View Full Version : Dotamania - OR - Dota League Season 2007/2008

09-24-2007, 03:37 PM
Here's the thing.

We were planning three DotA events this year. First two were very successful. Last to go through is of course Dotamania which was intended to be a battle of champions only, ie. four teams.

Right now I feel that most teams will not appreciate having to watch instead of being able to play the game. There were 12 teams for the tournament and 20 for the league. Even at Arena there were unknown teams that participated. I'm sure many more unknowns out there. I hear Sip side beat out a hard team from the server the other day. >_>

The league went well, but was somewhat tight on scheduling. If we were to start from this year we could have a more relaxed weekend system with fixed game times. Less FF games as a result. Also we could have prelims to weed out the weaker entries (south ppl.. lol kidding) and have a more competitive build of final teams. We could even use this as a partial qualifier for the DotA Tournament in 2008.

Vote plz ppl.

09-24-2007, 08:49 PM
why u doh hushh yuh damn concrete monkey mouth yuh damn weak north noob :P

just kiddin :P

09-24-2007, 09:24 PM
Dota league sounds more professional if you're trying to increase the cyber gaming community lol
And i wuh more men like Jason Troja on the server. :-)

09-24-2007, 09:30 PM
^^ that avatar full of win

take some rep

09-24-2007, 10:09 PM
why not have both?... the 4 team invi tourney should not need as much planning etc, so have the 4 team tourney to kick off the league?... well is up to yall... but if is to pick would i would say league

MG
09-24-2007, 10:38 PM
league tends to be for server men only. those who play @ cafe's etc generally don't manage to participate in the league.

Nike
09-27-2007, 11:26 AM
GO For it! cant be worse than arena......nothing can..........ever.

09-27-2007, 12:26 PM
True @ only server men in leagues.
Dotamania not sounding all so hot up and eX not going and play lets be honest imo a tournament sounding real cool right about now :).

09-27-2007, 02:36 PM
you taking that "ex eh gonna play" chainup ?

09-27-2007, 03:08 PM
Been watching the responses and getting feedback both here and personally. Most people seem to be for the league. Right now considering the super laggy nights, a online league would not be wise.

Other than that people seem to be for a tourney.

Still the problem exists of too many teams. We could however make it invitational based on past performance. Kind of a Dotamania with more teams?

MG
09-27-2007, 07:34 PM
you taking that "ex eh gonna play" chainup ?

this man obviously doesn't know the power that is WoW rofl

cafe men seem to be all for a full tourney...

09-27-2007, 07:58 PM
obviously...I've been playing since xmas and not 1 of my characters cross lvl 40 yet.

09-28-2007, 10:48 AM
WoW? What is this devil language you speak of mg?

WoW - recurring compulsion by an individual to engage in 'phat lewts'

boxy
09-29-2007, 06:41 PM
dont see why we just cant have both.. like scar said..the online thing might need to wait for now till flow fix they issues :P
dota mania could be 8 teams..if more ppl wanna beetch about it and want to play could be more than 8 but just have prelims or have it over a 2 day scene or something (sat/sun)

imo we should be having dota tournaments/leagues more often than we currently are. 1 tourney a year kinda boring..every 2 months or something is d flick..

bill..i realise that you like to talk bout eX real plenty..have dreams of joining or wuh? might wanna not lose to sip first :P

09-29-2007, 09:45 PM
bwtmc.............just so box lashing out O_O

Mr Shooter
10-05-2007, 07:12 PM
Ah hadda agree wit Boxy, we need more competitive Dota events tru out de year to help increase de level of game play and allow gamers as myself to escape from the plain old game dat we see in cafes or opn the server at times.
I fully support any decisions dat Tg staff may come to but Boxy's suggestion can take some looking at (if allya aint done studying it already), anyways meh team not gettin in Dotamania cuz we abit to inexperienced but dats why we can use any other Dota event to train and practice for, as this is de only thing dat I seeing giving meh bois dem motivation to play serious Dota.

MY 2 cents ( make dat 5 cents i type plenty) ......... :)

Salt
10-23-2007, 01:12 PM
Thing may not be so bad with people getting upgraded to blink. Lets hope TSTT actually does some good for once else we'll hadda wait on TnTec's internet through powerlines to come through.

10-23-2007, 01:33 PM
Thing may not be so bad with people getting upgraded to blink. Lets hope TSTT actually does some good for once else we'll hadda wait on TnTec's internet through powerlines to come through.

that is what doing on company time?