View Full Version : Reviving the Clans - What do you think needs to be done ?

01-18-2008, 11:20 PM
With all the team based games around nowadays (dota, counterstrike etc) you would think that there would be more clan activity.

What do you think has cause clan activity to dwindle almost to extinction and what do you think can be done to revive this once glorious aspect of gaming ?

01-19-2008, 01:06 AM
clans used to lime together, make cook together, just be real friends...there would be real practices and fun matches, along with actual inter-clan matches...

we challenging you members to make or join a clan, and STICK TO IT...if it is that i see a clan operating nice, wit real movement positively,

i will hook you all up with tshirts in the clan.(assuming its a 5-7 man team...a man has financial limits too, as this coming out my own pocket)

we have big events coming up...if u serious ull have uniforms

note***i will sponsor up to 3 teams, of my choice with criteria

1. synergy (non-gameplay wise)
2. relevant threat (clan skill...doesnt have to be the most gosu players, just a team with good teamwork and work ethic)
3. community participation(forum/server etc)

01-19-2008, 08:51 AM
Trini gamers just lazy and lack the dedication...

MG
01-19-2008, 08:54 AM
if u make a clan and play/practice together regularly on local server, be prepared to hear comments like

'imba side, i not playin this'
'even the sides nah, allyuh like advantage'
'split up that side nuh'
'allyuh always have to play together?!'

the list goes on...have fun wit the team creation fellas...

01-19-2008, 10:08 AM
if u make a clan and play/practice together regularly on local server, be prepared to hear comments like

'split up that side nuh'

what is the sens then, if peopl.e cat play and practice as a team?? the others sould follow suit...stop accepting the mediocrity

01-19-2008, 10:26 AM
i blame the lack of gaming locations for the decrease in clan activity. How many we got now? zero?

I always say i would make a pass down eldo and check out shooter place, but i aint get the time yet to make that road trip.

chaguanas is like a desert. I does hit the smelly arcade once in a while, but i don't know of any LAN sweat locations that we can use in chag either.

01-19-2008, 10:29 AM
when practicing on the server a clan should make plans to practice against another clan....

90% of the times it makes no sense to play 5 random men... sometimes 5 random men would be good but that rarely happens with the amount of nubs on the server dese days :p

i blame the lack of gaming locations for the decrease in clan activity. How many we got now? zero?

with that advent of relatively cheap internet it makes it harder for GL's to operate... not to mention other factors discussed in another thread...

but the truth of the matter... i remember being in clans back in the Starcraft, Decent etc days and most if not all of the people did not know each other personally... so i doh really think thais a big thing... is men dont have no dedication and real love for the game anymore

MG
01-19-2008, 11:35 AM
90% of the times it makes no sense to play 5 random men... sometimes 5 random men would be good but that rarely happens with the amount of nubs on the server dese days :p

wrong. cuz is not like the teams we have include 5 great players. sometime it could jus be 3 ppl who play as a team and given 2 (usually the weakest of players) to make the full 5....but men would still complain complain, complain....

box would go out of his way simply to make THEIR side stronger..and even then, the players who he would consider above avg, rather than being up for a challenge...does cry and whimper and get emo and say no they not playin...gj local server.

01-19-2008, 12:27 PM
aye aye aye...i does take my cutass eh...

01-19-2008, 12:29 PM
wrong. cuz is not like the teams we have include 5 great players. sometime it could jus be 3 ppl who play as a team and given 2 (usually the weakest of players) to make the full 5....but men would still complain complain, complain....

lol 3 ppl...
i've seen that situation ... and no...
1. yall dont usually get the 2 weakest players
2. you dont want men complaining then organize a side to play against :S...
3. i like ur keyword (sometimes) because u know is most of the times what it does be... as i said 90%
4. makes no sense for a team to play some random nubs... it not even good for the team side... could only get hard by playin the hard men...
5. you know team synergy doesnt only improve when u play with each other... but also against each other right?

box would go out of his way simply to make THEIR side stronger..and even then, the players who he would consider above avg, rather than being up for a challenge...does cry and whimper and get emo and say no they not playin...gj local server.

thats why arranging sides is always better :)...

01-19-2008, 12:32 PM
Trini gamers just lazy and lack the dedication...

Gaming shifted from being fun, which what clans were really about, to winning, winning winning.

Who remembers Ressurectors of the Kurry Duck? Or the kinda heat men get for naming a clan "devils phoenix"

/me thinks backs while sipping is mochachino

MG
01-19-2008, 12:48 PM
lol 3 ppl...
i've seen that situation ... and no...
1. yall dont usually get the 2 weakest players
2. you dont want men complaining then organize a side to play against :S...
3. i like ur keyword (sometimes) because u know is most of the times what it does be... as i said 90%
4. makes no sense for a team to play some random nubs... it not even good for the team side... could only get hard by playin the hard men...
5. you know team synergy doesnt only improve when u play with each other... but also against each other right?

thats why arranging sides is always better :)...

with that kinda thinkin, i rest my case. keep the excuses up. i personally got fed up of attempting to make OTHER ppl up their game, and they act as though i was doin it for myself...

and they WERE the 2 weakest players. me and box used to sit and anyalse ur entire side and take the weakest players EVERY game. if u don't think they were, then u probablu just have a diff opinion to us. (i write down some of the weaker players and why i think so by my keyboard fyi). not like you all who jus bawl 'he is guns'
all ur other points don't seem to hold water.

01-19-2008, 01:14 PM
HOSS

me dooks an arch play ah team game AN pwn :p so w/e allyuh arguin bout is CRAP.
men just need to be cool with eachother and a lil committed to the game

01-19-2008, 01:31 PM
clans used to lime together, make cook together, just be real friends...there would be real practices and fun matches, along with actual inter-clan matches...

Quoted for Truth.

01-19-2008, 02:47 PM
Well @ top quote thats how it should be.
I bleev there are alot of souls that willing to get into that groove so look at it clans can be revived.
Is just to what level of competition?

01-19-2008, 03:01 PM
I think it's the fault of gaming administration. Of course we are working on it, sport model in mind.

Weak @ phoenix. Random play will never approach the benefit of playing as a team.

Mmmm @ MG have a noob list. All of a sudden I am intrigued. What kinda ranking system you have there? 1-10? ABCD?

01-19-2008, 03:34 PM

'split up that side nuh'

looooololololol ALYUH LIKE ADVANTAGE THING YES, IZ TRUE

First ting first: TRINIGAMERS need to get LC WORKING for the server or ANYTHING that will reduce the lag the foreign players get when they play on TG servers for eg : ME

PS: Also alot of clans have broken up, maybe we can form a allstar team and compete on BNET VS other international/Local teams.

01-19-2008, 03:49 PM
Weak @ phoenix. Random play will never approach the benefit of playing as a team.

allyuh not readin right... did i not just say that?

but team play does not equal 1 "team side" vs. a random side

it means Team Side vs team side... (i.e. yuh dont see a cricket club roll up to a savanah where some random fellas from around the area playin and say yo we lookin to practice come and play us :|)

sighs...

read before postin...

@ mg statement that i does call ppl gunzz... check ur facts buddy and of course u will see it as not holding water when is true and u dont have a "comeback/defense" for it...

01-19-2008, 04:20 PM
we already have a thread for the pheonix/MG discussion....look for it.

this is a PROGRESSIVE thread...not regressive

u see the problem already, now fix it!...its not only the org's fault, its the players' fault.

its the org's fault for not promoting *many* alternatives to dota tho...(another thing to be working on)

so in the mean time, make steps to form ur team people, cuz you will need one soon

01-19-2008, 04:24 PM
sooner than most think

where's that doctor evil pic when u need it....

01-19-2008, 06:16 PM
basically if ppl here were serious and know what a clan system meant and they MAINTAINED the order of a clan system , it would be solid. But for that to work, u hadda have respect for men in yuh clan, esp those higher ranked than u, while nobody- even the noobs have no respect for the moderators....so it gonna take a lot of work.
I doh think is any surprise that i would back this all the way, we need some kinda clan system to get the Gaming back how it used to be.

You all could rem first tourney? how pumped men were and how fierce competition was? think abt how strong the clan system was back then

basically yes if clans form and a clan side goin to play on server and 5 other random men join, yes they going to bawl omg imbaaa allyuh like advantage..
The fact is that yuh going to be playing a clan side man, its expected! if they doh like it, join a clan and enter the fray!
Im sure if we have clan matches it would encourage ppl, cuz if the matches come anywhere close to how it used to be, trust me IS REALLL fun
and realll reall nice competition.

the way things change ppl just have to adopt. Long time gun talk and shit was normal in game, eevrybody was on kicks and they know it was just for fun in that game,. these days men does take it to heart and seriously threathn ppl and shit...ppl just have to change their attitude and we need people to lead by example

To go along with Xec, if we start up / revive at least 3 clans that dedicated and remain solid, im pretty sure ppl would lead by example

01-19-2008, 06:50 PM
i remember when it had sweat and it was CS rite thru(till loki fall asleep)

when last it had a real sweat?? i mean a all night session, sending the noob for doubles etc

time to bring back the sense of community in the place....

01-19-2008, 07:07 PM
there are sweats now and den like dat, just not really tg sweats more clan alone

01-19-2008, 07:12 PM
right now i runing down men on msn and the server to dl hl2 dm for the server....my head hurting

01-19-2008, 07:14 PM
i got caught staring at bills avatar today....sad sad sad...then my boss started staring.

01-19-2008, 07:20 PM
Who is that
I must have the Full video clip!

01-19-2008, 07:34 PM
yes yes iknow what u talkin abt

and why u rushin the hf so much? u really like it tht much?

MG
01-19-2008, 08:49 PM
@ mg statement that i does call ppl gunzz... check ur facts buddy and of course u will see it as not holding water when is true and u dont have a "comeback/defense" for it...

lemme break it down for phoe like the 1000000000 of times i do for them ever so regularly. cuz he aparently doh think my level of intellect is up for it

1. yall dont usually get the 2 weakest players <--- explained this alredy..

2. you dont want men complaining then organize a side to play against :S... <--- i don't think there are ANY individuals who are even considered HALF leaders on local server that my team has not contacted to organise a side for a friendly scrim. i'll let them vouch for me, ask bill, dooks, toro, shen, ano, sensie, X, erestu, sa, m_ill, ............... the list goes on. DO NOT IMPLY THAT WE DO NOT TRY.

3. i like ur keyword (sometimes) because u know is most of the times what it does be... as i said 90% <----- this point was reinforced alredy when i stated box would try his best to get THEIR side hard, only to be turned down by the players who could make a difference. 90% here means nothing. don't act as though we are tryin to 'advantage' men like the rest of local server accuses us of.

4. makes no sense for a team to play some random nubs... it not even good for the team side... could only get hard by playin the hard men... <------- well sherlock, i think we have been tryin to do this by seekin the better players not so? it is not our fault we are turned down almost EVERYTIME. feel free to come on vent and hear me tell box i rather not play since it not makin any sense. i usually end up sayin it very regularly.

5. you know team synergy doesnt only improve when u play with each other... but also against each other right? <------- team synergy does not improve by playin against each other. individual skill does. team synergy gets better by playin WITH other teammates, u should not confuse the two. if we had enough numbers, and we could actually make 2 full teams. trust me, most of our games would jus be held as private games without the absurd beggin that we do to face another side. but with the 2 or 3 of us that play as a team, sorry, we do not have the numbers to do as u might think.

we've been there, done that phoe, u're runnin in quicksand fightin down the points.

as for scar question. not a point system. jus a quick list of some obsurd plays by individuals. eg ihsan - antimage solo, lvl 16 wit threads and 2 ironwood branch.....quicksilver - pugna, refresher and helm of dominator....things like that categorise them quite quickly. so we know exactly what to expect.

01-19-2008, 09:14 PM
i wish ppl would talk console stuff like allyuh could spit out dota stuff :(

01-19-2008, 10:48 PM
geese lewwe organize a lil FOAK vs FT console sweatage tommorrow nah

01-20-2008, 12:20 AM
foak still alive.....wow

01-20-2008, 12:26 AM
tommorow where?

01-20-2008, 12:31 AM
foak alive ? thaz news to me. we all agreed to not use that name ever again.

i'll see what happening though. If the xbox by you i'll bring my stick and converter.

01-20-2008, 12:27 PM
i agree@ MG ...we try hard very hard...
even right now who begging people to join the hl2 dm ...i not seeing many mods doing it..
as i was reading this i was asking men about scrims..last night i talk to pyro and SA about having a side ready for scrims..but when men get emo is a sour thing

that avatar so imba eh lol

01-20-2008, 03:18 PM
right now i runing down men on msn and the server to dl hl2 dm for the server....my head hurting

well yuh cyah force men to play games that not popular *cough* cod4 ftw...

which i recall you sayin is $%^& #%^

if we can get some other stuff besides dota online (locally) i think things go be more interesting... i.e. cod4, Gears, c&c3... (after the vidz xec posted i feel i gonna get into the c&c)... but yeah right now we need more variety i think, and well.. as arch said serious men

@ mg... i eh go waste my time to be regressive... if u wanna feel how u wanna feel then well what i go say... stay of local

01-20-2008, 03:21 PM
maybe its the guys who cant play in a team/dont want to try that should stay off local....

01-20-2008, 03:28 PM
Alright
for the first time i actually decided to sit down and quick read a thread.
1. you don't usually get the 2 weakest players <--- Trust me, most of the times they do, and even when they get two strong players like spawn, they either sell they body, or they simply don't do anything period. When MG and boxlunch wins games, they win because of their ability to sync with one-another and co-ordinate their moves to accomplish victory. It has nothing to do about being imbalanced. Ive seen how you people on the opposing side move. There is no coordination whatsoever and its fingers pointing left to right blaming one another about "who sell they body" or "who built the wrong item". The only time i actually see some level of organization, is when you have toro,shady or iceman constantly typing explaining what you brainless idiots have to build, how to use your moves to be beneficial to your team or your ally in your lane.

2. you dont want men complaining then organize a side to play against <----thats a little demanding.. ?its unbearably hard to organize a side to play against you know, everyone has their own personal thing to do, and if anyone has any free time, it will only be on sunday. And if one man cant make it, we have to draft some random fella to fill in the spot which ends up causing us to lose. So i rather play with a randomly generated side and done, rather than wait for 6 days to get 1 really good game running. And stop complaining, you wanted a game, someone got off their ass to host one for you, so either buck the f*&K up or get the F^%K out

3.like ur keyword (sometimes) because u know is most of the times what it does be... as i said 90% <----do you know how hard the opposing side could be most of the times? it just doh make sense if you have hard men who decide they give up because MG's side is hard is not your fault, they are just idiots (not calling names).

4. makes no sense for a team to play some random nubs... it not even good for the team side... could only get hard by playin the hard men...<----phoenix your REALLY letting me down here. Know how many games ive played, ESPECIALLY with you in it, that we have played a team and came out on top?especially over MG and them? oh and not to mention toro and wolf? who plays with the noob side MOST OF THE TIME? and brings back their games because men listen to them? how do you think i learned how to play dota? by not getting guts from toro and wolf? trust me you dont know how fast you learn when you get guts from men that are at a different level than you.In a YEAR because of toro and wolf i can actually play good enough to at least help out a weaker side? come nah phoenix.

5. you know team synergy doesnt only improve when u play with each other... but also against each other right?<=== yes that is true, by playing against one another, you can find out your team mates strengths and weaknesses,
however, if an entire team is online to play, it means they want to play together, they dont want to seperate to find out this process, they want to practice strats synergy lane control and large battles.

now with that aside
I think it's the fault of gaming administration. Of course we are working on it, sport model in mind.

Mmmm @ MG have a noob list. All of a sudden I am intrigued. What kinda ranking system you have there? 1-10? ABCD?

not all the blame should go towards the Gaming administration Scar, when people change the things around them change as well, men are getting older, they are getting more responsibilities, they are more consumed with school work, their jobs, their families, their women/wives ( good lord @ marriage) All have a part to play.
Former owners of Clans (especially TG management) have been experiencing these recent responsibilities. and it has been relatively difficult for not only them but for everyone in TG. If you want to see change ( and i certainly want to) get the **** up and do something about it. Dont whine and complain about it, and i know there are too many that do. Saying stupid shit such as Trinigamers just lazy and lack the dedication... it Annoys the hell out of me, other members and the administration.
Trust me, for the past 2 months TG admins have been trying unbearably hard to make change for everyone.Even for the ungrateful members who make comments like the one above. We will see change in Trinidad regardless of whatever happens.

01-20-2008, 07:38 PM
4. makes no sense for a team to play some random nubs... it not even good for the team side... could only get hard by playin the hard men...<----phoenix your REALLY letting me down here. Know how many games ive played, ESPECIALLY with you in it, that we have played a team and came out on top?

hehe i wouldnt consider us random nubs... we're actually 2 of the few who wont bitch and complain and actually finish a game imba or not...

all i'm saying to mg is... hosting a game with ur side is hard to get men to want to play u... so the best thing to do is call 5 men (and well thats what clans are all about neways)... i doubt it that hard... once i available i fightin anybody... i'm sure u could find 5 men like me around :S

what games your clan plan to run?

MG
01-20-2008, 08:24 PM
all i'm saying to mg is... hosting a game with ur side is hard to get men to want to play u... so the best thing to do is call 5 men (and well thats what clans are all about neways)... i doubt it that hard... once i available i fightin anybody... i'm sure u could find 5 men like me around :S

what games your clan plan to run?

thaz what we tryin to tell u phoe...it IS that hard. we try to do everything we can to have them play as a team, play regularly...organise times that convenient..everything. at the end of the day, no one seems to be interested in the competitive scheme of things. like we does say 'everyone wanna get hard and pwn'...at the higher lvls of game play, those other (less talented imo)teams rip us apart for that selfish mentality we have.

the very few players i have managed to gather over the yrs..still generally fade away. and i can't give them wrong, cuz the games end up being the same thing over and over. the majority of local server players have no interest in progressin.

yuh hadda give it to para for recruitin a lot of those players into eX..he recognised competitive spirits very well, as the majority of ppl who showed interest in progressin came from eX. yes they have been consumed by 'the other game', but at least while they were around they showed interest.

this yr, i plan on havin no time for the gamin scene. at least hopefully not to any great extent. the many months i was there, very few learnt from my experience. maybe somebody else could try a diff approach, as i surely was unable to influence any competitive spirit out of them.

01-21-2008, 10:27 AM
And you guys want to see new clans? well hear what, Everyone and anyone who is interested( and this invitation streteches out to EVERYONE. I dont care how good or bad you are in video games) this is the formation of a clan. A new clan. To bring back the competition that we have all once known before dota destroyed it. Clan [{RQ}] (Requiem will OFFICIALLY take in its first group of members on wednesday at 8pm

Our Clan will specialize in all multiplayer game genres. Such as FPS,RTS, MMORPG, and fighting games.
This is the list for FPS:
CoD UO, 2,4
Crysis
halo2 and 3
F.E.A.R
counterstrike 1.6 and source
quake 3-4
Gears of WAR (even though its a 3rd person shooter i think it can fit into this category)
soldier of fortune II and III (when it releases)
Unreal tournament

In terms of RTS we have,
Warcraft IIII
Starcraft (1 and 2)
supreme commander
Warhammer 40k
Age of empires 3
LOTR: battle for middle earth 1 and 2

MMORPGS:
World of Warcraft (WOW)
Guild Wars
Imperia online
DotA(sigh)

Fighting games:
Capcom vs SNK2
Marvel vs. Capcom2
tekken 5 and 6 (when it is released)
Street fighter 3rd strike
super smash brothers Melee and Brawl(when brawl releases)
Street fighter 4 (when it is released)
Virtua fighter 4
and M.U.G.E.N (yeah people actually play this game seriously)

Registration for Clan requiem will begin on Wednesday at 8pm please DO NOT BE LATE
Happy bill? yuh bitch

01-21-2008, 11:04 AM
this yr, i plan on havin no time for the gamin scene. at least hopefully not to any great extent. the many months i was there, very few learnt from my experience. maybe somebody else could try a diff approach, as i surely was unable to influence any competitive spirit out of them.

Sour........You would not believe how much i learn from Muture Guy eh wow
@ ano is cool u want to start a clan..but i would not be entering...that name kinda corny :P

01-21-2008, 12:53 PM
Bill this is the 2nd time im doing it, The first one was FU, but i didnt expect such a positive response... i can try to pull it off again but we'll see what happens yes

Just remember is wednesday at 8pm so doh pull stones please