View Full Version : Emo to be outlawed in Russia
The Russian government is in the process of drafting a law to make emo and goth music illegal.
Last month a parliamentary committee was convened to discuss a draft proposal of the Russian government's Government Strategy In The Sphere Of Spiritual And Ethical Education bill, the details of which were leaked to The Moscow Times.
http://www.roflemo.com/images/emo/Remoh.jpg
The newspaper subsequently reported that, among other things, the draft bill dubbed the musical movements a "dangerous teen trend" and called for emo and goth websites to be regulated and young people dressing like emos or goths to be banned from entering schools and government buildings.
The newspaper interviewed one of the bill's authors, Igor Ponkin from the Russian Interior Ministry's Public Oversight Council. Ponkin called emo a "social danger" and "a threat to national stability" and said the bill is a reaction to teen suicides such as the tragic death of British teenager Hannah Bond (http://www2.kerrang.com/2008/05/my_chemical_romance_speak_out.html).
[ source : http://www2.kerrang.com/2008/07/emo_and_goth_to_be_made_illega.html ]
07-25-2008, 08:15 PM
LOL ban them!!!!!......lol
I feel if they really do that there will be an out break in more off them
07-25-2008, 11:03 PM
im curious to why scar posts all these anti emo posts? whats the msg he tryin to convey for trinigamers??
I'm just catering to the emo-population of TG.
07-26-2008, 04:14 AM
and the anti-emo
i am anti-emo. There is no reason to want people to have you on suicide watch 24/7. Life sux yes, but NORMAL PEOPLE GET OVER IT
exterminatus
07-26-2008, 09:15 AM
Prelude to new anti-emo tg policy ?
There's more chance of an anti-MMO policy.
New Era Outlaw
07-26-2008, 10:38 AM
At first glance, I thought, "That's rather stupid. As much as I dislike the whole 'emo' culture, it's still their lifestyle, either way you take it."
When I read the whole thing, (the 'schools and government buildings' part), though, I realised that, in a way, it does make sense, because those are formal institutions that have its own code of conduct.
07-26-2008, 10:52 AM
a lifestyle is for ur choosing not other ppls. So they banning emo and leaving the gays? UR KIDDIN me? IMO normal is over rated neway So if u wanna be happy all the time it so wrong for a next man to be sad all the time? Or for a fighter to be angry all the time? I UNDERSTAND ITS A POTENTIAL SELF DESTRUCTIVE LIFESTYLE> BUT ALOT OF LIFESTYLES ARE
New Era Outlaw
07-26-2008, 11:41 AM
Very true. I'd like to think that, as long as it's not hurting anyone in the process, then people are entitled to live life as they choose.
i wondering emo..
"Emo music started the "emo" teen culture. Emo kids are stereotyped to wear black clothes and have hair dyed black or unnatural-colored. They are also stereotyped to be depressed and quiet. Some emo kids are depressed and do self-mutilation (hurt themselves). Sometimes this is because they feel inadequate, and think they deserve to be in pain."
HUH?
notting wrong with dressing a certain way..as people who listen to rap wear big clothes..
people who listen to dancehall look gay :P(j/k)
but.. naturally ask yourself, is it in us to feel failure 24/7 for no reason..should u hurt yourself because in your mind u think your notting O_O
thats a retarded trend >_>
eg >_>
OH NOES MY DADDY HAS GONE /TEAR
/wrist
/cry
lets see someone from a different background who does not listen to "emo" music..
dad just died..
oh well life goes on..guess amma try harder to go somewhere
Makes more sense :/
idk >_>
if these children have that weak mentality then by all means pass laws to stomp it out.
07-27-2008, 02:00 PM
emo kids hurt themselves....it is the duty of the law to prevent people from hurting themselves.
people who intentionally place themselves into clinical depression for style in their own self-sadistic and sometimes self-masochistic tendencies are worthy of quarantine....maybe even in a psychiatric prison.
it cannot be helped. well done russia! (keep in mind that this is the country that started its own vodka breweries to create low cost vodka to stop people from drinking mouthwash)
07-27-2008, 06:33 PM
emo kids hurt themselves....it is the duty of the law to prevent people from hurting themselves.
people who intentionally place themselves into clinical depression for style in their own self-sadistic and sometimes self-masochistic tendencies are worthy of quarantine....maybe even in a psychiatric prison.
Nah jed that is extreme plus u cah just do that since you dont know they background and their psycological condition. Most of them are Border line and have little or no psycological resiliance therefore making them 'emo'. They just need some help not incarceration. Not all hurt themselves physically but that doesnt mean they dont need some kinda help...
07-27-2008, 07:48 PM
banning emoness Cant occur neway its impossible . If u cut off a man ras does that mean hes not rasta at heart. IS NOT A DREADLOCK THING. If u make a happy person where dark clothes do u think he will be sad? NO. Im optimistic and I wear black most of the time other than my football jerseys.
This real ridiculous yes, they should of banned the gays when they was spreading aids then? If we wanna go into extremes. Not all emo /wrist . By putting a ban on emoness the only natural human thing will occur everyone will want to do it more. Oh lord i now studying it will have emo men in the closet now sighs.
But yeah u can never ban emo. Its good to stop the destructive behaviour but there is no actual way to seriously ban nething. So if u emo at heart and the government gonna bitch when u have on dark clothes makeup etc. fine . But no one can dictate someones psychological mentality , Just ask the gay ppl.
Sakura
07-28-2008, 12:24 AM
Everytime some stupid kid kills themselves theres an outburst of these things.
So how are they gonna judge who's "dressed emo or goth" to allow them into buildings.
Are there gonna be "No Wearing of Black Clothes/Eyeliner/Jewellry Allowed" signs?
hahahaha
07-28-2008, 04:09 AM
this emo thing hadda stop...it reminds me of cult behaviour....an example with religion is a bad one, as rastafarism is a religion, meanwhile emo is a trend....a conscious choice to follow a certain fashion.
emo can be banned,,,the hairstyle + emo uniform + emo piercings can be easily banned....
07-28-2008, 10:15 AM
of course it can be banned... pfft... its their country... and i agree with them...
but i figure it might just create more emo's -.-...
kriminal_kl
07-28-2008, 10:45 AM
banning is bad in a sense..i hate emo an all but, banning the music and lifestyle??? no way...then they should ban hip hop, dancehall alternative and the like, you guys dont even understand emo (even i) and we all know such action will promote rebellion...
still imo emo suckz.....
07-28-2008, 01:04 PM
actually, its just the lifestyle(or death-style) they want to ban...not the music.
and imo its a right decision....at least let them commit suicide in normal clothes that "they cant bear to take anymore"....
and a rebellion? an EMO rebellion?? LOL...they already rebelling against the masses of people that just want to live...what they gonna do? commit suicide? lol
i want to see an uprising in russia...see how far that gets them lol
07-28-2008, 01:06 PM
of course it can be banned... pfft... its their country... and i agree with them...
but i figure it might just create more emo's -.-...
OMG U KNOW WAT THIS MEANS...emos will get emo since their emoness has been denied...MAKING SUPER EMOS!!...my god..thats their plan..those bastards!!!
http://www.wegame.com/watch/My_Adoring_Fan_is_Emo/
lolo
07-28-2008, 04:32 PM
http://www.wegame.com/watch/My_Adoring_Fan_is_Emo/
lolo
OMG THAT FRIGGIN WIN hahahahahahaha
Who say start an emo vid thread!!
my turn
http://www.fugly.com/videos/4361/the-emo-video.html
http://www.joecartoon.com/videos/735-tickle_me_emo
!doomtack!
07-29-2008, 12:56 PM
If dem could ban EMO, dey should ban being gangsta too!!! :@
doh make meh go midevil on yuh bitch ass!
07-30-2008, 12:57 AM
HOSS THAT TICKLE ME EMO REAL BAD THOUGH. They best toy in the world when u leave it alone it does self mutilate its self. So u have to play with it alot and buy a new one. I would buy dozens of emo elmos and watch em rip em selves apart cuz its hilarious
07-30-2008, 01:26 AM
Hate will find a way.
!doomtack!
07-30-2008, 09:53 AM
wat is dat bill?
07-30-2008, 10:32 AM
Welll IMHO, you are born gay. I believe that is how god made you. Some people just take a little longer than others to find thier umm.. inner gayness.
You are not born emo. You are emo because of the music you listen to and the crowd you you pull. This all starts back at home - lifestyle; the kind of home you were brought up in, how you parents are, how they treated each other, etc.
And to those who want to ban gangstas and this and that. Please note that this is a RUSSIAN banning, not a world wide banning. Something is telling me that Russia is not mass populated with gangstas...
07-30-2008, 11:56 AM
Welll IMHO, you are born gay. I believe that is how god made you. Some people just take a little longer than others to find thier umm.. inner gayness.
i doubt that very much...
gayness along with a whole other bunch of lifestyles come about the same way as emo's do
New Era Outlaw
07-30-2008, 12:58 PM
I doubt anybody could be born instantly attracted to a certain gender. Aren't those things usually determined by puberty? I have heard of reports that chromosomal balances/imbalances can impact upon the overall sexuality of the fetus, though.
In any case, I think a few people missed the point of the thread.
(As I did when I first posted.)
They're not banning the emo lifestyle altogether. They're banning the emo look inside of institutions such as schools and government offices. As I said before, that might be understandable, because of the nature of those places. It's not even a new concept, either, because even in Trinidad, some restaurants and business have banned the 'gangsta' look from their places (no hats, sleeveless shirts, tank tops, low riders and short shorts, all of which can be found in that form of dress.)
!doomtack!
07-30-2008, 01:11 PM
They're not banning the emo lifestyle altogether. They're banning the emo look inside of institutions such as schools and government offices. As I said before, that might be understandable, because of the nature of those places. It's not even a new concept, either, because even in Trinidad, some restaurants and business have banned the 'gangsta' look from their places (no hats, sleeveless shirts, tank tops, low riders and short shorts, all of which can be found in that form of dress.)<!-- / message --><!-- sig -->
Finally somebody who understood wat i was tryin to say. In any case, my comment was just to try to highlight how prejudice some people think...
because they may see another person's behavior as being out of their norm, or society's norm, they think it's alright to shun it, even if their behavior(s) are of the same nature.
In any case, i think what they're trying to do in Russia is enforce a public code of conduct.
as for the gay thing... it's a whole argument of nature vs. nurture. Alot of homosexual men can trace back family members who were also homosexual, even if they had never had any contact with that member of the family (i even know of a real case of this).
Yet it is arguable that persons who live in, or are brought up in that sort of environment are more susceptible to following that behaviour pattern.
I think the same is true for EMO related behaviours. (although some people tend to group other behaviours as being emo).
just my 2 cents