View Full Version : Ministry Exibition & Gamers Lounge Discussion!
07-09-2008, 07:43 PM
Post any questions you may have about the upcoming event in Trincity Mall in this thread!
redman
07-10-2008, 05:17 AM
um hey everyone long time no see :D..anyway where exactly in the mall is this going to be?
madmunkie
07-10-2008, 08:14 AM
Yeah, 4 real, the mall kinda big, so which part of the mall is this gonna be?
most likely by radio shack..
07-10-2008, 10:16 AM
why it doh have dota anymore? :(
redman
07-10-2008, 10:19 AM
i noticed there is no COD4? or am i mistaken? hi bill :)
07-10-2008, 10:41 AM
Why this looking like a console event ? -.-"
Ok.. fine.. np @ console. but at least throw in a lil fps nah.. or some tps..
>_>
07-10-2008, 10:42 AM
As the Ministry of Sports and Youth affairs is involved First Person Shooters or any games with violence on a realistic level will not be allowed, sorry.
07-10-2008, 10:43 AM
I guess beating a man to death in tekken is not violent.
Of course not xD
07-10-2008, 11:08 AM
tekken is not confirmed as i already told scar.
no tekken? this event is gonna buss ;)
07-10-2008, 11:51 AM
yeah people who can only play 1 game might feel that way...
07-10-2008, 12:08 PM
Sonic Boooooooooooom
lol i dont believe u tink iam ashamed ov that ..i am a proud tekken whore
tekken > all v-games :cool:
07-10-2008, 12:24 PM
Specialization is good, but it does lead to disappointment when your game of choice is excluded.
yeah, you got a point there that y i want 2 "broaden my horizons " by learning sumtin new
spinner
07-10-2008, 12:41 PM
just might pass thru so i can get some licks from some tekken players lol...im really rusty in tekken these days but cant go a gaming expo to play one game eh kull? that just defeats the purpose of an expo
ok i am confused now...why is there talks about playin tekken wen it isnt even confirmed to be played?
07-10-2008, 12:54 PM
It is not confirmed right now. If it is the appropriate post will be edited.
can someone tell me exactly what is the point of this all day free exhibition?
07-10-2008, 01:22 PM
my guess:
ministry looking to see if it worth it to invest in cyber-athletics... so come out in your numbers and show that it it is
07-10-2008, 03:03 PM
my guess:
ministry looking to see if it worth it to invest in cyber-athletics... so come out in your numbers and show that it it is
yes please do so...and we do have dota coming so get prepared
07-10-2008, 03:06 PM
Can someone confirm the time?
07-10-2008, 03:10 PM
to be uninformed, sigh....
June has been declared Youth Month by the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs, as such they have decided to endorse and participate in several activities which the 'youth' would frequent. These activities range from cycling, to football, to swimming and of course, Video Games.
In order to adequately provide to the needs of gamers, the Ministry has decided to partner with Trinigamers.
This is great stuff..very impressed with the Ministry's initiative. Did TG try to contact them first or did they do it all on their own. Would love to hear the history behind this move.
07-10-2008, 03:19 PM
Salt will you and your team be attending?
07-10-2008, 03:59 PM
Salt will you and your team be attending?
nO pics :(
07-10-2008, 04:10 PM
what u men no pics? the event is NEXT WEEK!
07-10-2008, 04:55 PM
Can't make, but question, how many console/stations(or w/e) going to be there and where ever it is how much people can the space accommodate? Is real jam if they put it in a bad area and it going to have real people because it free.......
Angel of Death
07-10-2008, 04:59 PM
yea i agree.......how many stations will there indeed be?
07-10-2008, 05:27 PM
Lots of pics ! plz :D
07-11-2008, 12:34 AM
why yall doh come out and see?
07-11-2008, 10:02 AM
Salt getting time off?
HAI DON SUBERO!
i excited to come wednesday and thursday ^^
>_> @ rawRr
betty
07-11-2008, 02:21 PM
Will there be dota? Ill cum anyway i glad de ministry taking interest just wanna know if there will be DOTA... *sighs @ no fps*
sum tell me it might have real tennie weenie super guys around ..*hopes i doesnt step on anyone*
07-11-2008, 02:25 PM
Yes there will be dota.
hackman
07-12-2008, 01:46 PM
OMG no tekken OMG no FPS :( and i cah play fifa i have 2008 for months now and i still can't score a goal on the comp:( . I like d TG tag thing too leme get meh marker and a white jersey and i go be ready to go. Sigh free gaming event and ppl doh mix i going to have to stand up and watch them north ppl play whole day :(
worst yet is ah weekday and i already take meh day off ( can you say leave without pay :rolleyes: )
I really hope if i come i doh see troja and M_ill there alone cause i really doh feel safe around them:p. neway my question is well i really don't have one :D just hope ever thing runs smoothly and no EMOness plz plz plz
07-12-2008, 02:21 PM
meh boss blank meh when i asked for time off :(
Well I will be there for at least one day...sure there aren't many games there that interest me, but say what? I'll still be willing to try a ting and play a new game...I don't think they'd care too much at this point if there is a razor-sharp level of skill in all the games...it's just to show that there is interest in it.
Just have fun and enjoy yourselves....those of you all who can still do that from gaming anymore...
gank_meister
07-13-2008, 06:49 PM
so it definetly have dota?:D
07-13-2008, 08:16 PM
must we repeat ourselves? yes there is DAUGHTER!
Defence of the Ancients: Allstars - CONFIRMED!
Nah boy Para..hard times...we ain't play DoTa in a while..will definitely try to be there to support the event though. GJ TG
jdcrys_shinkuu
07-14-2008, 07:44 PM
I just had to say what a difference TG is from G@TT... XEN boy D@MN!!!!
m_illusionist
07-14-2008, 08:25 PM
ano daughter HAWT? she bess? and she will be there !! woot i will be there then :P
spawn
07-15-2008, 04:30 PM
Will there b any halo 2 or 3?
07-15-2008, 04:54 PM
The ministry is not supporting any FPS.
The Senseless Killing Of Our Youth !!!!!
Fps R Violent !!!!!
We Rather Stab Them To Death With Childlike Characters With Red And Green Hats !!!!!
07-15-2008, 07:57 PM
Well i heard para saying that the event might be moved to weekned.. But I see no notice of this so I guess its, Wed and Thurs for sure?
07-15-2008, 08:52 PM
I will be there . I can help out . Also be there rdy to take pics and post em up.
Wednesday & Thursday for sure.
edit. Ok apparently not, waiting confirmation.
spinner
07-15-2008, 11:03 PM
hmmm...so is this thing going down or wha? i want to pass up there thursday if possible..
07-15-2008, 11:05 PM
The Event Has Be Postponed!
spinner
07-15-2008, 11:10 PM
nooooooooooooooooo....man that sucks!! :(
07-15-2008, 11:37 PM
Imagine doing lots of hardwork, reaching up in the night to setup and get stood up. The ministry has not contacted us up to now with regards to cancellation. Geese was sick today and still found time to work on stuff for the event tomorrow. Xen had a hissy fit earlier this evening getting the necessary equipment.
I hope they get a weekend and this is not in vein.
New Era Outlaw
07-16-2008, 07:54 AM
I know a lot of people are out there, rolling their eyes and going "GOVERNMENT AGAIN!", but I hope that they realise that one thing they should consider is that the whole "Why isn't this thing on a WEEKEND RABBLE RABBLE RABBLE" was one of their major complaints about the thing in the first place.
Anyway, I'm sorry to hear that happened.
I was really looking forward to it (I was now for now raiding my cupboard to find my cowboy getup. You know....to bring some PIZZAZZ to the event.)
Hopefully, the event will go ahead according to plan, just on a later date.
Good luck, guys.
!doomtack!
07-16-2008, 09:11 AM
i'm happy to hear it was moved to a weekend...
I'll be there for sure if it is.
i think it should be a good thing in terms of better turn out (which is what you all were looking for... right?).
i just wish i wasn't as busy dese days... would be nice to help out TG in something like this....
raincheck hopefully...
omg omg omg omg
mall?
saturday?
thirsty emo kids?
GANGSTERS FROM CASTLETON?
MUDKIP HATERS?
OH NOES!!!!
07-16-2008, 11:06 AM
doh worry bill, box with a charizard face by the door will fix dat.
07-16-2008, 11:29 AM
err..
has anyone seen the mall on a weekend?
07-16-2008, 11:46 AM
ah well they did say weekend
mall weekend = everyone under 18 years old in trinidad and tobago!
07-16-2008, 03:22 PM
Hope the security is good for that.
Real guntas!
when they see boxy woxy they shall run for teh hills!
07-16-2008, 03:43 PM
NEW DATE - 16th & 17th August
07-16-2008, 05:02 PM
We need that in writing oui.
07-16-2008, 08:55 PM
lets hope there isnt a sale on razor blades
mass /wrists
Para so how this thing really running? How come Ministry didn't notify you guys and thing? Well if they do allyuh like that and you all still in... much respect for trying to get the event off still... Weekend is definitely a scene though. Maybe a vote to another location? Else is one setta snatty nose chirren will wanna be begging for a game.
07-20-2008, 03:06 PM
sigh now they move it to wen i goin abck school...sours..
07-21-2008, 02:08 PM
Para so how this thing really running? How come Ministry didn't notify you guys and thing? Well if they do allyuh like that and you all still in... much respect for trying to get the event off still... Weekend is definitely a scene though. Maybe a vote to another location? Else is one setta snatty nose chirren will wanna be begging for a game.
Sometimes you have to suck up your pride in order for the masses to benefit.
I take it that post was a response to Salt's post?
unforgiven
07-27-2008, 02:16 PM
yes trincity the best locaton ( atleast for me cause if it was somewhere pos i go cah make it :P )
hmmm quite 16th now huh .. i was plannin goin see darl knight same day but that cah happen now i cah wait so long to see dark knight ... well atleast it on a weekend that good enought fuh me!.
any updates on times and location for this event?
Atticus
08-07-2008, 09:31 AM
Soo amm....giveaways dey say.....in trincity. Das rel crowd.....rel man jus goi an loaf around for free shit.
08-07-2008, 10:47 AM
then loaf around!!!
!doomtack!
08-07-2008, 01:47 PM
OMG ROCKBAND!!!!
i wanna play i wanna play i wanna play.
*cough*
sry...
um... i think i comin oui.
jdcrys_shinkuu
08-07-2008, 07:36 PM
Hmm interesting... Ill be there for a while... Must represent...
DaemonX
08-11-2008, 05:26 PM
if rockband....hm well 2 rockband and ddr, hope everyone ready to see me go insane OOGA BOOGA
Ihsan
08-12-2008, 02:55 PM
Does anyone know who are the developers and graphic artists invited? I really want to know if ANYBODY is serious about game development here.
08-12-2008, 08:09 PM
Dr.Permanand mohan, a senior in the comsci division for computer sciences as well as video game programming and development in the University of the West Indies St.Augustine (UWI)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Permanand_Mohan
http://www.pmohan.org/
"video game programming and development in the University of the West Indies"
:confused: didn't know they had that kinda stuff going on there. guess i be there on saturday then.
Ihsan
08-13-2008, 03:00 AM
EDUCATIONAL games? Browser database architectures? My expectations just dropped from small into negative values.
08-13-2008, 07:59 AM
you were expecting full sail maybe ?
I think Ihsan was expecting there to be a Ubisoft-Trinidad. lol
08-13-2008, 02:40 PM
umm....id assume that the fundamentals taught in trinidad would greatly aid the development of a future game developer...
Ihsan
08-13-2008, 09:16 PM
Don't get me wrong, i appreciate anything that these guys are doing, BUT they don't look like gamers to me.
Games by non-gamers = crap.
I don't know what I was expecting, maybe someone who worked on a quake mod perhaps (It's not hard) or at least the guy who made that stag all fours.
umm....id assume that the fundamentals taught in trinidad would greatly aid the development of a future game developer...
We live in the internet age. The fundamentals can be found by anybody (like myself) who is really interested. There are many open source engines that anybody can use as templates for many types of games.
08-13-2008, 09:27 PM
mojo could probably shed some light on this topic since he was involved in the game design thing @ uwi.
08-13-2008, 10:15 PM
I know video game programming can be hard work but i would love nothing more but to do it as career choice. And seeing as trinidad are opening up some options i will seriously look into it. Lol when i was younger i dled a make ur own rpg engine and instructions on how to develop ur own game. addin sprites, conversations, trigger events monsters, monster aRT. IT TAke hrs just to get a lil piece of the story line goin and then i had the problem of drawing retarded looking monsters on paint lol
I think you'd be surprised at the many varied types of gamers there are. Just because it's educational games doesn't mean it's not fun.
riskbreaker
08-16-2008, 09:38 PM
I was there but nobody know me :confused:
ihsan i understand that you are a gamer and not a programmer, I totally respect that, but the fact remains, someone has to develop that great new game engine for use as a base for other developers.Games are developed at many tiers, and I have learned to respect the work that is done at all levels of development.
With respect to your opinion that games developed by non gamers being crap, u just decided that all the games that have been dominating the market over the past 2 decades are crap because they were developed by programmers and not gamers. However, gamers play their important part during testing but theoretically, a gamer is the worst person to develop a game. This theory is a corollary of a concept in software development that insists that the worst person to test an application is the developer!(if i need to elaborate on this point send me a pm)
Also in Dr Mohan's defence, he was wrongly tagged as a game developer in this thread, when in actuality his students are the game developers. He is the lecturer who advises and guides them in the irght direction. During the last two semesters he kept reminding me that he is not into game programming like the students who were actually doing the work, and like any programmer, he will have to do some research before understanding fully the techniques used by the students. All in all he was a great lecturer based on my experience and some others who did the game development courses.
Let me leave you something to think about in closing. To gamers, World of Warcraft is the best selling PC game of all time. To me, it's simply the most widely used distributed database management system.
08-17-2008, 12:00 AM
aha.................... he make some sense i guess cuz there is a big difference between developing and testing.
But i heard that video game development from 2-3 seperate sources that it would be a career prettty soon in TT. So testing, programming and w/e . Can neone enlighten me on whats goin on?
Cuz i heard uwi about to offer a course on it. then i saw a sign in curepe but idk.
I need to find out things on this like: What are the requirements to train for it? How long does it take to train/study? Is this a serious new career in TT? What companies are going to support this?
I mean are we goin to get ubisoft, blizzard, konami, square enix???? Or some random companies that looking for a trainable human resourse for cheaper labour?
I still really wanna know what goin on with this cuz i was actually gonna go orlando to study game design at a certain point. But just other responsibilities held me back atm and i didnt wanna leave tt yet ( LAWD IF I HAD ONLY KNOW I WOULD OF GONE AND LEAVE SHE MC SIGHS) .
I will be at gamer lounge tomorrow as well might be there early( 7min walk). So if nebody wanna have a serious productive conversation about this let me know. I will be the redskin guy ppl calling hero/perma = P
Ihsan
08-17-2008, 01:37 AM
ihsan i understand that you are a gamer and not a programmer... theoretically, a gamer is the worst person to develop a game....(World of Warcraft) it's simply the most widely used distributed database management system.
I'm a programmer and not a gamer (ask anybody who's played DotA wilth me LOL).
I agree with almost all the points you put out there now that it's clear that Dr Mohan is not a game developer except that good games are made by non-gamers but that's a debate for another thread.
Wow @ WoW argument.:D
I'm a start small, think big person. Instead of reinventing the nuclear reactor (a game engine ain't no wheel) just make a good mod. You'll quickly find that there's a lot more to making a game these days than programming. 3D artists, sound engineers, animators, mocap actors, voice actors, testers, writers, concept artists and publishers are all as critical to a modern project as good programmers.
The ultra-mod-friendly-free-and-opensource game i've been messing around with most is Nexuiz (http://www.nexuiz.com). I've learned a lot about game develoment over the past couple of years just by hanging around their forums.
08-17-2008, 09:07 AM
thats nice ishan and i know u just replying but how does that help permabasher = P
Gamers Lounge Day 2 is starting @ 1 PM
- Tekken
- Street Fighter
- Super Smash Brothers Melee
- Wii Sports
- Rockband
- Stepmania
- DotA
- Need for Speed
There are lots of prizes to be won but you have to be there to have a chance of it. Supposed to have a DotA tournament today and perhaps also FIFA since we have more time to play with.
Ihsan
08-17-2008, 11:18 AM
thats nice ishan and i know u just replying but how does that help permabasher = P
1. Having a mod under your belt goes a long way to getting you employed in a real game studio. Quote Raven Software jobs section (the first random place I checked), level designer
"Qualifications
* 2+ years experience in developing prop and modular environment models, textures, and skins or Mod community experience with a substantial 2d and 3d portfolio"
2. You can learn enough to just do it yourself. The only difference between bungie and you is knowledge (and licensing agreements with Microsoft). Most of the same software they use is available to everybody, just that they use it to make games.
I can show you how to 3D model in blender and how to make maps in gtkRadiant, we can get some concept art and writers from trinitaku, my brother's a music producer so I can get sound done properly, mojo can learn some QuakeC for gameplay programming and we have a game. Great on everybody's resume.
Every tool I mentioned is not even shareware but FREE. For nothing but time and effort you have a working, playable game. Hell, I can even show you how to 3d scan an object with just a webcam and a laser level. Knowledge IS power. Stop being powerless.
3. Somebody has to kickstart the industry here. You need something to show to get people excited. It might as well be US taking the local videogame industry where we want it to go.
P.S. I think I need to show something myself so if there's any place in Trinidad you'd like to frag in I'll make a Nexuiz map of it and make it downloadable. Suggestions welcome.
08-17-2008, 11:20 AM
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y119/Ninja644/TgEvent033.jpghttp://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y119/Ninja644/TgEvent082.jpghttp://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y119/Ninja644/TgEvent072.jpghttp://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y119/Ninja644/TgEvent047.jpg
08-17-2008, 11:21 AM
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y119/Ninja644/TgEvent121.jpghttp://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y119/Ninja644/TgEvent123.jpghttp://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y119/Ninja644/TgEvent126.jpghttp://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y119/Ninja644/TgEvent127.jpghttp://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y119/Ninja644/TgEvent129.jpg
08-17-2008, 03:14 PM
gj on the pics so far. Add more please!!!
08-17-2008, 03:45 PM
ROFL mr. Keiron rela thirst LOL. SOURS U AINT HERE. LOL DSi i sure it go have more later . Btw i am here at the event atm and LOL i aint seeing a man named shadow hitokiri . HMMMMM I WONDER WHERE HE IS. ROFL