View Full Version : Keep the ball rolling

08-23-2008, 02:01 AM
Ok seeing as gaming in TT is finally being taken seriously ( thank god i thought i would have to go live usa) . I think we should keep the ball rolling. Now im sure tg staff already have some idea/plans for future events in progress already.

I want to propose a TG trip abroad for next year. Location: who knows we can go comiccon, blizzcon, E3 . We can go to world gaming championships. Who knows lets hope for the best that we get the oppurtunity to compete internationally in e sport and turn it into a big trip instead.

If we make plans from this year, and ask govt for funds to support egaming trip( funds for players at least). There is no reason we cant go even if its from our own pockets. Save up from now, ask yuh moms, nething.

The experience of such an occasion will be long remembered and be a stepping stone. Come on guys lets make history. ( i aint wanna hear no well we went this island for tekken tourny and we went here for this) I mean on a large scale. mb 20 players and 20 tg staff/members. 40 ppl could charter a plane.

08-23-2008, 11:33 AM
nice dream, but realistically it aint happening unless everyone puts out on their own.

08-23-2008, 01:52 PM
I dont think it that farfetched . with a yr to plan and avg vacation money along with some hopeful help from the govt, it is quite possible to make such a trip occur, I mean it wouldnt be the 1st time we having gone abroad for a game event

08-23-2008, 02:12 PM
You do realize it will be very expensive to buy tickets, food, hotel etc. The trip to St. Maarten alone was 2500tt then factor in 150US a Night for hotel fees, we haven't counted food or spending money. In total I probably spent 10,000tt on that trip and that was just for 4 days, I didn't get to shop at all during that time.

Like I said, don't think because we pulled off one little event means that the government will just magically sponsor us to go abroad and embarass ourselves.

The fact the remains that in a majority of games, we have barely achieved what would be deemed as average skill level internationally. Before we can think about breaking into the international arena we must get things rolling to support this locally first.

When I went to St Maarten it was for the lime first and tournament second. I didn't train at all, Imperial would basically be badgering me to stop playing KOF and to play 3rd Strike. I paid for that lack of training, the puerto rican champ basically ran over me in casual play and he wasn't even using his main character. I was so out of it that point I couldn't even figure out what to do to counter him. The other puerto ricans were also very strong (thanks to their blooming scene kudos to them).

By some miracle I made it out of qualifying and into top 8 for CVS2 (I hated this game) and 3s. It pretty much became clear that the best I would be able to get was 3rd. To get to that I'd have to beat this guy named Sael. Despite the language barrier and his poor english, he was one of the friendliest guys I encountered at that tournament and thanks to him pushing me in casuals all weekend I managed to get within a round of getting 3rd. I'd love to find out whatever happened to him since then as I never did get to thank him for that last minute push.

The fact remains that the Puerto Ricans totally owned the hell out of the rest of the caribbean in most games. Why ? Because their scene is so competitive. This is something we should strive to emulate as well, as we have alot of potential talent wasting away. When this is realized only then can we really make a push into the international arena.

KRy5
08-23-2008, 03:37 PM
i wuz gonna suggest we go evo -but this yr wuz the last yr for the ole games so..gonna hafta learn tekken 6 >.>

but wow geese 10grand errr

lets take the cheap way out for now:

play ppl online,start a local league??

anyone with tekken:dr online with limited lag?

Kull
08-23-2008, 04:51 PM
You do realize it will be very expensive to buy tickets, food, hotel etc. The trip to St. Maarten alone was 2500tt then factor in 150US a Night for hotel fees, we haven't counted food or spending money. In total I probably spent 10,000tt on that trip and that was just for 4 days, I didn't get to shop at all during that time.

Like I said, don't think because we pulled off one little event means that the government will just magically sponsor us to go abroad and embarass ourselves.

The fact the remains that in a majority of games, we have barely achieved what would be deemed as average skill level internationally. Before we can think about breaking into the international arena we must get things rolling to support this locally first.

When I went to St Maarten it was for the lime first and tournament second. I didn't train at all, Imperial would basically be badgering me to stop playing KOF and to play 3rd Strike. I paid for that lack of training, the puerto rican champ basically ran over me in casual play and he wasn't even using his main character. I was so out of it that point I couldn't even figure out what to do to counter him. The other puerto ricans were also very strong (thanks to their blooming scene kudos to them).

By some miracle I made it out of qualifying and into top 8 for CVS2 (I hated this game) and 3s. It pretty much became clear that the best I would be able to get was 3rd. To get to that I'd have to beat this guy named Sael. Despite the language barrier and his poor english, he was one of the friendliest guys I encountered at that tournament and thanks to him pushing me in casuals all weekend I managed to get within a round of getting 3rd. I'd love to find out whatever happened to him since then as I never did get to thank him for that last minute push.

The fact remains that the Puerto Ricans totally owned the hell out of the rest of the caribbean in most games. Why ? Because their scene is so competitive. This is something we should strive to emulate as well, as we have alot of potential talent wasting away. When this is realized only then can we really make a push into the international arena.

agreed.

what we really need to do to get the ball going is to focus on nurturing the local scene.

08-23-2008, 06:03 PM
So a year to plan and men worrying about money?. It will be a little strain on the pocket yes ( not mines lol ). But it would be something nice to shoot for. especially if we get govt support, And we go to a gaming competition idk. It not that farfetched. Is a whole yr to plan .

08-23-2008, 06:16 PM
lol @ the (not mines) account well hear what hero,why don't you go and take pics for us? :D.

08-23-2008, 06:16 PM
Hoss, this is trinidad.

They 'nuturing' we star athletes in track, swimming and whatever else, and once in a blue moon they perform.

It'll be cheap to intice gamers into the scene, a free motherboard here, a lil processor there.

But it's a long way off.

08-23-2008, 06:17 PM
EVO will be very expensive! Bank on that.

Lets consider that there are no qualifying EVO events anymore, and that Vegas is the only one. The cheapest hotel in Vegas will probably be like 150-200 a night, and thats with the EVO Deal. Registration is in worst case 50US. Food & Drink no clue. I haven't even thought about the plane ticket to Vegas and spending money.

As far as the old games go, I suspect 3rd Strike and/or MVC2 will remain. T5DR,CVS2 are out most definitely. If we are to use their 6 game formula here's what we got supposedly

T6, SF3 3S and/or MVC2, SSF2THDR, SF4, Brawl, BlazBlue.

This brings us to another problem, Trini people outside of a general few, are still stuck in the stone age playing old shit like hyper and believing the nonsense is still played worldwide (to quote lex luthor "WROOONG!")

No one is gonna take us seriously playing these outdated games, we must evolve and take up the new games. PC Gamers usually welcome change a little. The older heads will still swear by whatever was the yardstick 10 years ago but will recognise the worth of new games.

Arcade/Console guys are the hardest mcs to get playing new games, after the first SF3 tournament, there was never a true follow up so I guess 3S just boiled down like bhagi. It's really sad that the older heads never took the time to learn the changes else they'd realize that every other game around uses the same fundamentals they've been whoring in SF2.

In short, we need to play what everyone else is playing.

08-23-2008, 06:43 PM
ok cool i go bring back the pics no scene :D

08-23-2008, 08:04 PM
ok cool i go bring back the pics no scene :D

one year from now ill be using these quotes. On hero dearest.

08-23-2008, 09:01 PM
Keep the ball rolling does not = go on trips and waste money.

I think we need to keep doing as we've always done in the past. Focus on local competitive development. As we have the funds we can also step up promotion of the org itself. Like we mentioned a few times earlier, we hope the COD4 men ready for this.

Atticus
08-24-2008, 12:04 AM
I all for reachin for d stars an ting eh.....buh get d local scene down 1st nah, ah dota tourney couldnt ah even hapn d oder day.....

08-24-2008, 01:00 AM
Even our best Dota sides could not stand up Vs an average international side in the last tourney. We don't even have a fighting chance! If we go to ANY organization for funding we have to sell the idea that we will do well or standout (positively) and earn back their investment in good press advertising etc.

Hero, lets be realistic, we not hard. We need to get hard by training and keeping competition going.

Nailes
08-24-2008, 10:31 AM
Have to agree with Para on this one, while it is not a bad thing to reach for the stars sometimes, the reality is in Trinidad atm Cyber Gaming is not yet a recognized sport among the general public and corporate sponsors. Getting one or even two serious sponsors is an achievement in itself, so trust what para says here because he is spot on with his argument. Only way that will come off is if you and the people willing to go fund it from your own pockets, sad but true.

Atticus
08-25-2008, 01:19 AM
Yea i should have stuff like yearly competetions and titles that men would fight and war for.....buh yea men movin stingy to.
Local gaming iz far from competing whith the international scene i say. Alot of work iz needed to be done.

08-25-2008, 09:35 AM
aight well i just enquiry to a private school in curepe that offers lots of couse java, microsoft net etc. The actually offering gaming course as a career and paid while u train. I just got the website and info today , i will check and see if they are legit in all ways possible.

If not i heard uwi is about to offer game design courses soon .

08-25-2008, 09:40 AM
What does game design have to do with this?

Anyway..

We need to take things one step at a time. You're reaching for the stars hero.. Just a little bit to early. I applaud your efforts but take baby steps..

Atticus
08-25-2008, 11:56 PM
Umm yea game design??.....anyhow while we rollin d ball.... hero u notice ur sig have "Roshan's YOUR CAREER IS OVA!!!!!" rite....and not "Roshan YOUR CAREER IS OVA!!!!!".....dunno wat skool u went to...

08-26-2008, 12:04 AM
lol my bad i type it fast

08-26-2008, 09:52 AM
I really like the idea hero but besides the major funds that is need for and event like this, how is the selection process for the player/representative going to take place, are tournament winner going on this trip or are high skill individuals which well make up a team be selected. There is a lot still to be worked out but the level of international player an local player is different

08-26-2008, 12:39 PM
lol well as i say we have a year to decide who should go and if it make sense goin at all. If it not feasible at this moment then i dont thinks its that far outa the reach that we cant shoot for it. I mean u hear trinigamers goin on vacation or to new york or orlando all the time. I dont think is that big a deal if we make it a group thing for once and choose a good location. Mb even do it when the location is close.

wiOFF` sue
10-18-2008, 04:46 PM
this is not a dream for a poor f*cher like me...i could barely raise funds to go sweat in cafe's and to afford blink to run on GG....dialup still.

10-18-2008, 07:55 PM
u see i doh get dat talk....if dialup is more expensive than blink...as it is,

and you have dialup- but you say you cant afford blink.

see the discrepancy there?

wiOFF` sue
10-18-2008, 09:09 PM
is a padnah ah mine that have the blink and i using he dialup password and paying him a 50 dollars for the month.

blink not even offered down by me yet....flow about 5 miles away for the last ten years....green dot is just a waste ah time.