View Full Version : PSP
barnicle
03-29-2005, 02:23 AM
I picked up my PSP today and I must say its well worth it. Especially if your looking for more than a handheld gaming console. I cant wait to pick up a 1gb stick of memory then i'll be in business. so did anyone else pick it up? what games did u get? i picked up need 4 speed rivals.
camrachi-mishima
03-29-2005, 09:49 AM
Picked up mine on thursday morning and I too will admit that I was most impressed by Sony. I got Lumines and Metal Gear Acid. Had a 1 gig memory stick Duo PRO too, so it's all there. I will have Reveiws for Lumines, Metal Gear Acid, and The PSP up on the board soon.
03-29-2005, 10:08 AM
We had a few posts here and a lil talk on whether the PSP is worth its high price along with some comparisons to Nintendos DS.
Im really looking fwd to a picture review.
camrachi-mishima
03-31-2005, 09:28 AM
PSP reveiw is up. Next up Metal Gear Acid
03-31-2005, 09:32 AM
err copy paste it here for reference please
(you put it in the review section?)
03-31-2005, 09:52 AM
Hey camari, is there a region free PSP out? I heard that there is. I did a little research and found that the games are region free but not the movies. I wah pick up one when i fly out this weekend and want to know.
camrachi-mishima
03-31-2005, 12:34 PM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Mar 31 2005, 09:32 AM
err copy paste it here for reference please
(you put it in the review section?)
yeah I did cause it's a reveiw. Aren't you supposed to check it over before it goes up on the main page?
You don't have to worry about being region free or not because you will be buying a North American machine. which will play Japanese games, but not japanese movies.
But why would you want Japanese UMD? :kakashi4:
03-31-2005, 01:24 PM
my bad camri will do.
*update
Give carmi some hits!!
http://www.trinigamers.com/modules.php?op=...howcontent&id=3 (http://www.trinigamers.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=Reviews&file=index&req=showcontent&id=3)
camrachi-mishima
04-02-2005, 11:01 AM
I got online with the PSP today. I mean google and search find and display page. while it doesn't support java it does display frame. works pretty good so far. :kakashi4:
*Sunday update* I got on IRC with the PSP today and it works awesome so far. still limited to one server but the guy who put it together said it's only because it's still in demo phase. They included a vitrual querty keyboard also apart of the built in t PSP keypad. :kakashi4:
04-03-2005, 11:47 PM
well i got one on the 26th of march: 2 days after launch
(got the value pack with tony hawk underground 2:remix and spider man 2(movie) along with the carrying case..memory card and headphones)
over the course of the week the games we got were
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
tony hawks underground 2: remix
untold legends
twisted metal: head on
dynasty warriors
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
what i can basically say is its AMAZING
that DS doesnt have a chance
the graphics are amazing for a portable...
the resolution on the screen is amazing
movies play like a dream
sound is nice
the wifi works perfectly...no lag in games
the interface is also nice and has a more adult feel to it
other than the rectangular feel of the DS
i say: Nintendo has lost the war
04-04-2005, 12:01 AM
ways, I thought it would be a while before i see these things in trinidad. But it seems i was dead wrong.
04-04-2005, 12:11 AM
well i want to kno how he gettin browsing....please tell me
all i doin is playin games now...it workin nice there tho
camrachi-mishima
04-04-2005, 10:07 AM
That my friend, is a secret... LOL. no, it's mad simple. Configure the DNS IP in your wireless router to 67.171.70.72
The setup a second wifi profile on your PSP with the same DNS IP.
Fire up wipeout pure. Go to the downloads section, select the wifi profile with the DNS IP you put in and you will be zipped away to the magic of homebrew browsing on your PSP.
Here's a hint, make sure the Wifi power save feature is off and the browser moves faster. You can find it in your power option on the XMB. Enjoy. :kakashi4:
04-04-2005, 10:31 AM
wda, this PSP getting on rather sweaty!!
Xe you dont got a digi cam at all? some sexy shots of the PSP would be nice.
04-04-2005, 10:37 AM
now if xe did buy the data cable for he v300 den he coulda takea pic with he phone and upload...but noooo d mc eh buy it
but he should bring up d psp 2 java someday...is not like anybody go teif it <_< >_>
/me prepares 2 gangsta xec
04-04-2005, 10:58 AM
Xe shoulda get that when he went up.
Liase with either Jocko or Rum and get some shots taken
camrachi-mishima
04-04-2005, 01:12 PM
The PSP uses a special breed of Mpeg4 type files, and it would not display anything else. So here is my guide for getting movies on ya PSP easily.
You will need PSPVideo9 which can be found here;
PSPVideo9 (http://www.pspvideo9.com/pspVideo9_Install.exe)
PSPVideo9 is the best PSP software out there so far, since it will convert the files and place them on the PSP in the correct directory for you. When you open the program click on the setup tab (it’s a blue Cog), and change the settings to 320x240/29.97fps/768kbps/Stereo128k. this is the correct setting.
Now, PSPVideo9 does not accept all types of files. So you will need another program to convert the movie files into a certain type (.avi), which PSPVideo9 will accept and encode into PSP resolution.
I use this one, very simple, very easy;
Easy Video Encoder (http://www.sofotex.com/cgi-bin/ls/jump.cgi?ID=5315)
It's all simple and easy, enjoy your vids! Please, No PR0N in public!
:kakashi4:
Oh Metal Gear Ac!d reveiw up, Wipeout Pure and Lumines is on it's way.
04-12-2005, 01:27 AM
news item
Half a million PSPs sold in first two days
Sony has admited that while the PSP didn't sell out right away, they are pleased with the sales results. Sony still believes it will be on track to sell 5 million units by the end of the year.
04-12-2005, 02:29 AM
I would hope so. I here in canada and i cant find a d@mn PSP anywhere. I figure i go hadda check next month when i come back :(