View Full Version : SOF2 on a HUB
unimatrix001
03-01-2005, 07:43 PM
i tryin an run SOF2 on 18 machines on a hub...now i wonderin if is de hub causin de network failures in de game an if i hada invest in a switch...lemme kno for sure nah
03-01-2005, 07:49 PM
errr did u run a listening or dedicated server????? in english..... could u play
from the computer with the server or that computer just had a window with a
console???
unimatrix001
03-02-2005, 06:35 PM
listening server...dedicated servers wont work for some strange reason, but i'll fix that eventually
03-02-2005, 10:06 PM
hmm @ 18 machines broadcasting to every other pc on the hub
that might not be the most healthy set up for avoiding packet colisions
get a switch
trouble shoot first ofcourse ... if it runs with 2, 3, 4 machines
then starts to act up as more join , its probably too many colisions being caused by the additional network activity
but get a switch
03-02-2005, 10:11 PM
Hubs still around?
a 24port switch costs < 500TT (seen on some pricelists) The switch brand isnt 2 good but say what, it will work better than a hub any day.
as rum said 18machines broadcasting lawd that is asking for lag.
unimatrix001
03-03-2005, 06:12 PM
now hear de crap... we change over to a [$800 3com] switch, and we gettin network problems in game... buh it does run PERFECT with about 4 players...
03-03-2005, 06:43 PM
network probs as in...
03-03-2005, 08:13 PM
maybe i should go take a look someday... *sigh* :P
unimatrix001
03-04-2005, 09:12 PM
problems as in yuh see de lil network thingy showing up on the screen while playing the game and then all the games just quit
spike
04-19-2005, 09:09 AM
sof rel jed.an some ppl want to take it from java.if that happens,there will b no reason to go to java.SOF 4 LIFE.LOLZ :rock: :banana:
04-19-2005, 12:05 PM
Spike needs to try other games...
04-19-2005, 02:36 PM
Ent, SoF 2 get reel annoyin.
In anycase, unimatrix end up gettin the switch.
04-19-2005, 04:00 PM
I just remember that VGA HQ was using a hub 2, a Nijelian supplied hub oui