View Full Version : Backwards Compatible?Halo 2.5? Xbox 360 to be B

cobra
04-07-2005, 04:28 AM
The keen editors over at TeamXbox noticed something interesting during an interview with Microsoft's J Allard. G4 conducted a video interview with the MS bigwig and asked if the "kickass Halo 2 players" would be able to continue their reign on the next Xbox. Allard replied, "We'll have something for those kick ass Halo 2 players on the next system." Ooh, something? Is Halo 2.5 real? Or will the system by backwards compatible? When asked if Halo 2 on Xbox 360 would be possible, Allard gave the same response. When prodded if it'd be backwards compatible, Allard put an end to the discussion: "You keep asking a question I'm not going to answer Geoff. Does that satisfy you?"

READ MORE (http://news.teamxbox.com/xbox/8001/J-Allard-Talks-Backward-Compatibility-Halo-2-and-Xbox-2/)

04-07-2005, 10:22 AM
Its obviously going to be backward compatible, they just fronting. BC is good for markettng and sales. I dont know the architecture of both consoles but it shouldnt be 2 difficult to have the system run both.

Side note:
That was kewl how he put the reporter in his place, them reporters like to pry.

karrion
04-07-2005, 04:46 PM
I think it's a mistake. The Xbox has n't even been around for three years and it's already getting an replacement. The same goes for the NGC. These guys better be careful because they heading for a big market crash if they keep going like this.

04-07-2005, 05:22 PM
as i said when the Xbox was set to release...it would just be a fad...

nintendo has failed me these days with the systems

the gamecube...gba...ds

microsoft just doesnt have the experience

sony was smart by acquiring the former sega ppl into their playstation console...

nw the playstation is the most popular system

and the psp is coming close to the DS in sales!!!!

karrion
04-07-2005, 05:27 PM
Sony does n't own Sega. Sega became a third party and make games for all the systems. They recently aqquired the people who make the Total War games and merge with the peeps who make Berserk and Guilty Gear games.

04-07-2005, 05:28 PM
i am talkin bout in 1993 when sony wooed many of the top ppl in sega to sony to work on the playstation which was released in 1995

04-07-2005, 11:01 PM
hey xbox really is a good system and regardless of the presence of the ps2 they doing rel good so that means in a while xbox will be the leadin system in graphics and gameplay cuz not that i proud but look who makin it.........

cobra
04-08-2005, 12:00 AM
well i just like the xbox because games they are out for ps2 and xbox just looks better on xbox.

04-08-2005, 12:02 AM
once again you buying intop the propaganda...

graphics is not gameplay my youth

like the gamegear and the gameboy

the gamegear had wayyy better graphics but people bought the gameboy because it had better gameplay on their titles

sony has the most game developers....microsoft kinda scroungin around

nintendo has lost the race and i see them slowly fading out like the atari

04-08-2005, 12:25 AM
ok mawer i go agree on the fact that nintendo gon becuz to be honest i found the gamecube a BIG dissapointment HOWEVER wen the xbox now came out.....ps2 was beatin the crap outta it and halo was the only thing that kept it alive but now ps2 is losin its grip on the power it once had and xbox is gettin bigger and better (no pun on the bigger part) and i bet even u can see that

04-08-2005, 12:29 AM
the ps2 stop sellin

no shit sherlock cuz everyone have a ps2

the games coming out are either xbox-ps2 or ps2 alone

other than the very few xbox only titles comin out such as doom 3 etc...

but still you have to take into consideration the versatility of these systems

04-08-2005, 12:38 AM
ok fine we go all c wen the new systems xome out

karrion
04-08-2005, 11:50 AM
Originally posted by karrion@Apr 7 2005, 04:27 PM
Sony does n't own Sega. Sega became a third party and make games for all the systems. They recently aqquired the people who make the Total War games and merge with the peeps who make Berserk and Guilty Gear games.

That never happened. In 1995 Sega had the Saturn competing against Playstation x. Back in those days Sega was the TOP DOG.
This is just another example of Sony fans trying to rewrite history.

04-08-2005, 12:19 PM
well for starters, i'm not sure what knowledge everyone has on marketing and market trends but the length of time of any prodeuct is not necessarily the same as the life span, yes the GCN has only been around for a short period of time, much like the xbox, but keep in mind that the days of 6-8 year console life spans are dead and gone! if microsoft or nintendo is to prosper against sony with the next generation of consoles they need to release their consoles together with sony, not before or after, they need to get their stuff out together and make sure that they have the kickass software to ensure that consumers will see their software as superior, sony never launches a console with a killer app, the ps1 had none, neither did the ps2 and not even the psp.
sony managed to get the largest variety of developers for their ps2 because of the way their ps1 was marketed, the developers saw the value in using cd based media as opposed to carts (it's called planning for the future). what sony did was show that they had something that would make their next console a winner, and for them it was as simple as cd's, for as a result of their disc based media they quickly managed to snag developers of all the major genres. microsoft used a similar tactic this time around and it may very well work for them this time around. at first they were pushing style over substance and it was not working, the success of halo showed them that gamers did not care for the best graphics as much as they cared for an engrossing gaming experience which coupled solid gameplay and witty controls. microsoft's xbox had several titles which they used to showcase not only what the xbox can do graphically but also what it can do with respect to gameplay, and guess what, they did it without the much touted japanese gaming icons of yesteryear. in fact they did such a good job showing off what they could do with the RPG genre that they managed to snag the final fantasy creator from square enix! they also were the only console to consistently launch FPS on their system which were almost on the same level as their pc counterparts (it's really only a matter of preference as some dislike gamepads for shooters), no i noticed that some people hold a belief that all the good games are either on the xbox and ps2 or the ps2 alone and their are very few xbox only titles like doom 3 etc, wake up man. ever heard about the Jade empire, Unreal championship, Pariah, Forza motorsport (hope they fixed the glitch lol)? and yes i agree that graphics is not gameplay but trust me, these days overall presentation is just as important as gameplay and microsoft used the xbox to show that they can do both, and if you still doubting that xbox titles have good gameplay then pick up copies of titles such as ninja gaiden, halo2, chronicles of riddick, project gotham racing2, kotor. the guy mentioned that games available on multiplatforms look like crap on the ps2, nobody wants to know why the ps2 version of ghost recon2 sucks or why the ps2 version of Brothers in arms was so weak or maybe why the PS2 version of soul calibre 2 was the absolute worst? and of course let's not forget online play, something sony totally fakked up by letting each developer handle it independently, microsoft did a vary good job and they are still doing a good job with the online aspect, i mean the ability to use map editors and upload your own maps is amazing.
nintendo... i love this company, but if experience is the best teacher then these guys shouls be the prime example of what not to do! (ie with consoles) Mr iwata told himself, based on japanese only surveys, that gamers do not want to play online and that ruined the cube. think abou this, what if a simple game like super smash brothers melee supported online play , the first metroid prime game and rogue leader had multiplayer, do you have any idea what would have happened to the GCN sales?! their sales would have been so good that every developer would be begging to have their games on the console, alas, that did not happen, and we are left with mainly nintendo first party games which consists of a maixture of overly cute animals, children with swords and fat plumbers with substance abuse issues. i would like to believe that now they know what to do and what not to do, but i'll have to wait and see. i think they will be revealing the next Gameboy at this year's E3 and i think they have that covered.

and on a side note, everyone here is a fanboy in someway or another, myself included, it's just that some people have a hrd time admiting it.

04-09-2005, 08:42 PM
From the latest OXM magazine. They still cannot be certain if the console is backwards compatible.

HALO 2.5? If yuh want to call the expansions that expect to see it at the end of this month. 9 new multiplayer maps to be released.

And the latest rumour and almost CERTAIN is that the new XBOX is being unvield at E3 this year

04-10-2005, 01:51 AM
arnt you going to be there?
I hope you brought a camera.

04-10-2005, 07:28 PM
ABSOLUTELY. Getting a digicam up here in Canada one time.