View Full Version : Thoughts on this camera

09-25-2007, 03:01 PM
http://www.sumishi.net/JPG/SUMDC5066A.jpg

09-25-2007, 03:17 PM
never heard of it... specs look mid-range...
it doesnt have autofocus... which is pretty messed up for the average camera user...
so picture quality prolly goin to be low as well

it might prolly be better to just get a canon or something

i cant even find reviews on this thing...

09-25-2007, 03:35 PM
Check out the sony cyber-shot DSC w35/w55

09-26-2007, 11:41 AM
did not ask for suggestions on alternative devices, just thoughts on what i posted, not for me.

Specs look midrange?
aside from the lack of optical zoom, i find the specs cool. Unless you plan on taking professional shots of some mountains and you plan on printing your images as full size wall-posters, i do not think anyone needs more than 5MP, especially a casual user.

09-26-2007, 12:27 PM
megapixel is not the spec u should be studyin dese days... unless, as u mentioned u tryin to poster ur room with 1 pic or sometin lol

this is what it lacks:
auto focus (must have for casual shooter)
image stabalization (another must for casual shooter, especially with no auto focus)

specs that arent mentioned (prolly cuz it not good enough to mention):

iso modes (so taking pics in low light (even with flash) might be a prob

what image processor is it using?... u might take a shot and hadda wait a good few seconds to get a next 1 (also affects picture quality)

where's the shutter speed specs u doh wanna miss the perfect pic because the cam takes too long (specially for the casual shooter)

i've seen many of these no brand name cameras in action... i cant give first hand experience with this one... but they all tend to warrent the reaction: "jah this camera is MESS!!!" from their users...

also the fact i cant find reviews etc says something...

09-26-2007, 01:07 PM
Looks lame IMO. Digital Zoom only? No no no. That will screw up every picture.

You should start with a price range and then find out what options you have. You'd be surprised at what's available if you look around.

09-26-2007, 02:17 PM
umm.... go for something at least 7 megapixel or more. that camera kinda poor doh. it not bad but u could do better for a similar price range plus the brand isnt tops. try fujifilm 7.1 finepix its cheap has a big screen and has games. i own one . lol. .>>>>> I sell cameras will give u a best price lol musssss try to pitch in business lol.

09-26-2007, 04:34 PM
anything more than 5MP is more than enough. I got a finepix a610,6.3MP, works like a charm

09-26-2007, 10:03 PM
6.3mp and das d shitty pics from tourney? lawl!! :P

camera i suggested was.. 7.2.. real bess

09-26-2007, 10:21 PM
6.3mp and das d shitty pics from tourney? lawl!! :P

camera i suggested was.. 7.2.. real bess

Yea,cuz i didnt resize the pics for web when i uploaded them :rolleyes:. Twit.

09-26-2007, 11:11 PM
sigh @ u guys... phoenix is actually right on this one... megapixels don't make a camera.

but i still can't recommend it larry, fixed focus <----ancient outdated tech. Auto focus is what u should be looking for.

Digital zoom is just like taking the whole thing before zooming and on your pc, cutting off what u dont want. Optical zoom is a true zoom while digital zoom is a crop (and stretch with AA to smoothen in some cases).

09-27-2007, 12:28 PM
thanks for the input, i let the girl watch the thread this morning so she could see for herself. She gives her regards

unimatrix001
12-21-2007, 09:15 AM
i must disagree with some people when they say u need sumthin wit autofocus.when a camera has no optical zoom, the lenses are all fixed inside the camera. because the lens does not move, there is no need for any further focusing except for what it has been set to by the manufacturer as a lens will focus images anywhere from its focal length (about 3cm) to infinity, and if it has a macro option it will shift the lens a little to decrease this length. My first digital camera was a fujifilm finepix a201 and it had fixed focusing and up to this day, focus wise, the pictures are more superior than my finepix e900 and olympus c750UZ

Now i find that camera wud be a gud one if yuh really eh expectin nutting great.its a granny camera since it seems to have nothing complicated in its operation. Wudnt pay more dan $50US for it if so much though