View Full Version : Online game rivalry ends with real life murder

01-18-2008, 11:28 AM
A young Russian man has been charged with murder after an internet game jumped off the screen onto the street. It's alleged he killed an internet gaming rival after they met face to face in the city of Ufa.

Violence on screen isn't harmful to anyone. But when virtual reality and real life collide an innocent game can end in tragedy.

Their confrontation led to tragedy. Albert was badly beaten and died from his injuries on the way to hospital.

Read more.. Full Story (http://www.russiatoday.ru/scitech/news/19777)

More from the article..

And a twenty-year-old from Petrosavodsk killed his grandmother after she interrupted his game calling him to eat.

However, internet experts say these cases shouldn't be lumped together just because some people can't handle the situation.

“Not many talk about the benefits of internet games for disabled people who don’t have a chance to communicate with others like themselves or able-bodied people. Nobody mentions the benefits the internet can offer in education,” says Aleksandr Kuzmenko of a computer game magazine.

With more and more people logging on to get their fix of virtual reality the experts say incidents like these are rare, and want it to stay that way.

That real hard :S

01-18-2008, 12:18 PM
again?? wtf.. something similar happened in the same place (russia) sometime last yr.. them russians crazy!

01-18-2008, 01:17 PM
when they done drink some rum an put down some kills online.....they let the worst take them over

01-18-2008, 01:25 PM
ent... yuh meet a russian online... doh be no e-gangster nah...

sighs @ dem men dumb

01-18-2008, 03:42 PM
That not making me feel safe anymore..

gambitt
01-20-2008, 01:23 PM
Not too surprising, crazy people do crazy things. There are a lot of crazy people.

What I really want to know is what game it was. If it was online checkers or scrabble or some rubbish like that, it would be funny as hell.

01-22-2008, 08:18 AM
The internets is serious business yo!.
This crap has happened in japan,Korea others countries before not surprising, officers need too hit those kids in the younger clan though.We here at Tg know all about "gun talk" praise be no one is stupid enough to take this up in real life, and at least most times know that it's just a game!.

old_stuffy
01-24-2008, 08:35 AM
wtf it have real madd ppl out there
hmm look wat gaming come to when u can kill a man over a game

cloudnineX
01-24-2008, 12:20 PM
gambitt is kicks oui... online checkers or scrabble.. dat go relly be jones...

but iz still a rell sad ting wit d granny...

d russians... sigh... i tink sum'n like dat did happen already.. not sure...

oh yea why bill not feelin safe?? nobody from russia coming trinidad to kick ur ass...lol... but if u talkin bout d psycho ppl right here.. hmm well u cant be to sure nah... it really have alot of crazy ppl here oui....

cloudnineX
01-24-2008, 12:21 PM
gambitt is kicks oui... online checkers or scrabble.. dat go relly be jones...:D

but iz still a rell sad ting wit d granny... :(

d russians... sigh... i tink sum'n like dat did happen already.. not sure...:confused:

oh yea why bill not feelin safe?? nobody from russia coming trinidad to kick ur ass...lol...:p but if u talkin bout d psycho ppl right here.. hmm well u cant be to sure nah... it really have alot of crazy ppl here oui....:D

Aj1
07-02-2008, 03:52 AM
<--refuses to play wit russians!