Maniac
10-10-2007, 08:27 PM
rahahaha! alrighty then... i guess ill have to ink everything from now on for greater visibility *steups* had to play with the gamma and all kinda thing to get these to look clearer/more how they did in the sketch pad, oh well...
here we have a portrait of the wifey Claire :), (the idea is for a wallpaper actually)
http://www.maniac.ultra-gamers.com/files/Clare2.jpg
a protrait of the outside oman, "Flash Sword Irene" (from the anime) or "Quick-Sword Ilena" (from the manga)
http://www.maniac.ultra-gamers.com/files/Irene22.jpg
and lastly, my baby in her fetish outfit ;)
http://www.maniac.ultra-gamers.com/files/Irene3.jpg
New Era Outlaw
10-16-2007, 03:53 PM
Ah, cool. You've posted up some of your work.
Now, with regards to the first picture, the face is somewhat unbalanced a bit. I know you were trying to achieve the 'dual personality' face effect, but, as is, the left side of the face seems a bit higher up than the right side. Also, I think you might need to add a bit more loose strands of hair about the place. Contrary to what most anime may convey, hair doesn't clump together and flow in fixed tufts. I think you might also need to add some hair to th back of your character's head as well....just to add some balance to the hairstyle.
The second picture is pretty cool, but watch out for the eyes...they're too close together. A general rule of thumb when drawing eyes is to make sure that you leave an eye's width between the left and the right eyeball (to make room for the bridge of the nose). As such, you should probably space out your eyes a bit more here. Also, you can try shading the face where the hair droops down.
As for the third....it seems a bit flat-ish, probably because there isn't any shading on to it. It's a good pose, but I can't help but wonder if the character at some bad shrimp the day before....the side of the face away from the viewer looks like it's puffing up a bit. Also, remember what I said about hair....oftentimes, it's free-flowing and falls in strands.
On a general note, if you want to really kick things up a notch with your lineart, try making the linework towards your light source thinner, and thicken the lines that lie in areas of shadow.
Other than that, keep it up!:)