View Full Version : The Future of Competitive Gaming in T&T - Round 2
08-05-2008, 05:41 PM
Seeing as how things seem to be stagnant I think its reasonable that this topic be raised again. Discuss..
08-05-2008, 05:52 PM
IS summer men wanna lime i guess. IS only a few ppl actually home from work and wanna play. Then it have the men who stayin quiet and pounging cod and w/e in de bush. Gaming cant die. Imo it bigger than ever just ppl not that excited about it much nemore.
08-05-2008, 05:53 PM
the keyword is competitive perma..
08-05-2008, 07:11 PM
I just fine dota dominating the scene too much and that kinda stopping other games from thriving in the competitive areas since most people stickin to that one game. The pacman tourny and the random fight genre tourneys are good but we need to allow a better diversity imo like more fps :P. Plus alot people fraid to lose the money instead of thinking about the sweat and good time.
Dota might be dominating the scene because of one reason" the GAME IS DAMN GOOD". almost everyone is playing . I even showing my old man how to play it" my step father head hard and he ask to much damn questions" . but he likes the fact that i safe while haven fun. he even went as far as to tell me that he wants to come to a tourney and see what it like.but back to the topic . Even thou it is the most played game in the tourneys the future of dota looks grim.
we should all try to keep it going no matter what it takes and i for one will help in anyway that i can even if it means I not taken part to allow more teams to enter.
Gaming is one of the best way to keep a kid out of trouble, but everything should be taken in limits.If anyone has any ideas feel free to post them here in this section so we can get some feedback as to how u would like to help in anyway possible
08-05-2008, 08:02 PM
yah i mean it competitive men gone on vacation and just mb dont care atm. When work start back and men need a serious escape to put the rest of their energy it will pick up. Mark my words september and december
Imperial_X
08-06-2008, 05:45 PM
Dota is killing the crap out of people's gray matter. Yes I've seen some ignorant people go slashing at each other for stick and throw back in the day but I think some of the dota people take things overboard.
It's not easy on the ears to endure a dota match. I'd be pretty skeptical about bringing anyone to that tourney if that's the kinda comments that'll be whizzing by.
It's a constant thing for Trinidadians to cling to one thing for too long...much like hyper. By all means, dota and hyper aren't bad games, but just overplayed by worldwide standards. The number of people we can send internationally to compete is limited and we cripple ourselves by not expanding our horizons so to speak.
Then there's the casual, the noob, the intermediate and the hardcore gamer issue to address. Tournaments more than often attract the last two and the last two usually comprises about 10 - 15% (if so much) of a game's playing audience. I've yet to inspire the other 80% with any degree of consistency to come to tournaments, but then again I don't beg anyone to come because it's not my style.
Competitively, I think we have a lot of untapped potential to dominate the caribbean scene by miles and make an acceptable mark in the World of gaming. The general approach needs to change and I think a lot of things are in the pipeline to become a catalyst for that change.
08-06-2008, 07:03 PM
well it not kill it that much since only a few teams sign up for tourny so somebody hata recheck their sources
Imperial_X
08-06-2008, 08:04 PM
Paragraph 4 man. Try to keep up man.
08-06-2008, 08:19 PM
ok let me elaborate . Their are about 300 tt players on ggc playing dota. Doesnt tg contain 5000 members? which isnt even half of our gaming community . even if u minus the thousands of inactive tg members it still wont add up. Stop blaming our game dota cuz ur others games arent good enough to inspire more gaming :D. Im kidding but still think about lol
hero sometimes i really wonder if u are really shottar's son or something with the amount of bullF#$king shit u does letting come out of your mouth. u really need to wake up Hero and truely take a look around man.
Imperial_X
08-07-2008, 12:27 AM
That's a line of thinking that's full of holes.
Giving you the benefit of the doubt here, we can say TG has 5000 accounts registered.
How many of the members have multiple accounts?
How many have been banned?
How many have signed up just passing through never to return?
How many have died?
How many live in TnT?
How many are active in the local scene (online or otherwise)?
The only thing I blame dota for is making people say, think and do stupid things. I hear the most ridiculous utterances during dota sweats. Anyone who thinks they can prove me wrong has to be as dense as the amazon rain forest.
I don't blame dota for anything more than that. Although it's the inherent tendencies of an individual being acted out during such dota matches, I still generally see and hear more stupidity during these games.
What I think is crippling our competitive drive is the local gamers' inability to let things go and move on. If you read and internalize what I said, you'd see that I don't have anything against the game and I think that the PLAYERS overdo it with how much they play ONE game. It sickens me to see people with potential becoming one trick ponies.
If you had to go abroad to represent the country in any event, you could only take part competently in one. In that case you have to hope and pray that you're playing a particular game on particular settings instead of increasing your odds by branchin off to something else.
08-07-2008, 07:28 AM
Well, Imperial this is a common problem in Trinidad and people have been arguing about it for years. Remember the SOF era? Where everything was SOF II multiplayer? Good thing people graduate out of it.
In terms of the next step with competitive gaming, the first thing we need to do is REVIVE competitive gaming. Cold was making sense in an earlier thread by saying to continue promoting DOTA. I understand what you're saying about a one track mind, but if that's what we need to do to kinda get the fire going... then that's what we have to do. My 2 cents is push tournies/sweats in games that popular to bring in a new crowd/new blood then you could start to introduce newer games. So, to start tournies/sweats in:
Dota
Cod4
Tekken
Smash Brawl
Fifa
I could be wrong, but i think these games very popular in Trinidad right now and they're the best way to get people's attention. But, Imperial talking reaaal sense particularly here,
If you had to go abroad to represent the country in any event, you could only take part competently in one. In that case you have to hope and pray that you're playing a particular game on particular settings instead of increasing your odds by branchin off to something else.
Imperial don't get me wrong i totally understand what u are saying about how "limited" dota really is but it is the #1 game that we play at the moment. So we need to try an go with the flow and then later on develop/branch off to different things.But as we stand dota is the choice of gamers and the sad thing is , even thou it is the choice of gamers , they themselves are not even taken part in the tourneys. which is kind of confusing to me. Just imagine there were alot of free tourneys where all u had to do is sign up to enter, no strings attached or anything and gamers where still not entering. The reason behind it i think is because of the lack of "WILLPOWER" of there gamers, They are all so afraid of losen that they will not take the chance of entering which I find is one of the most STUPID reason EVER. Look at last year where SM was a new team ,they took a chance and stepped up there game lvl to get good results. They defeated my team the RNH and took the Crown from up " even thou it was short lived" but the main thing is THEY TOOK A CHANCE. So why can't the other teams out there do the same? What are they afraid of? The Top teams?. Let me tell u all this NONE OF THEY TOP TEAMS ARE GOING TO STAY ON THE TOP FOREVER. So get that through your head. Inorder for the gaming era to continue we need the Freshblood to step up and atleast take part . If not all the gamers would be haven this on there head stone "RIP"
08-07-2008, 10:54 AM
play counterstrike, COD4, CnC3,
ALONG WITH ur dota...EVEN IF its just one game...
imagine u go a cafe, men playing cnc3 or COD and u sour cuz u cant play it, and the oly game u cud play is dota...
just like SOF, DOTA's lifespan will die a slow death...then we can talk about progressive movement
08-07-2008, 11:06 AM
consider this a hint - cod4 soooon :P
problem with cod4 and cnc3...how much cafe's/men pc u know good enough to run them games? and still a large amount of the gaming community has no net access and relies on cafe's..so yea that hinders stuff..ah mean look at sip..main reason why they were stuck on sof so long is cause they couldnt run no other games..real lag in the fray..same kinda thing going on in java atm..owner need to do a lil upgrade so men could sweat cod4..thing is..yuh could sweat source in java..as we all know..is jus men doh wuh play it...the kinda men that used to be around to push these other games sweat nuh there no more nah..
look at me..i never used to play fps games cause i used to get motion sickness...i realise well it ha big tournaments n ting coming up..so i jump in games when loki n dem fellas was sweating..real sell and thing in the earlies..and eventually get a hang of thing..but tha nuh happening now..is real dota..dota dota and only kixx dota..no kinda competitiveness..
fenrir
08-14-2008, 04:22 PM
competitive gaming is dead, because noobs/players are afraid of loosing instead of getting better. in every game we see this. if we havin a dota tourney, men hear is.pro and gone. men hear sm and gone. no one wants to get better at anything, the want to win on their low skill levels. Sad since tg, gatt, vga/dest<<all founded on competitive gaming.
the biggest thing i hearing now is "i dont play dota competitivly anymore" steups
boxxy i eh forget allyu prize, workin on it
better not forget it..eh wuh the blacks pounding on your door son