View Full Version : OFFICAL:: Counter Strike Tourney Part Deux

02-27-2005, 02:56 AM
Ok guys, I think we are in a postion to discuss the maps for the tourney. We need 3 bomb type maps. Ill look at the posts for good combos and place them up in a survey on the front page soon.

Rules
Please bold your picks and have that as the ONLY bold font on your post. Makes it easier for me to glance and read. If you dont do this, the mods have the right to do it for you.

No more than 2 grouping options please!!

My picks are as follows

de_dust, de_cbble, de_tides
AND
de_dust, de_cbble, de_prodigy

dust - something old that everyone knows
cbble - something thats there already, but wasnt played for last tourney
tides - something new and small
prod - something new and small

02-27-2005, 03:44 AM
de_dust, de_tides,de_aztec

one more thing para...... aztec is not imbalanced once yuh team can play it rite :P

02-27-2005, 10:35 PM
de_dust, de_dust2, de_aztec
and
de_dust, de_tides, cs_prodigy

It think it'll be cool if a "custom" map is thrown in (like aim or rats) . Even if is for a tie breaker or something.

02-27-2005, 11:23 PM
errr it is de_prodigy

02-28-2005, 08:19 AM
yeah it is de_prodigy

my picks is

de_Train, de_cbble de_prodigy

02-28-2005, 10:48 AM
My choices are:
de_dust,de_tides,de_prodigy

02-28-2005, 11:03 AM
these are mines:
de_cbble,de_tides,de_prodigy

02-28-2005, 11:12 AM
also i forgot to put

de_tides de_cbble de_prodigy

also i will be keeping an eye on this results and tally them up :)

02-28-2005, 02:26 PM
de_cbble, de_prodigy, de_dust2

02-28-2005, 06:00 PM
Friggin de_dust2 :(

Pablo Im sorry, we can not play un offical maps, UNLESS CAL uses them. de_contra is the only option other than the official batch.

02-28-2005, 06:33 PM
ok para here how i see it... so far de_dust and de_tides have many votes so

make it those 2 part of the tourney....also..... i have to ask this...is java

updating their css cuz..... de_tides = update 9 iwmc

02-28-2005, 08:41 PM
de_cbble, de_prodigy, de_dust2

dat soundin like de flick dere!

02-28-2005, 09:02 PM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Feb 28 2005, 06:00 PM
Friggin de_dust2 :(

Pablo Im sorry, we can not play un offical maps, UNLESS CAL uses them. de_contra is the only option other than the official batch.

No scene, i figuered somethin so, but i guess it was worth a shot (and dust2 is a stage that grows on u :P).

*de*_prodigy (hard luck, i thought it was 'cs' for some reason :s)...

unimatrix001
03-01-2005, 07:20 PM
anyting oui...once man hav choice of gun i good

03-01-2005, 08:39 PM
para update yuh css nah.... i can provide the mc updates.....the new maps

such a de_tides and de_train are at stake.... also de_prodigy ... plus the new

ct model looks sweet :DDDDD

Menace
03-02-2005, 09:15 AM
I was hoping this would have been for the easter holidays, I think if it was it would have a bigger turn out, But iam still happy too see a new css tourney, I hope this one is bigger and better in everyway and i hope iam still in TnT for it.

De_cbble = something familiar
De_Prodigy = something new and familiar
De_Train/ De_inferno = good balanced maps for finals

The unofficial inferno that is being played in java produces great fps, i have noticed everyone with over 100 fps on that map, but if we have good tourney rigs available then i will say train for sure.

De_tides = NO NO NO ...unbalanced noob map

03-02-2005, 09:54 AM
i beleive it will be the easter holidays when this source tourney comes around

de_Train, de_cbble, de_prodigy

prodigy and train MUST be there ... and well cbbl cause it wasnt in the last one and its a badass map ... imba ... but badass

03-02-2005, 12:20 PM
If CAL allows tides I dont think it would be imbalanced, maybe the CS S version fixed the probs that the CZ version had?

As for de_inferno, we will NOT consider it, its not an offical release nor does CAL recognize it. The high FPS is due to lack of textures/anything its plain.

I hate to bring up this CAL thing all the time but CAL is where its at and we should play by some international STD, im sure menace will agree.

03-02-2005, 02:28 PM
de_cbble de_prodigy de_dust

OR

de_cbble de_prodigy de_chateau

I think it would be more interesting to use fresh maps for the tourney ie not maps used for last tourney (so my second grouping would be for that case).

03-02-2005, 08:44 PM
yuck @ chatteau

u gotta be kiddin ...

03-02-2005, 08:52 PM
umm..............
i kinda like cs maps ......
so if cs maps were eligible i would vote

cs_compound de_prodigy de_cbble

but realistically....

de_prodigy de_cbble de_Train

sweet maps dat n00bs dislike :lol:

pimpoligist
03-06-2005, 08:25 PM
de_cbble,de_Train,de_tides

03-07-2005, 07:58 PM
Actually, I wouldn't mind chateau, as long as nobody throws an HE Grenade by the planks of wood :(

03-09-2005, 11:08 AM
Speaking of the CS:Source tourney, it would be nice if people could assemble their clans as soon as possible, so that we could have many more matchups than the previous tourney.

03-09-2005, 10:08 PM
Originally posted by Akira@Mar 9 2005, 11:08 AM
Speaking of the CS:Source tourney, it would be nice if people could assemble their clans as soon as possible, so that we could have many more matchups than the previous tourney.

Im sure a lot of clans will pop up soon...in anycase they have time, the tournament is after CXC exams, ent?

03-17-2005, 11:45 PM
hmm would be nice to see trains again

de_Train, de_cbble, de_prodigy btw in that order <_<

04-18-2005, 12:37 AM
So whats the latest new on the planing for this tournament?
(From the votes so far it look like cbble,prodigy and tides comin *-)).

( :banana: 100th post :banana: !!!)

04-18-2005, 01:07 PM
plz lets do de_trains plz

04-18-2005, 07:01 PM
I know how u feel. I reel likin de_trains these days...
And it would be cool to see de_dust(classic stage :P).

04-20-2005, 11:28 AM
any tentatie timeframe as to when this tourney will take place?

04-20-2005, 08:35 PM
1 month after new java opens

04-20-2005, 08:55 PM
Dat kinda gay (alot of men go still have exams :34: ), around mid june would be better (CXC and CAPE go be safely done by then).

04-21-2005, 06:05 AM
that dust map is very unbalanced btw how many people a side ?

04-21-2005, 09:36 AM
de_dust is a very well balanced map. And its CAL rules, 5 a side.

04-21-2005, 10:17 AM
and what will be the official maps that will be used?

04-21-2005, 10:36 AM
Cbble, tides and prodigy.

04-21-2005, 12:30 PM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Apr 21 2005, 09:36 AM
Cbble, tides and prodigy.

is this another contribution to this thread or are these the official maps to be used in the tournament?

You really should elaborate more when making an official post. If those are those maps are in fact the maps to be used...(i'm assuming that it's in the correct order) I'm sure that clans would eed to start training. And 1 month?
exams wouldn't still be going on for some ppl?

04-21-2005, 12:32 PM
Not for you :)

Yes those are the offical map listing, NOT in order.
Ill have to check a CAL scheduler for advice in that matter.

Menace
04-22-2005, 05:08 PM
Tides beat out Train.. that sucks did not seem that way from the way the votes were going, But I did not count. So its just about picking the date and updating the java machines to the latest version of css which should be v14...Unless thier is going to be a summer tourney then I think exams should be taking into consideration when choosing the date .

04-23-2005, 12:45 PM
Java already has the latest version (14) installed.

04-25-2005, 10:08 PM
So arround what date u think the tourny will be? (cuz seriously, exams bein a b!tch).

05-01-2005, 10:16 AM
dust is unbalanced. underpass is a death trap and the hallway gets packed to capacity im not sure hwit will play on a 5v5 im used to 64 people a map. but under any thing underpass is a death trap.

05-01-2005, 05:25 PM
here's an idea. Since there seems to be some uncertainty that ppl voted more for tides than train. Someone should post the official results so that everyone can see that there was no bias in choosing the maps. The names of the voters should be included in the table so that nobody could have voted more than once.

05-01-2005, 06:29 PM
de_dust is not unbalanced if u know how to play it.

05-02-2005, 11:14 AM
Well i cant argue with any 1 since ive only been playing cs for maby 2 months but i play on the 20th rated cs server on the net and am a accepted member of their forums and their 3 professional cs players have stated dust was unbalanced for t's. ct's win 80% of the time, unless like the top 32 players are on t's and the lowest rated 32 players are on ct's.

05-02-2005, 02:24 PM
With respect to CT being the 'better' team on de_dust, its true! However thats why the CAL rules state that you play 1 round on CT and 1 on T resulting in an even game.

ill get the result of the poll from the admin section and post it here.

05-02-2005, 02:50 PM
Well i'll accept being wrong in this case...
But bushman tryin to sound like he know to much (i seriously doubt that it would take the 32 best on T to beat the 32 worst on CT)

05-03-2005, 02:10 AM
ahhhh see you never mentioned we switch teams. like i said ive only been playing source for 2 months little more. but as ive seen any time i played dust and im on ct, i get triple my normal kills.

and yes pablo usually when the game is going to one sided the admins switch the teams around alot nd put whoever is the best on t's usually between 20 to 15 in the top 50 end up on t's then the game begins to even out more. i think in my own opinion since underpass is unusable, the ct's tend to bunch up in the hallway and combined with peoples fearnto die [ i usually die first =) ] they tend to hesitate and get kileld 1 by 1 decreasing the odds of the team hitting a bomb site and winning. Ive seen only way to win on dust is a full on rush towards a none stop movement. but that will be very hard to do with a 5 player team.

05-03-2005, 03:24 AM
Not if the team is well organized and keep their cool (and doh stick on buyin weapons *-)). Also never underestimate the potential of a well placed grenade ;) .

05-03-2005, 07:32 PM
see now playing 32 players per side in de_dust is madness
and very stupid. so all ure arguements are out.
5 v 5 is a different story however...

05-03-2005, 07:43 PM
exactly....take the SOF mentality out of source please.....5v5 is the flick not a whole set a men muckin up and noobin up d scene

05-03-2005, 11:14 PM
yeah horse that would be total madness and the comp can hadle that amount of crap.hey if we playin 32 player lets add the friggin m4 grenade while we at it!!!!!!!

05-04-2005, 12:26 AM
Well i was talkin with a mind set of a team of 4 or 5...

05-04-2005, 12:57 AM
btw bushman pubbing or pugging or whatever is not really a good sense of skills...
scrims on the other hand is the real test of your manhood

05-04-2005, 01:00 PM
actually i do tons better when its 5v5 than when its 32 vs 32. cause 32 v 32 is alot faster pased and you cant affors to miss. Thats i tihnk shwos alot of skills. i saw a video of childchewer, who is ranked number 2 on the server, hes 90% of the time ontarget with the m4 its amazing how quick he is when ducking behind corners and taking on 5 and more people at a time, his score usually at top or 2nd like 30 -3 once i saw him number 1 at 59 - 23. Much respect for him hes showing me how to play these days early in the morning. He could proberly take on One of our whole teams all alone. If that aint skill dunno what is.

05-04-2005, 02:10 PM
like we hadda play bushman and his clip! atleast his local clip.

05-04-2005, 03:14 PM
I feel bushman jus full of hot air...

05-04-2005, 09:03 PM
seriously pablo?...i thought it was crap........jus kiddin bushman u proberly might kick my ass cuz i not boastin

Menace
05-04-2005, 09:22 PM
30 - 3 on 32 player pub ...hacks (lol) anyway Inferno should be out this week so looks like version 15 update will be a most ..pce

05-05-2005, 04:52 AM
Originally posted by bushman@May 4 2005, 12:00 PM
He could proberly take on One of our whole teams all alone. If that aint skill dunno what is.

bahahahahahahhahahahaaaa

05-05-2005, 10:05 AM
Inferno iwmc! thaz the real flick. Thaz meh map!

05-05-2005, 09:21 PM
niceness with the de_inferno

05-06-2005, 12:38 AM
some people never change

05-06-2005, 12:46 AM
lol what u mean laruto ???

Menace
05-16-2005, 11:17 PM
v16 is out as iam ure u all know with infenro and de_port looking good, seems like I will be back in trini in about a week. TOurney iymc

05-17-2005, 12:40 AM
i was referring to bushman's comments

05-17-2005, 01:39 AM
ill get v16 dloaded asap
cant wait to give it a run

05-17-2005, 09:52 AM
new ct uniform is gay! lol
but it makes hiding a lot more easier :D

port sweet scout map iymc
and well de_inferno different but beautiful nonetheless
u get to plant bombs by the fishies

05-17-2005, 10:00 AM
link anyone?

05-23-2005, 06:10 PM
yo i want a copy of source with the bots......can anybody help me pleaz?

Menace
05-30-2005, 06:57 PM
cs.rin.ru ..use the english button on thier site go to the forums and u will have all your css links . java is finished , source has been patched for the 17 time . this thread is getting a bit tired , can we have a tourney date and decent prizes annnounced plz. Summer ?

05-30-2005, 09:29 PM
June 26th is our date for a pre-tourney. Winner take all entrance fee as the prize.

We are also having one early august with bigger prizes which are yet to be announced. Train accordingly.

Maps remain cbble, tides, prodigy.

05-30-2005, 11:51 PM
kool scene para, cg should be poducing a side.

with respect to inferno, the map still has errors in update 16. The new Ct uniform is gay yes, but it does help one to quicker tell the difference between ct and terrorist from far.

05-31-2005, 12:49 PM
For the upcoming tourney we will run v14 (which is at java). I hope when the tourney is finished that emporio will have their bugs worked out with v16 inferno. Usually there are issues with missing textures when a new map is released. I hope this is the issue with the v16 inferno.

What problems are you refering to exactly? please be a bit descriptive.

Menace
05-31-2005, 10:00 PM
V16 got recalled from valve for errors and then re-released, their is a v17 out by sms that corrcets the problems of the v16 from emp. But I suggest waiting for a v17 from emp. should be out soon.

06-01-2005, 12:44 AM
Originally posted by Menace@May 31 2005, 09:00 PM
V16 got recalled from valve for errors and then re-released, their is a v17 out by sms that corrcets the problems of the v16 from emp. But I suggest waiting for a v17 from emp. should be out soon.

well, i updated to emporio 16 and installed the smirnoff patch as well. but inferno still has some errors. when you run around the map, black 2D and 3D shapes and solids appear and disappear. Although you are able to see all the detail in the map by repeated passes, the map is in no way playable.

06-01-2005, 09:11 AM
go legit!

Menace
06-27-2005, 07:11 AM
someone post the pre-tourney results , who won ?

06-27-2005, 09:49 AM
I think EX1 came in first and EX2 came in second. I thought it was a bit unfair that the order of the maps had changed from what was posted by lokes. Since the boys in CG really trained hard in prodigy expecting this to be the second map :(. cbble was the first map and as usual CG get pwned bad. CG still has no version of Source tides workig installed. I hope neo fixes this soon. This would have affected teams CG and FOAK.

06-27-2005, 10:06 AM
:o
u shouldve brought up this point with para, maybe he would have changed his mind
anyways
menace, finals was eX1 vs eX2
eX1 won, full details will be posted in the events report for the tourney, para i think should be doing that sometime today or tonight