View Full Version : A Gamer's Rant

Dn2
08-30-2008, 05:26 PM
Rant?

Well...to be frank...i think the only thing that's holding back gaming in Trinidad and Tobago is us...the gamers...

Lack of gaming events/tournament is solely our responsibility.

You may disagree ans say that it lack of sponsorship, media coverage, acknowledgment by the general population and other things of the like...but here me out on this...

Before we expect to be taken serious by sponsors and the media, we have to show them we ourselves are serious. Sponsors should want to be involved because they see an opportunity for associating them selves with a community that can relate to their product or a genre that would be interested in what they produce.

They would more easily attach them selves to something that's already built...they should not be expected to build it...
and the media will inevitably fall in line...

What We Can Do.

Tournaments. And more tournaments...we need to create more competitiveness...this is VERY IMPORTANT. But it should be done properly or they wont be helping at all.

But first needs to been some standards in respect to game/tournament rules...this is also very important...and would eventually make a ranking system possible.(saw something about this somewhere on a different thread, can't remember where.)

With Out Sponsorship?

Of Course...
Prizes...well first of i don't think you should make profit from hosting a tourney(esp. small one). Here an idea for a prize plan:

Type: non-profit
Entry: Small entry fee (for e.g. lets say $50), all pooled for winner prizes
Prize: 1st= 50%, 2nd= 30%, and 20% for 3rd place.
(If 20 people enter then that would mean $500 for 1st, $300 and $200 for 2nd and 3rd place.)...the more, the better.

Gamer Powered Tournaments And Game Related Events

I believe this is one of the most important things needed to be done that will actually benefit the growth of professional gaming and gaming in general in Trinidad and Tobago....

another thing is the hosting of such events...instead of explaining I'll just point out some of the flaws of past events...

Arena...

large plasma tvs- they lagged, plus some of the games 4:3 aspect ratio were stretch...look bad and in a 2d game were range and distance were important...regular tvs for gamers (their use to it) big screen and projector are for the viewer/crowds only...

Time...

Plan ahead...
Register all players before the day its suppose to be...
after registration is full, still take name in the event that someone cancels and a spot opens up...
start on time...leave have a 30 min. grace period for late comers, then give their spots to people on the "backup list"...
don't try two have a two day event in a day...if you know you'll be cut it close, don't try to rush things make it a two day event...

Use tournaments software...

Or if its a small tourney and you do it by hand...don't do it on the day of the event...

The Date...

Week days...Monday to Fridays are out of the question. Always weekends, esp. Sundays and public holiday. A lot of people work on Saturdays.
Let everyone know long in advance. So they wouldn't have a problem working it into their schedule.

The Location...~my only weakness...

Things to consider

Size of venue vs amount of attendants
Seating for everyone
Power outlets: amount available, where there located and how much equipment to be used...

Wat U Bee Thinkin'?

This is just my opinion...
Well that's all i got for now...tired typing...I'm sure i forget of left out something...

Please leave our opinions, anything I forget and your arguments...

Thanks
-Dn2-

08-30-2008, 05:51 PM
nothing more to say but agreed!

08-30-2008, 07:27 PM
I think we do the majority of those things already. Gamers Lounge we had specific instructions to not have any tournaments to begin with. This changed and we only had a couple hours to create events. Some might say we were set up to fail, but we did very well that first day. The second day most of the problems were fixed. But really those were minor.

Up until recent times we used to plan events three months in advance. When you have to work with other orgs, things change. Thanks to our extensive experience in hosting tournaments we were able to adapt.

I take it you've never been to Arena events. Tournaments finishing well past midnight leaving youths out very late needing to find transport to get home.

Right now the sponsors and the interest is there, more than ever before. However the will of the general gaming population to become more competitive as it was during the rise of DotA no longer exists. Gamers have taken up filler games for fun instead. Starcraft II might make the save. Until then consoles ftw.

Dn2
08-30-2008, 07:35 PM
i did not mean Gamers Lounge...and i mention arena in there somewhere...this is not really addressed to trinigamers event...but to encourage ppl to hold there own events with the guide of a unified *need a word for here*.

i was at arena...most of the problems are taken from that event...btw an i rank Gamers Lounge as a success..

08-31-2008, 12:10 PM
i was at arena...most of the problems are taken from that event...btw an i rank Gamers Lounge as a success..

i went all 3 days, it's was an astronomical fail!

08-31-2008, 12:33 PM
no idea why we keep going back to the time of arena. We all know it was an epic fail. It had the money,man power and equipment to be a success, yet do to a lack of organization and rule setting, the event flopped. Talk done.

Imperial_X
09-01-2008, 11:26 AM
If anyone held a tournament on a Sunday that wasn't followed by a holiday I wouldn't be going anywhere. Not that my presence is pivotal in the tourney coming off but these things take a lot out of people energy wise. To feel wasted at work on Monday having gone a tourney the day before is reason enough for anyone in the working class to stay at home.

Mondays are hard enough already.

ultimatewarrior
09-04-2008, 09:19 PM
only thing i'll add is the pcs at Gamers Lounge was epic fail.

Dn2
09-04-2008, 09:32 PM
ok...

...but this isnt about Gamers Lounge or Arena and anything past...is about things to come and things u can do your self if your are ever in the position to have influence on future gaming events/tournaments or ideas in general...

*on another note*
...is this really all u guys have to say...really?
maybe there's something you'll like to see happen one day...posting it may get the idea in to their heads...maybe...

09-04-2008, 09:43 PM
its been discussed already in various parts of the forum.

Atticus
09-05-2008, 12:06 AM
Umm sayin u have work Monday iz a really really lame excuse btw....So wat..go home tired an get up sours...happens all the time...Come on ppl we jus need serious cafe's to host events...an serious gamers to show up!

09-05-2008, 12:10 AM
Don't pretend to know other people's working situation atticus so don't make retarded comments like that. You have no idea what he does. (I do though)

Atticus
09-05-2008, 12:22 AM
Umm ok..no offence to him....but still...all d oder sunday tournaments men does hadda work... an ent it waz deciced b4 that sunday waz the best day so.. jus come if u comin....if u really cant make it sours...

09-05-2008, 01:17 AM
Sunday is always the best day hands down. Gaming need another kick start in this country yes. And another and another until its butt is red

09-05-2008, 07:21 AM
/me always prefers a saturday cuz after sunday is wuk immc

09-05-2008, 11:00 AM
Sunday is taken as the Sabbath by > half the population. This has always been my gripe.

New Era Outlaw
09-05-2008, 11:17 AM
I don't see why that should be a problem. Technically, you aren't working, you're sweating, so it's not really a violation of the Sabbath.

In any case, I'm down with Sundays. I work on Saturdays, and I'd much rather go out and have a good time on the only free day of the week I have left than to stay at home and scratch all day.

ultimatewarrior
09-05-2008, 02:17 PM
Yea i say Sundays ftw. but there is no real cafe that has picken up after java switched owners to have torneys n other stuff. heard java should be gettin new pcs soon dont know if that has happened yet should chock something with java. also should organise enuff ppl to support it before actually puttin it into action b/c these days well this goes for me only down to last few days u hear when there is an event TG should like email ppl on events or something like that i dont know if u all do this already n my email just quear or something but yea.

09-05-2008, 02:47 PM
I don't see why that should be a problem. Technically, you aren't working, you're sweating, so it's not really a violation of the Sabbath.

In any case, I'm down with Sundays. I work on Saturdays, and I'd much rather go out and have a good time on the only free day of the week I have left than to stay at home and scratch all day.

sometimes when you like me and out whole week all you want to do is stay home and scratch.

Atticus
09-05-2008, 11:37 PM
JAVA gettin new pc's?? Cuz rite now dey conduct rel rel poor....BUT it'l be goood if they get upgraded cuz we could start bak having Sunday tournaments there.. There is always a good turnout on sundays....its just one day to commit to.. so men can make it.

Dn2
09-05-2008, 11:38 PM
hope it won't be all dota...

Atticus
09-06-2008, 12:43 AM
No it doesnt have to be...a Fps tourney would be rel cool....i would come to watch d hardmatick men cap each other...

09-06-2008, 06:48 PM
There is no problem with TNT Dota. There is differences and emoness.

Trinidad Dota is split up with the following:

1) The "serious" players that doh really care about shotta.
2) My crew, that really are, of course, the masters of emonism & ultra noobs-are-rus that are sometimes subs for pub players when men mia.
4) The ones who dont care about shotta or DOTA.

fixed. joined 2 & 3

I fall into category 4.

boxy
09-06-2008, 10:24 PM
lol@ shotta..like he wuh some friends..poor child

09-07-2008, 12:31 AM
I am sick and tired of every thread about competitive gaming or gaming going somewhere leading back to DOTA if I wasn't fasting eh sigh.

Dn2
09-07-2008, 01:33 AM
....dota...dota alone would be a fail...dota is only one game...don't forget about the other gamers out there...we are greater in number than all dota players combined...

but if you play dota, you should push for more...whatever you play, you should push for more...

boxy
09-07-2008, 03:10 AM
omg..hero in a big clan..wooooo..go hero..represent tnt dota!

KrumM
09-07-2008, 04:46 AM
isn't vigos inactive atm?

Imperial_X
09-07-2008, 06:02 AM
Atticus, what kind of dumbass are you man? I swear, the shit I hear on these forums just grows beyond the most inane things I've encountered in my pitiful years on earth.

Not everyone on this forum works as a cpu technician and that lame trini attitude about going to work sour is bullshit. If tourney's are going to be on Sundays then you can generally count me out. You can afford to play games with your life, I however won't entertain the idea.

09-07-2008, 01:48 PM
If this thread is going where I think it is im gonna lock it so heed the dota arguments this is an all purpose thread.

Atticus
09-07-2008, 03:19 PM
ok i seroiusly apologise for my immature statements to whoever i offended... I dont know where u wrk and what commitments u have...

09-07-2008, 06:59 PM
i believe any thread related to dota and causes shotta and perma to spew their nonsense should be closed.

Atticus
09-07-2008, 11:12 PM
Yea but i think alot more ppl hate shotta...and yea hero u need to calm down with biggin up urself on the thread that has to do with developing the gaming status in T&T.

09-08-2008, 01:50 PM
i believe any thread related to dota and causes shotta and perma to spew their nonsense should be closed.

QFT

Kull
09-08-2008, 07:24 PM
QFT

+1

and this unnecessary use ov the word emo is disturbing.....do you guys have to try so hard?

09-08-2008, 08:12 PM
hero seriously, stop feeling like your some whiteboy hardass living in the suburbs of california. Your NOT THAT GOOD. its difficult for you to keep up with the local competition ALONE much less international. Shotta shouldnt even talk considering his own team disowned him

09-08-2008, 08:27 PM
Wtb More Hero/shotta/noob Bashing

Dn2
09-08-2008, 08:44 PM
i think this thread has gone to the dogs...

but i guess that's how they all get...

09-08-2008, 09:11 PM
i feel they fedup hear u on vent telling everyone u play with so and so "pro" player.

09-08-2008, 09:42 PM
DID HE ???
i think he did >_>
DOUBLE POSTING?

http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t75/billanar/noobSENSORS.jpg

09-08-2008, 09:43 PM
Thread purged geez... if this keeps on happening to almost every thread on this forum then the whole forum will be perma emo get it perma emo XD bwahahaha.

KrumM
09-08-2008, 09:48 PM
i does jus look 4 bill post it does be real kicks hahaha!!! eh bill that sig rel hard btw

Atticus
09-08-2008, 10:10 PM
EET rel imba...rel

09-08-2008, 10:17 PM
XD funny and proves point. immature. XD awesome! zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

boxy
09-08-2008, 10:20 PM
i feel hero good enough to be on wse oui..could duff snake..pick up hero..mhmm

09-08-2008, 10:28 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P6P_sXbQtgc