View Full Version : Mysterious Blizzard Announcement Looming
Since the start of this month splash screens on many of Blizzard's sites have been changed to an icy image that has been slowly crumbling. The centre has broken away and what seems to be runes or maybe even Protoss symbols have begun to appear on the ice.
So far the speculation has hovered between the Starcraft II release and the Diablo MMO launch.
www.blizzard.com (http://www.blizzard.com)
You can view the image history here. (http://www.wowinsider.com/photos/june-2008-splash-screen-speculation/)
[ source : www.wowinsider.com (http://www.wowinsider.com) - http://www.wowinsider.com/2008/06/25/blizzards-splash-screen-changes-for-june-25th-reveals-new-rune/ ]
06-25-2008, 02:16 PM
Gosh, blizzard.
Doh announce the SCII so soon
06-25-2008, 02:27 PM
looks more like diablo from the speculations
06-25-2008, 02:28 PM
I feel its WoW Related, though the first thing came to mind was
STARGATE!!
06-25-2008, 03:43 PM
i know i forgot to post something
Yes, from all indications, its Mainly Diablo 3, with a minor part being the WWI.
Blizzard usually drops hints, if u look at the source code of the splash, u can see some images in there.
Another hint, is the WWI tshirt that was released, featuring a pic of the Death Knight ( upcoming WoW), Kerrigan, ( Upcoming Sc2) and a big red ass Diablo in the back.
Big Red Hint ?:P
06-25-2008, 03:43 PM
I was thinking it was WoW realted too para, thought it was there expansion Warth of the Lich King
I would be better if it was SC-II :D
What is the price of Diablo-II, I wounder if it to late to get a feel for that game yet?
06-25-2008, 03:46 PM
It is the Lich king expansion...
06-26-2008, 05:50 PM
Most likey wrath of the lich king - northrend, frostmorne
06-27-2008, 09:47 AM
If you guys look back today there are eye now....looking more like SC-II is to be announced soon.....you ready for it para...lol
06-27-2008, 12:19 PM
SC II is not ready, I think its Arthas.
Check this out, look at the eyes, its the same.
http://www.worldofwarcraft.com/wrath/
06-27-2008, 12:38 PM
SC II is not ready, I think its Arthas.
i agree
wrath of the lich king
I hope it's not Diablo 3. I could resist the Warcraft MMO but I played D2 so much I don't know if I could. :(
Don't do eet Blizzard!
06-27-2008, 01:01 PM
Its the marks on the ice I am looking at also.
There aren't marks like that in WoW.
06-27-2008, 03:59 PM
Diablo 3
http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/8034/faithv23tk1.jpg
DAY ONE
Description: A sheet of ice with a small crack in the center. In the bottom left corner was a rune shaped like a y. This rune has been noted to be similar to the Shael Rune in Diablo, and also is the rune closest to the hilt of Frostmourne.
Additional Details: None. Details such as the logo on the homepage being half-blue, half-green and the blood-stained ice on the Wrath page finally get noticed by the majority but have been present since last Blizzcon.
Prediction: WRATH OF THE LICH KING. The rune from Frostmourne being there seems to point that way, though it IS also very similar to a Shael Rune. Many speculate that the rune in question is a Blizzard artist's signature that he disguises as a rune so as to be inconspicuous. Some offer up speculation that perhaps it isn't ice, it's the worldstone, shattered by Tyrael, which is predominantly shot down. Starcraft is basically ruled out.
DAY TWO
Description: The cracks in the ice have burst further and light shines through. The Frostmourne/Shael Rune remains there while a Hel Rune, specifically from the Diablo universe, appears in the upper-right.
Additional Details: None
Prediction: DIABLO III. The appearance of the Hel Rune singlehandedly shifts the balance towards D3 as far as the splash goes.
DAY THREE
Description: The cracks in the ice have finally burst through, revealing empty space. The Frostmourne/Shael Rune stays where it was, as does the Hel Rune, and now a Protoss symbol has appeared.
Prediction: NEW FRANCHISE. A rune from the Diablo universe. A rune from the Protoss. And the y-shaped rune now seems like it is indeed from Frostmourne. It's now apparent where this is going, and I would be SHOCKED to see differently.
DAY FOUR
Description: The ice has broken open further, and an unidentified rune that looks something like a solar system has made itself present. Eyes seem to have appeared in the middle of the gap, but that could just be conveniently shaped snow. That seems careless of Blizzard, unless they're trying to make us see things. We are now one correctly placed rune away from a pentagram formation.
Additional Details: Apparently inside sources have CONFIRMED Diablo III, despite Day Three's almost assured prediction of a new franchise. Here's a list of the top seven reasons Diablo III will be announced. Countdown to Diablo 3 - sc2Pod (http://www.mmowned.com/forums/redirect-to/?redirect=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.sc2pod.com%2Fnews%2FCou ntdown_to_Diablo_3%2F)
Prediction: DIABLO III + WRATH INFO. It seems obvious that we'll be getting some information on Wrath of the Lich King, but Diablo III seems more and more likely every day. If Day Five's rune is placed in the upper left, we will have a pentagram formation of runes, which would point almost directly at Diablo. Day Six is Saturday, which would be the big reveal. Convenient that only one more rune is needed and only one more day is left. Not to mention that Saturday is also the anniversary of D2 and LoD. The eyes, which do look like the Lich King's as well, also match perfectly with those on the cover of Diablo II.
DAY FIVE
Description: The ice has melted away further to reveal big, glowing eyes which seem to be almost definitely the Lich King's, though it is still not 100% out of the question that it's Diablo or a Protoss, it's juuuust vague enough. A fifth rune has been added, making the formation of runes officially a Pentagram.
Prediction: BIG WRATH NEWS + SURPRISE D3 ANNOUNCMENT. With the eyes almost certainly belonging to the Lich King, you may be inclined to accuse me of clinging to desperate hopes about Diablo III, but it's just too bizarre that the runes are Pentagram-shaped, in addition to the supposed inside-source confirmation of Diablo III. It's my current belief that the splash is for Wrath, and they'll whip D3 outta nowhere.
DAY SIX
*Today's the big day! Coming soon!*
MPORTANT LINKS AND INFO
Splashes
Day One: http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.wowinsider.com/media/2008/06/ice1.jpg
Day Two: http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.wowinsider.com/media/2008/06/ice2.jpg
Day Three: http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.wowinsider.com/media/2008/06/ice3.jpg
Day Four: http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.wowinsider.com/media/2008/06/ice4.jpg
Day Five: ???
Day Six: ???
Evidence Towards Diablo III
Leak from inside sources: http://www.shacknews.com/onearticle.x/53312
Blizzard buys www.diablo3.com: http://www.shacknews.com/onearticle.x/52476
Worldwide Invitational (WWI) Poster *note Diablo's prominence. Last year he almost hidden in the back*
http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.wowinsider.com/media/2008/06/danielw_wwi08_016.jpg
Comparison of Eyes
Diablo:
http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.wowinsider.com/media/2008/06/ice4_diablo2849.jpg
http://img504.imageshack.us/img504/4991/ice12we7.jpg
http://img507.imageshack.us/img507/4695/elohelde4.jpg
Arthas:
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m53/plmzaqtybn/lichkingrr2.jpg
Protoss:
http://www.iforce.co.nz/i/ff64f1239cced3d84748387cea234fd4.gif
Possible Leaked Final Image?
http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg83/infishadow/blizzard.jpg
Video Analysis
http://youtube.com/watch?v=eBGIQ7ZuuiU
06-27-2008, 04:12 PM
what ii sayy
doh doubt eett
06-27-2008, 04:31 PM
Guess we will just wait and see.
I expect something D3 related to be announced but the images scream! WoW
06-27-2008, 05:51 PM
thats what they want u to think :P
come on we know how blizzard nasty
06-27-2008, 06:06 PM
blizzard.com down?
06-27-2008, 08:23 PM
What made you say that??
Well it really is starting to look like D3
06-28-2008, 04:13 AM
Guess we will just wait and see.
I expect something D3 related to be announced but the images scream! WoW
While I agree it looks like something for woltk I don't think it is. Mainly because burning crusade had nothing like this. The most I can expect reguarding WOTLK is the announcement of the open beta date.
06-28-2008, 09:54 AM
It up fellas it up!!!!!!
Check it out....just the pic alone makeing me want to play it now
06-28-2008, 11:57 AM
Check it out....just the pic alone makeing me want to play it now
ent lol... blizzard just pwns everytime oui
06-28-2008, 12:02 PM
It would have been nice to see the transformation from the icy picture to diablo3
My browsers were messed up this morning and I didn't get to check anything before I went to work. waw @ Diablo III
06-28-2008, 05:29 PM
blizzard going to send me crazy just now yes...
Sc2 and diablo 3? how i supposed to keep a job! LOL
Check out the transformation here Para.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=LwtL2o1apn4
06-28-2008, 06:38 PM
omfg scar........ :(
owned so badly i was
06-28-2008, 06:45 PM
why sooo much ppl suddenly using this...lol
06-29-2008, 01:34 AM
Omg @ scar
Where do you ppl keep coming up with these things....lol
06-29-2008, 12:46 PM
it a shame that people now discovering the transformation video....
06-29-2008, 12:57 PM
scaR noooo
06-29-2008, 01:02 PM
doh worry i took matters into my own hands and pwned scar :)
crossdrilled
10-04-2008, 11:19 AM
Ok, it is official, I hate Blizzard now :mad: