View Full Version : Dotamania 2008 Poll!

12-11-2007, 11:14 PM
Event date will be guided by this poll.

m_illusionist
12-12-2007, 03:10 AM
well for sure i will not be able to enter!

good job Trinigamers!

12-12-2007, 07:58 AM
The thing is people; you cannot please everybody. There is always the random idiot who will have exams. Then there'll be another idiot who can't make Saturday and wants you to put it on Sunday. Idiot number three will find Sunday is a bad day and wants it back on Saturday.

The fact of the matter is, as the host of the tournament, YOU call the date, YOU call the times. Who can't make, tough. Better luck next time. The show must go on. This is nonsense.

12-12-2007, 09:23 AM
I actually agree with sold..

12-12-2007, 09:52 AM
Lets be clear here from the get go.

ALL TOURNAMENTS WILL BE ON SUNDAYS.

12-12-2007, 10:06 AM
I guess rb just pigeonholed me in the idiot #2 hole :confused:

hackman
12-12-2007, 11:57 AM
I guess rb just pigeonholed me in the idiot #2 hole :confused:

yuh not alone:(

12-12-2007, 12:08 PM
I'm glad this is put off because when I started planning this I actually had free time, since then that has significantly dwindled down to pretty much fighting to get things done. I really did not have the time to properly plan this and participation was looking weak. After a meeting with other staff involved with the event, we came to the decision that it should be put off until it can be better done.

I personally cannot run any more events, business is taking preference leaving little room for the personal, far less for what I used to do here. I'll be able to assist where I can under whoever is running the event, likely Arch.

I soo have a headache right now :(

Sorry for the disappointment guys.

boxy
12-13-2007, 08:42 PM
we all know that a bunch of teams were going to be registering last minute..specially seeing as ppls exams are now finishing up so that they can focus on other things. Men spend hours/time getting ready for tourney and ting..and now..salt. Best time to have something is honestly during a vacation..men eh looking to be in tourney and ting during school terms n what not

scar say he spread to thing to handle organising this tourney...buh wuh happen to the rest of admins or w/e? i honestly doh see what so difficult it have nuh. Like is time some for some new tourney organisers oui.

12-14-2007, 08:50 AM
While i udnerstand where Soldier is coming from i think he is being ignorant as to the general importance of a poll in a membership based organisation.
Yes it falls upon the org to determine the date of an event, but since this org is based on members then it should go without saying that the members should at least be given the oppurtunity to say what they think about the date that is proposed. Keep in mind that at no point in the original post is it stated that this poll will be the only deciding factor with respect to the date of the event, they merely state that the date would be 'guided'. And that is exactly how it should be.
That said I think it would be best for the event to not take place during the same time as the carnival period, so i think January is a no-no. And in case anyone thinks i worried i wouldm iss out on some carnival limesb ecauseo f this event, please note that i do not intend to participate anyway, i just think that a % of the membership may not be able to make it for that period. In addition, if the event is to take place in January then would that mean planning will take place over the Xmas season? ill Staff be available to do such planning over the Xmas season?

I say Early March

12-14-2007, 09:39 AM
How can you say you say I'm being ignorant when you just repeated what I said. You have to take everyone into consideration and that is impossible. There should be no favourites.

Thousands of people do not take part in carnival. What if carnival is the best time for them? What you all need to do as an organisation, ( Yes, I am saying this again.) is plan it out before hand and let us know.

Example (for Laruto). When I used to swim, we would know before hand when an even was. If we could not make it due to other plans; do you think that the organisors of the event would stop and say, "Well, as a member of the swimming organistion, Andre Legendre should be entitled to an opinion on the date of the tournament. Lets have a poll with all swimmers and try to work out something"

Nonsense.

12-14-2007, 09:46 AM
yes but i bet they do have some sort of poll / survey etc....

to determine when is the best time to have the swim meet...
which is what this is about...

the organizers have set several proposed times... and the majority will run...

what if they decide it should be on a tuesday huh? there would be an uproar... so the best thing to do... is let the people choose... that way u please the most people... polls are good

12-14-2007, 07:59 PM
Soldier, do you have any idea what the word 'ignorance' means? Please be advised that when someone says the word ignorant is a particular context (and mine is very obvious) they are not calling you stupid but rather indicating a a possible lack of information, eg YOU do not see the importance of a poll, and I am simply trying to show you why a poll is used.
Is addition, anyone who paid any attention to my post would have realised that my position is not the same as yours, clearly Phoenix understands this, why can't you?
And with respect to Carnival.. my reason for thinking we should avoid that period has nothing to do with our membership taking part in Carnival.. perhaps i should have stated that, but i didn't so my bad. I will speak to you about that on a one on one level though.
And again you continue to be ignorant, again, be advised that this is not an insult! Are you trying to insinuate that the administrative staff asks the members of the organisation their opinion because they themselves do not know what to do?
You are comparing us to a swimming organisation and obviously swimming meets have been taking place for quite a long time now; but you need to understand that Tg is still a young organisation and as such we would still be in the process of establishing a set of norms that would direct us in the following years and hopefully polls such as this and events such as Dotamania will help us to understand the culture of the gaming community enough to one day be able to come up and say: "Following are the tournament dates for the year, registration closes 2 weeks prior to each event so please make every effort to so quickly".

Long story short, there is still no set culture for the gaming community of Trinidad and Tobago, you are ina position to help the community identify the culture, so maybe you could continue to help us by sharing your opinion just as you do, but maybe you could try to understand our direction fully prior to making a judgement.

Silvaback
12-16-2007, 09:52 AM
I actually agree with sold..
Yeh even though I done with DotA I for once actually think sold talkin sense.A tournament date should be decided solely by the organizersbecuase well pfft dem plannin de ting dem know best
salaam Bill

boxy
12-26-2007, 08:47 AM
so this poll gonna be forever or wuh? arch alyuh men sticking

12-26-2007, 08:59 AM
Look like is early jan...