View Full Version : GGXX players

inc0gnit0
04-08-2005, 08:12 PM
Dis is a quick check to see how many GGXX players there are on this forum (or in Gamers on the whole). I was thinking about hosting a tournament in a few months (maybe less) but wanted to see how many people would be interested first. So if you are interested in GGXX and possibly a tournament leave a post. Keep in mind this is a plan in VERY premature stages. If you know anyone else who wouldn't see this but WOULD be interested state that as well please.

04-08-2005, 08:45 PM
are you speaking about Guilty Gear XX or Guilty Gear XX # Reload ?

I would hope it's #Reload since that is the preferred version on the international scene and because there is a pc release of it also.

04-08-2005, 08:58 PM
if it is Reload i will friggin cuss and not compete since i hate that reload toots,plz tell me u havin a reload division and a normal division inc0gnit0 !!!

inc0gnit0
04-08-2005, 08:59 PM
Originally posted by Geese@Apr 8 2005, 07:45 PM
are you speaking about Guilty Gear XX or Guilty Gear XX # Reload ?

I would hope it's #Reload since that is the preferred version on the international scene and because there is a pc release of it also.

Well there's a small toss up there.. To be PERFECTLY honest I prefer #R when it's against other humans (the computer is just to easy for some reason on maniac). The timing is fixed for alot of moves and some tech recoveries were taking out balancing the game alot more. At the same time however, the xbox control in most people's opinion is not very well made for fighting games. It's more popular on the intl scene when it comes to arcade cabinets or maybe the jap. ps2 ver. I don't believe there's an english ps2 version. SO it would be entirely up to what the crowd wants. At the recent AC9 we held a small tournament (was not publicised because it was organised by demand on THAT day). We had both #R on xbox and X2 on ps2. The majority of people asked for ps2 so I would assume we'll be doing ps2 again if it goes that way. If you have any ideas to get past that I'll be happy to listen and possibly apply them.

inc0gnit0
04-08-2005, 09:00 PM
Itachi I think having 2 divisions would come down to the number of people interested. Why the hatred for reload though?

04-08-2005, 09:03 PM
maybe some converters can do the trick
ps2 to xbox converters.

or maybe using a pc with ps2 pads can work

and as far as itachi goes, he just sour cause he does get lixx in reload.

inc0gnit0
04-08-2005, 09:15 PM
How do you hook up a PS2 control to a PC (New to THAT kinda thing)?? Heck if that works I'LL get #R for pc myself!! Where do I get it anyway? And what are the system requirements? Besides a craptastic video card everything else should be able to handle it.

04-08-2005, 09:17 PM
it connects to the pc's usb port...just plug ur ps2 control into it and u good to go

inc0gnit0
04-08-2005, 09:28 PM
Can anyone tell me how much the connector would cost and where I can find it? As well as like I mentionned before where I can find #r for computer and the system requirements? Thanks.

04-08-2005, 09:33 PM
well hq should be able to source one for you , it shouldnt be more than 150$

as far as the pc version of #r goes , just ask around someone must have it lying around somewhere.

inc0gnit0
04-08-2005, 09:43 PM
Ok thanks. Alright let's see who else is interested and what version they'll prefer...

04-08-2005, 09:44 PM
actually i have PC version of Reload lying around (how ironic) if u need it incog u can get it from me

inc0gnit0
04-08-2005, 09:58 PM
Originally posted by Itachi@Apr 8 2005, 08:44 PM
actually i have PC version of Reload lying around (how ironic) if u need it incog u can get it from me

Haha thanks. I don't come down that side a whole lot, especially not now until about summer or so. However you can leave it with Xecutiona and he'll get it to me. You really should try getting into it at the same time though. An example of a change that opened up alot of room for players would be something like:
A Ky player could air combo someone ending in a vapour thrust (I think that's the uppercut anyway), then roman cancel it and dash across the screen to meet the opponent before he landed and repeat. In regular XX the opponent could tech out of it. On the downside there's stuff like Sol's dust loop and other cheesy stuff people may abuse... It comes with the territory. Ah well just drop it off with Xecutiona when you get the opportunity please. Thanks again.

inc0gnit0
04-09-2005, 12:35 AM
Oh Itachi I didn't recognise you by that name... You're Osiris... I've heard a bit about you from... different places. Keeping on the topic of GGXX however I hear you're an I-no player! I have never seen someone in Trinidad play I-no before so it would be interesting. Yeah I know I kinda know alot about different people... Ah well that's why they call me inc0gnit0... or at least after seeing the name in Hellsing it looked cool and Inc0gnitus was unpopular

Styx.
04-09-2005, 01:14 PM
Sign me up.

04-09-2005, 03:06 PM
yeah buh incog yuh wrong dere,i stop playin I-no a while now,i can still play her a bit for novelty value if u want,but my preferred chars are Potemkin,Venom,Ky,Bridget and Slayer

inc0gnit0
04-09-2005, 03:20 PM
Haha my mistake. Either way though I want to see a good I-no player. Wow that's quite a list of preferred characters... :kakashi4: I usually stick with 2 or 3 for the most really good players at a time... Anyway keep the posts coming people. From this site so far we have
Geese, Itachi, Styx and myself, some others outside of that as well and others I'll try to contact. Hoping for AT LEAST 26 men, although I might still run it with les. So keep it coming.

04-09-2005, 03:26 PM
well put up a notice in vga gc and we shal put up one in java to advertise...

u might get some other people not members of the forum from there

inc0gnit0
04-09-2005, 03:33 PM
Originally posted by Xecutiona@Apr 9 2005, 02:26 PM
well put up a notice in vga gc and we shal put up one in java to advertise...

u might get some other people not members of the forum from there

Yeah I'll check scorp bout dat nex week

04-09-2005, 05:48 PM
if this is pc i can find at least 4 more peeps to participate , 2 of em are keyboard ppl.

inc0gnit0
04-09-2005, 05:57 PM
Originally posted by Geese@Apr 9 2005, 04:48 PM
if this is pc i can find at least 4 more peeps to participate , 2 of em are keyboard ppl.

I know a bunch of PC players as well... In fact the winner and many of the players in the tournament at AC were pc players i think... A little later down de line I'll have a vote but I suspect it would end up being console considering what I have to work with and the people that helpin me get everything in order. Still tentative though so don't give up just yet.

UPDATE: For those of you that use bit torrents etc and want the game (with english patches) have fun figuring out what to do here:

ttp://www.hongfire.com/forum/showthread.php?t=14379 (just add the "h", I don't want to directly link... something about bandwidth)

Styx.
04-10-2005, 01:03 AM
Incognito A few questions.

Whare would this be held if you decide to go through?

Did the Anji guy beat you with guard cancel moves? (that's the only way I think they have a chance)

I see you're a CvS2 player. How about we play sometime?

How come games like SF 3rd Strike get no love at these things? Maybe even a little MvC2 for good measure could diversify the turnout.

I'd understand if you want a strictly GG thing going so don't be afraid to give a direct answer on these things.

I think I might be more regular at java when they get their console department going. I.E. Getting a TV and a reasonable area to work with.

04-10-2005, 01:31 AM
yes!!! more 3rd Strike!!
oh and marvel is also good :)

inc0gnit0
04-10-2005, 09:49 AM
Originally posted by Styx.@Apr 10 2005, 12:03 AM
1) Whare would this be held if you decide to go through?

2) Did the Anji guy beat you with guard cancel moves? (that's the only way I think they have a chance)

3) I see you're a CvS2 player. How about we play sometime?

4) How come games like SF 3rd Strike get no love at these things? Maybe even a little MvC2 for good measure could diversify the turnout.

I number de qustions so I could approach them a bit better.

1) Well I talked to scorp and he said it would be no problem, we have two TVs at VGA but de place kinda small. I also talked to Executiona so I might try to work with him if de new Java opens before then...

2) De man have skills... What drains most of your life though (at least in my case) were air throws, regular throws and a combo including his butterfly/bird projectile and a mixup of low and high moves. I think he may have mixed up some throws in there as well... Basically he's just very good at countering and adapting to YOUR movements. I don't recall seeing any real roman cancel or false roman cancel moves however, main guy that used roman cancels waz arucard and a next guy who used sol. I not sure if it too early right now but I loss by "guard cancel"

3) You go rip me up considering I haven't played in a while but my Iori Ken and Akuma MIGHT be able to do some damage once I get back into practice. So yeah we go organise

4) I've heard alot of good things about 3rd strike but to be honest I've played it twice in my entire life. It has potential though. I suppose depending on the eventual venue we might be able to have something for 3rd strike, maybe alpha 3 and if the crowds demand it, marvel.

5) (yeah there isn't a 5 but I just wanted to add something) You know there are alot of fighting games and console games of other genres that people play and don't get the opportunity to test their skills in. Honestly I consider that the true reason for tourneys. The prizes attracts some people and the chance to see if they are truly good at what they play attracts the rest. Bragging rights and alla dat. So if response to this is good and people come together we might be able to hold quaterly tournaments to ease that "fighting spirit" in us. Over the early part of this summer I will be wiling to help organise tournaments in maybe 4 selected games (based on popularity). I have some friends who would be interested as well. But it all comes down to feedback.... *whew* dat was long.. now I hongry

Styx.
04-10-2005, 11:48 AM
You reply so quickly too. I was expecting to wait a few weeks for a response.

Anyway, I haven't played CvS2 myself in a while. We'd both be rusty.

A recommendation against such an anji player is to use your faultless defense. Last I checked, the only thing that could beat it is a grab.

04-11-2005, 10:36 AM
styx, i know how to get in contact with ggxx winner if is anything i could try and arrange a match for u if its possible? you digging it?

Styx.
04-11-2005, 12:03 PM
When java gets their stuff together and organize their business we'll see about that.

04-12-2005, 01:40 PM
I play I-no :D I played in the AC9 tourney too but i sux on console lol
I can only play on keyboard =/
So anyone who wanna play and have a comp i ready for the challenge

04-12-2005, 02:03 PM
Imperial does play EVERYTHING CONSOLE oui :)

xearo-jaosan
04-12-2005, 06:09 PM
Originally posted by inc0gnit0@Apr 10 2005, 08:49 AM
2) De man have skills... What drains most of your life though (at least in my case) were air throws, regular throws and a combo including his butterfly/bird projectile and a mixup of low and high moves. I think he may have mixed up some throws in there as well... Basically he's just very good at countering and adapting to YOUR movements. I don't recall seeing any real roman cancel or false roman cancel moves however, main guy that used roman cancels waz arucard and a next guy who used sol. I not sure if it too early right now but I loss by "guard cancel"

Heh, heh, Heh.....You picked Ky which was supposed to be my weakness. But then again no one really plays against Anji a whole lot so, meh. My hardest Opponent was Nick (Orochi aka Cheese) and he plays with "IT" or Bridget. Ya'll know that the character is a he? Anyway, I don't use cancel moves unless I really have to and that goes for supers as well. I just fight with...confusing combos like my Butterfly attack which when blocked, the butterfly goes up on top of your head and hits you like an aerial hit (so don't crouch block) and as soon as that is executed, I do the mugen(?) attack and hit the slash to go for your feet, or hit the kick to stomp BEHIND you. If lets say you jump...big mistake because like he said, I adapt to people's moves and I will notice you jumping so I will run up to you and do that (uppercut) throw grab. Basic combo....Ex Anji is the real stinker.

I like Johnny too :coolthumb: I am just as stink with him. I even caught a guy with the destroy. The trick with any destroy is to wait till someone jump. Just before they land you buss that destroy on em. Their guard is very weak to any attack just before landing so they get caught with the destroy.

Anyway I said too much :kakashi4: When is the next Tournament?

xearo-jaosan
04-12-2005, 06:13 PM
Originally posted by janus@Apr 12 2005, 12:40 PM
I play I-no :D I played in the AC9 tourney too but i sux on console lol
I can only play on keyboard =/
So anyone who wanna play and have a comp i ready for the challenge

AHH This evil bastard has been practising on the control so...AHHH!
(YOU R NOTHING WITHOUT A KEYBOARD)

inc0gnit0
04-12-2005, 07:35 PM
CORRECTION... I don't play Ky... However he's my weakness as well... I play Millia (launch relaunch mixup! just didn't know how to do it then... or FRC for that matter)... was just testing her against you guys though. I'm very impressed with your skill levels and hopefully for the tournament (if I have it) we'll meet up again...
I'm wondering however, how do you guys feel about teams? I was thinking teams of two? I'm not sure when like I said and I still need feedback. Jaosan would the others be interested? Meaning Pantin and dem?

Styx.
04-12-2005, 07:47 PM
So you're the winner of the tournament?

How about a few games at the new Java then?

As with any strategy(including the one you posted) there are usually flaws. Some characters because of their abilities make it harder to exploit these flaws but they're there none the less.
As you say, you making movements in accord with the opponent makes it all the more powerful so bigups for that.

The best bet against would be to use faultless defense as I said earlier. Its the GG version of pushblock at the cost of tension/super meter.

Anyway, I'm looking for a good challenge out of you hopefully agaisnt my better characters.

xearo-jaosan
04-12-2005, 09:52 PM
Well Icognit0 to answer you 1st, I have taken much a lix from Millia (once upon a time in Guilty Gear X (Without the 2) ) and I got it from Arucard AND Orochi. Only until many moons l8r I learnt Anji and Johnny and fought through Millia (Plenty Gel) and as well as Axl. But now Axl is way too cheap for me to play with and I am content with Sol, Johnny, Anji, Justice and maybe testament. Maybe I can stand a chance against Millia now :banana:

Teams eh....hmm I never really thought of that but I know everyone would join (just because its GGX). But as who would get paired would be...not good for our Opponents. If Orochi and I get paired then its "IT" and "Floop d Loop". And well Arucard can hold his own with Armitage. Talon might weed out the N00bs for us which is always a good thing! But...sure...teams...why not.

(I hate Ky, all that dam blue lightning)

And to Styx I wanted to play GGXX in Java for the longest while but Janus said something about the Client bla bla *technical mumbo jumbo* and I have a feeling that they would be too lazy to change anything just for GGXX unless of course everyone started to act like Mengsk.

Anyway, you will definately get new challenges and I hope to learn too...I have no idea how Java people does fight :unsure:

inc0gnit0
04-12-2005, 10:07 PM
lol You talk relll big you know... Well for the time I admit you have the ability to back it up however. If you ever need a little practise though lemme know. I sometimes in HQ for my lunch break playin it on xbox (gyaaad).

Anyways I guess I may as well let out the whole plan now:

teams of 2
let's say team 1= A and B and team 2= C and D

a vs c b vs d
a tally of each team's total wins is taken

team 1 would then play team 3 who just played team 4. team four would then play team 2
at the end of the round robin total wins are added and top 4 teams move on

Before I continue to speak this stuff out can I get a yay or nay?

04-13-2005, 12:08 AM
ok now reading through this entire page again i noticed EX Anji and Justice being called. You aren't using them in like tournament play or anything right ? cause if my mind serves me correctly only normal characters are supposed to be allowed in tournaments.

Any Slayer players around ?

Styx.
04-13-2005, 09:11 AM
Jaosan. The new java is supposed to have a tv I think. That's what I've been told anyway. I'm waiting on that to develop before I bother calling anyone for the session.

Teams would be gay sort of. I mean, there are people who I'd team up with yes but I think it would be in the interest of fairness to go solo battles. Mainly because some teams will be uber weak, or one may have a weak link and cause a loss. Stuff that can make the event a bad experience on the whole and such.

04-13-2005, 12:22 PM
New Java would have a TV yes. But not on opening day it will follow along a little after. We have to figure out a good way to manage it at a reasonable cost to the company.

Can this be done on PC, using the necessary adapters for ps2 pads?

04-13-2005, 01:09 PM
Yea... can't wait for GGXX in the new Java (hopefully). I needs some new people to play against :D And yes I am nothing without a keyboard :(

Oh and incognito who are you lol
You seems to know who I am

inc0gnit0
04-13-2005, 05:03 PM
It's kinda hard to answer a question like "who are you?" (especially with the name "inc0gnit0" lol) but errrmmm I was helping to get names for the first tournament and I was trying to switch opponents with people out of fear hahaha. I know who everyone is basically by listening and watching from distances.

Para I've been talking to some people (most of whom are the people helping me set this thing up, while I'm the spokesperson for it there ARE others behind the scenes) and most of them asked that it be done on console. Even #R owners are worried that there may be slight differences in frames per second and whatnot... So I was thinking that pc owners may complain for the same thing. In the end it may be quite troublesome to make the adjustment... unless people are willing to help out here and can guarantee there will be no big difference, even then I'll still have to check with people.

Geese I'm glad you mentionned that. I will now say that NO ex characters or unlockable characters will be allowed. You're right, by usual tournament rules it is not allowed and I saw someone pick ex chipp in the last one and abuse the shortened recovery time of some moves like his beta blade.

Styx I'm glad you also gave me some feedback on the teams. I was trying to simulate Korean and Japanese tournaments as closely as possible. In most tournaments I've dloaded and watched the people are separated into teams of 3. However it works where one person plays until he loses and the next team member comes in and plays the person who won... something like:

a vs b winner b so d comes in as next team member for a. He beats b so c comes in to replace him and so on. I was also trying to avoid 2 minor problems with the rest of the rules. One is that some people will not feel satisfied or pleased with their attempt if they lose in the first matchup. Having a round robin would have avoided this. The other problem was that people do not enjoy playing against people they usually play against and although picking is random, this often occurs anyway.

So here's what I'll do: Everyone suggest what YOU think would work best. Teams, round robins all of that. I'll pick what seems to make everyone the happiest.

FINALLY how does the second weekend in July look for the tournament? ;)

04-13-2005, 09:53 PM
Ohhhhhhh
Yeh i know who you are now :banana:

04-13-2005, 10:08 PM
3 on 3 sbo style would be kickass ....but not for GGXX locally :P
I think the Street Fighter scene would be more adequate for a 3 on 3 tournament setting. It would be easier to find balance off teams with skilled opponents cause SF has been a core game all over Trinidad....anyways..

Round robin would be cool , but there is the time factor involved. 3 on 3 would take ages in round robin. Double Elimination maybe better but would also be time consuming although not as much as round robin.

You've got the time to check framerates and whatever, from what i've seen on a few boards the radioshack converters seem to have the least lag/framerate issues. Also for the keyboard ppl, their is a possibility that LAN play using Fierce Gear would help to fix the keyboard vs keyboard thing.

theres also experimental online play with fierce gear

www.combovideos.com <- check there for info.

Also if any help is needed with the organisational part of the tourney i'd be willing to help. I got my fair share of knowledge on this issue and I'm real strict with rule enforcement :P

Styx.
04-14-2005, 01:11 AM
I think the round robin would work.

inc0gnit0
04-14-2005, 06:01 PM
Ok so far we looking at a round robin... still skeptical whether to keep it 2 on 2 or not... I'll let some time pass and some more suggestions come in before I decide to change that fully. Oh as for a change of date maybe mid to late june would work better. I was trying to account for school students and all but it doesn't look like I'll have to...

Well people, it looks like we have enough people (18 tentatively) to make this thing official. I'll do up some flyers after one last talk with people involved and we can get this thing properly rolling.

xearo-jaosan
04-14-2005, 08:03 PM
I have been thinking a lot (mainly because I am sick...I hear AIDS is AIR Bourne wtf?) and I would really not like EX characters in the tournament. Yeah, some of my characters are EX but even I agree that they are tooooo cheap!! ESPECIALLY EX Anji, Testament and Jam! Also the whole teams thing may be too chaotic and kinda lame when you have to place faith in your friend winning and you have no chance of helping them except verbally. Clan wars sound more appealling. :P

A big Screen? Wow just like SIp and HQ! (Hardly saw people on that though. But I say keep the dam screen for only GGXX! Yeah games made by capcom and freakin marval are dred but jeez nothing amuses me any more about those OLD games. GGXX - Fresh! New! Sexy! Crisp! And how would the pay system work for that screen? Hmm...I might not play just because of $$$. Janus and I are trying to save =/ )

So icognito...you are @ HQ...That means you've run into Talon! LOL! (He plays cheap huh? That's how we play...in any game except SOF...bleh) Anywayz, I say just have another tournament when the next anime city comes. For once the bunch of us might come is cosplay. But not as any anime character...you'll just have to wait and see.

But wait...teams suddenly sound cool again. But no...a lot of people want to kick my ass...but...ARG!

Hey Isuka got 3/5 on XPlay, ha that sux. :laughing:

*Cough* Yeah, very sick, got like, fever and shit.

inc0gnit0
04-14-2005, 09:05 PM
Isuka WAS a let down... It lacks the depth of the others although A.B.A definitely ranks in my top 5 GG characters. To be honest I have not met talon @ HQ. I go there hoping to meet some competition but never do besides fenrir. However I would not mind playing Talon in the future.

Aggh you people and your mixed feelings about teams. The more I think about time constraints the more I lean towards teams however. With a round robin with teams it would take 7 hrs to get to the final 3 on 1 TV. 3.5 if we used 2 of em... Single people however would push it insanely long. The same time constraints is why it would make it difficult to have at anime city jaosan. People would like to watch anime as well. However there could be one... just not as "fleshy."

Styx.
04-14-2005, 09:38 PM
If you are concerned about time, then why are you calling for more participants?

Jaosan, I'm sick too today. And it so happens that my friend told me I had AIDS 2 and blabbered something about it being airbourne. If it turns out that you are him, and I didn't know that, I'll kick you in your nuts man.

inc0gnit0
04-14-2005, 09:58 PM
Originally posted by Styx.@Apr 14 2005, 08:38 PM
If you are concerned about time, then why are you calling for more participants?

Good point... I just wanted the best to come out so we could publicise this game a bit more I suppose. Also entrant fees go towards prize money and any additional fees.

xearo-jaosan
04-14-2005, 10:08 PM
Originally posted by Styx.@Apr 14 2005, 08:38 PM

Jaosan, I'm sick too today. And it so happens that my friend told me I had AIDS 2 and blabbered something about it being airbourne. If it turns out that you are him, and I didn't know that, I'll kick you in your nuts man.

Umm...I dont think it was me..I dont even know who you are unless you are in my A+ class. :34: :wacko:

Well if teams confuses you incognito then by golly it confuses me too. Such work. But I remain, "We do not mind teams" :coolthumb:

04-14-2005, 10:50 PM
old games huh...lol

well if u can play those "old" games u mentioned let me know, marvel especially , i've got a msp just dying to beat ppl.

and i take it there are no slayer players around either ?

Styx.
04-14-2005, 11:37 PM
I'm a Slayer player mayor.

04-15-2005, 03:28 AM
No EX?! :(
Noooooooo..... Too bad I play EX Ino... Altough i could still probably learn her the normal way :wacko: but say wah

I guess if anythin i will jus br comin with Potemkin

hey that rhymed :blink:

Styx.
04-15-2005, 01:47 PM
Potemkin? Hmm. Where's RedBeard when you need him.

inc0gnit0
04-15-2005, 07:47 PM
Wow you playin Potemkin now? Damn you people switch characters like clothes! I play slayer for fun... people who can pull off his bite loop and any air combo with him are usually in a pretty good situation to win...

Styx.
04-16-2005, 01:49 AM
Commence bitter, soul-less maniacal laughter.

04-16-2005, 02:18 AM
laughter is a good thing isnt it :D:D:D:D.

04-16-2005, 01:18 PM
ok i've been playing #R for most of yesterday and this morning using keyboard and arcade stick. Using my ps2 to pc usb converter and arcade stick I found there was absolutely NO LAG or dropped frames whatsoever. I'm not the only person who has checked this.

The ppl with issues probably scared that they gonna get pwned by ppl on keyboard :P :P

chronox
04-16-2005, 01:48 PM
Consider me in with all this if ggxx#r will be running. End Post...

inc0gnit0
04-16-2005, 03:50 PM
Geese I don't think it's the keyboard pwnage as much as the untrodden territory, as well as some people being intimidated by #R *shrug*. However like I said I'll keep mentionning it and see what happens.

I talked to scorp less than an hour or so ago however and mentionned I'll be doing up the flyers, he's ok with it solook out for em in maybe a week or 2!

Styx.
04-17-2005, 02:22 AM
So you're running this on Scorpion's behalf?

Anyway, I would just want to see proper inforcement of regulation. My friend who was in the tournament said someone paused on him and went back to character select. I hope no type of pausing feasco goes on with the upcoming tourney.

Pick your characters carefully and make sure you set your buttons from the options menu type of thing.

I hope for a good showing from this.

Styx.
04-19-2005, 02:31 AM
Does anyone play Millia here?

fenrir
04-19-2005, 09:30 AM
any testament players????? i know i am one

Styx.
04-19-2005, 08:14 PM
Didn't know we had gravediggers in the mix as well. I have to test out something incase I go up against one of you guys.

fenrir
04-22-2005, 09:24 AM
lol guy. any ways, it is my painful duty as one of the organizers of this tournament to inform you pc gamers, that the tournament would only be held on xbox or ps2, that is your only two choices. this is mainly because of the framerate diff, and also because we, the people behind the scenes are biased S.O.B's. deal with it (fenrir a.ka rider36 at v.g.a) :P

04-22-2005, 12:04 PM
Framerate difference my a$$, I already tested this out, anyways seeing that you made the statement of bias I can see what brought on the decision, u better get some converters when you make your final decision. Maybe Gamers should organise its own #R tourney.

Styx.
04-22-2005, 12:53 PM
No Reload? All I can bother to say is, keep it off the xbox. Please don't expect people to play with those horrible controllers. If you must go with xbox, get converters.

All I can say otherewise is...............ITADAKI!!!!!!!1one

04-22-2005, 03:07 PM
If only we had console persons that were willing to leave off their G@TT ties and be FULL gamers ... Only IF!!

Consoles is GAMERS 'weak' point, i shouldnt say that.. cause if we go into it we will dominate... I just find that we dont have the human resources necessary to get a tourney rolling.

Im hoping with me taking up T5 that this will chance and that Ill have the understanding of the likes/dislikes of the console gamers.

04-22-2005, 03:46 PM
someone got G@TT ties in here :o :o
styx u evil evil man

04-22-2005, 03:52 PM
Please fill me in on the TKE you all got in your sigs.. a new clan or something?>

04-22-2005, 03:56 PM
TKE isnt exactly a clan at the moment, maybe sometime later on it might be but as of right now, not really.

fenrir
04-22-2005, 06:30 PM
ps2 is somthing that we can work with... :kakashi4:

inc0gnit0
04-22-2005, 06:47 PM
Dammit you people started using characters from the gg franchise before I did (at least in your sigs) lol. I wonder does it have to do with the characters you all use? I'm yet to find a pic that I can use. Ah well.

Well you heard from fenrir. If you all manage to find any ps2/ usb keyboard converters however please feel free to bring them and I will definitely accomodate you. Downside to this is that it will be GGXX however. If anyone wants a list of the #R differences to XX differences let me know and I'll be happy to put up a link that will explain them.

Ok as for teams- If you absolutely CANNOT find a partner speak now. If enough people step foward I'll have no choice but to squash it. :sad2: I think the idea of it is really interesting however and it would help the people who are fed up playing against eachother.

I've been tinkering with ideas all week and here's the format I've come up with for THIS tourney (btw just letting it be known that another tournament is most likely to be held although not by myself)

Let's take for example that we have 12 teams. It will be separated into 3 groups of 4 teams each. Those teams have a round robin and the top 2 from each move on. seperated into 2 groups of three and they face off. Winner from each of those goups then square off against eachother. First round robin will be best of 3 matches in two senses:

teamate vs opponent, other teamate vs other opponent

If teamate wins one and opponent wins one then winners square off.

Also in the sense that it will be best of 3 round fights.

second round robin the same or depending on time, best of 5 round fights.

Final fights are DEFINITELY best of 5 rounds.

Whew that was alot... Questions? Comments? Feel free to post!

Styx.
04-22-2005, 09:55 PM
Originally posted by Geese@Apr 22 2005, 02:46 PM
someone got G@TT ties in here :o :o
styx u evil evil man

Hey, who doesn't love to beatdown on Nijelian and company?

Anyway, this ain't Korea Incognito. Don't have your heart set on teams for this thing. Some people who may enter may not know its teams and thus be partner-less. I doubt many of the players frequent the forum to know the ins and outs of how things will be going on.

Anyway, if that whole thing works out, expect TKE to be there.

inc0gnit0
04-22-2005, 10:24 PM
Hahaha Styx my heart isn't set on it. I thought it would be an interesting twist. I'm still trying to get some flyers done and will put them up so people who don't visit can check it out as well. Thanks for the advice though.

04-23-2005, 12:53 AM
well para yuh know i helping with the console department for gamers, it would be nice 2 get some help from some ppl who should be willing 2 pledge 2 be full gamers...not calling no names coughsanthraxcough
but i cyah really be organising any tourneys or anything so for now cause of exams, after that yuh know this go be nice

04-23-2005, 03:04 AM
If you ask me this whole thing about not playin on PC is just an excuse to escape a beating...
FPS difference... oh wow

04-23-2005, 03:40 AM
my sentiments exactly..

04-23-2005, 04:22 AM
well it seems that GAMERS getting a console org group.

inc0gnit0
04-23-2005, 10:27 AM
I am not afraid of any beating on a pc. In FACT Janus I was talking to one of YOUR friends at my school this week who I continuously asked to provide me with a copy of the game and access to converters (by access I mean where I could find them and a price etc. however price MIGHT be an issue) to try it out and see how it runs on VGA computers etc. He said I would get it sometime that week, keeping in mind I aske on Monday or Tuesday. The other people helping with this (including Fenrir) decided it would be short notice for the people we told about it being on console most likely at this point. I seriously would like people to be at their best. I also would like the console side of gaming to receive an extra boost. In the end I will talk to the other people concerned one last time. However I stand firm in saying that I fear no pc beating and am doing the best I can tomake the situation work. I'll post again later today most likely. In the mean time please read this and give some feedback.

xearo-jaosan
04-23-2005, 07:55 PM
Word? One of Greg's friends? who dat boi? Talon? Talon plays Slayer. [full stop] And Janus plays Potemkin. Also Arucard used to play with Millia but since they reduced her linking abilities everyone who played with Millia moved on.
You dont Fear a pc beating? You should. Janus is a beast on a keyboard. Which is why I say "Greg, you are nothing without a keyboard". If you wanna beat him you have to concentrate and try your best and all that stuff.
Hey wait I play with testament...and greg too...

I am inconsistent....
Hey everyone is making a GGX sig...I should make one =/
Word..

Like I said, we would welcome any sort of GGX tourney. Actually I am starting to hate GGX. Ever since that DAM Anime City Tournament, everyone has been playing the friggin game non stop for hours and hours. Dam...game....grrr...But I can't wait to play it @ Java though :coolthumb:

inc0gnit0
04-23-2005, 10:42 PM
Not exactly sure what his name is. Um tallish black fella, naruto crazed.

I resent that millia comment! I'm pretty sure I can still pull off an easy launch relaunch with her. Her linking abilities weren't altered except for the range of the pin. In fact I think she's better now that she can FRC the bad moon and get an easy relaunch or continue a mixup... but I speak too much ^_^ . I'd like to hear from another Millia player however. I really want to start playing #R though. Jam seems seriously improved...

I don't fear a pc beating regardless. That doesn't mean I don't think it's possible. I think it's VERY possible. But I like seeing that the level we're at here is a high one. It inspires me I guess you could say.

"Like I said, we would welcome any sort of GGX tourney" - lol talk to Greg then please? No but seriously I'll really sorry for the inconveniences caused. I went to radio shack in movie towne as well as west mall (hey it's convenient ok!? lol) and neither place seemed to have what I was looking for. regardless think of this tournament as practice. Apparently a couple others will either follow or precede. So can we please look foward to this thing a bit more positively? :(

I probably won't even get to be in the big 4 gaming group tournament thingy as I have CAPE exams next month. heh.

Styx.
04-23-2005, 10:45 PM
LMAO REAL HARD @ Reducing of Millia's linking abilities. I need some of what you're smoking bro.

04-24-2005, 10:44 AM
lol Jason ^_^ Don't worry I secretly keep to myself that I hate it when you pick Johnny... now hes a pain in the arse

What Jaosan means is compared to GGX her linking abilities in GGXX / #R suxx0rz =/

But then again... I dun even care much about the tourney cuz we can still play after it's done neway on console or pc.

inc0gnit0
04-24-2005, 12:38 PM
There ya go greg! Things are hunky dory again...

I still disagree with his comment though... It may just be my extreme bias towards her but being able to frc her bad moon and the bounce effect from her air dust off walls open alot of options. Maybe he can be specific and exlain exactly where it lacks in #R? I'm not being critical I'm honestly just very interested in becoming a good Millia player. And considering the majority of you people will be at Java I'll be making quite a few weekend passes there come summer :coolthumb: So we can have quite a few challenges going!

Styx.
04-24-2005, 05:02 PM
So you got the hang of the hair pin relaunch yet?
How about the FRC bad moon crossup tricks?

If you're doing what I think you're doing, I may have to go for Sol on you man. That's rather depressing.

inc0gnit0
04-24-2005, 07:37 PM
Hair pin relaunch? heh I no longer use the pin for the first relaunch. If I IAD with slash then a simple close slash and crouch hard slash could relaunch. You're right though. Sol pwnz a lame Millia because of his high priority attacks and general fight style. I'm very impressed with your knowledge on the topic. Who's your primary character? And why is it depressing?

*EDIT* Oh and because I usually play GGX2 and not #R I don't FRC her bad moon. I do RC it however.

04-25-2005, 12:16 AM
No no no you don't get it
Hes comparing Millia from GGX
to the one in GGXX

You know! GGX!! The one where dizzy was the boss :P

Styx.
04-25-2005, 12:40 AM
Originally posted by janus@Apr 24 2005, 11:16 PM
No no no you don't get it
Hes comparing Millia from GGX
to the one in GGXX

You know! GGX!! The one where dizzy was the boss :P

Still, its a pretty inaccurate comparison. Millia's galting combos alone could give you too many possibilities for random and planned bs to happen. Anyway, I'm not that great with Millia so its not like I can show you.

I say it would be depressing because I don't intend to use Sol for the tournament. I will if the situation demands for it, and in which case I'll have fun doing it but still....depressing.

Anyway, I'd hate to give away who I play with so early but it really shouldn't matter as you've never seen me play. I'll tell you this though. I play Johnny on a more serious level these days. I'm understanding his combos as well as his pressure game a lot more. Mist Finer/Coin loops look cool as hell too, I have to admit.

Don't be surprised if you see a Johnny guy in the mix. I have other people I play with but I like to spare the talk and save the fun for later.

inc0gnit0
04-25-2005, 06:12 PM
Ohhh GGX! I really didn't play her in that one. Back then I played mainly Ky and Jam.. but not very well. Regardless depending on how I take to other characters when I start playing #R more seriously and manage to find a converter at an affordable price :P I may not play Millia, although I still think she's great.

xearo-jaosan
04-28-2005, 07:39 PM
Yeah, GGX compared to GGXXXXX minus XXX.
Anyway, I was only basing that knowledge of Millia on Orochi and Arucard, who USED TO play with Millia.

YES GREG! YEEEEEES! Feel that Wrath of Johnny!!! Muhuhuhuhuhahahaha *cough cough* *hack, spit* . I'ma gonna learn to play with Robo Ky. And umm...myabe Venom.

Yes greg, we cannot be picky on these tourneys. It's not like we play in much of them anyway. So any competition for us is good. :banana:

Anyway I feel sick so Adios

(BTW, wtf is goin on wit Java?)

04-29-2005, 01:54 AM
A new version of GGXX #R is being tested in Japan. This would be #R version 3. Notable news from the test -

Dust Loop goone
2 "new characters " ABA and what looks to be Sol in a light order costume.
New Music mixes

inc0gnit0
04-29-2005, 07:17 PM
ABA? Muahahaha that will be fantastic. Sol in the light order suit... maybe they'll properly explain his and Ky's belts... No more dust loop? That will hurt sol players... Keep us updated if ya can Geese.

Styx.
04-30-2005, 02:15 AM
If you reason it out, you'll realize that the dust loop is broken as hell. Apart from the fact that it does about half your bar on average is the problem of trying to burst out. Good Sol players bait burst attempts out of the loop and usually relaunch you into another loop which does a fresh set of damage. This usually results in horrible deaths. And good ole Sol hasn't even burned a super yet.(depending on setup used)

Abba should be interesting enough. I'm gonna play some Isuka to familiarize myself with her upfront. Or maybe I'll just wait till the game comes out. Yea, the latter seems more likely.