View Full Version : Medical Advice

12-11-2007, 01:13 PM
I don't kow much of the human body at a scientific level. You're on anti-biotics. The doctor tells you not to do something for a certain amount of time. Example, Don't eat curry and pepper for two weeks. You end up eating pepper and/or curry while on the anti-biotics.

What is the result of this? Does it hamper your health? Does it matter how much you ate? Does it matter the anti-biotics?

12-11-2007, 01:37 PM
antibiotics mess up how your stomach reacts to different food...hence sometimes they wold tell you to eat yoghurt etc when taking them to level off the acidity or something like that....you shouldnt have much of a problem other than an upset stomach, but dont take my word wholeheartedly, and if you do take it wholeheartedly, just know that in no way do i claim responsibility for your explosive diarrhea

12-11-2007, 02:57 PM
u might not have much to worry about.. unless of course u gone eatin what he said not to eat like yuh mad... if is jus a one off thing u should be fine...

12-11-2007, 05:24 PM
You will live.

12-11-2007, 06:17 PM
lol@dinesh answer

too much pepper does do weird stuff in yuh intestinal track, but pepper does raise de acid in stomach, which damages the antibiotics(acid + Proteins = big mess), like dinesh say u will live but u just more less kill half of de effectiveness with de drugs with dem pepper, if u muss eat pepper drink plenty water with it so it wont be that acidic in yuh stomach

ah next one is alco, this in a different case to pepper which is an acidic oil, alcohol will bind on to de antibiotoics not damage it and cause more damages

12-11-2007, 10:18 PM
oh dam....i just took my antibiotics with a beer...only because my neighbor say it does work :(

gambitt
12-11-2007, 11:00 PM
I don't kow much of the human body at a scientific level. You're on anti-biotics. The doctor tells you not to do something for a certain amount of time. Example, Don't eat curry and pepper for two weeks. You end up eating pepper and/or curry while on the anti-biotics.

What is the result of this? Does it hamper your health? Does it matter how much you ate? Does it matter the anti-biotics?

It would depend on why the doc told you not to eat the food and why you are on the antibiotics.

An example may be that you have a stomach bug that's caused you to get the squits. For all we know the doc just gave you the antibiotics to prevent any secondary infection, and he/she tells you to lay off the pepper/spicy to allow your (currently) sensitive bowels to recuperate.

There ARE some drugs that have VERY bad food interactions. Potentially lethal even, but quite frankly, if you ent dead from it yet, dont freak out.

My personal suggestion: If you already have the squits and still eating pepper with plenty curry, take out a subscription for a good daily newspaper (or at least a interesting weekly), you will be having a lot of quality "reading" time in the not too distant future.

12-12-2007, 08:05 AM
The thing is it was just some slight pepper on two aloo pie. Thats not much right?

Ate that yesterday. Ent dead yet :)

12-12-2007, 07:30 PM
anti biotics kill most bacteria.. including the ones in your stomach that help you digest stuff...

A little curry or pepper won't kill you , most you would get is slight indigestion..

The only dangerous things to do with antibiotics is to overdose or not take the recommended course ie. if he says take them for two weeks and you stop after a few days you in trouble..
Whatever bad bacteria survived the initial antibiotics will regroup and may become immune ... so you'll get back sick but worse , and it will be very hard to get better.

12-12-2007, 11:01 PM
everyone in here is doctors oui

soldier yuh eh going to dead, just lay off de pepper for now until this ting over

12-15-2007, 09:42 PM
I could have sworn Proteins were chains of amino acids and so acidic as well. Then again I have not seen the inside of a Biology book in 16 years. Pepper cures everything. Stop taking the meds and eat more pepper.

12-15-2007, 10:38 PM
Pepper cure everything, even aids...they jus doh want to admit that yet cause they making billions on pharmaceuticals :p

12-16-2007, 01:43 AM
I real learning stuff here :D

gambitt
12-16-2007, 11:14 AM
I could have sworn Proteins were chains of amino acids and so acidic as well. Then again I have not seen the inside of a Biology book in 16 years. Pepper cures everything. Stop taking the meds and eat more pepper.

Amines are basic, overall this makes most amino acids neutral, (better than neutral really because they can act like buffers and most neutral things cant do that) at least at some pHs.

Either way, the amine and the acid groups are what react and bind together to form the linkages that make the protein bonds. It's only those amino acids that have a second acid or amine group that would have an effect on if they whole protein was an acid overall.

Trini there's a LOT more bad things that you can do with antibiotics other than just ODing or intentionally taking a messed up course. There ARE food drug interactions with antibiotics that you need to consider as well.

Lets take tetracycline and milk (well not really, I mean lets take them as an example). You need something to wash down the tablets, milk is good for you, so you take the tabs with a glass of milk. The milk makes it inactive, so you end up getting a lower dose than you were supposed to. Result is an unintentional incorrect dose.

Well DUH, everyone knows you not supposed to drink milk when you sick anyways, Gambitt. Makes your snat come out thick as hell, bucket a drop and you can't stop coughing......... Ok ok..... well how about we replace the hypothetical glass of milk with a hypothetical glass of orange juice, that's good for you, right? Oh... no that can be pretty much as bad as taking the thing with milk. It inactivates the tetracycline the same way that the milk does. See why we can't ignore food-drug interactions?

Ok ok, so we all get the point, no milk, no oj when taking antibiotics. WTF that have to do with pepper? Well one other thing you not supposed to take with a lot of antibiotics is laxatives, or anything that will make you crap your insides out faster than you normally would. I dunno about you, but one or two times I've had some .... interesting... experiences after having doubles with too much pepper.

As a side note... pepper itself, like most spices does have it's own antibacterial properties. That's why our tropical foods have always had more spice and a wider range of spice per dish than the nonsense you see them cooking up in those cold countries. It keeps the food from spoiling as fast.... most times..... except in certain doubles vending establishments, it seems.

Either way, it probably not going to kill anyone to have a small dose of pepper in their food if they dont normally have any adverse effects, but like I say, without knowing why the doc say to lay off the pepper we really can't give an answer one way or another.

12-17-2007, 04:54 PM
I nominate Gambitt as the resident chemist!

12-17-2007, 05:16 PM
gambit just reaffirmed why i did not sign up for med sci....

gambitt
12-18-2007, 10:01 PM
gambit just reaffirmed why i did not sign up for med sci....

You mean you have the same problem as me and have to go over every time you wrote amine at least 3 times to make sure you didnt write anime by mistake? :D

12-19-2007, 01:23 AM
Thats Exatly It!!!!....:d

12-19-2007, 10:59 AM
i say if u was getting enough sex, you wouldn't need to worry about pepper or even need anti biotics for that nooby infection...

12-19-2007, 11:22 AM
pfft@ mojo. I gettin more than enough.

sex does real cure headache though :D

12-27-2007, 11:07 AM
I have a rash on my...

Shit! Wrong forum.

12-27-2007, 11:14 AM
I have a rash on my...

Shit! Wrong forum.

she lied when she told you that she was a virgin :p

12-27-2007, 12:39 PM
she lied when she told you that she was a virgin :p

All the villa girls are 'virgins'

12-27-2007, 01:21 PM
fresh meat?

12-28-2007, 01:52 AM
In the right position they all look so innocent.
And that position is light switch-off.