View Full Version : POSTPONED: GAMEFEST 2008 30,000 in Prize Money!
zerolimitstudios
02-16-2008, 11:17 PM
:cool:
Yes people its no prank, there's a gamefest coming this Easter.
Three big games, 10,000 prize money each.
There will also be smaller competitions on other games as well.
Look out for our ad coming next Sunday (24th) in the Express for additional
info and tickets.
J
02-16-2008, 11:51 PM
Good to see you finally showed up :)
I'll be monitoring this thread closely.
so... anyone else completely lost?
anyone care to fill in the blanks?
02-17-2008, 11:11 AM
http://www.zerolimitonline.com
knock yourself out monkey :)
Basically they're having a gamefest with 3 genres - Shooters,Fighting, Sports
The contenders are -
Shooters - Halo 3 & COD4
Fighting - Tekken 5 & Smash Brothers Brawl
Sports - FIFA and something else yes (can't remember)
Games played at Gamefest 2008 are as follows:
Counter-Strike
Dead or Alive 4
Project Gotham Racing 3
FIFA 07
World of Warcraft:Burning Crusade
TEKKEN 5
CALL OF DUTY 4
SMASH BROTHERS: BRAWL
STREET FIGHTER 3
NEED FOR SPEED: PRO STREET
World of Warcraft:Burning Crusade<-------------------sigh
other than for cod4 it look like i eh going lol
02-17-2008, 11:25 AM
well that list is tentative I think, over on GATT there was a mention of the final announcement on February 20th. I dunno if any new information has been posted.
I would love to see the turn out for BC
hmm lemme go on feenix vent and tell them wow men
02-17-2008, 12:04 PM
i doh mind taking some people counterstrike money ;)
hadda train with the boyz tho
02-17-2008, 11:07 PM
umm sounds really good....
However WoW: BC i would like to see that out also...that sounds like arena battles
deKURMAman
02-18-2008, 08:28 AM
how u all would sweat WoW: BC ? u all using local servers i suppose with some kinda super lving? lol
02-18-2008, 01:07 PM
Coddd :d
02-18-2008, 01:43 PM
Guess you all never saw those PvP tournaments in France etc hosted by blizzard.
03-01-2008, 11:42 PM
Thoughout the process of the 3 polls created, we have listened to all your comments and as we mentioned before;
its all about the players... So here's the final list;
1. Call of Duty 4 - $10,000 (Team based as well as lone wolves) - PC / XBOX 360
2. Fifa 2007 - $10,000 - PC / PC CONTROLLER
3. Tekken 5 - $10,000 - PS2
Also for the other well voted games, we have agreed to run smaller competitions;
1. Smash Brothers Brawl - $500 - NINTENDO Wii
2. Halo 3 - $500 - XBOX 360
3. Street Fighter 3 - $500 - PS2
4. Soul Calibur 3 - $500 - PS2
5. Grand Turismo 4 - $500 - PS2
The GameFest will run on March 24th (Easter Monday) at the Centre of Excellence to begin the gaming season.
We have also agreed to run other Gamefest Competitions during the two month holidays! (info to be announced)
(Based on 3 web Forums) More info on rules can be found at www.zerolimitonline.com
my thoughts
Its weird seeing Smash for $500.00 and Tekken being $10,000.00. I like both games equally and both competitive communities are fairly large (even though some OTHER people may deny Smash's existance). Having Smash for 5 grand and Tekken for 5 Grand would have made more sense. SC3, SF3 and Gran Turismo are fine as is, no comment on the Halo situation as I am not versed in Halo-ism. Hopefully the rules do not reek of noob ala Arena 2 Tekken 5 (that was really the worst event management I have ever seen)
03-02-2008, 01:42 PM
i hope this comes off....i havent read much about it other than these forums...is there a buzz anywhere about it?
03-02-2008, 02:46 PM
only on gatt...every other person I've spoken too seemed as surprised as ever.
03-02-2008, 02:52 PM
well he gonna have to do alot more in terms of getting word out than one post on TG....kinda begs the question if they serious or not
03-02-2008, 04:52 PM
well seeing as baego has stated that only gatt affiliated events may be posted on gatt, its highly probable that it is now gatt affiliated, and we all know how much he loves us :D
03-02-2008, 04:54 PM
well watch how i not going dat nuh
03-05-2008, 12:04 PM
*shakes head at single match single elimination for fighters*
http://gatt.carigamers.com/index.php/topic,13946.msg182506/topicseen.html#msg182506
i willing to bet is a certain person suggest that nonsense you know. Only people using single elim still is the japanese and thats cause they have HUNDREDS of competitors at their events. I also willing to bet the word world cup would come up if I asked why is single elim.
razr_x
03-05-2008, 12:16 PM
where is this being held (ok nevermind) but how big do the teams gotta be.
03-05-2008, 12:49 PM
i have gotten accustomed to taking part is double elim tournies for fighters....
and even world cup has a round rubbing before knockout so...
03-05-2008, 12:59 PM
to be honest given the scale of the event there a 2 options i forsee would be better.
1. Have a single elimination, but change the single match to best of 3
2. Have double elimination but have a entrant cap.
03-05-2008, 04:30 PM
let trinigamers men come and take all dem gatt men money(again) please!!!!
on which date is the tekken tourney ?...
and should nt they ban jinpachi ?:confused:
03-14-2008, 08:02 PM
ok soo its a week before the event, has anyone gotten any viable rules other than the format. :S
razr_x
03-16-2008, 03:04 PM
anone heard anything for sure for if this is gonna happen
from what i've read on Gatt forums.... this areerrrr... gamefest is having difficulties with securing its advert location, also reviewing rules.
Last i heard ticket sale locals have halted as a result.
from what i've read on Gatt forums.... this areerrrr... gamefest is having difficulties with securing its advert location, also reviewing rules.
Last i heard ticket sale locals have halted as a result.
LOL?