes
Trinigamer

worldwide

"He who stands with me shall be my brother"
ck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-10, 06:36 PM   #43
my skin is not my own
Administrator

Send a message via MSN to scaR
It doesn't factor in Korea where the game is sold on time cards. They make up around 40% of Starcraft gamers. Not sure how well that translates to Starcraft II.

Save some face, you know you've only got one. Change your ways while you're young.
- The Killers, Smile Like You Mean It.

Silently reflection turns my world to stone. Patiently correction leaves us all alone. - The Killers, Tranquilize.
scaR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-10, 01:02 PM   #44
my skin is not my own
Administrator

Send a message via MSN to scaR
Quote:
StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty One-Month Sales Break 3 Million Mark
September 01, 2010 06:00 AM Eastern Daylight Time

StarCraft® II: Wings of Liberty™ One-Month Sales Break 3 Million Mark

Blizzard Entertainment’s Sci-Fi Real-Time Strategy Game Continues Record Sales Pace

IRVINE, Calif.--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Blizzard Entertainment, Inc. today announced that StarCraft® II: Wings of Liberty™ has sold over 3 million copies worldwide in the first month of its release, building on the game’s momentum as the bestselling PC game of 2010 and the fastest-selling real-time strategy game of all time.*

StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty was released simultaneously in North America, Europe, South Korea, Australia, New Zealand, Russia, Brazil, Chile, Argentina, Singapore, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, the Philippines, and the regions of Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Macau on July 27. With day-one sales topping 1 million copies, StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty became the bestselling PC game of 2010 within its first 24 hours of availability. The game went on to sell more than 1.5 million copies in its first 48 hours, setting the record for fastest-selling strategy game of all time, and has won numerous critical accolades, including multiple editor’s choice awards from major gaming publications.

"We appreciate all the enthusiasm that players around the world have shown for StarCraft II," said Mike Morhaime, CEO and cofounder of Blizzard Entertainment. "It was important to us to deliver an overall gameplay experience that was accessible, balanced, and fun, and it’s been gratifying to see how strongly the global community has already embraced the game."

StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty is the sequel to Blizzard Entertainment’s 1998 hit StarCraft, which has been hailed by players and critics worldwide as one of the top real-time strategy games of all time. Sporting a vibrant 3D-graphics engine, StarCraft II once again centers on the clash between the protoss, terrans, and zerg, with each side deploying legions of veteran, upgraded, and new unit types. Unparalleled online play for StarCraft II is available through a new version of Battle.net®, Blizzard Entertainment's world-renowned gaming service. Battle.net has been redesigned from the ground up to be the premier online gaming destination for Blizzard gamers, with several enhancements and new features, such as voice communication, cloud file storage, leagues and ladders, achievements, stat-tracking, and more.

The solo campaign for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty continues the epic saga where it left off in StarCraft: Brood War®. The story line chronicles the exploits of marshal-turned-rebel-leader Jim Raynor and features both familiar faces and new heroes. Players are able to tailor the experience, choosing their own mission path and selecting technology and research upgrades to suit their playing style throughout the 29-mission campaign. Several challenge-mode mini-games are also included, with focused goals designed to ease players into the basics of multiplayer strategies.

For more information on StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty, visit the official website at www.blizzard.com/games/sc2/.

*Based on internal company records, public data, and/or reports from key distribution partners.

About Blizzard Entertainment, Inc.

Best known for blockbuster hits including World of Warcraft® and the Warcraft®, StarCraft®, and Diablo® series, Blizzard Entertainment, Inc. (www.blizzard.com), a division of Activision Blizzard (NASDAQ:ATVI), is a premier developer and publisher of entertainment software renowned for creating some of the industry’s most critically acclaimed games. Blizzard Entertainment’s track record includes twelve #1-selling games and multiple Game of the Year awards. The company’s online-gaming service, Battle.net®, is one of the largest in the world, with millions of active players.

Save some face, you know you've only got one. Change your ways while you're young.
- The Killers, Smile Like You Mean It.

Silently reflection turns my world to stone. Patiently correction leaves us all alone. - The Killers, Tranquilize.
scaR is online now   Reply With Quote