View Full Version : PS2 now or PS3 later

03-03-2005, 10:40 AM
Im no console fan boy, but I really like tekken and PS2 got tekken5!!! With the PS3 right around the bend (1yr) should I buy one of those modded PS2s now or a PS3 later?

Please dont just post 'later' or 'now' give some reasoning.

Levi (dude from java) said the he thinks you shouldnt purchase a console until 1yr after release.. what do you all think?

03-03-2005, 10:54 AM
purchase ps2 now, beat out tekken and whatever badass games u could get for it
maybe even get a hardrive for it !

then sell it nex year and buy a ps3 ( someone would buy that in a one .. damn ah mean people still buyin ps1s )

hopefully ps3 would be backwardly compatible with ps2

03-03-2005, 11:34 AM
ps3 will be backward compatible

at de moment a de slim ps2 not worth getting, too much lens problems

check places such as ebay for a used one

but a ps2 is a must have it really worth having a ps2

03-03-2005, 03:31 PM
With the price tag there is really no reason not to get one. I heard some rumors about the price of the PS3, somewhere along the lines of 400USD upwards.Best you get a Ps2 now, and a few months after the ps3 is out get that:)

ARCH_ANGEL
03-03-2005, 04:22 PM
The last time i was big on a console was back in the NES days.. i have had a ps1 and well meh xbox which i never got games for but i never saw the use for a console when all of my work communication and well gaming and well media could be done on one machine..

But with all the mods that i am seeing for the ps2 and the xbox i really see the possibilty that the future gaming console will be the media center of the everyday house hold with out all the networking issues software updates and whatever virus problems you could get with a pc..

I started looking at some of the concept art for the p23 that some people putting out there if it looks anything like that i want one just on look factor alone.... BUt i would recommend getting the ps2 i sold my ps1 a while after the ps2 came out and i got a really good price on it ...l THere is always the person willing to get the old system especially sony there name and quality always demand a good price... I would upgrade to the ps3 if i was you after the first or second price drop on the ps3 yes people they always drop the price/... ANd as OPi said it should be backward compa...

03-03-2005, 06:46 PM
k, i looked online and saw that there is a linux kit for the PS2 (official) and there are mod chips (DSM4) that allow you to use 'hdloader' to load games straight of the hdd.

I wonder if i can have both. Play copied games and use linux? I know the linux uses the modified ps2 hdd THat could be troublesome...

I want the linux so I can play divx etc as i would with my pc. The PS2 linux supports output to a TV or monitor

03-03-2005, 07:36 PM
pars,u can play divx without linux,ps2 has many divx media players,some work well others don't,they all open source,u just dl em and burn de image then load dem onto a mem card and anytime u pop in a dvd rom wit divx files voila,it starts :D
i wudn't recommend u against buyin a ps2 now cuz they not as expensive anymore and they worth the cash,and as rum said u can easily sell urs when the ps3 comes out to buy a ps3 !!

03-03-2005, 10:03 PM
Hmm @ pop in memory card... Interesting stuff...

03-03-2005, 10:23 PM
yeah the ps2 is very versiatile with the modding...if only i could afford to do it...i find it too expensive to do

03-04-2005, 05:51 AM
only xpensive based on what model u have xec,newer and oldest models = rell money iymc,but if u had an inbetweener model it go cost u like 3-400 bucks !

03-04-2005, 09:56 AM
Im looking to get the following and I would like to know if I can just install linux on it (providing I can get a pirated copy of the linux for PS2)

NON Slim PS2 with DSM4pro mod chip and 120/160gb HDD & PS2 network card

I have a USB mouse and KBoard available for use.

CAN i get linux installed on that?

Opi/Spoilt help meh out, im looking to make the purchase mid-end April

03-04-2005, 10:14 AM
buy the PS2 now, when the PS3 comes out it is more than likely going to be @ $400. USD. and the levi dude is right, the best time to buy any console is a year after it releases, because in that first year you will get a chance to sit back and observe the type of titles being pushed by developers for the console, in addition, a year after a console releases there must be a couple of simply ground breaking titles that would ensure that even more people buy the console that year.

03-04-2005, 10:46 AM
Got any informaton with respect to modification of PS2? and linux and how that affects putting linux on the PS2?

03-04-2005, 11:05 AM
modding de ps2 very easy

me and spoilt actually mod one by ourselves

recommend u get a 120 gb hd and a 40 gb to swap

120 for the games and 40 to run linux

dms ezi pro is de mod chip to look out for

u need a usd ps2 compatible keyboard for running linux

and of cource ah ps2 i recommend model v7-v10

03-04-2005, 11:59 AM
k when you say swap you mean open the ps2, put in HD and then close it back?

The linux cant work with the normal HDDs it needs the 40gb?

How does the HDD connect to the PSU?

That version is the NON slim one?

03-04-2005, 01:31 PM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Mar 4 2005, 10:59 AM
k when you say swap you mean open the ps2, put in HD and then close it back?

The linux cant work with the normal HDDs it needs the 40gb?

How does the HDD connect to the PSU?

That version is the NON slim one?

1. hd does hook up on de network card, everyting does be there,
all u need is to unsscrew 2 screws and slide the hard drive out.

2. it does work all u need is to format to ps file system hence u need another hd

3. what psu? everyting on de network adapter, it sweet u will be impressed when u see it

4. all de version i listed above, the slim version is the v11 and v12 v11 had major issues

03-04-2005, 07:10 PM
k things coming to focus now,

take some pics or direct me to pics of the ps2 hdd and hwo it connects, can i use a variation of a USB2 external drive?

I finally getting some idea of how all this connecting and yeah i read bad stuff bout the slimmer version. I think V10 sounds decent.

PSU supposed to be PS2,

03-05-2005, 02:25 AM
ok here is some picks to give para a bigger clear better pic :P

this is the back of the ps2 with the network adapter
http://www.trinigamers.com/~opium/ps2-1.jpg

as u could see the hard drive slides out
http://www.trinigamers.com/~opium/ps2-2.jpg

hard drive with network adapter
http://www.trinigamers.com/~opium/ps2-3.jpg

power and ide connections for the hard drive
http://www.trinigamers.com/~opium/ps2-4.jpg

and the big mistry where the hd goes a big ole slot
http://www.trinigamers.com/~opium/ps2-5.jpg

this how u add a hard drive to a playstation2 simple as that
i dont need usb ide stuff nor all kind of wierd voodoo

and ofcourse para might want to think "can i add 2 hds on that with ah ide cable mod?" de answer is NO

03-05-2005, 02:27 AM
if alyuh need more help with it email me or see me at topaz
spoilt@gmail.com

03-05-2005, 02:28 AM
Now that is what i call service!! the pics really helped

03-05-2005, 08:46 AM
PS2 = Good
PS3 = Really Goood

i say take the PS2 now and beat out all the games you cud like rum said and get the PS3 when it comes out

--->imagine the gran turismo on that beast :) :) :)

03-05-2005, 11:32 AM
hmmm u real dreaming

when ppl will start buying the ps3 will be lik3 2-3 years after the release

understand de hardware aspects and software releases

these will are the key points on making a console big

doh just hype it up, ps3 will be a console when it have the right price and a very good model to get.

camrachi-mishima
03-29-2005, 10:16 AM
Cereal Killer is also in similar contemplation about current gen or next gen. I suggest that you relax on current gen, face it, the run is over, while there will still be great games coming out I look at it like this;

1) The PSIII may appear sooner than we realize, so time really is of no consequence, you said it yourself, you are not a console gamer like that, so if you wanna jump in the pool, and oh what a great pool it is, you can wait.

2) With all the expected features of ALL the next gen consoles expect a high price point. Both Microsoft and Sony have stated that they are aiming for an "all in one" type machine, so it will come at a hefty price. Use this time to save every dime in your PSIII fund. Believe me, you are gonna need it, especially living in T'dad where they amp up prices 2 fold.

3) You are gonna want additional games and periperals for your PSIII, with games @ $55.00 US a piece and an additional controller, you will need the money. The money that you nearly spent on a PSTwo which at that time you would have spent on a PSTwo and a few "old" games.

All in all it will prove to be a better move to wait and save cash for Next Gen. Xbox Next is coming in less than 10 months, you may even want that. I suggest you save your dough.

:kakashi4:

03-29-2005, 10:24 AM
:( Tekkens already coming down and I am just about to order my modified tricked out PS2. If anything Ill sell it when im ready for the PS3. As of now I need to train in Tekken 5.

03-29-2005, 12:23 PM
i want to get a PS2 to play san andreas but is it likely to come out the same time as the PS3? then if it does i should wait to buy a PS3 or get it on PC.

03-29-2005, 04:23 PM
Originally posted by takiaji_bless@Mar 29 2005, 11:23 AM
i want to get a PS2 to play san andreas but is it likely to come out the same time as the PS3? then if it does i should wait to buy a PS3 or get it on PC.

san andreas done come out so what you talking about???
ps3 coming out next year
yuh have a year to go and well ps2 have a sweet mod so
it up to you and if yuh want a ps3 when i come out yuh looking to dish out money like bill gates
and para
there always have a time you can sell that ps2 because that ps2( the big version) real rare to get so get it before it sell out
and i know what i saying

03-30-2005, 07:00 PM
San Andreas came out for PC already? i didnt know that.

hopefully its a shorter time and there is no delays with sony production line for the ps3. Do u know the exact date trhat its coming out does anyone. i dont know. The ps2 still rocks(the big version) i not really backing the slim one because it doesnt have a fan and it tends to heat up faster and slow down gameplay.

i dont got plenty money so imm not in a hury to buy the ps3 when it comes out.i hear its expensive.

03-30-2005, 07:07 PM
actually at JK they run that slimPS2 for 3 days straigh when GT4 was out. No problemo. They even had one at car crazy in the hot sun runnin whole day, no problems....

he say he not pushing them because of talk of it overheating but personally i eh see nuttin wrong with dem.

for the big PS2's. Stay far from the version 10's. Those lasers does go tru REAL fast.