View Full Version : 8800GTS 512mb G92 - Reviewed
11-29-2007, 11:18 AM
Not a bad read.
http://www.tweaktown.com/articles/1234/nvidia_geforce_8800gts_512mb_g92_tested/index.html
11-29-2007, 11:47 AM
Whats interesting is how well the new ATi card holds up and how little separation there is in the +230USD video card market in terms of performance. Of special interest is how un-mature the ATi drivers are still (will they ever learn) given the 8800GT eclipsing perforce in some games to being pwned in other games.
11-29-2007, 11:59 AM
Despite falling a little short ATi has pricing and availability in their corner, good job imo. During my reading I focused more on the performance differences between the GT and the new GTS, for $75 (based on MSRP) I didn't find the performance increase to be 'all that'.
I am definitely waiting for these prices to settle (inshaAllah).
Captain Awesome
11-29-2007, 05:24 PM
The GT seems to be the better value for money, hell, oclock it a lil bit and you getting the g92 gts speeds. Use the extra cash and snag a copy of Crysis.
11-29-2007, 06:33 PM
dont snag a copy of crysis get orange box or cod4 :)
11-29-2007, 07:36 PM
I read the story this morning. This was the card I was waiting for, but the differences doh seem to be significant enough.
The differences are there though, and I'm sure they will start to be even more significant in a few months with more intensive games. But by that time we will be into the next gen's territory, and some budget 9800GT will end up beating it in performance.
I'll stick with the GT for now.
11-29-2007, 07:58 PM
8800gt is the best buy if you can get one for 250 USD, but the 3870 is very attractive at 219US , having DX10.1 and bieng a whole gigabyte of RAM cheaper its very valuable to people like me who only upgrade once every 2 years.
The 8800gts is just an overclocked 8800gt it seems , what i really want to see is the GTX model with all 128 pipelines unlocked and a 386/512bit memory bus . Performance should go up as much as 20 % at high AA and resolutions .
11-29-2007, 10:47 PM
yall ever read performance reviews on the 3800's?
especially versus the 8800gts.... they dont even perform that much better that the 2900xt... which is... a shame...
8800gt ftw