View Full Version : Buying a laptop soon. Give me some good advice...
11-04-2007, 11:41 PM
My wife wants a laptop for Christmas to replace her dying Dell, so I'm on the lookout.
She's not a gamer or a power user, so it doesn't need to be anything fancy. Just something that does a good, speedy job with browsing, word processing, music and movies. A burner would be useful, and anywhere from 80 gig HD space is just fine (she barely used 8 of the 40 gigs on the Dell over the 5 years she's had it).
Built-in wireless connection is also necessary, but that comes standard with laptops now, right?
Anyway, can yall recommend a few good local laptop sellers?
We need a place with good customer service and dependable warranty/repair services.
And how about brands? What's a good reliable brand to buy?
Thanks in advance for the info.
I recommend Acer, their products look sweet, perform well, and the price is really something to look for. Acer laptops are often >$100usd cheaper than a dell with similar specs.
11-05-2007, 09:02 AM
ttlaptops.com is good..i know at least 10 people who bought stuff from them,no problems..and you can pay COD
acer is good for home stuff, i dont like dell's non-business stuff,so i wont recommend them. HP is another good brand as well for non-power users
11-05-2007, 11:38 AM
I'd go with a Dell or an HP/Compaq for 1 reason. SUPPORT. Acer are a nice deal but over the past year i've seen over 5(out of 7) people i know have hardware issues with various models.
11-05-2007, 12:32 PM
I'd go with a Dell or an HP/Compaq for 1 reason. SUPPORT. Acer are a nice deal but over the past year i've seen over 5(out of 7) people i know have hardware issues with various models.
i agree... i dont see why dell-non business laptops arent good :S... but hp or dell for support... also there pretty easy to obtain... and fully configurable...
i'm not sure who doin hp personal in TT... i think fujitsu does... and prw...
and well it have a few dell companys... next techonlogies, and i think a place in chase village i cnat remember they names.. computer techonology... or some so
11-05-2007, 12:36 PM
i doh understand why ppl does bash the dell so...they have the bess customer support available and i had mine for 5 years problem free. So i relly doh understand the racisim against the dell...
11-05-2007, 01:32 PM
Preach it eddoes!
Preach!
11-05-2007, 01:50 PM
i doh understand why ppl does bash the dell so...they have the bess customer support available and i had mine for 5 years problem free. So i relly doh understand the racisim against the dell...
Because dell is a tad more expensive than custom built systems. Even though people don't take into consideration tech support/Warranty/the software that they provide (even though mcafee is crap still is a cost)/OS/quality of parts they are using and just bash them. Not to mention dells normally come with LARGE monitors. They all go DELL IS RIP OFF without actually thinking about any of that.
11-05-2007, 02:14 PM
Because dell is a tad more expensive than custom built systems. Even though people don't take into consideration tech support/Warranty/the software that they provide (even though mcafee is crap still is a cost)/OS/quality of parts they are using and just bash them. Not to mention dells normally come with LARGE monitors. They all go DELL IS RIP OFF without actually thinking about any of that.
we talkin about LAPTOPS here doh... of course no real person who knows there way around a pc would buy a dellpc... u get warranty on ur parts etc... n well shouldk now enuff to support urself...
however as far as laptops is concerned... dell or hp ftw..
11-05-2007, 02:14 PM
andro thanks eh, but that website not inspiring confidence at all.
Yall know any brick-and-mortar spots I can check out?
And doh say Laptop City in Trincity Mall...that place ridiculous.
Where is the Dell place in Trinidad? The place where I will get my support without BS.
11-05-2007, 02:54 PM
Dell has no retail agents in TT.
Go to their web site, navigate to Trinidad and Tobago and make a ur choice.
Mu advice for you to save some money:
Buy the cheapest dual core processor.
Buy after market ram and upgrade it for your self.
FYI, Hp laptops are pretty decent but I find their site harder to use.
11-05-2007, 03:17 PM
the only dell resellers in tnt i recommend is 'computer sales and services' and 'next tehnology' i never had a problem with them
the main local hp dealer in tnt is digi-data.
if u want a no hasseles system with good support and warranty n u don't mind paying bit extra 4 it then i would go dell followed by hp. toshibas n sony r good but u eh gettin support here plus they loaded with mucho crap.
i personally always buy brand name systems and pay the premium cuz i jus find it easier n simpiler to do and also less time consuming; not saying that i couldn't build my own sys frm scratch but i prefer not to.
jus my 2 cents
11-05-2007, 04:09 PM
i have no regrets with my Hp and it has gone through HELL. ill stick with them for my next laptop purchase
11-05-2007, 04:16 PM
we talkin about LAPTOPS here doh... of course no real person who knows there way around a pc would buy a dellpc... u get warranty on ur parts etc... n well shouldk now enuff to support urself...
however as far as laptops is concerned... dell or hp ftw..
Yea I know,just saying if you put all the actual costs together for the stuff they are giving you they aren't that much more expensive :P.
11-05-2007, 05:38 PM
i recommend HP, dem is de only company that have latops in de market that could take a good lash, toshiba is my NO1 choice fro laptop, but u have no support in trinidad...
i could send u to my sister place in califonia (that is in couva mcs) Calnet, it on de main road cah miss it just look for kaizen environmental. and u call yuh poison and let dem send one down and yes u do get yuh US warrenty :), not trinidad warrenty
11-05-2007, 05:44 PM
if u want a no hasseles system with good support and warranty n u don't mind paying bit extra 4 it then i would go dell followed by hp.
That's what I intend to do.
If I buy it from one of the resellers, though, will I get the service and support?
Or do I have to buy it from the website?
11-05-2007, 06:08 PM
ull get service and support from here. Ive had my father's dell laptop serviced and repaired right here at no charge to him, covered under dell warranty...no need to send it out to the states)
11-05-2007, 06:22 PM
So what's the best Dell store locally?
11-05-2007, 09:08 PM
i recommend DELL computer services in chaguanas, contact 665-dell. Their support was extraordinary for my pc and laptop. I never had any problems with my laptop and only one problem with my pc. They fixed it in a days time which was impressive. Their prices are reasonable and service great.
11-06-2007, 09:02 AM
Dell has no retail agents in TT.
the only dell resellers in tnt i recommend is 'computer sales and services' and 'next tehnology' i never had a problem with them
thats what i thought... :S
the main local hp dealer in tnt is digi-data.
yes we are but we dont deal with the personal stuff.. pavillions etc... only business(corporate) stuff... however we can handle the repairs etc.
11-07-2007, 12:31 AM
i say get ah asus eee pc, it cheap and small, i getting one my self too
12-01-2007, 01:23 PM
Wife chose a decent Vostro in e-City. Just hooked it up, she's enjoying herself.
e-City service was commendable, plus the guy who helped us was one of my wife's former students, so even better.