View Full Version : Phantom Of The Opera

02-19-2005, 10:49 AM
any of u guys went to see it ?
i did, man was i pleased with the movie, nothing changed at all from the original play/opera so sweet, all the original music reworked beutifully :)
it was damn good!

ne one else went and saw it ?
what do u all think?!

02-19-2005, 11:03 AM
Lokes watching a musical?
gf drag you to see it or what?

02-19-2005, 11:10 AM
actually no

phantom of the opera is one of my favourite things in the world :)

02-19-2005, 11:17 AM
i saw it...it was SUPERB!!!

i never thought i would appreciate the movie version as much as the live play but it was done masterfully...i reccommend it to everyone

02-19-2005, 01:22 PM
MY GF wants to see it, I honestly agree with dinesh when I say that it looks like a chick flick.

Muscials suck (cept thriller) including them mc indian movies. When i was younger i thought thriller was real bad and the music was real decent.

02-19-2005, 01:37 PM
para go see it
the music in it great
cant be beat ....

u mite find it similar ...

02-19-2005, 02:30 PM
nah nah it eh no chick flick...if u know it u go like it

just go with a open mind and u go see...its not a musical as much as it is a play

02-20-2005, 09:32 AM
musicals not realy my thing Moulin Rouge jus pissed me off dreds

well i like the whle phantoom opera thing "if i cant have you no on else cud"

i heard the move hardly has any talking dammit i need pple saying stuff to each other!!!

02-20-2005, 01:18 PM
Originally posted by PhoeniX@Feb 20 2005, 09:32 AM
musicals not realy my thing Moulin Rouge jus pissed me off dreds

well i like the whle phantoom opera thing "if i cant have you no on else cud"

i heard the move hardly has any talking dammit i need pple saying stuff to each other!!!

they do u know
they say things to each other thro sound :)

02-20-2005, 02:14 PM
Moulin Rouge was crap.
I real say it would of had some "scences" when I start watching all I see is a bunch of singing and dancing accompanied by queer make up.
Phantom looks to be the same.
Only way it's acceptable for a man to see that is if his gf drags him there......otherwise well, I would think something wrong with you
*dinesh glares at lokes

02-20-2005, 05:21 PM
btw it was me posting there not rum

Phantom of the Opera should never be placed in the same lowly category of mulan rouge or whatever shit ure talking

dinesh just go and watch the thing and tell me afterwards
but then again u gotta have taste to enjoy something liek phantom of the opera

02-20-2005, 06:53 PM
yeah appreciate the thing for what it is

02-21-2005, 11:13 PM
Think of POTO as a beautiful play reworked as a great movie/musical. Moulin R. cyah even begin to sniff like this.

I will say one thing though-people who can't appreciate music led scripts or not a fan of musicals and romance will be sleeping through this movie.

Not acceptable for a man to go see it by himself? Man:

H
Y
M
C

Dinesh. This was a good movie. Musicals are good things to watch. Take in an opera once in a while.

Not bad for a rework IMO, but esp. since Nightwish redid the opening theme and some of the songs: it's got a semi-modern air to it. Great movie IMO.

darthvader
02-22-2005, 06:56 AM
Originally posted by dinesh@Feb 20 2005, 02:14 PM
Moulin Rouge was crap.
I real say it would of had some "scences" when I start watching all I see is a bunch of singing and dancing accompanied by queer make up.
Phantom looks to be the same.
Only way it's acceptable for a man to see that is if his gf drags him there......otherwise well, I would think something wrong with you
*dinesh glares at lokes

look dinesh if u knew anything about hte play and the music u would not say what u said when a man dont apriciate the beuty of the arts u got ignorance like this god
and in some ways the way the music is especially the title song u would think it is a thriller lol
any way i saw it and loved it and dont care what anyone got to say about it

02-22-2005, 11:38 AM
Men rell bashin Dinesh here, i went and see it sunday gone there and personally i didnt find it great, it was an okay movie, had some rell nice parts and music to it but thats bout it, nuthin to be excited about, yes i did go in there with ah open mind and yes i do appreciate arts.

02-22-2005, 12:59 PM
*dinesh still find musicals very queer.
Not my cup of tea.

02-22-2005, 05:49 PM
HYMC dinesh.

02-22-2005, 07:11 PM
haha i wit u dinesh musicals are for friggin ***s,the phantom of the opera had a great story and characters,both of which i liked,but i didn't go see it cuz is a musical cuz musicals are for pusssiieeessss(except grease that musical was dred :) )

02-25-2005, 05:16 PM
hymc mick u told me u went to see it :)

02-25-2005, 06:36 PM
Well I guess he is a "friggin ***get" too.

02-25-2005, 07:01 PM
just cuz u dont like it cool
u dont like

dont gotta call ppl who like it ***s tho
kinda rude

02-25-2005, 08:00 PM
I was quoting Osiris dey.
I just find musicals queer ,all that singing and dancing , no point.

02-25-2005, 08:10 PM
i never said i went to see it u mc i said i shud have gone,cuz my girl went to see it with her frends and i was outside on the benches in movietowne alone :(

02-25-2005, 08:22 PM
u is an ass :P

02-25-2005, 09:33 PM
i know,thas all i cuda think of when i was on de bench i was like i'm an ass i'm an ass !!!

02-26-2005, 12:28 AM
Oh well, sucks to be you jedd :P

02-28-2005, 04:23 PM
Originally posted by Itachi@Feb 25 2005, 08:10 PM
i never said i went to see it u mc i said i shud have gone,cuz my girl went to see it with her frends and i was outside on the benches in movietowne alone :(

haha another thing
guess who re did the music for the main song in phantom of the opera

CHILDREN OF BODOM :)

03-01-2005, 07:01 AM
Damn, I thought Nightwish did it...it sounded so close to their version, except longer :P

03-01-2005, 10:04 AM
here's my 2 cents...

The Movie was great ... I say upgrade from the first one.BTW we need a thumbs up emoticon.

However, the songs, were not up to standard. I got the soundtrack for this movie early this year. The music was exceptionally redone and sounded great, but the vocals was where they fell short. Two of the most popular songs were disappointed in my opinion:

1) Music of the night
2) All I ask of You.

The original versions of these song featured earth shaking vocals..... the new songs are sung by ppl who sound like they haven't done enough voice training. When I get home i'll edit this post and put in the artists also.

ARCH_ANGEL
03-03-2005, 03:45 PM
Hmmm it takes a master of queerness like hidden to call Phantom of the opera queer.. Little fun fact martial arts is consider a dance and is used in Theatrical performances across the Asia .. SO you saying your art is equal to queerness too...

But then again its good to see the movies going back to the classics for inspiration i kinda fed up of super hero movies / comic books even though i still waiting on my fantastic four batman and well Green lantern if they ever grace us with that

03-03-2005, 07:38 PM
omg @ green lantern i wish they wud make a movie outta green lantern he 0wned and lokes it wasn't bodom who re did phantom of de opera hoss it was nightwish,Alexi Laiho cud never sing anything with talent,he has the least talent of any singer i have ever heard (but is probably the best young guitarist right now)

03-04-2005, 06:42 AM
Wait-make up allyuh MIND: was it Nightwish of COB that did the opening theme??

Because I KNOW Nw has an actual fll length song to match the opening theme for it...

03-04-2005, 03:14 PM
i dunno,cuz i eh see the movie,but i highly doubtin it was COB cuz i never see anythin about COB and phantom of the opera in one place and cuz COB's music is mainly guitar based and doesn't use as much classical keyboardwork (piano) in it

03-04-2005, 06:33 PM
here's the track listing on my CD...

1) overture
2) think of me
3) angel of music
4) the mirror
5) the phantom of the opera
6) the music of the night
7) prima donna
8) all i ask of you
9) all I ask of you (reprise)
10) masquerade
11) wishing you were somehow here again
12) the point of no return
13) down once more / track down this murderer
14) learn to be lonely.

I didn't bother to write down the performing artists names because guess what........

The cast of the movie did all these songs. e.g the mirror was performed by the phantom and christine. These parts were played by Gerard Butler and Emmy Rossum respectively. So they actually did that song.

Anybody want a straight copy of the CD can pm me.

Fury
03-04-2005, 08:32 PM
I hear about the show my firends tellin me it good never really saw a musical but i find it sounding cool so i might go see it sometime

03-07-2005, 09:52 AM
Get the 3 CD collection for the movie. I have that atm. It's direct from the original stage production of the musical. I'll post the listing when I get home and get the CD.