View Full Version : POSTPONED: TriniGamers: Dotamania Tournament 2007

11-01-2007, 07:06 PM
The original idea was to make this a "best of the best", however since there has been only one non-TG 5v5 DotA tournament which SM also won, there were only two champions. In the end we decided to just have a big tournament to end the year.

There was also feedback that the tournament should be more than just single elimination. Time constraints considered, this would not work out. We feel the league covers this adequately enough and both the league and tournament should have different feel to the game.

Good news for those who did not like the byes. Our hosts, the NEW Java Gaming Ltd are in the process of upgrades which will provide 30 gaming PCs for tournament day. This means that with prompt scheduling, there will be time to have 16 teams compete.

===========================================

http://pvpgn.trinigamers.com/misc/tg.gif

Date: 30th December 2007
Time: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Location: Java Gaming Limited, Campus House, St. Augustine (http://www.wikimapia.org/#lat=10.645937&lon=-61.399123&z=18&l=0&m=a&v=2)

War3 Version: 1.21a or latest compatible with map
Map Version: 6.48b or latest stable according to www.getdota.com (http://www.getdota.com/)
Game Mode: Extended League Mode (-xl)

Tournament Format: 16 teams, single elimination.
Tournament Schedule: TBA

Teams: 5v5
Rules: http://pvpgn.trinigamers.com/misc/TG_Dotamania_Rules_11-12-07.pdf

Cost: $150 per team ($30 per player)

Prizes
1st - $1500*
2nd - $500*

*Prizes based on a full 16 team tournament

http://pvpgn.trinigamers.com/misc/TG_Dotamania_Rules_11-12-07.pdf

http://pvpgn.trinigamers.com/misc/tgdotamaniaformat2k7.png

http://pvpgn.trinigamers.com/misc/tgdotamaniaschedule2k7.png

Registration Deadline: 22nd December 2007
Payment Location: Kukka @ Vijay's Computer World (782-3439)

Post your team here or PM it to scaR.

Please note that smurfed names will not be accepted for this event.

Teams Registered

1. [GnS] - Globenet Shooters :: Infernal (c), UltraPlasma, Silvaback, Mr Shooter, Ulquiorra :: Not PAID
2. (LP) - Levitating Paperweights :: HyperMan (c), Aldar, Atticus, Nutzzzz, GhosT :: Not PAID
3. [jfap] - Jelly Fish Air Pirates :: Fenrir(c),Dest, Borat, Rt, Mugen :: Not PAID
4. [HCE] - Hardmatic Career Enders :: Boxy(c), MG(v), Grimlock, Krumm, Cool :: Not PAID

betty
11-01-2007, 11:27 PM
Where+When do we sign up :P

11-02-2007, 12:14 AM
This is not a poor man's dota, thaz a serious entrance fee.

11-02-2007, 01:59 AM
Yeah @ entrance fee. $40 per player. It's all going back to the prizes in the end, really all of it this time. Still trying to get some sponsors to make it bigger, got iffy responses so far.

Post your team here betty and PM me for payment info. I'll post up the payment location as soon as I make arrangements.

11-02-2007, 09:13 AM
This looking like it going to be big...

Time to get mine.. :cool:

11-02-2007, 09:46 AM
I reserving a spot in the carpark near the non-drinking section.

11-02-2007, 11:13 PM
do i have to pay to come watch >_> <_<

11-03-2007, 01:13 PM
Spectators

To help cover costs we have to charge a spectators fee for observing matches. This is a one time charge, good for all matches played during the entire tournament. Players do not have to pay the spectator fee.

Spectator Fee: $10

You not above the law geese!!

11-03-2007, 04:30 PM
the law is open to interpretation noob, i'll be in free :)

11-04-2007, 02:55 PM
Well this should be a nice tournament, pirce seem a bit high to me, is there any condition for late registers?....you know how it was for the 5v5....ppl came in late an wanted spots, so what are the conditions for something like this?

11-08-2007, 04:52 PM
Plz note that the drinking section will be to the western side of the building this time to facilitate bill and other noobs from getting bounce while not drinking...

11-09-2007, 12:01 PM
Well this should be a nice tournament, pirce seem a bit high to me, is there any condition for late registers?....you know how it was for the 5v5....ppl came in late an wanted spots, so what are the conditions for something like this?

$40 per person is higher than usual but more in line with typical registration fees. If we expect to have sponsors and bigger prize pots we need to also cover a fair share of it in registration fees.

Sixteen is the definite maximum, there will be no way to accommodate late entrants.

We are checking out the possibility of having a tent.

11-09-2007, 03:04 PM
hmmm... a tent?

can i bring a barbecue grill? We can make this thing into a new year's eve party thingy too...

11-09-2007, 03:43 PM
i thought u don't do sunday tournaments munkee

11-09-2007, 04:40 PM
well this is old years, and i been itching for a change in scenery for my annual barbecue...

11-09-2007, 05:06 PM
old years is the day after...how come everyone thinking the 30th is old years...

11-11-2007, 04:52 PM
Food I in that!!!!!!!
a could organize the sauce meh mom sauce real imba REAL
..@vax
how come nobody sign up yet......
anybody wa meh for a team awa???????

hackman
11-11-2007, 08:50 PM
i thought u don't do sunday tournaments munkee

sigh it muss be a sunday :( ent this go be during holidays make it a saturday nah
i begging plz thing about it:o

11-11-2007, 10:11 PM
i fine sunday so convenient. ppl does have things tuh do on ah saturday

hackman
11-11-2007, 10:41 PM
i fine sunday so convenient. ppl does have things tuh do on ah saturday

i hear what yuh saying eddoes but in my case sunday is like d worst day for me. I just asking if it could and if it can't oh well i might go d next one :(:o

11-12-2007, 12:09 AM
Pretty much all events from here on out will be on a Sunday.

11-12-2007, 10:04 AM
Pretty much all events from here on out will be on a Sunday.

well that sucks for me n hackman :P

11-12-2007, 10:21 AM
if transport is ah problem mojo i guh pass for yuh :p

11-12-2007, 06:51 PM
Some people have asked about getting later game times. Most I would do is let the south ppl be in the B and D groups and let the north ppl be in the A and C groups. There will be a public draw for this on the 23rd in Java.

There is an advantage to being there at 8:00 AM. You will get to play five side by side for those games. A reward for being there early to kick it off!

Because of the layout of Java, teams playing later in round one will each have one player seperated from the rest of their team. This is fair since your direct opponents will be playing under the same condition for that one game.

After that it will be five side by side for the rest of games.

@ Sunday, It's a slow day for cafes so they would be more willing to let us do something without paying too much for the place. Saturday would run costs up too high.

shenlong
11-12-2007, 06:53 PM
umm.. Does SM have to pay registration free?

11-12-2007, 07:22 PM
Yeah everyone has to pay the entrance fees since it changed from a champions only event to a full tourney event. All entrance fees go towards the prize money.

11-12-2007, 09:12 PM
pay yuh dam money shen....yuh cheap white boy :p so 8 am... hmm...i guh make it for the afternoon drinking session oui :D

slider
11-13-2007, 07:07 AM
i not sure if men go feel dey gettin dey money's worth paying $40 and getting knock out in 1 game? daiz what single elimination is rite?

11-13-2007, 05:22 PM
Some players have commented that the registration fee is noticeably higher than what we usually do ($100-$125) but no one has said that it's over their price range. If players were to say that to us, we would adjust it to suit. We do all of this for them.

You spectating again this time Slider or you looking to play in your first TG tournament? I know you're a 1v1 / 3v3 man. I remember you taking in the scenery the last time around.

Mr Shooter
11-14-2007, 08:06 PM
I'd like to register a team Globenet Shooters (GnS) , (C) Infernal, UltraPlasma, Silvaback, Mr Shooter, Ulquiorra. Goo luck 2 all who comin and play, and to does dat comin dis one go be FUN!!

@ MOJO if yuh serious bout de BBQ, jus make sure it go have Fish so ah cud get summtin 2 eat as well, thanks.

11-19-2007, 01:03 PM
OK, decided to scale back all the costs involved despite knowing of at least eight teams that would have paid the old registration fee. Lets have ourselves some fun instead.

$150 registration, works out to $30 per player.

No spectators fee. HOWEVER... it is bring your own laptop with WiFi to observe.

Atticus
11-21-2007, 09:28 PM
Hey guys id like to sign up this team 4 -
Team name- The Levitating Paperweights (LP)
Players - (C)HyperMan, Aldar, Atticus, Nutzzzz, GhosT.

11-22-2007, 10:33 AM
this tourny gonna be so much fun and the guns i seeing in the future includin my own it gonna be hilarious

11-22-2007, 10:40 AM
Original Team name lol

11-22-2007, 12:18 PM
that name is sort of imba hmm a team name this time around must be very imba then!!!
/me goes into name making mode

11-22-2007, 01:07 PM
lawd @ lp...people special wit the names eh....but it is kinda funny hehe
Plz note that the drinking section will be to the western side of the building this time to facilitate bill and other noobs from getting bounce while not drinking...

I WASNT EVEN NEAR HIM...BILL U SPREADIN THE LIES AGAIN!!!

11-22-2007, 01:59 PM
this tourny gonna be so much fun and the guns i seeing in the future includin my own it gonna be hilarious
You sell, I sell, WE ALL SELL. it doesnt matter buddy. Nobody can go through a game 10-0 all the time

boxy
11-24-2007, 12:25 PM
lord..so instead ah paying 40 dollars to enter and having the chance to win 500 dollars..you paying 30 and have the chance to win 300.. sigh

11-24-2007, 03:13 PM
people too damn cheap...10 dollars really hurtin allyuh so much?....i guess it hurtin the people who goin not to actually compete, who think that they CANT win no matter what and just joinin for sh*ts and giggles.

Atticus
11-26-2007, 04:21 PM
Ummm are we using d rules from the last league??........Where can i get a look at them?? Cuz like men do wah get disqualfied for some random s#%t tha we doh knw bout.

11-26-2007, 06:21 PM
So far the gameplay rules will be the same as the league. I'll release this tomorrow.

11-29-2007, 01:06 PM
Ok.. so it took a few days. Rules posted!

Atticus
11-29-2007, 04:39 PM
Thnx 4 d rules.......Woot @ d Towers win one i hadda c men pull tha one off. Buh ah find men like they fraid 2 join d tourney.....Has WOW really taken over:eek:

11-30-2007, 09:41 PM
Um who drawing the teams??
I could do it again :D

11-30-2007, 10:59 PM
sorry bill u not drawing it again

i already demanded the spot be given to me :D

12-01-2007, 09:05 AM
Well I think LXG is gonna sit out this one, though there is a chance of opinion changing before registration closes, but it's a small chance.

As good as the tourney sounds, I'd prefer to have a 24+hour sweat with level drinks on the same day, starting from midday going on to Old Year's.... :).

12-01-2007, 10:39 AM
nah geese i ask first on the forum.
hard luck maybe next time
I SAY POLL!

fenrir
12-04-2007, 09:23 AM
Wow, feels weird posting on server, i havent seen it in a while
kinda pretty....... sort of......anyways, sigh

I would like to register my side for this tourney thingy
Team Name - Jelly Fish Air Pirates (jfap):D
Members - Fenrir(c), Dest, Borat, Rt, Mugen

Name, leadership, and Mugen is up for debate and may change :rolleyes:

Hope this is a good one......any one walking with Mr. Jack Daniels, and if u know where there still sell malboro's please tell me, i miss it........lol

boxy
12-08-2007, 10:46 AM
Team Hardmatic/ The Career Enders ( name not finalised nah) - Boxy(c),MG(c),Grimlock,Krumm,Cool

ÏvØr¥
12-08-2007, 02:10 PM
Well I think LXG is gonna sit out this one, though there is a chance of opinion changing before registration closes, but it's a small chance.

As good as the tourney sounds, I'd prefer to have a 24+hour sweat with level drinks on the same day, starting from midday going on to Old Year's.... :).

Wicked Plan :D:D

12-08-2007, 06:51 PM
i might come for de ole years lime let me draw de teams :)

12-09-2007, 01:26 PM
I've only just recently had time to review the tournament properly, rules ect to bring it closer to international standards. There will be some upcoming changes to the event I need to work out.

fenrir
12-10-2007, 08:33 AM
ah real find some sides sticking *cough cough*. not callin any names.....

She..... and Para..... ...

come on people register, register, lewwe end the year with a bang

Atticus
12-10-2007, 01:31 PM
True tlk fen......men stickin....las time spots full up like MAD!! lawd @ BOx an he team of supa imbaness though....thas we sweat :(

12-10-2007, 02:35 PM
dont call any teams hard hosss....remember what does go on in these tornys the underdogs might come out on top never know....:)

Atticus
12-10-2007, 04:26 PM
HMmm......seeing that were underdogs,id say ur rite!:D

BUh BOX tha man say yuh team soff yesss.....

12-11-2007, 03:03 PM
lol this tourny will be good dsi . the sides will register when they find their hardmatic sides. I hope i could full up the rest of slots on my team to enter. I lookin forward to facing the sides posted so far and still wanna see the seeding after all the men register.

12-11-2007, 08:59 PM
Aight rules updated. Give feeback.

12-11-2007, 11:01 PM
We are postponing this event to 2008 after a meeting with TG staff involved. Thanks to everyone who supported by signing up. We'll try to do something better with the extra time.

There will be a TG sweat on the 30th of December in Java.