View Full Version : Brothers arrested and fined for doubles "Eat & Run"

04-08-2008, 01:27 PM
It was 4 a.m. and Peyton Atwell and his brother, Rahill, were hungry. They therefore stopped at a doubles vendor and had a feast.

Their bill totalled $120-at $4 for one, that's 15 doubles each.

http://www.gothamist.com/attachments/food_chris/2006_6_GothamDoubles.jpg

But after they had their fill, the brothers ran off without paying, a court heard yesterday.

When they were held, Peyton said he only ate three doubles and his brother said he was going home to get the money to pay, the court heard.

Doubles vendor Devika Seepersad raised an alarm and a police officer who was nearby went after the brothers and held them.
San Fernando First Court Deputy Chief Magistrate Mark Wellington doubted that excuse after he calculated the distance the doubles stall was from the brothers' Williamsville home-more than six miles away. "Shameless men. You all want licks with a strap," he said.

"I hear the food in prison is good. They could go there for a while," he added, as he contemplated jailing them.

In the end, he ordered them to pay a fine of $2,000 each. That worked out to nearly $67 for each doubles.

The brothers were given two weeks to pay the fine or serve four months' simple imprisonment. They were also ordered to pay $120 compensation to Seepersad immediately.

Read more at..
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161305335

[ source : www.trinidadexpress.com (http://www.trinidadexpress.com) ]

04-08-2008, 01:38 PM
15 doubles each? really WTF... they was mega hungry

04-08-2008, 02:04 PM
what a sad sad time we living in. you have to stick it to the man. the bigger man that is. not the lil doubles man on the corner who jack up d price but those in the ivory towers who the uneducated placed there whilst using their backs for steps.

STICKKK EEETTTTTTT

04-08-2008, 05:37 PM
Seriously guys this situation is beyond ridiculous. I have never found myself struggling to afford food before, but these days i does find myself skipping a meal if i not home and cooking something "cheaper" when i reach home...

04-08-2008, 10:06 PM
This is greed. I can't remember when last I managed to put down more than two doubles. Doubt I ever ate more than five small ones.

The real question is how far you expect to run with fifteen doubles inside you?

04-08-2008, 11:23 PM
the way i see it, these guys were on the same boat as me. Struggling to pay for food. To eat 15 doubles u hadda be real hungry! They probably didn't eat for a couple of days.

gambitt
04-09-2008, 02:39 PM
I bored in work... so I was thinking about this case some more....

Last line: "The court heard that a third man was also charged with the offence but he was said to be in hospital." Dat mean is three men eat the 30 doubles, or you guys feel the next fella eat a next 15 average on his own? And what he in hospital for? Maybe it was something he ate? Now that would be true justice. :D

I doh know if to believe that these fellas ate 30 doubles. A lot of the time, if the vendors busy you's have to tell the fella who cashing how many you had. I mean is possible that someone sit down and count the 30 doubles them men was eating, but if the vendor was busy, what's the chance of that? So maybe they just call a number, and lets be honest if you are a police and have to charge a man for stealing 3 doubles.... that kinda hard ent? (Of course it's right up some of them worthless police alley, anything to keep from chasing after real criminals...)

But lets assume that the 30 is correct... 10 doubles each is still a LOT of doubles. I'm a big fella and 5 doubles and a cream soda will fix me for the time being. If there's plenty chandon benit, well.... maybe 6.

So I'm wondering what size doubles these were that this lady was selling for $4? If three men ate 30 then they hadda be kinda small doubles... for $4....

One way they fib inflate the number of doubles in court, or they selling seriously subsized doubles for an inflated price. Neither way looking good to me. What allyuh fellas think?

04-09-2008, 08:19 PM
10 doubles ah man is small matters....i could go 13 - 15 on ah hungry day..
all yuh ah understand the appetite yuh does geh when yuh stand up eating the doubles dey :D

04-10-2008, 09:23 AM
well shane we eh know if dem belly big like yours :p

Rko
04-10-2008, 09:53 AM
15 doubles = Belly Wok
Belly Wok = Shittings

Say NO to more than 6 doubles ><.

New Era Outlaw
04-10-2008, 11:42 AM
Well, well....sucks to be them. It just wasn't worth it in the end, was it?