View Full Version : New Star Wars make or break the series?

karrion
04-04-2005, 11:41 AM
It soon be May and that's when the last Star Wars film is coming out. Do you think the film will really be that good or will it be cac cac hole like the other two films in the Prequels? Will it redeem the entire series or just tarnish it forever? Maybe this film should never been made.

04-04-2005, 11:53 AM
I really like starwars and I decided to take in the full story by watching the story in full sequence, though I have seen IV i havnt seen V and VI (well not fully)

Episode I, episode II were pretty good in telling the tale in my opinion. Most of the story has already been sold out by the media, 'luke i am your father' for instance...

Make or break? i say make!

04-04-2005, 12:34 PM
moving this to the entertainment section :)

04-04-2005, 12:35 PM
heh, right... good moderating ;)

04-04-2005, 12:44 PM
hehe thanks

btw this last movie will be the best of the new triology

show u why vader became vader
and why he is so evil

i read the graphic novel (comic) of this movie

and damn!!!
i am feeling to get all 6 movies sit down and watch them :D

04-04-2005, 01:00 PM
Thats my plan, watch EP I and II then watch EP III in MT. Then take in IV V VI.

From what Im seeing in EP I and II he doesnt seem that evil... maybe misguided?

04-04-2005, 01:09 PM
Ep 1 he was all cute n good, 2nd one u start to see him doing his own (starting to turn to the dark side), 3rd one will be when he completly turn to the dark side.

04-04-2005, 02:18 PM
he made a decision to become what he becomes...

he is really not that evil....

04-04-2005, 04:31 PM
make or break? man this series made long time.

i believe the movie will be very well done, but if it isn't good i doubt it will affect the series in anyway, there are too many good products coming from this franchise for it to go bad.

04-04-2005, 04:36 PM
gosh laruto could be more RIGHT.

Gaming front alone...
KOTOR, KOTOR2, Battlefront.. and i heard there is one called republic commando that should be on the image of the new JGLs at java.

Something I cant wait to finish (so that I may rewatch it in its entirety) is the clone wars. The S3 ones are so kick ass!!

GG Lucas
GG SWars
GG E3? MAKE!!!

04-04-2005, 04:56 PM
hey para speaking of season 3
u got the new eps
can u bring it to java PLZ!

04-04-2005, 05:03 PM
Actually i dont, but ill have it ready for tuesday evening. I just finished with the D3 expansion

04-04-2005, 05:20 PM
although the star wars series is well set

this new trilogy aint so stable
many fans find its not well done and cant live up the the original triology.

so therefore this is the make or break installment of this triology
i think this movie will be able to give the series its credibilty to be called a real Star Wars Trilogy :)

04-04-2005, 06:10 PM
Didn't like Episode I much but I liked Episode II.

karrion
04-05-2005, 08:54 AM
Sorry about posting this topic in the wrong forum,guys. :unsure:

Whether the flim is baddass or not it the whole thing is uneven. It doh matter if it doing the slow build up to the big finale kinda ting, the last two flim was lacking in all sorts of departments. They were not good films on their own where the previous episodes were good stand alone films as well as a trilogy.(Before GL mess them up with the SE.)Cheups.

04-05-2005, 10:35 AM
the reason the build up is slow this time around is because we already know who the bad guys are and that they are within the republic. Unlike the first trilogy where they were in a war from beginning to end, this trilogy was aimed at explaining the development of a character and the breakdown of a friendship.

i enjoyed TPM, it was the first time lightsaber combat ever looked so graceful; and the pod race!!!! i did not like the amount of dialogue involving jar jar or the weak space battle.
i liked AOTC... a little, i felt that it was not as solid a movie because Lucas shouls have recruited an Ast Director who could handle romance movies.

04-05-2005, 10:45 AM
Personally from a n00b point of view these prequels helped my overall understanding of the starwars universe.

These series are based on novells right? like Harry Potter and LOTR? Some where out there, they have the novells for 1,2,3.. etc? Are these novells what you are basing your statements on karrion?

"the movies dont fully depict the novells"
or the movies just plain suck in your opinion?

Educate a SW n00b

04-05-2005, 11:27 AM
Nah...the Star Wars movies came first.

The books are novelizations of the movies (sometimes with a little stuff added).

04-05-2005, 12:02 PM
thx for the info.

Karrion, what do you expect from E III, what events would make you happy.

Im putting you in the directors seat.

karrion
04-05-2005, 12:19 PM
Everything on paper on EP 3 makes me happy. The Emperor is my fave Star Wars character and one of the reasons i love ROTJ.
Obviously the thing i expect to happen is exactly WHY Sidious can fool the Jedi like he doing,why he more powerful than Yoda and exactly how it all works for him,who is he and all. But it seem Ep 3 will give more questions than answers.

But the way the films been executed was terrible.I was excited about TPM and i nearly fell asleep watching it. I was excited about AOTC because it seem more action packed and it had Christopher Lee in it who is one of my fave actors. Yet the film didn't make sense in the love department and the ONLY good thing in the film was when Christopher Lee fought with Yoda while Jango went out like a noob too early, jes like Maul. I just don't want to be burned again. Ticket prices is way too high for cinema where I am.

If it were up to me I would n't have started with the TPM I would start when Anakin was already accepted as a padawan and into the Clone wars. If not I would have edited the bits of TPM that weren't needed. TPM would be better as a novel than a movie.

On a side note ,Paradoxx the books added stuff like Kayode said, that Lucas ended up using in the films. Like the Sith for instance. Vader was never referred to as a sith lord in the first SW movie or even the sequels but because some writer put it in a book and the comics used it at the time it became accepted fact that he was a Sith lord when GL never came up with the name for them.

04-05-2005, 02:27 PM
is mace windu stronger than yoda? For before the new trilogy i had never known any thing about this Jedi Master,But from the Return Of The Sith novel and graphic novel that where released this past weekend, it has some stuff abt Mace Windu that shows he might be stronger than Yoda.Also at the end Yoda and Obi Wan gets a new master-Guess who? :D

04-05-2005, 02:42 PM
K the books for E3 are out already before the movie but if the books are based on the movies... ... How interesting.
Im a n00b aint I!

04-05-2005, 02:57 PM
i found it wierd too that the books have released already.
:s

04-05-2005, 04:26 PM
mace windu is stronger combat and battle wise, he is a Jedi watchman.
yoda's wisdom could be match by few jedi, he is a jedi master.

yoda was originally a jedi consular (like quigon), they focus on developing a keen understanding of the force and why it acts the way it does.
mace was a jedi sentinel, he focused on understanding the force like yoda, but nowhere near his level, he also spent time focusing on learning new combat feats and abilities.

reaper2051
04-05-2005, 04:49 PM
Originally posted by karrion@Apr 5 2005, 11:19 AM
Everything on paper on EP 3 makes me happy. The Emperor is my fave Star Wars character and one of the reasons i love ROTJ.
Obviously the thing i expect to happen is exactly WHY Sidious can fool the Jedi like he doing,why he more powerful than Yoda and exactly how it all works for him,who is he and all. But it seem Ep 3 will give more questions than answers.

But the way the films been executed was terrible.I was excited about TPM and i nearly fell asleep watching it. I was excited about AOTC because it seem more action packed and it had Christopher Lee in it who is one of my fave actors. Yet the film didn't make sense in the love department and the ONLY good thing in the film was when Christopher Lee fought with Yoda while Jango went out like a noob too early, jes like Maul. I just don't want to be burned again. Ticket prices is way too high for cinema where I am.

If it were up to me I would n't have started with the TPM I would start when Anakin was already accepted as a padawan and into the Clone wars. If not I would have edited the bits of TPM that weren't needed. TPM would be better as a novel than a movie.
On a side note ,Paradoxx the books added stuff like Kayode said, that Lucas ended up using in the films. Like the Sith for instance. Vader was never referred to as a sith lord in the first SW movie or even the sequels but because some writer put it in a book and the comics used it at the time it became accepted fact that he was a Sith lord when GL never came up with the name for them.

Actually Darth Vader was given the title Dark Lord of the Sith instead of Sith Lord. Honestly Ep.3 will bring the saga full circle and redeem the previous movies. This film is a definite MAKE and it will be darker than the Empire Strikes Back.

04-05-2005, 09:49 PM
Episode 1 was pretty damn good in my opinion. Espisode 2 had reel action but was a reel disappointment.
Judging from the thrailer this is goin to be a completely amazing movie to say the least.

04-06-2005, 12:38 AM
Heh your sig/avatar matches nicely with the UD skin

04-06-2005, 02:33 AM
I fell asleep during Phantom Menace too...but I wouldn't say it was only because of boredom. I had been working real late the night before.

I fell asleep before and during the pod racing sequence. :lol:

But I really can't fault AOTC much...I thought it was some decent storytelling.

04-06-2005, 02:37 AM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Apr 5 2005, 01:42 PM
K the books for E3 are out already before the movie but if the books are based on the movies... ... How interesting.
Im a n00b aint I!

I had a mind somebody woulda raise that point. I have the Spider-Man 2 novelization here...it came out weeks before the movie.

Remember the novelizations are written using the script. The script is written long before the actual movie starts filming.

An author can adapt a script into a book months before the actual movie is completed. But it doesn't mean that the movie is an adaptation of the novelization. Both come from the same source.

04-06-2005, 02:46 AM
this movie reeks of dissapointment

too much hype

*Xecutiona reminds ppl of matrix revolution

04-06-2005, 04:02 AM
Originally posted by LARUTO@Apr 5 2005, 03:26 PM
mace windu is stronger combat and battle wise, he is a Jedi watchman.
yoda's wisdom could be match by few jedi, he is a jedi master.

yoda was originally a jedi consular (like quigon), they focus on developing a keen understanding of the force and why it acts the way it does.
mace was a jedi sentinel, he focused on understanding the force like yoda, but nowhere near his level, he also spent time focusing on learning new combat feats and abilities.

From what i read, Mace reached a whole new level of combat. There are suppose to be only 6 levels, and Mace is said to have reached a 7th level (which he used in Clone Wars [episode13 i think it was]).

Maybe the hype is to big, but still, from the looks of that trailer, its goin to be just... :kakashi4: :banana: :banana: :banana: :banana: :banana: :kakashi4:

04-06-2005, 09:56 AM
Originally posted by kayode@Apr 6 2005, 01:37 AM
I had a mind somebody woulda raise that point. I have the Spider-Man 2 novelization here...it came out weeks before the movie.

Remember the novelizations are written using the script. The script is written long before the actual movie starts filming.

An author can adapt a script into a book months before the actual movie is completed. But it doesn't mean that the movie is an adaptation of the novelization. Both come from the same source.

K in light of this it makes sense.

karrion
04-06-2005, 12:04 PM
They do that all the time with certain movies,especially Star Wars because some people can't wait to see the film on release day they get all the merchandise available for it before it ever come out. That's why the toys sell way before the flim's release.

Also at the end Yoda and Obi Wan gets a new master-Guess who?

A new master? I thought it was some mysterious person that basically tells Yoda what's going to happen in the next three films and more importantly why it's happening. This is the character that George Lucas is meant to be playing.

I fell asleep before and during the pod racing sequence

So did everyone in the cinema where i went to see it. At least you had an excuse.

Actually Darth Vader was given the title Dark Lord of the Sith instead of Sith Lord.

And nit picking what people say makes you a clever man,don't it?"Look ma I say sith instead of sith lord. Me smart. Can i have a more candy now?" :dribble:

04-06-2005, 02:35 PM
lol at karrion :P

the new master is a jedi who has become one with the force :D

karrion
04-06-2005, 04:22 PM
Yeah so that mus be the cameo that GL meant to be playing.
I hope it also explain how they can do that because before qui gonn it ain't ever happen before.

04-06-2005, 06:04 PM
(had to change my sig, it was to big :(..i go hada resize it yes).
I surprised that i stayed awake and paid attention to the pod race. It jus kinda like 'well the story couldnt do without it, but we could.'

04-06-2005, 06:26 PM
I watched E1 on DVD :) pod race WORKED my Subwoofer.

reaper2051
04-06-2005, 07:58 PM
Originally posted by Xecutiona@Apr 6 2005, 01:46 AM
this movie reeks of dissapointment

too much hype

*Xecutiona reminds ppl of matrix revolution

Xecutiona SHUT YUH MC AND LEAVE DE DAMN MOVIE ALONE!!!! :angry: :angry: :angry: :angry: :angry:

04-07-2005, 01:11 AM
Hey i dont care wat anyone says...episode 1 and 2 still kicked ass and if u say they didnt then u really not into star wars because even though they didnt have action and suspense of the first three, they still give u the story which was more than enough.plus if u see the preview for the 3rd one where the palpatine rushes windu............GOD THAT LOOKS SO DRED!!! I GONER CAMP IN FRONT OF CC8 TO GET MY TICKET.

04-07-2005, 02:06 AM
Originally posted by reaper2051@Apr 6 2005, 05:58 PM
Xecutiona SHUT YUH MC AND LEAVE DE DAMN MOVIE ALONE!!!! :angry: :angry: :angry: :angry: :angry:

hmmmm someone doh want to accept the truth

i guess alluh go hadda see for urself

oh btw u can get a "leaked" version...its online

karrion
04-07-2005, 09:28 AM
Originally posted by Xecutiona@Apr 7 2005, 01:06 AM
oh btw u can get a "leaked" version...its online

No shit, Sherlock..... :rolleyes:

I perfer to see the film at the big screen.Although i eh no big fan of the last two i might as well see this as it's the big deal but meh go see it with de rest of de star wars fans. dey go bring some rel entertainment at the cinema even if de film turn out to be awful.

04-07-2005, 09:35 AM
The movies that I really wanna see, those that I am a fan of Ill watch it at the cinema and not on PC no matter what the quality. Its my way of showing appreciation for the work.

karrion
04-07-2005, 11:00 AM
I'll drink to that.

The other film this Summer is Batman Begins that I wanna really see. It funny because they are films that need to wipe out the general dissapointment of their previous movies.

04-07-2005, 01:03 PM
Reaper control yuhself, everybody have they own opinion. You don't have to flame him because of that. If he think it go be shit then thats him, if you think it go be good thats you. Now nuff of dis stupidness.

I dunno how ep3 will be, if it go live up to the hype or not, but when it comes out i will go to the movies and watch it then judge it for myself.

04-07-2005, 05:26 PM
pinkie the voice of calm
the force is strong in that one...

hhehehe

yeah para thas d way to go
BIG SCREEN itmc!
give gl some money :)

04-07-2005, 10:55 PM
Yes, cuz we all know how he struggling and need the money 8-), lol :P.
But watchin movies on computer (or even on tv) jus not the same as in cinima, no matter how big the computer or tv screen is *-).

04-07-2005, 11:18 PM
Horse pablo right....if yuh really love the show u cant disrespect it by watchin some low quality pirate version that can in no way touch the cinema experience.

*edited for nonsensical and biased content

04-07-2005, 11:43 PM
me like star wars . nice tunes.and nice stuff.DUM DUM DUM ladalda.(star wars song). cant wait for de movie to come out. trailers lookin rel hott.

04-08-2005, 01:40 AM
Episode 3 is not online.

Why people does say stuff like that when it not true? I remember a man on Triniscene forum insisting that the Matrix sequels (both) were online months before they were released in cinemas. Steups.

04-08-2005, 02:56 AM
I aint know about revolutions, but i got reloaded b4 it came out..i regreted that...

karrion
04-08-2005, 11:53 AM
Yeah no wonder. The film was shit,dred but better than revolutions.

04-08-2005, 06:41 PM
fights i wanna see

anakin vs dooku
obi-wan vs general grevious (pablo sig)
mace windu vs darth sidious
obi wan vs anakin (darth vader)

04-08-2005, 06:44 PM
i havent downloaded it but ive seen the file there...i doh kno if iz a fake file or what not...

and kayode...the last two matrix movies were purpousely leaked 2 moths befor the release date

i had revolutions long before the release date

04-08-2005, 08:45 PM
loki the last fight u stated there is suppose to be the greatest jedi battle ever, even though i wanna see windu beat the shit outta palpatine

04-08-2005, 08:52 PM
hehe yeah man
agree with yuh 100%

karrion
04-10-2005, 12:02 PM
But he does n't beat the shit outta Palpatine. He does n't even get a look in.From the pix I seen it seems safe to say that Palpatine owns everybody's ass. Go pensioner power!

04-11-2005, 12:10 AM
actually i think windu and palpatine do fight, and windu proves u wrong..

*please dont post BLATANT SPOILERS OUT IN THE OPEN....

reaper2051
04-11-2005, 03:02 AM
YODA VS SIDIOUS!!!!!

04-11-2005, 11:03 AM
mace will definitely hold his own, but i believe he will be on the defensive for most of the fight.

04-11-2005, 03:04 PM
i dont think mace would be the one be on the defensive for most of the match, he is very offensive

04-11-2005, 03:52 PM
i disagree, when i was really digging up info on the movie i found out that most of the training that Jackson had for this movie was on the defensive line, it seemed as if he would be on the recieving end against whoever they would have him fight.
but say what, i guess we will all see for ourselves in a few weeks

karrion
04-12-2005, 06:32 AM
Originally posted by shadow_hitokiri@Apr 10 2005, 11:10 PM
actually i think windu and palpatine do fight, and windu proves u wrong..
*please dont post BLATANT SPOILERS OUT IN THE OPEN....

How is that a spoiler? We all know Mace gets his ass kicked as well as every single JEDI because THEY ALL LOSE! Everyone knows that. The fact he faces Palpatine kinda signifys that Mace is gonna lose. All it matters is how he lost which i didn't reveal....

04-12-2005, 01:44 PM
no he made other comments that i deleted :P

tells u how mace loses :P

04-12-2005, 11:57 PM
shit hard luck there.........BUT U CAN READ IT IN THE OTHER POST U MADE LOKI...THE ONE WIT THE SPOILER......but then some wouldnt want to know until they see it for themself

04-14-2005, 02:40 PM
well that whole thread is spoilers
to enter there u know u would be spoiled
so is up to the person

u gave no one a chance to decide with ure post..

04-14-2005, 10:32 PM
yeah hard luck there