View Full Version : People this not nice we have a big problem,,,,,Half Life 2

StaticxXx
10-29-2004, 12:05 AM
Valve have decided to add an extra feature to the installation of their Half Life 2 game. Users will be required to sign up for a free online account to play the game. Once the account is created, the user will be able to play single player and LAN games without an internet connection. This comes after several big title games including Halo 2 and Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas leaked onto the Internet before their official release.

Last year, there was a major security breach at a Valve network and hackers managed to download a huge chunk of the Half Life 2 source code and some other material. Just days after the theft, the source code appeared online and eventually a working beta of the game. This resulted in a delay of the official release of the game of almost 12 months.

It would seem that in future more gaming companies will take approaches like this to attempt to stomp out rampant piracy.

10-29-2004, 12:17 AM
Although a nice attempt by Valve to prevent piracy, the newage pirates can bypass even that! Im sure of it. Once you can play the game without being online there will be a crack.

I am definately going to buy atleast 1 copy, maybe 2 depending on the $$.

StaticxXx
10-29-2004, 01:35 AM
i really hope so yes cause i would be bad to rush somthing that we can`t play

10-29-2004, 12:44 PM
The w@r3z ppl wouldn't put something for download if we can't play it. Once its available for download from a well known 'group' we can be assured that its a working copy.

NB dont spell wa r e z on the site, search engines might pick it up.

10-29-2004, 11:05 PM
yeh well that is simple they wud jes put a lil crack and there u go...

wat bout de pl without an internet connection

the crack shud b easy jes to put a file fooling the program that there is an account

10-30-2004, 03:45 AM
is true

i know valve will make a important issue to play online where is it big

but as for crack for nocd operation its a must

like ut2k4 they have removed the disc check and we can actually run the game with out the disc

but seriously if u do enjoy the game buy it or we wont see any new ones

StaticxXx
10-31-2004, 12:47 PM
yuh come real open there dread

But strange enough the man is right ,,,,

If we really love this game try and buy it....