View Full Version : Gamers Lounge - Event Report & Feedback Thread

08-16-2008, 09:03 AM
*yawn* so I just woke up...after getting home @ 2am - 2:30am from setup night @ Trincity Mall.

Something to note, due to power issues (which should have been cleared up by another party) there will be a reduction in active consoles running, this is totally beyond Trinigamers control and outside of our jurisdiction for the event.

So please feel free to leave feedback, comments and criticism.

We will try to have pics up at various points during the day.

08-16-2008, 01:44 PM
/me feels so alone here and allyuh liming and having fun...damn u guys...

08-16-2008, 02:13 PM
i just organize already to pass through on sunday (can't be there today :( ...

i will be there!

08-16-2008, 02:33 PM
reporting on location...

we trying real hard to get 10 men to play dota, so get your arses here brisk!!!

smash is pulling crowd, DDR is pulling real girls, clan FOAK pull down a rock band jam with rb on guitars, lats on drums and larry on lead vocals...

Yeah tings nice!!! get here fast!

08-16-2008, 02:44 PM
i omw !!!!!

08-16-2008, 05:56 PM
Paradoxxx is still MIA
His mini me, silverdoxxx there.
Bill scaring away the girls
G_pinkie got a new haircut
Scar apparently pushing weights in the gym

Malice
08-16-2008, 05:58 PM
ddr dere?

nyuuuu i comin!!

08-16-2008, 07:15 PM
Yea well i home for a while now. Might pass back later if nething but i will be there early in the mouning mb after church lol. It was better than expected i must say i was impressed . dj, working and plentiful consoles, no fights, nice girls, good turn out.

08-16-2008, 10:03 PM
ya well. skyye and i cudn make it today. looking to come out tmr :)

08-16-2008, 10:14 PM
Heard the event was a success with a few set backs in the beginning. I look forward to a better turnout on Sunday once word spreads.

08-17-2008, 11:43 AM
The Geese Report - Part One -Setup Night – Friday

We (meaning Laruto, Mojo and myself) got there about 7:45pm and there were already several TG Staff Members at the mall waiting. Also there were representatives from Caribbean Game Freaks and BLINK, heading inside we found that we were the only people there as the OTHER organization involved with the event management aspect of the event were nowhere to be seen. BLINK reps wasted no time and immediately began accessing the area in order to get internet services up and running.

Let’s fast forward to about 9:45 pm, some members of the OTHER org (who I will now refer to as SP) are inside albeit only like 3 of them, and they’re blowing up balloons (yay!), the tables have just arrived as well as the chairs, but since no one from SP is there, TG Staff members take it upon themselves to move over the stuff from the mall entrance to the Gamers Lounge area while a Ministry person informs us that this is not our job and should be left for SP to do, nevertheless to get things moving we did what we had to. At about 10:15pm the supposedly head representatives from SP arrived, at this point TG had elevated to moving couches while they (SP) had a nice relaxing breather. At this point, we decided hey, it’s not our job (most of us were pretty hungry) and went to Benihana to get some sushi. Para and a couple people stayed downstairs and conversed via phone. The Sushi lime was cool, who say Arch eyes water from Wasabi!

Afterwards we were informed that we would not be setting up any consoles that night (This was approximately 12AM) due to a few things, the main thing being that there were apparent power issues even though SP had pretty much said that it wouldn’t be a problem. As a result we had to reduce the amount of consoles we wanted to have from 10 PS3s to 6 PS3s and 5 Wiis to 2 Wiis. CGF was not comfortable with leaving their Consoles and TVs unattended (and understandably so) so it was decided that console setups would happen on Saturday morning.

After some talking with SP, we pretty much decided that it wasn’t viable for us to remain at the mall and went outside to handover some prizes. We all left there approximately 1:30am. I myself got home somewhere between 2-3am. With less than 4 hours sleep (thanks for calling me at 7am NINJA644…mc) I woke up and started making preparations to head to mall…………

To be continued…

08-17-2008, 11:57 AM
watch the vid with the amount of wasaibi...eyes muss water :P

08-17-2008, 12:19 PM
and u guys didnt invite me for any sushi :( some fwens!!!

08-17-2008, 03:40 PM
APPARENTLY GATT PLANNED AND PULLED IT OFF. A SLAP IN THE FACE TO ANY TRINIGAMER WHO TOILED FOR MONTHS ON THIS EVENT.

To the many gatt members involved in pulling this off, congrats and keep up the good work. I'm sure it wasn't easy to get this together, nor to get those dates changed. Weekend is definitely better as many have lamented.

Triple Kudos to those with the gonads to express their opinions in this thread. A lot of strong criticism and debate but I think the points were put over relatively well. Just the kind of feedback they needed. Always a good sign that there is life in gaming yet.

I'm sure we will have many opportunities yet to keep flying the GATT banner and guiding the ministry towards even more involvement in our industry. Something that was being asked of them since the first Arena gaming event at the National Stadium.

lol @ lillith's comment about winning a medal for speed eating chocolate. So true, so true.

I AM FEDUP OF THIS MAN. I PUBLICLY DENOUNCE YOU BAEGO>>>YOU NEED TO /wrist

redman
08-17-2008, 08:39 PM
it had 2 many people if u ask me :) but it was fun being abused in street fighter

08-17-2008, 08:43 PM
All praise is due to god, without him NOTHING is possible.

Both days were a success in my eyes and it appears from the above post it was a success in the baego's eyes as well. This was our first oppurtunity to run an event of this nature and looking back on the failures of other organizations, I think we did a great job. Ultra Kudos TG for a job well done our months of planning and hardwork paid off.

When I heard that Baego made a post taking credit for the event, I was in disbelief. I thought perhaps Baego meant to say that there were gatt members participating or that perhaps gatt members assisted TG. No where in that post did Baego mention TRINIGAMERS, kudos baego only you could pull that off. There is a reason why people are thinking twice about doing business with GATT.

I would like to express my appreciation to the entire TG crew; staff and members for showing up and assisting in every way possible. The list of members is quite long and I don't want to leave anyone out, so I'll put it off for another post. I would like to also extend appreciation to DaemonX and RhastamanX who are not members of TG (as yet) and with less than an hour conducted an impromptu DDR tourney.

Expect more information tomorrow including video footage and numerous pictures. We be tired.

Para out.

08-17-2008, 09:40 PM
Mr. Nigel Bellamy (must use real names!) AKA Baego / NoobGoneWild, also saw fit to delete the post by Xecutiona that corrected his errors. He seems to be set on perpetuating the myth that GATT had a part in organising this event.

GATT has not held a gaming event on their own for a very long time, instead piggybacking on the work of others. A very sad state of affairs when you have to pretend you're doing something instead of giving credit where it is due.

I have to ask that no one post offensively on GATT's forums. Baego will just delete it as he always does. Post your concerns here. Remember in the end that it is TriniGamers who are doing tournaments sponsored by government's iStand program and it is TriniGamers who are partnered with the global gaming platform Garena. Baego could jump and wave how much he want.

08-17-2008, 10:33 PM
There are alot of pictures to post from the event, which will be uploaded tomorrow. Really tired right now, but all in all I also agree that it came off pretty good.

One very noticeable thing which I think happened was that as a result of this, Trinigamers will grow/flourish more, which i think was one of the main reasons of doing this in the first place. Alot of people were unaware that Trinigamers existed and the fact that 'gaming' in Trinidad even existed. One guy who i met when I was watching the Smash Brothers Brawl tournament today asked some questions. This is basically how the conversation went,

'So, what do you guys do? You do stuff like this often?'
'What do you mean stuff like this?'
'These big events?'
'Well, we do have tournaments and other activities happening yeah. We're an active community'
'You guys have activities?!'
'Well.. yeah. We play all of these games and more all over the country.'
'There' MORE of you guys?!'
'Umm... yeah! There are players in the North, East and South'
'So you're telling me there's more people who play Smash brothers and other games in Trinidad?'
'Yeah, there's a ton of players in Trinidad who play this game really seriously and are really good besides the people here today.'
'How can i sign up to know about where to play and to meet people etc.??!'
'You can go online at www.trinigamers.com ......' no need for me to continue the convo, but i'm sure you follow what I'm saying.

So, good job to everyone! Great success!

08-17-2008, 10:42 PM
damn wish i was in the country for this :(. :Dglad it went well

08-17-2008, 11:05 PM
My feet hurt >_>
QQ
Gratz to everyone!
(ano never touched me that night stop spreading rumors)
>_>
<_<

08-17-2008, 11:39 PM
i went again tonight for sushi eddoes :P

Crixx_Creww
08-18-2008, 12:03 AM
sounds like it was a great event, thanks guys for your hard work and thank you to all those who went out of yur way to share the news of the event with your fellow gamers over at G.A.T.T.

Iam now attempting to deal with the .... unnecessary back lash of that *sigh*

and i was now sweating socom for psp for first timez.. oh wellz.

once again, grats and thanks mengz

08-18-2008, 12:47 AM
The backlash on GATT is a result of your master claiming GATT was responsible for this event. Straighten him out and there will be no backlash son. He lies to my fellow gamers on your forum, steals money that should be theirs and cheats in any which way and form he can once he benefits. Even with my role in TG and all the efforts I placed in making TG what it is today, I still make myself accountable to my peers.

I was pleased when Guru read the post and saw the event, when CGF read the post and KNEW TG hired them as part of our services. Even the Minstry representatives doesn't want to deal with Nigel Bellamy and yes they read the post as well!!

Baego look like the noob gone wild that he is. IDIOT. GJ!!

Answer me this crixx

How is it that GATT has no footage of the event? - But TG has.
How is it that GATT was not present at the meetings with the Ministry? - But TG was there.
How come GATT was not there to setup the place? - But TG was.
Did GATT men supply the prizes and giveaways? - TG got the receipts!
How many threads were there on gatt about this event? - TG has a subforum in our staff section dedicated to it, it was that many.
What about Ministry officials, did baego get calls during the night or emails requesting information for the NEXT day? - I coulda swear me xe and ano was dealing ah woman in the Ministry, talk bout calls/emails we made there.

We have no issue giving props to the GATTers who attended or assisted in whatever form but to take credit for the whole thing and not mention TG in the post self. Only yuh master could do something low and dirty like that. Ask anyone TG is not biased against GATTers, we dislike Baegers.

Months we slaving behind this thing, going into meeting after meeting. Having our name tarnished for a change in date at the very last minute and to hear baego take credit for this and yuh aint delete his post. Quick to handle the TG men ent? Your sense of justice astonds me crixx. Working hard for that nominee for A of the day.

Mengsk was not part of this to my knowledge, I thought he left CGF long time now?

Baego, try to delete this post.

richjob
08-18-2008, 12:52 AM
Well done guys and girls. Kudos. Fantastic coordination, organization and most important, execution. There are a few comments I could make to make things even more awesome in the future, but later for that. -richjob Almost-retired gamer, who only peyongs Wii console games these days, as he currently has no gaming build, despite having the parts.

08-18-2008, 12:54 AM
Ah yes rich, we know we have stuff to work on as well. Your critisism is always appreciated, look fwd to it.

08-18-2008, 02:16 AM
All in all, I must say the conduction of the event was done fairly well despite the few mishaps (voltage issues etc). Kudos to the TG staff and everyone who was in the Gamer's Lounge representing and supporting TG.

And flick man dat dj was gettin me real vex, music was too dam loud cah play Rock Band or DDR.... and I swear I see people getting push down during one of those bag giveaways (i was looking down from on top)

Trinis and free ting oui

08-18-2008, 02:39 AM
waysss allyuh still doh understand Baego? rofl.
The man will never give TG props TG doesnt exist in his eyes cant tell him otherwise cause he always right, even after you show him all the facts. And you want crixx to delete his post? LOL the man controls the forums dat like a mod deleting scar post. Scar will prolly ask you why u delete it Baego will ban you and delete any thread you ever made.

He feeds on chaos. He is The Dark Lord!.

and btw crixx doh mean mengz referring to the person but as a slang like "guys"

08-18-2008, 08:10 AM
I would like to say well done guys, I really wanted to come out to check on the event and try out some Rock Band, but my body chose a perfect time to fall ill...my bro did get to go and see the proceedings on Sunday and he was quite impressed with how things were going.

Things looked really good from what I was able to see via pictures and the TV6 broadcast, so congrats to everyone who played their part, hopefully this will encourage the Ministry to play a bigger part in the development of gaming here.

08-18-2008, 08:50 AM
And para want me to represent GATT as baego.

EH?

And get pelt down with big screen monitor and chairs? No thanks para . :)

08-18-2008, 09:20 AM
Much respect to the guys/girls who helped pull this off, was great. Didn't get to stay long but i was there... actually i had to be there to support the crew, drove through some serious rain to get there (3 accidents on the hi-way on my way)

Laruto - thanks for the intros to all the people i have never actually met.
Also i encourage every one (according to laruto's advice) to post some pic or link to facebook or something for people to know who u are.
I arrived and stood at the center of the setup and was completely lost as to who was who i only recognized pweffy, solider and laruto.

Anyhoo was great...

Also i have some pics that i took is there any one of the admins i can send them too?

Sky
08-18-2008, 09:42 AM
It was well attended, and well organised.
Good job, TG...
Kudos to Para, Xec and Ano - and the rest of y'all who worked hard to pull this thing off.

4dr1
08-18-2008, 09:57 AM
ok small citicism time!! i passed on Saturday eevening and i must admit the turnout was great. The setup was nice and i was really suprised in a good way. One problem though and i heard that this also happened at arena; tekken 5 was not made for HDTV so here i am rdy to rape in tekken and alot of ppl on saturday were complaining about the 1/2 second lag which was messing up the whole Tekken sweat. I heard they were gonna have DR on sunday but i couldnt make the run.
Just something to note for next time. But overall the event was good

08-18-2008, 10:09 AM
wasnt the event 'lolled' at on a particular site when it was postponed in July, yet now it lookin like they run the show? hmmm

08-18-2008, 10:14 AM
wda. steph recognize me and eh hail me out. wam? i look like i go eat you owa :(

08-18-2008, 10:22 AM
wda. steph recognize me and eh hail me out. wam? i look like i go eat you owa :(

nah man yuh was busy knocking Football while i was talking to other fellas (i have pics...)

sorry dred...

Sky
08-18-2008, 10:26 AM
hmmm.. i dunno who steph is either....
i was standing right behind soldier when he was TRYING to play FIFA

08-18-2008, 10:27 AM
Probably trying to play football. I not into the fifa thing. but after playing 08 on a ps3 it make me wanna buy a ps3 + fifa 08 and learn how to play it. that shit win oui.

08-18-2008, 10:31 AM
all the lag issues were rectified for sunday, we had 2 ps3s on sunday with DR thanks to the north guys.

08-18-2008, 10:54 AM
My girl was there with me and she does really only play tekken... Anyhoo i have been trying buy her the idea of a ps3 - After seeing the ps3's and the flatscreens play tekken dr... she want the two now

Thanks Tg for helping me get my Ps3... but now i broke...lol

08-18-2008, 11:01 AM
good that the event was a success...

unfortunately it was a bad weekend for me so i couldnt make it... next time for sure doh

08-18-2008, 11:08 AM
all the lag issues were rectified for sunday, we had 2 ps3s on sunday with DR thanks to the north guys.

NORTH MEN????????
the racialism!!!

all those south men who pelt talks for months and months .....
where were they for the event??????

08-18-2008, 11:13 AM
*raises hand*

4dr1
08-18-2008, 11:16 AM
Actually all the tekken players from Cybernet were there. Kull, mokofig,just to name a few. kry5 and whiplash were also there but we kinda got soured with the lag so.. well u know how it is. We went to eat instead then take in some ddr

08-18-2008, 11:23 AM
Much respect to the guys/girls who helped pull this off, was great. Didn't get to stay long but i was there... actually i had to be there to support the crew, drove through some serious rain to get there (3 accidents on the hi-way on my way)

Laruto - thanks for the intros to all the people i have never actually met.
Also i encourage every one (according to laruto's advice) to post some pic or link to facebook or something for people to know who u are.
I arrived and stood at the center of the setup and was completely lost as to who was who i only recognized pweffy, solider and laruto.

Anyhoo was great...

Also i have some pics that i took is there any one of the admins i can send them too?
Nobody recognize me?
Men was still in Cardiac arrest that I showed up.

08-18-2008, 11:42 AM
hahahah @ cardiac that u show up hahahah
some ppl realise dinesh is a real person :P

Crixx_Creww
08-18-2008, 11:44 AM
The backlash on GATT is a result of your master claiming GATT was responsible for this event. Straighten him out and there will be no backlash son. He lies to my fellow gamers on your forum, steals money that should be theirs and cheats in any which way and form he can once he benefits. Even with my role in TG and all the efforts I placed in making TG what it is today, I still make myself accountable to my peers.

I was pleased when Guru read the post and saw the event, when CGF read the post and KNEW TG hired them as part of our services. Even the Minstry representatives doesn't want to deal with Nigel Bellamy and yes they read the post as well!!

Baego look like the noob gone wild that he is. IDIOT. GJ!!

Answer me this crixx

How is it that GATT has no footage of the event? - But TG has.
How is it that GATT was not present at the meetings with the Ministry? - But TG was there.
How come GATT was not there to setup the place? - But TG was.
Did GATT men supply the prizes and giveaways? - TG got the receipts!
How many threads were there on gatt about this event? - TG has a subforum in our staff section dedicated to it, it was that many.
What about Ministry officials, did baego get calls during the night or emails requesting information for the NEXT day? - I coulda swear me xe and ano was dealing ah woman in the Ministry, talk bout calls/emails we made there.

We have no issue giving props to the GATTers who attended or assisted in whatever form but to take credit for the whole thing and not mention TG in the post self. Only yuh master could do something low and dirty like that. Ask anyone TG is not biased against GATTers, we dislike Baegers.

Months we slaving behind this thing, going into meeting after meeting. Having our name tarnished for a change in date at the very last minute and to hear baego take credit for this and yuh aint delete his post. Quick to handle the TG men ent? Your sense of justice astonds me crixx. Working hard for that nominee for A of the day.

Mengsk was not part of this to my knowledge, I thought he left CGF long time now?

Baego, try to delete this post.

well i not gonna drag the behind the scenes convos into the light here, but i will say that your wrong about me totally para.

As soon as it was pointed out to me what was happening by kai.
I jumped on the forums(i was in the middle of a socom sweat) and checked the deleted posts. I came to the conclusion that NOTHING wrong was done by TG members and immediately went on the war path in the admin section of GATT. There is a discussion going on right now about what went on and why. I do NOT defend NGW actions but i also let xen know that he was being silly, he had to admit that, but his sillyness did not warrant the backlash that ensued.
I wouldnt just go and delete NGW post, tha would be equal to what he did, so i brought it up full blast in the admin section and demanded explanations, and jumped on msn and asked my fellow mods and admins to speak up on the issue cause i didnt wanna be the only one screaming injustice.

I give full credit to TG for their marvelous work bringing the most successfull gaming event we have had yet and on that note, lol i was ADAMANT about the event not occuring during the week, and the move to the weekend proved a rather successfull one, iam sure it had nothing to do with my rantings but iam glad that it did play off that way.

MY sense of justice is intact para.
Chinese democracy is no democracy at all, and iam fighting it.

08-18-2008, 11:52 AM
I think Baego failed to realize that if he didn't make that ridiculous post in the first place, no one would have said anything at all.

And yes, Xen's sillyness knows no bounds. Quite the character and fun person to be around overall.

Arcdac
08-18-2008, 12:18 PM
Aww god dammit i wish i didn't miss this. Sounds like it was great though.

08-18-2008, 12:20 PM
well crixx, i hope you dont get the proverbial ban for talking on behalf of the "dark side"

to be honest, the last post i had on Gatt before that one yesterday was in 2005, for arena. I tend not to post because i know the immediate action( /delete Xec post). Even for our frequent tournaments and leagues etc, we cannot post as we dont have gatt's "stamp of aprooval." This attitude stinks and is not conduct which would harbour proper development.

I was not surprized when i heard my post was deleted....im sure no matter what i say it would be viewed as malicious..The fact is, i decided to post on the forum to encourage more gamers to come out, only to see mr Baego attempt to claim the event as a Gatt event. One could only imagine the outrage i felt after toiling long and hard to make sure the event went smoothly. It was like a slap in the face. This comes like if TSTT digs the groung, puts up the pole, runs the lines to your house, gives you our outlet only to have FLOW plug in the phone and say "we did all the work."

i was disgusted. Nevertheless, i continued with my post encouraging gamers to come out. Baego didnt even patronise the event, he just looked down from upstairs, maccoing everybody handling their stories, hoping that nobody from TG saw him and made him out.

from his corbeaux position he has the audacity to claim the event?! MADNESS

There is one main reason why TG members, and the Ministry did not want gatt's name in it. And that reason is mr Nigel Bellamy. Business associates and even officials in the ministry flee like if u have the plague when you mention that name, and as another organisation with people who have a different goal in mind we dont want to be tarnished with the name of Baego aka Mr bellamy.

its like this....if you know the neighbourhood spranger name is mark, and mark cuts grass for a living(apart from spranging)...and you want to get into the grass cutting business as well(without the spranging), then people muss watch you harder because when they hiring someone they want someone to cut the grass, and when he done they still have their mangoes on their tree. It is then up to you to remove yourslef from the negative image purported by that said spranger.

there is nothing that id like to see more than gatters coming and playing in TG tournaments, and Gatt even inviting TG men to their tournaments...(which i never saw on this forum...EVER) but there has to be a line between a TG event and a GATT event. ..Simply because there are two different management styles and directions in which we operate. There IS room for competition, as well as collaboration between the two orgs...but i dont see why we are treated with so much hostility by one man.

If we saw an event hosted by GATT that was pulled off well, we would have no qualms about giving them praise...even if some of those gatt men have accounts on Tg's forum, we wont try and claim the event as our own....as its not our business or our right.

08-18-2008, 12:28 PM
and ya broken!

08-18-2008, 12:28 PM
well i not gonna drag the behind the scenes convos into the light here, but i will say that your wrong about me totally para.

As soon as it was pointed out to me what was happening by kai.
I jumped on the forums(i was in the middle of a socom sweat) and checked the deleted posts. I came to the conclusion that NOTHING wrong was done by TG members and immediately went on the war path in the admin section of GATT. There is a discussion going on right now about what went on and why. I do NOT defend NGW actions but i also let xen know that he was being silly, he had to admit that, but his sillyness did not warrant the backlash that ensued.
I wouldnt just go and delete NGW post, tha would be equal to what he did, so i brought it up full blast in the admin section and demanded explanations, and jumped on msn and asked my fellow mods and admins to speak up on the issue cause i didnt wanna be the only one screaming injustice.

I give full credit to TG for their marvelous work bringing the most successfull gaming event we have had yet and on that note, lol i was ADAMANT about the event not occuring during the week, and the move to the weekend proved a rather successfull one, iam sure it had nothing to do with my rantings but iam glad that it did play off that way.

MY sense of justice is intact para.
Chinese democracy is no democracy at all, and iam fighting it.

Alright Crixx, I'll give you the benefit of the doubt and hope you handle NB.

As I said the date change was bitter sweet but if NB believes that the GATT thread had any involment in the date change and not the months of recommendations by TG to do so (before the gatt thread). Then I advise you to post content against crime, drugs, traffic etc it seems that your posts are read by the Ministers.

08-18-2008, 12:31 PM
not gonna repeat all the various congratulations, everyone did a fine job and should be complimented.

And Crixx is right, he did speak up for TG members and spent alot of time debating why they were being banned.

New Era Outlaw
08-18-2008, 12:39 PM
In all honesty, I only learned about that turn of events when somebody called my attention to it. I'll be honest here.....I absolutely hated what I saw. I also had my two cents to say in the matter. Not going to repeat it here, but think of it as being along the lines of 'not very pleased at all'. Needless to say, this whole thing has a lot of people angry, and I'm not going to blame a single one of them for feeling that way. It's EPIC FAILURE of the highest degree, and I'm damn ashamed of it.

wasnt the event 'lolled' at on a particular site when it was postponed in July, yet now it lookin like they run the show? hmmm

To be honest, I doubt anybody would believe that (the last part, that is). The whole thing was highlighted as a TG affair, so everyone knows better.

In any case, you guys were awesome, and I'm looking forward to whatever else you may have in the works. A shame the HDs had a tocuh of lag, though (unless Ken magically gains the ability to block immediately after tossing a fireball.)

And Crixx is right, he did speak up for TG members and spent alot of time debating why they were being banned.

Wait. Banned?
Crap. I didn't even know it came to that. See what happens when you dive under a rock for the last two months like I did?

08-18-2008, 01:32 PM
Guys, alyuh post up the pics nah? Video ?? So sad I wasnt at the event. Looks like you guys needed mouse pads :/

08-18-2008, 02:18 PM
In all honesty, I only learned about that turn of events when somebody called my attention to it. I'll be honest here.....I absolutely hated what I saw. I also had my two cents to say in the matter. Not going to repeat it here, but think of it as being along the lines of 'not very pleased at all'. Needless to say, this whole thing has a lot of people angry, and I'm not going to blame a single one of them for feeling that way. It's EPIC FAILURE of the highest degree, and I'm damn ashamed of it.

To be honest, I doubt anybody would believe that (the last part, that is). The whole thing was highlighted as a TG affair, so everyone knows better.

In any case, you guys were awesome, and I'm looking forward to whatever else you may have in the works. A shame the HDs had a tocuh of lag, though (unless Ken magically gains the ability to block immediately after tossing a fireball.)

Wait. Banned?
Crap. I didn't even know it came to that. See what happens when you dive under a rock for the last two months like I did?

Someone mentioned something about YuGiOH trading card tourney's, I know thats falls into your area. Nothing has been discussed as yet.

Shotta -> http://www.trinigamers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6220

New Era Outlaw
08-18-2008, 02:42 PM
Really?
Well, even though I am currently in a state of semi-retirement, I would be more than happy to help out in that field. After all, I did host the Duelist Kingdom Championships for 4 years running out of my own pocket (and, of course, with a lot of help from my family and SPK, to whom I owe a lot), and there is still a substantial dueling crowd, so we can make this work.

Dn2
08-18-2008, 08:11 PM
nice work guys.

maybe next time u can have normal Tvs below, in front for the players and the plasmas higher up for the viewers. for the lag, (done in international tourneys) for the lag problem. plus everybody's accustom to playing on normal analog Tvs. well most of us.

again gj...i had fun. (despite wat happen to me in smash :( )

ps: i know that couldn't happen this time with the power problem.

08-18-2008, 08:52 PM
Oh and for the record, The Steph real come and hail me out too eh. I was shocked like.... wha? The Steph? Then i take a minute and I remember seeing him post somewhere and hail him out. Cool guy and i saw him around for awhile scoping out the scene with his ladies.

Woot! Uniting the gamers together!

And on another note, in my work today apparently there are alot of undercover gamers. I was at my desk, sorting out some files and whatnot and this guy walks up to me and starts watching me saying,
'I know you from somewhere!'
I'm like... :confused: No you don't'
And he shouts, 'YEAH I DO! YOU WERE IN THE MALL DOING THE GAME TOURNAMENT SATURDAY!' As it turns out, when i was doing the Smash Brothers Brawl tourney on saturday his little nephew came 2nd and he remembered me. We had a little talk and he said his nephew loved to play Brawl at home and when he saw it at the mall and heard he could win a prize from playing he got really excited and HAD to enter. Then i started telling him about TG and how we do these things from time to time and that playing game isn't always about addiction and wasting time, but there are benefits if you play it in accordance etc. So, then a little later the guy left and went back from wherever he came from. I was to learn later that he was the general manager of another area where i worked.... I guess it goes to show you'll never know meet huh :eek:.

After the manager guy left, people heard me talking about TG and the Gamers Lounge and people were asking what were the prizes and what games were played at the tournaments. When i told them, people start to quarrel cuz them 'real good' in it and nobody had known because there was no advertising the event. They only knew about Gamers Lounge from the little spot TV6 apparently showed last night. One of the main questions that were asked was when would TG be having another event and how they would be able to find out about it. Of course i told them about trinigamers.com and told them that the next event would be better advertised (and i did explain that what happened this weekend was no fault of ours!). But, it was surprising that half the people in my office play Tekken, Fifa and Street Fighter hardcore. Right now the girl who sitting opposite me saying she want to cut my ass in arcade in Xmen vs Street Fighter, Classic streets and Ultimate Mortal 3.... She say she grow up in the arcade

:(...so yeah she marking my ass for cut tail.

:D But, even better the WORD SPREADING! Go Team Trinigamers!

08-18-2008, 09:04 PM
fellas, this section is about feedback and the report of gamers lounge, not about a man who is obsessed with petty matters and to make a false claim about him and his members hosting any event. so lets focus on the matter at hand and forget him.

Any other suggestions/idea's/ complaints about the event? please post your opinion

08-18-2008, 09:16 PM
Horse i sorry to say but lil children and their parents spoil the sweat a lil. I mean i know is a family event but u pick up wii mote and it have spit on it. U cyah tell the lil children nothing bout givem e a sweat . I watch a lil boy gangsta my sweat in boxing QQ. OUTA SHEER PRIDE AND TRYING TO SHOW MATURITY I AINT GET ON. I didnt recognise the tg member who was helping out at the time but he watch me and like he coulda cry for me ROFL. He was like wheys hard luck there hero that is your sweat.

But yeah it was the best gaming event in tt . Yes i would rate it over arena and other stuff just based on the family/ games/ and no fights.

This time men had no shame in the ddr/ wii sports/ rockband lol. Even the few lil dota sweat was good.

KRy5
08-18-2008, 09:38 PM
m#@%&*@so and so,whyyyy :`(

somebody shudda tell me sunday wuz d day to come, atleast for tekken. d laggin ting wuz too reminiscent of arena. i heard eeeverybody wuz dey on sunday... :/

glad tis wuz ah success-- props to TG

when mite b d next one :)

--G@77 who...

08-18-2008, 09:40 PM
Well, i understand what hero kinda saying with the young children 'spoiling' the sweat, but at the end of the day this particular event was geared at the youth, whether noob or pro, for them to have fun. So, while we didn't get the hardcore sweatage we wanted, you get what hero experienced, sweat on the wii mote:P ha ha joking, you get the youngsters coming out and have fun. Now, tell me i lying, but if you was 7 or 8 and you see free game going on in the mall, wouldn't you like to play and have fun? And not worry about some big man cuttin yuh tail and laughing at you and making you feel insignificant? It was all about fun, BEFORE the tournament. When is tourney time, hard luck for the youths yuh know.... back seat!

But, another good thing i have to applaud TG for was letting ANYONE enter the tourneys and i think some parents noted that too. I mean letting the small men play in the tourneys.. wow. But, i mean everyone is gamers right :)?

08-18-2008, 09:48 PM
m#@%&*@so and so,whyyyy :`(

somebody shudda tell me sunday wuz d day to come, atleast for tekken. d laggin ting wuz too reminiscent of arena. i heard eeeverybody wuz dey on sunday... :/

glad tis wuz ah success-- props to TG

when mite b d next one :)

--G@77 who...
sorry guys, i mean i was trying to get everything running on the hdmi, but we had limited cables, and also a couple tvs werent working with hdmi since we were running on low/fluctuating voltage.

Dn2
08-18-2008, 10:29 PM
where's the post with the event's winners?

08-18-2008, 10:49 PM
Trying to put it up with pictures.

KRy5
08-18-2008, 11:21 PM
yea i kno wuh u mean xecutiona,shit happens
simple iz better grasshopper ;D

suggestions:

-more proms :ads etc, i want ah TG jersey :D
-schedule listings of events :when tourneys startin o casual play time fer da kiddies
-i kno last yr for evo it had :bring ur own console day -mite need a bigga venue tho..

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
2 big tingz ah missout on tis wk

-sbo live stream
-gamers lounge

08-18-2008, 11:55 PM
doh worry sbo stream didnt show anything noteworthy...mainly last years stuff all of which i already have on dvd :)

08-18-2008, 11:57 PM
i know and i wish we could have done all of those things!

we were contracted to handle the gaming aspect, and that alone...not all the other organising around it with promotion etc...remember this was the ministry of sport in collaboration with us, not the other way around, if you know what i mean.

in the future, when we have fully private functions, we would have alot more resources and leeway to do it how we want. This event has created many beneficial and functional business relationships with other good companies, relationships which we shall be letting flourish with the announcement of events in the not-too-distant future

08-19-2008, 02:28 AM
Yup, the advertising was horrible! People only knew about it if they saw it going on...

08-19-2008, 11:43 AM
-more proms :ads etc, i want ah TG jersey :D

wait in line...........

08-19-2008, 11:57 AM
My jersey too big... i wa a smaller one >_<

08-19-2008, 12:40 PM
O.K Mr. 0-14 with earth shaker.. o..k

:o

gasp... but still... :|

unforgiven
08-20-2008, 07:04 PM
nooooooooo dammit i forgot it was this weekend gone i was thinkin it woulda be this weekend commin! shuxx i miss out big time. ........ sooooo whens the other one? :D

08-20-2008, 07:09 PM
Thats what everyone is asking us.

08-21-2008, 07:43 AM
nooooooooo dammit i forgot it was this weekend gone i was thinkin it woulda be this weekend commin! shuxx i miss out big time. ........ sooooo whens the other one? :D

:confused: How did u think it was this weekend... U miss out big time they dred

redman
08-22-2008, 04:46 PM
yeh when is the next one?..i wanna get some revenge :)

Dn2
08-22-2008, 07:10 PM
...revenge...

08-24-2008, 01:29 PM
Ent @ the_steph

Only when I got back to the site I realised who it was.

richjob
08-24-2008, 03:38 PM
Ahm, yeah. I recognized that there was voltage problems from early. I was surprised that they were not worse, actually. I was the guy with the bags, if people don't know me. I was around when the incidents were going around. For you guys, living well and being successful IS the best "revenge" though how you guys have developed and will continue to develop TG. Study yourselves. What is to be for you will be. I ended up by the second Wii because I wasn't going to take a turn in the Tekken or SSB (which isn't the greatest game for a tourney unless you remove all the CPU players) and them remotes is $500 TT. Much sourness if they went walking. Little kids sweating become future gamers. Nothing wrong in letting them take a turn on the Wii that was not being used for the SSB, and I'm sorry if people were getting horrors about me letting them sweat. Sorry.

08-24-2008, 04:06 PM
I'm confused...

08-24-2008, 05:02 PM
@_@ even i couldnt read it. OMG IMBA. Wow hoss u talented.

Coke
08-25-2008, 07:03 PM
Hmmmmm

08-25-2008, 11:20 PM
Ahm, yeah. I recognized that there was voltage problems from early. I was surprised that they were not worse, actually. I was the guy with the bags, if people don't know me. I was around when the incidents were going around. For you guys, living well and being successful IS the best "revenge" though how you guys have developed and will continue to develop TG. Study yourselves. What is to be for you will be. I ended up by the second Wii because I wasn't going to take a turn in the Tekken or SSB (which isn't the greatest game for a tourney unless you remove all the CPU players) and them remotes is $500 TT. Much sourness if they went walking. Little kids sweating become future gamers. Nothing wrong in letting them take a turn on the Wii that was not being used for the SSB, and I'm sorry if people were getting horrors about me letting them sweat. Sorry.

is no problem rj, we actually encouraged the young ones to sweat as well. Our original plans was not to have any tourneys and just give out the prizes randomly, but the Ministry officials had a problem with that. The impromptu tournaments were the end results. I was in a similar situation when we had to give up one of the controllers for the tekken tournament while kids were playing rock band. I didn't like the idea, but there was little we could have done about it.

P.S. I am the guy who complimented you on your manly bag (lol)

08-26-2008, 01:26 AM
How could you not know richjob?

08-26-2008, 08:55 AM
whos richjob?

Salt
08-27-2008, 01:52 PM
Well from all accounts things turned out well. Sorry I couldn't make it and support but I'm glad the event put Trinidad gamers in the spotlight. Kudos to all involved in making this thing happen and make another one soon!!!

08-27-2008, 06:21 PM
Sigh I missed out big time on this event.....I would have also liked too help out.....well there is always a next time

08-27-2008, 07:52 PM
lol bill age starting to show. richard is what 3x is age?(kidding)