View Full Version : Frozen Throne and Dial-up

bounty_killa
02-04-2008, 03:00 PM
Could i play frozen throne and lan up with ppl through dial-up? Or do I have 2 wait for blink?

02-04-2008, 04:09 PM
playing dota on dail up is very annoying, i suggest not.

02-04-2008, 04:41 PM
There are alot of people play on dial up..and even use vent..but as far as lan...how about no.lol

bounty_killa
02-04-2008, 09:33 PM
could u gimme a good link that explains all d basics of lan/internet gaming cause shit i'm confused.

02-04-2008, 10:09 PM
LAN- loacal area network. this allows you to connect to other computers on ur network(if u have one). the setup for this is like an internet cafe

Internet- expands the reach of that. this allows you to connect with others across the internet.

anything specific u wanna know?

bounty_killa
02-05-2008, 10:33 AM
what's a ping. I tried the GG thing once and they said i didn't have a ping or something.

02-05-2008, 10:42 AM
Pretty much I used to be on dialup and I was awful at the game. That's beside the lagging and drops.

Once I got broadband I pretty much had to relearn the game. There were combos and situations that I could have never seen or taken advantage of before and that I used to be taken advantage of in. Now I'm not half bad at it.

Ping = time from your PC to the server. The lower the better.

02-05-2008, 10:48 AM
my question tho is how u even get the speedtest site to load on dialup

bounty_killa
02-05-2008, 01:21 PM
my question tho is how u even get the speedtest site to load on dialup

i don't know boy. i take off the QoS packets thing so i have 20% more bandwith or something to that effect. I got flashget too. i actually downloadin a 50mb patch for warcraft and it only takin 3 hours!

02-05-2008, 02:22 PM
LOL@ 3 hours!!!!

i doh wanna tell u how long it takes me to downoad 50 mb....but just because i proud and wanna get people vex i go tell dem...15 seconds or less lawlollawd

bounty_killa
02-05-2008, 02:32 PM
and you know what sucks? the patch doesn't even work. i tried the registry key and every thing and it keeps telling me "unable to find specified file: War3.exe"

02-05-2008, 02:37 PM
You installing the game from a cd/iso? Or is it just the folder?

bounty_killa
02-05-2008, 02:41 PM
well i have to copy/paste a folder. it already comes with lots of stuff like battlenet gateway editor and no-cd crack. it looks like its been patched to V1.20 already 2.

02-05-2008, 04:11 PM
There are alot of people play on dial up..and even use vent..but as far as lan...how about no.lol

REALLY? OMFG

02-09-2008, 01:08 PM
REALLY? OMFG

Yip.
The hard part. I recently had to use dialup for DoTA... and i couldn't tell the difference.

A good modem makes all the difference.

02-09-2008, 06:57 PM
but um..when my brother had dial up,villa and him used to play online while i check mail and download msn

02-09-2008, 09:33 PM
woot. power to dial up! :D

best way to get wc is just copy d folder from dvd.. copy and double click and u in the game!

steups@ 15mins. damn u

bounty_killa
02-09-2008, 10:04 PM
I just had a game and it was terrible. I mean the frames were so bad, I barely had control. I created a network connection just for gaming and it seems to work worse than my normal connection.

Angel of Death
02-10-2008, 11:58 AM
hmmm.......damn @ dial up bounty but once you dont drop or lag much everything shud be normal until you get your broadband....

02-11-2008, 06:50 PM
Soldier is a prime example of dial up working. Anything else is a problem with the computer or line and not a fault of the slower dialup connection itself.

02-12-2008, 08:47 AM
yup... dial-up is good ... if it works as dial-up should... but again is tstt... DSL doesnt even work like it should...

so the question shouldnt be... does it work on dialup... but does it work on Tstt's usual dialup

bounty_killa
02-13-2008, 08:03 PM
Soldier is a prime example of dial up working. Anything else is a problem with the computer or line and not a fault of the slower dialup connection itself.

Or, I thought so. it works alright now that i did some serious spyware cleanups and shit. anyway, it's not fair that i'm a newb and i get a 2 second delay between when i try to run and he actually gets out of there.

i really shouldnt complain cause it's free..heh heh:D

Rko
04-09-2008, 02:02 PM
I Play on Dialup and don't Lag again haha. Used to lag lots due to shitty PC and at times server now i just play on GGC untill i get dsl. DOn't even run LAN with dial up, you mighten even be able to enter the game ><