View Full Version : Going Pro and sacrificing everything else.

06-09-2008, 06:44 PM
Based in part on statements made on this forum, do you aspire to be a Pro gamer and willing to sacrifice everything (this is an extreme) to get there.
What is a pro-gamer?

Does going pro necessitate forsaking education, a social life, family life or religious duties?

There is no right answer for this, everyone has their own opinion on this topic.

__________________________________________________ ______

My Answer.

What is a pro gamer?
To me a pro gamer is someone who like in normal sports play games for a living. Its like a pro football/basket ball player but you get paid less $$. The $$ may change in the future.

Do I aspire to be a pro gamer?
If I get the opportunity I'll have to consider it.

Like entering a new job/career, I need to analyze the short/long term benefits. If Pro gaming provides a good steady monthly salary, benefits for me if I can't game anymore and room for improved gains I will consider it.

At present, I think I'll continue focus on a regular career path and play the games during spare time.

Does going pro necessitate forsaking education, a social life, family life or religious duties?

To me there are priorities and these are mine.

Religion
Family Life
Education+Work
Social Life + Gaming

It works like this, if #4 affects 1,2,3 I will have to reduce time spent on it. If #3 affects 1,2 I'll have to adjust it and so on.

There are some people who care more about gaming than anything else. There is nothing wrong with wanting to win or desire to improve your game but in my opinion there needs to be a balance. With the addictive nature of gaming, it always helps to stick to people who have a similar balance to keep you in check.

Friend 1> Time to pray, if yuh enter that next game you will miss prayer.
Friend 2> Yuh have CXC exams in 2 weeks, put down the dota.
Friend 3> Hoss yuh doh need to do this raid, spend time with your wife.
Friend 1> Its 1am, you would not be rested for work if you play this next game. Take loss and come back tomorrow.

I am just giving you an idea on how I feel towards the topic based on my experience. Some of you may identify with it some may not.

06-10-2008, 06:58 AM
i totally agree with all sentiments express by para. i also am in hte same phase of life as hime and also have the same ranking of priorities. my real concer is for the younger one still in school and not mature enough to analyse a stituation and do what benifits them most. when men making statements that they rather playgame than do their school work than somthing wrong. i think as the older ones in TG we have a duty to keep an eye on the younger ones an guide them where we can.

Life is a game but....it eh have no rmk!!! nuff said :cool:

06-10-2008, 01:47 PM
ent!!!

i know a couple people waste their form 4 and 5 life hiding from school in the internet cafes...its not worth it if someone who does such is reading this.

a couple years after that when you see the people who stayed in school progress and leave you behind, turning back then is hardly ever an option.

it true that not all people make it....but school cuts the odds significantly

06-10-2008, 02:01 PM
Doobs, I think there are "mature" and by that I mean older gamers out there who can not analyse the situation as you put it.

06-10-2008, 02:17 PM
<--- spent many many school days in dest/VGA . Duckin afternoon school . Goin on lunch . Goin java / sip and surf or even gatt when im supposed to be in lessons. I duck school for game so much it wasnt even funny.
But in the end I came out fine.I really dont recommend ne one else to follow this part while it was fun and did contain a lot of lies to parents and teachers thus far.
The only reason i didnt have an EPIC FAIL@ school. Is because I am naturally smart and retain information easily. So i passed school with out tryin with good grades/average. Now i could have came out of school with much better (not that i didnt come out good). But because of this I guess i will never know how well i could had done had i spent the required time in school and went the extra mile.
As doobs say it have no rmk in life.

06-10-2008, 05:50 PM
same as pema... basically

my whole family games and all of us are smart and getting sucessful in life simply because of balance...

We study during the week and game once it have no studies (mainly on weekends because of school but the gaming is uncontested)...

Don't think any of us will go pro though...

My motto - Work hard and play harder...

06-11-2008, 09:15 AM
What about those who could manage playing game and studying seriously? Its all about time management.

06-11-2008, 11:22 AM
What about those who could manage playing game and studying seriously? Its all about time management.

the subject of this thread is "Going Pro and sacrificing everything else."
we are not talking about those who already have the balance.

06-11-2008, 11:23 AM
My apologies..

06-11-2008, 01:04 PM
Soldier, what is a pro gamer to you?

06-11-2008, 01:46 PM
<--- spent many many school days in dest/VGA . Duckin afternoon school . Goin on lunch . Goin java / sip and surf or even gatt when im supposed to be in lessons. I duck school for game so much it wasnt even funny.
But in the end I came out fine.I really dont recommend ne one else to follow this part while it was fun and did contain a lot of lies to parents and teachers thus far.
The only reason i didnt have an EPIC FAIL@ school. Is because I am naturally smart and retain information easily. So i passed school with out tryin with good grades/average. Now i could have came out of school with much better (not that i didnt come out good). But because of this I guess i will never know how well i could had done had i spent the required time in school and went the extra mile.
As doobs say it have no rmk in life.

Same but one difference, doing that crap really made it hard for me to adjust to higher levels of education, I really don't recommend people doing it to be honest. Yuh might get through primal/secondary even sometimes yuh first degree easy, but later down the road it does come and bite yuh.

wildchild
06-12-2008, 08:59 PM
Would i go pro and sacrifice everything for it?

I don't know...if the chance was there. And i could really pull it off and get paid for gaming with room for increases in $$... It totally depends on one thing

Have i finished my education and have a Bsc in my hand?

This is important to me. Even though i'll be following the path of a gamer and it won't be necessary i find comfort in knowing that i have finished some part of the path for knowledge and it's there under my belt.

What about friends, family, girlfriend, religion everything i hold dear?

Being a pro gamer has always been a dream of mine. If the chance arises and i have finished my education i will leave it all behind in the blink of an eye. But religion? I not bending on that, I must be allowed the time to my faith. There is no compromise in that department. But everything else...i can leave behind.

Prob went off topic with this one but it's how i view it and if the choice was offered to me, it's what i would need to be in place b4 deciding.

06-12-2008, 10:31 PM
Men gettin tie up. Some ppl seem to think all pro gaming is about is gettin paid to game well. I dont agree with that at all . Its about the thrill, the experience , the fact that you gonna make a living on what u truly love doin. Im think the ratio is like bearly a few hundred ppl make an actual lifestyle outa pro gaming. But then that not counting advertisement personel and organisers. I mean at the end of the day knowing u are truly the best at something and got payed and appreciated is whats it all about .
It is not about look west tournament paying 3000 dollars and east only paying 2000 to winner. Maybe some pro gamers are in it for the money and if they found ways to keep an actual high cash flow based on the time and money they have to invest then good for them.
But the bottom line anyone that wants to go pro gamer shouldnt be thinkin bout hmmm i wonder if i could build a house with this. Cuz then u could never call that goin pro and sacrificing everything else.

wildchild
06-14-2008, 04:18 PM
I probably gave the wrong impression when i made my post. I won't go pro for the money, but to compete against the best of the best everywhere. To know my level and how good i am and to get better at what i love. Because i love gaming, with a passion. Mainly FPS not every category.

When i was young and i couldn't play quake 3 when it now come out you know what i do? I learnt more about computers and my graphics card, and got a old voodoo card from my cousin and tweak it and mod it and inject nanites in it so that it'll run the quake 3 arena. And i beat up that game so much that i play it over on every level on nightmare and beat the damn game again.

That's how much i love gaming. P.S and that old voodoo card last me a good 3yrs after the modding eh!
My love for it went to such limits that i kept learning more and more about pc's so as to know how to optimize em to run the latest games. Cuz around that time i was too young to have a job and my parents didn't really grasp my way of thinking. And when i did get a job my cash was always spent on pc gamer mags and pc world and any bloody book about a computer.

All because of my love for gaming. So understand, it was never about the money. It's all about the game. And to know if i'm the best at what i do.

06-18-2008, 04:21 PM
Men gettin tie up. Some ppl seem to think all pro gaming is about is gettin paid to game well. I dont agree with that at all . Its about the thrill, the experience , the fact that you gonna make a living on what u truly love doin. Im think the ratio is like bearly a few hundred ppl make an actual lifestyle outa pro gaming. But then that not counting advertisement personel and organisers. I mean at the end of the day knowing u are truly the best at something and got payed and appreciated is whats it all about .
It is not about look west tournament paying 3000 dollars and east only paying 2000 to winner. Maybe some pro gamers are in it for the money and if they found ways to keep an actual high cash flow based on the time and money they have to invest then good for them.
But the bottom line anyone that wants to go pro gamer shouldnt be thinkin bout hmmm i wonder if i could build a house with this. Cuz then u could never call that goin pro and sacrificing everything else.

Surely thrills etc wears off after the first real experience has gone by, after playing amongst top players normally you would want to continue onwards in that part.
Once a dota player gets to IHCS level they are then considered a professional player, maybe things change over the years with baised mods etc, NOT a IHCS fan, outside of that will always be widely considered recreation.

:PyrO:
06-18-2008, 06:18 PM
First off to be a pro gamer u actually have to be a good player.....just like football u don't jump from Trinidad and play in Europe because u can kick a ball, It requires lots of skill and talent. Another thing i realize is that pro gaming only pays "so much" for example u not going to get tons and tons of money for playing DOTA(not saying that any of us planning to go pro)...most of the money comes from FPS and sports games(Madden etc.) furthermore for all my trini's out there....are u willing to spend HOURS AND HOURS on games? giving up your social life...your family life.....the love of a woman????? and after giving up all of that...after playing for hours on end...some russian or some asian that was born to play games still destroys you in your game of choice. I nuh saying that we trini's cant be like them but sometimes there will always be ppl better than u and thats just how life is. What happens when u dont win a torny? can u still pay rent? and eat? or u still gonna be living by your parents asking them for money......GET AN EDUCATION....GET A JOB.....GET A LIFE....GET SMART PPL because in the real world even if a man is a better engineer than me.....i am still getting paid good money and can still mind my family and live a good life.