View Full Version : Anime City sweat report (Monday 28th March 2005)
scorpion
03-29-2005, 09:28 AM
The tournament turned out to be a complete success although anime city itself wasnt such a success at the Lions' Civic Centre! VGA hosted tournaments in HALO 2, Tekken 5 and Guilty Gear X 2.
Halo 2 rules was simple first to 50 kills in a team slayer 2v2 is the winner.
We had a total number of 16 teams of 2 in all. The Halo 2 match went on from 10:00 in d morning to lik 5:00p.m. This tournament was the longest of the threee of course and pretty exciting.
Team Rampage of VGA manages to come first in the HALO 2 tournament. A job well done I must say, they really earned it.
As for TEKKEN 5 we had about 28 participants for this tournament and I am not surprised a guy named Darryl Ahye took it to the top after showing a display of talent against numerous competitors!
Pictures of winners and tourney shall be posted later with tournament structure layout!
Last but not least Guilty Gear X2 had a total of 20 participants but a gamer named Jason Mohommed takes home the prize.
Tournaments well organised thanks to Guru, Rider36, Duane, Kayode and myself for a job well done. I would also like to thanks Rumbelly, loki and G_pinkie for their support at the tournaments!
Scorpion of VGA
03-29-2005, 09:33 AM
waw, good work team!!!
I really like how rum went and get pics and scorp did up his report and (will also provide pics) to those that couldnt make it you all have brought the experience to us.
GAMERS and VGA
thaz ah plan!!
Gamers n VGA was really the plan. Much props to Scorp who offered me the chance to educate members of the public to Trinigamers and Java. The VGA booth highly successful on the day, thanks to the work of the VGA men, and fellas i think scorp should get ah well deserved rest, man look rel tired in the end.
It was good experience in the VGA Booth. :)
03-29-2005, 06:58 PM
yeah boy tha pic of scorp had de man lookin tired oui,scorp how u go deal wit dem venezuelan girls boy !!! they go keep u up more than some kids @ ac u know !!!
scorpion
03-29-2005, 10:58 PM
Ent running tournaments is real STRESS and hard work in setting up!!!! Venezuelan women nawww....that is no big scene....does see everyday ;)
03-30-2005, 05:03 AM
whoa scorp
congrats on the VGA booth @ AC
i must admit it seemed likea huge success
alot of activity and excitement from those present in the tourneys and those lookin on as well
good job, looking forward to more of the same
and doh talk bout runnin tournaments nah ... sigh , that is real bawls !!
hosted a few already, and it doh be pretty nah
at the end of the day yuh does be damn tired, but it does be worth it
especially when yuh get a nice hard fought final ^_^
scorpion
03-30-2005, 11:13 AM
Fuh real that is all facts! Thanks we hope to see more events coming up soon jus the same!
03-30-2005, 01:00 PM
yeah scorp i for one lookin forward to these events,cuz i wanna see more ppl involved in gaming,cuz i mean it have so many ppl out dere who dunno that it have gaming orgs and when i mean ppl i mean skilled ppl who have the potential to do well on a competitive level...
I just hope in the future i have time to attend these exhibitions :( 10 weeks till the end of cxc :) after that i attendin every gaming function it have !!!
03-30-2005, 07:53 PM
From what ive heard on the 'street' ie chats and from ppl from java, the VGA booth was the real 'cool' place to be. Once again congrats on a job well done.
03-30-2005, 08:01 PM
Can anyone tell me what characters the finalists in Tekken 5 and GGXX used ? I've become quite accustomed to getting this info with all the other fighting game tournies i keep up with.
inc0gnit0
04-08-2005, 10:32 PM
Originally posted by Geese@Mar 30 2005, 08:01 PM
Can anyone tell me what characters the finalists in Tekken 5 and GGXX used ? I've become quite accustomed to getting this info with all the other fighting game tournies i keep up with.
GGXX winner uses anji...*mutter*cut my ass with anji *mutter*
Tekken winner uses... ANYBODY... Before the competition started he was beating people left right and centre with mokujin *mutter*cut my ass wit mokujin...*mutter*
In GGXX another finalist used Bridget... Honestly I really liked the variety in the competition character wise. And the competition on the whole inspired me to spend this entire week practising... given the chance now I would have done ALOT better with what I've learnt.
wait orochi was in the finals? for ggxx
04-09-2005, 12:15 AM
Excuse loki guys, he wouldnt know cuz he got his ass beat out in first rounds :laughing:
inc0gnit0
04-09-2005, 12:16 AM
Originally posted by loki@Apr 8 2005, 10:42 PM
wait orochi was in the finals? for ggxx
Not too sure... What does he look like? As far as I can remember there was JaOsan(Anji), a Bridget player who cosplayed as sasuke from naruto and another guy who I think played as Ky... Not too sure bout THAT though. And I THINK 2 of the guys were brothers..
Confirmed: It WAS my friend fenrir/ ryder26 that beat Loki, that's nothing to feel bad for though. He was beating me left right and centre that day also... Today we went at it again though and we were pretty evenly matched, and both improved. I mentionned in another thread in the console section that I may be hosting a tournament, you can get your revenge there. If you're interested head on over there and make a post so I can keep a count.
04-13-2005, 09:22 PM
Yea Orochi (my bro) was in the tourney.. he was in the finals against Jason..... I got my ass by Oro as well :wacko: which sux cuz its usually the other way around...on pc :P
04-14-2005, 09:16 AM
doh worry boy janus we go train yuh up and yuh go swing back for dem :D
btw orochi could play xmen vs sf???