View Full Version : Consoles Inform a n00b

10-20-2004, 01:18 AM
Hi Im a n00b to consoles. im considering purchasing 1 now because Im feeling a bit left out on all the sexy new games that are coming out Console only...

If I were to buy a console, I think it would be a PS2 but as users of these consoles would you recommend maybe an XBOX or Nintendo (whatever they have now?) and is Sega still in the game?

EDUCATE MEH!

10-20-2004, 01:30 AM
As usual it comes down the games. Some games will be on all 3 of the major consoles. While others come exclusively to one. Each system has their ups and downs and great games.

PS2 = Almost everything hits this console , with the exception of the franchises such as Mario etc which are exclusive to Nintendo. Has the biggest library of games.

XBOX = The xbox is a cool system, but it is a bit bulky, has better gfx that the other 2 consoles. However the library of good games isnt that big. If you got dsl and love online console games then grab this up.

Nintendo Gamecube = Nintendo has not done as well as they would have like to with this system. Its got great games but not as much as the rest. More family oriented and normal Nintendo franchise games appear here (Mario , Zelda , Pokemon)

I believe that the XBOX and PS2 goes for $150 US and the Cube goes for $99

10-20-2004, 01:36 AM
Local prices? and modifications? whats safe and whats not?

10-20-2004, 01:41 AM
Well for PS2 i think the price of the console modded is around $2000-$2600 (I'm not 100% sure). You can check the classifieds in the Express newspaper for a exact price. Games are around $50

DO NOT BUY ANY PS2 FROM NANAN'S.

A modded XBOX costs around $2600. Games are around $75

10-20-2004, 02:15 AM
geese is de consoles man from long time yes ...

i personally would go with the game cube ... why ?

cause ... ah luv meh nintendo :)

actually the reason would be that i like the classic titles ... metroid, star fox , mario , zelda etc etc

i'd buy the gamecube for these games basically ... not too interested in playin much of the other games on consoles in general ( though some are hot .. MGS definitely is one .. )

but thas jus me :?

X-wing
10-21-2004, 11:13 PM
PS2 is the real shot at least fuh me, the only complains i hear about PS2's are that some of them overheat badly and shuts the game down, mine works fine tho :D
STars Wars Battlefront tuh craw !

10-21-2004, 11:37 PM
Well Im hoping to get a PS2 then, I was hearing that there is a new Slimmer edition coming out, does this one have any hardware advantages over the previous?

10-22-2004, 12:06 AM
nah notting much
just better prevention of modding
since the hard drive mod sony had to move quick to stop it
mines hard drive modded and no problems none so what
and it does not void warrenty too
all u need is a network adapter a 40gb to 120 gb ata hard drive
the loading software and u are good to go

the slim ps2 looks cool

but for modding scenes its ah no no

forget the mod chip dat stuff ole

hard drive is the way to go now

and it loads fast too

and to get games into the hard drive now all u need is just download dump the game in hard drive from pc via ide simple as (recommend usb a quicker method)

10-22-2004, 12:47 AM
Explain this HD thing, wham you put the games on the HDD and play it from there? Need some special ripper or something?

10-22-2004, 12:53 AM
i know you already have a kickass pc or 2, so ignore the xbox, it's pretty much a PC that you never need to upgrade, however i'm told it has the most potential with respect to modding, 160 Hard Drive to craw

10-22-2004, 01:01 AM
Well why can't i just slap in a lil 160gig in a PS2 ;)

I was unaware that there were HD mods for the PS2, I thought this was limited to more advanced (i use advanced lightly), systems?

Opium, explain the process and how does it not affect the warrenty, don't you have to open it and such?

10-22-2004, 11:59 AM
de reason why i say 120 is de max is because dat is de largest ah ps2 could pick up
and no yuh doh need to open up yuh ps2
it will have ah special slot dat u will have easy access to on de back of de ps2 which is design to hold a hard drive
a network adapter is needed because dat is where de hard drive does connect to

if u need more info on wah to get i hit all de links yuh need

u just buy and send to sky box

10-22-2004, 06:10 PM
keep in the mind the hardware limititations of the PS2, 333 mhz processor being one of them.
and keep checking how far they have gotten with PS2 emulation.

10-22-2004, 08:16 PM
ps2 is a console not ah pc

gaming on console is totally different on console

laruto u ever play console games on pc?

and emulator still far way from working properly
i hope i see some of de recommend specs for these programs
even if i try to run a emulator on my current pc it wont have the enough juice to run it
and my pc specs is far beyond yuh pc

10-23-2004, 02:29 AM
I was told me that PS1 emulation on PC is almost perfect?

I wouldnt mind buying a 'PS2' decoder card for meh PC and just plugging in 2 controllers. (just a dream)

Err so if i have an external 250gig drive can i partition it 120gig 130gig?
Opium hear what send some links, detailed stuff lemme do some reading. I would have looked it up myself but If opium has had experience with a certain product I'll look into that one first b4 shoping around.

10-23-2004, 02:05 PM
i dont tink the ps2 can pick up usb hard drives

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/casey.miller/...mpatibility.htm (http://homepage.ntlworld.com/casey.miller/HD%20Loader%20Compatibility.htm)

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/casey.miller/...HD%20Loader.htm (http://homepage.ntlworld.com/casey.miller/HD%20Loader/FAQ%20HD%20Loader.htm)

while doing some digging i found ne that can read 200gb hard drives

http://www.hdadvance.com/

10-26-2004, 11:25 AM
when i mentioned the current stte of emulation i was referring to the fact that the emulators for the PS2 will be able to run on an XBOX, so i'm really thinking about console gaming on a different console.

10-26-2004, 02:10 PM
emulating a PS2 on your XBOX lol, piracy upon piracy

10-27-2004, 12:52 PM
the PS1 and N64 emus run perfectly on a modded XBOX (so i'm told) i myself have seen the snes roms being played and i must say i was shocked, but happy nonetheless.

10-27-2004, 02:21 PM
Hmm, then I guess i'll wait until the XBOX matures a bit more and go with that. I prefer the PS2 controller to a XBOX own. Can i use a PS2 controller on the XBOX during PS2 emu mode?

Im also thinking can I play like XVID/DIVX on my big screen with the XbOX in linux mode?

10-29-2004, 10:17 AM
yeah para, I say the XBox is the best option right now, mainly because it's the most powerful pc you can buy for $150 US.

the advancements of Xbox linux have been reaching new heights recently, you might want to check out teh following links for more info about the promising future of Xbox linux and xbox modding.

http://www.xbox-scene.com this site is pretty much for the hardcore xbox junkie. All major developments are highlighted on this site.

http://www.thescreensavers.com this is the site for the tv show screen savers aired on TechTV everyday. they usually highlite the huge milestones with respect to xbox modding and open source development on the xbox. just type in xbox in the search field and presto.

The Screen Savers can be viewed on G4TechTV at 7:00 pm daily I believe..... not like I watch religiously or sumtin...

10-31-2004, 02:49 AM
ok i will do that
ok there is 2 h mod for ps2
hd loader and hd advance

What is the HD Loader?

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/casey.miller/...HD%20Loader.htm (http://homepage.ntlworld.com/casey.miller/HD%20Loader/FAQ%20HD%20Loader.htm)
What is the HD Advance
http://www.ultimateconsoleguides.com/HDAdvance.htm

ok this is a list of the games that my be able to play but one thing
the list old but most new games works just fine
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/casey.miller/...mpatibility.htm (http://homepage.ntlworld.com/casey.miller/HD%20Loader%20Compatibility.htm)

the advantage of each are here
http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/97429
yuh have to read to find it fellas so good luck

anything else
pm me or post here
and fellas ps2 is the way to go eh
xbox kinda good but any game coming out for xbox will come out for pc
doh it will take long to come out

10-31-2004, 02:51 AM
talking about linux as mojo recalled in my head
ps2 has a kit for linux too so para your choice
if yuh going for the console get it fast or else all the old systems will be missing and there for no mods will be out
and the hdd forxbox they killing that too
they find they hacking it too much so hurry

oats
10-31-2004, 09:51 PM
ah boi para yuh gettin in the ting :) seriously get the pS2 PS2 pwns XBOX anyday in my book.. Xbox is just another PC!! and i'm gettin my Network adapter som time this week so i'll let u know more about the HD thing and well i wanna try out the online gaming too....its so cool that the PS2 has HD capabality so the Xbox isint showing off any more with it HD capability.. all the ps2 needs now is ah HD loader or sum other software to make more workable titles work on the HD the it will be total pwnage 4 the Xbox :)).... U can get ah PS2 from jk he's the best i would say www.jkentertainment.net go there u will get prices and stuff and list of all ps2 titles he has on sale but then u can download em ;)

11-01-2004, 11:57 AM
But as lars was telling me in an earlier post, its possible to play SNES/ PS1 and other console games via emulation on the XBOX. He also suggested that maybe the PS2 emulation would get better and I would also be able to play PS2 games on my XBOX (well if i choose to purchase 1)

Can the PS2 do similar things? Well obviously it can play PS1 games but are there any similar hacks?

11-01-2004, 07:46 PM
Well snes/nes/sega/gba emulation is also possible on the ps2 as well as the divx/xvid. I highly doubt that we'll be seeing a ps2 emulated on the xbox any time soon or ever for that matter.

11-05-2004, 10:28 PM
Well snes/nes/sega/gba emulation is also possible on the ps2 as well as the divx/xvid. I highly doubt that we'll be seeing a ps2 emulated on the xbox any time soon or ever for that matter.
lol ps2 on xbox
doh think that will happen
but ps2 is de way to go
playing emulation make no sense on a console to say it have pc for that
and the pads
ps2 has the best
even for a handicap like me i say ps2 is de best
if it does wonder for me so what it go do for you