View Full Version : Arena Report.
I now reach home rnh still there...F arena
After all this talk about how..Disappointing arena was i would just like to put forward the kind of crap that took place there.
DAY 1::
EDUCATIONAL FORUM (Invited school students will be tutored in the field of Computer Literacy, Video Editing, Graphic Design and Animation).
TRADE EXPO
GAME EXHIBITION
I went there around 2 o'clock.When i reach they were still setting up outside, no problem with that, inside there was noting going on just some games where already up people that came to register stayed and played free tekken,naruto,fifa,DDR,and Wii sports.I saw there where two sets of Computer stations there i talked to someone in charge who told me about it they said one was for COD and was for Dota but i called one of the guys in charge who told me there was 16 dota teams so no way one station cause last.
They then told me well cafe where pitching in there Pcs to help with the event like Sip and Surf ,Net surfs etc.i asked what about java they said no.
I asked what about rules they said THEY HAD NON. i said ok we had a tournament i will send u the rules we used and u can use the map we used they said yes send the rules but we will use this map on the site because toro said it was stable.and when i asked about the number of sides they said it had about 10 or 9.when the guy made it such a big thing about registering so soon because the tournament will full up so fast yet it still never filled up even on the day.
DAY 2::
GAME COMPETITION SEMIFINALS (Tekken 5, Fifa 07, Street Fighter, Halo 2, Call Of Duty (United Offense), Warcraft 3 DOTA
TRADE EXPO
GAME EXHIBITION
EXOTIC CAR &BIKE SHOW
EXTREME BMX &SKATEBOARD EXHIBITION
ANIME THEATRE
RC COMPETITION
KIDS ZONES (Bouncy Castles, Face Painting, Balloon Animals, etc.)
Note what u see very well there u see 'GAME COMPETITION SEMIFINALS'. The tournament started on that in the first place only reason i went there on friday was because some guy i called told me it was having a Preliminary on that day.When i arrived it was having NOTING.In the warcraft section I asked
Where the other computers you said it was having they just shook there head 9 or ten sides to play one at a time in a game that takes an hour plus BE REAL?
The trade expo i think was some...one of the sponsors wanted a place to advertise i am not sure.The exotic car show was a green civic with fancy paint with b mobile banners on it.the skateboarding was cool in a way i was not impressed cause i remember in UWI had better obstacles so even that sucked.Oh the Extreme BMX was topper riding a bike.
No anime theater was there..so anime fans go home.RC compitition to me was some kids with remote controls cars.
I went to go on the bounce castle etc they told me no only for kids ok i can understand that.
The actual day was a flop just before the dota was about to start they past around our rules and then randomly put us to play this was @ 10 o'clock or something we lost and where told it was best out of 3 so later we would play that team again i was fasting and the place was so hot no fans no AC noting imagine i felt as if i would of fainted.At about 12 o'clock they told us There will be two brackets losers and winers the team that tops both groups will be in the final i said ok better for us.the time just crawled no food no water i went in the back to get something to break my fast.Sold out and the ppl rudely told me noting selling now plz just move from here..back inside 8 o'clock now YES FROM 10 TO 8 IN THE NIGHT WE HAD NO GAME.We played about 10 mins into the game they told us stop tornament finish,From this point i think Falut or MG should comment on it cause i was so turned off and disgusted i said u know what while they arguing fellaz lets play some dota, maybe it would not have took so long to play..cause every game they save the progress but when u save the progress players drop which needs a remake..sighs more time wasted.Then from 8 o'clock to 10 nearly 11 big argument
about what happening topper said if allyuh want allyuh money back i want my phone card.So MG told him about his poor organization and what he could have done to prevent it.He asked MG u payed to enter my tournament Mg said yes he said ok and turned his back After all that we found out about what had been stolen we felt no remorse cause it happen only because of Toppers poor organization.After hearing his voice i found out the fool feeding me all this crap about preliminary and registering finish was topper him self big shock.Leaving there about 12 o clock in the night lucky for us Eddie Hart Savannah has alot of lights.
Oh and during our game we where tired hungry thirst they brought drinks..AS in really hot water..sold to us for $5 we said how can they sell us this topper said " they eh bound to buy it"
Or and another thing in the corner they had laptops showing music videos NO ONE EVEN USE THAT CRAP WASTE OF TIME
09-16-2007, 01:32 AM
just got in (went to lime after),will post pics after i make another spin tomorrow. event wasnt bad,was much better than last yr but still a slight lack of organisation
09-16-2007, 04:25 AM
rel drama
rel tired
somebody go expalain
i gone to sleep
this is blasphemy!!!
this is madness!!!
topperz - this is arena! *kick to nuts*
From what I heard, after I left there was an altercation between Toppers and some players over.. umm.. leg room? He threatened to sink the tourney. Maybe someone who was there could explain it?
09-16-2007, 10:05 AM
you will have to wait on MG,slider or fault or any of those to post an explanation as to what happened,because as far as i am concerned,last night was just the breaking point for everyone in the DotA tournament.
After standing/sitting down in an oven (the indoor stadium area) ,impatiently waiting to play a game every 2-3 hours,with only LLB and water to quench my thirst, forced to go and down on the main road to get FOOD since the men running the cafeteria ALWAYS running out of food, just to hear that some official wants to scrap the DotA tournament for some bloody leg room? first and last arena for me yes....
Hmm....
I had learned my lesson from the last Arena...I was just waiting to hear how it came out, cuz as far as I'm concerned, Toppers and crew don't know how to organise these types of events effectively, as seen from the last event.
I was hoping that the event would have been done better this time around, but after hearing some things from different people, I can say I'm glad that I'm not attending this one.
I get so piss off..we play first game @ 11.. in the morning then so many hrs after when they stop it..when it was our 2nd game @ 8 in the night..they call some meeting with captains and shit i say forget this shit yes
'FELLAZ LET WE RUN A SWEAT' and me and some random 9 men play
then they run us into the stands and big talk start up but..i think MG should say what happened.
the funny thing was all that organizational in the dota happened cause of some mastermind who chain up ppl head and then in the heat of all the drama theif all kinda madness the event was just PURE shit.
topper act like one baby back bitch yesterday that was souring all of us sitting there w8ing his mighty speech about what going to happen to the torny @ 10 in the night he say no one else does this for allyuh watch this place allyuh does see this anywhere etc then when like mg start on him about how unorganized it was he totally brace men :o it was totally disgusting to see how he was moven like if he all high and mighty.
i going fricking digicel steups
And guess what Bill? I had to deal with him with trying to organise a competition at the last Arena, and it was the same type of attitude that he displayed....
Topper just have links to organise the sponsorship...if I had 1/10 of his sponsorship for hosting my little tourneys, I would already have been able to send ppl to the US/South America for higher competitions....but he's one to study $$$ first...
Jed i say we try a thing and pull in some hard sponsors :o and show them men how to organize cause lets be really honest fellaz these lil once a year dota tornaments not doing a thing...
bmobile give toppers two chances to pull this off...and he mess up twice... we need to show them how we does run a tourney without all them commess and stuff...
esp since i hear things dissapearing again...
09-16-2007, 11:11 AM
i fed up say give me the monies and i go handle allyuh good, my track record is clean and shiny :D
project management ftw
Well if we ever need to organise something, let me know, I always willing to help however I can.
lol @ project management ftw! :P
09-16-2007, 11:15 AM
everyone email tstt now subject heading
"give Geese/rb the monies nowzzzz!!!"
everyone email tstt now subject heading
"give Geese/rb the monies nowzzzz!!!"
LMAO!!!
But seriously, I tired of seeing ppl like Toppers trying to handle these events, and totally ****ing it up royally!!!
Although, what things disappear again u hear so far?
What ever allyuh doing...i behind u all :o 100%
cause lol allyuh know is scar rules they use right tekno had ask me to send it to her if i did not send it..we mighta start like 1 o clock not like it would of mattered -_-
After all this talk about how..Disappointing arena was i would just like to put forward the kind of crap that took place there.
DAY 1::
EDUCATIONAL FORUM (Invited school students will be tutored in the field of Computer Literacy, Video Editing, Graphic Design and Animation).
TRADE EXPO
GAME EXHIBITION
I went there around 2 o'clock.When i reach they were still setting up outside, no problem with that, inside there was noting going on just some games where already up people that came to register stayed and played free tekken,naruto,fifa,DDR,and Wii sports.I saw there where two sets of Computer stations there i talked to someone in charge who told me about it they said one was for COD and was for Dota but i called one of the guys in charge who told me there was 16 dota teams so no way one station cause last.
They then told me well cafe where pitching in there Pcs to help with the event like Sip and Surf ,Net surfs etc.i asked what about java they said no.
I asked what about rules they said THEY HAD NON. i said ok we had a tournament i will send u the rules we used and u can use the map we used they said yes send the rules but we will use this map on the site because toro said it was stable.and when i asked about the number of sides they said it had about 10 or 9.when the guy made it such a big thing about registering so soon because the tournament will full up so fast yet it still never filled up even on the day.
DAY 2::
GAME COMPETITION SEMIFINALS (Tekken 5, Fifa 07, Street Fighter, Halo 2, Call Of Duty (United Offense), Warcraft 3 DOTA
TRADE EXPO
GAME EXHIBITION
EXOTIC CAR &BIKE SHOW
EXTREME BMX &SKATEBOARD EXHIBITION
ANIME THEATRE
RC COMPETITION
KIDS ZONES (Bouncy Castles, Face Painting, Balloon Animals, etc.)
Note what u see very well there u see 'GAME COMPETITION SEMIFINALS'. The tournament started on that in the first place only reason i went there on friday was because some guy i called told me it was having a Preliminary on that day.When i arrived it was having NOTING.In the warcraft section I asked
Where the other computers you said it was having they just shook there head 9 or ten sides to play one at a time in a game that takes an hour plus BE REAL?
The trade expo i think was some...one of the sponsors wanted a place to advertise i am not sure.The exotic car show was a green civic with fancy paint with b mobile banners on it.the skateboarding was cool in a way i was not impressed cause i remember in UWI had better obstacles so even that sucked.Oh the Extreme BMX was topper riding a bike.
No anime theater was there..so anime fans go home.RC compitition to me was some kids with remote controls cars.
I went to go on the bounce castle etc they told me no only for kids ok i can understand that.
The actual day was a flop just before the dota was about to start they past around our rules and then randomly put us to play this was @ 10 o'clock or something we lost and where told it was best out of 3 so later we would play that team again i was fasting and the place was so hot no fans no AC noting imagine i felt as if i would of fainted.At about 12 o'clock they told us There will be two brackets losers and winers the team that tops both groups will be in the final i said ok better for us.the time just crawled no food no water i went in the back to get something to break my fast.Sold out and the ppl rudely told me noting selling now plz just move from here..back inside 8 o'clock now YES FROM 10 TO 8 IN THE NIGHT WE HAD NO GAME.We played about 10 mins into the game they told us stop tornament finish,From this point i think Falut or MG should comment on it cause i was so turned off and disgusted i said u know what while they arguing fellaz lets play some dota, maybe it would not have took so long to play..cause every game they save the progress but when u save the progress players drop which needs a remake..sighs more time wasted.Then from 8 o'clock to 10 nearly 11 big argument
about what happening topper said if allyuh want allyuh money back i want my phone card.So MG told him about his poor organization and what he could have done to prevent it.He asked MG u payed to enter my tournament Mg said yes he said ok and turned his back After all that we found out about what had been stolen we felt no remorse cause it happen only because of Toppers poor organization.After hearing his voice i found out the fool feeding me all this crap about preliminary and registering finish was topper him self big shock.Leaving there about 12 o clock in the night lucky for us Eddie Hart Savannah has alot of lights.
Oh and during our game we where tired hungry thirst they brought drinks..AS in really hot water..sold to us for $5 we said how can they sell us this topper said " they eh bound to buy it"
Or and another thing in the corner they had laptops showing music videos NO ONE EVEN USE THAT CRAP WASTE OF TIME
Going to use this thread, for other members who attended to post up their views and such of the event.
Then some random gaylord will come and say " I CAN HOST A BETTER TOURNEY" Then another gaylord will post after him and say " No you Cant it Requires dedication blah blah blah < insert random gay text > "
I am that gaylord that says i Actually think I COULD DO BETTER my water go be cheaper and everything
09-16-2007, 04:43 PM
Just came from there...disappointed as usual. COD tourney finals are rescheduled to 6pm so that they can show the game on projectors :s. Then they started bitching about spectators being on the court and they should all relocate to the pavilion (yea,strain ur eyes to see a game). Conclusion: Better than last year but still lots of room for improvement,I'll post pics in a while (have about 100 pics to edit :()
09-16-2007, 07:43 PM
i have exactly $ 60 dollars to my name at the moment
AND I CAN HOLD A BETTER TOURNY LOL.
This is why I was kinda disappointed when Genesis decided against a videogame tourney (separate) companion to anime city.
We were supposed to start small to gauge and test, and then work up to big leagues over multiple events. Woulda been a thing of beauty.
But without any sort of tangible unity in the gaming community (not to mention vocal leadership), I don't think that we as gamers are going to be able to exploit the opportunities that are currently available to us.
For one thing, it would have been great if we could present ourselves as a community to Flow or TSTT to get some sort of special package or service dedicated to online gaming. I think there are enough of us here, with enough money to entice any corporation.
I know they tried a videogame part in the Anime City they held in Lions Center in Town. Scorp was running it and had me to come help out, representing TG. It was pretty fun esp the Guilty Gear tourney... (in which fenrir thought it was funny to beat me up in a corner -.-)
09-17-2007, 12:27 PM
jesus lawd at bill typing :S
09-17-2007, 12:33 PM
for an Arena report it is absolutely ridiculous that no posts have been made as yet with regards to who won what.
Errr the guy who allways win tekken (cant remember his name) get beat from south man (i not sure)
in the dota Shini's minions beat GASU in the finals
And the Java boys win the COD :o that all i know lol
09-17-2007, 12:51 PM
The console war winners won their games respectively
Sheppard - T5
Roger - Smash
Java - COD
Shen's Minions - DOTA
Incubus
09-17-2007, 01:29 PM
dota tourny was so much crap..they changed the rules mid-tourny from best outa 3 to a 1 game knock out....then changed it back at 11o clock in the night.everyone was tired an stressed... heard the call of duty rules were changed mid tourny as well. java tourny was much better organized than this....still dunno who won the dota?
oh and btw i reached there half 8 in the morning from SOUTH and left there 12 o clock that night. I played my first game at 2 o clock in the evening and my 2nd game at quarter to 10 that night.....
09-17-2007, 07:00 PM
SM won the dota...
SM being Shini's Minions and not Shen this time lol
*waits for his turn*
and yea it was poorly organized and i;m not good at explaining things so i let someone else do it for me :p
Ihsan
09-17-2007, 07:05 PM
I would have preferred not reserve comment on ARENA 2007 being an official (Call of duty and Halo 2) but i feel I must shed some light on what occurred on Saturday.
Call of Duty was supposed to be finished by 2:00pm to free up the 10 extra machines for the DOTA matches. Due to a complete lack of support from Sip-and-Surf who supplied the machines, Cod was unable to START by 2:00pm. We were not supplied PASSWORDS in a timely manner to access the systems, we had to perform Warcraft installations for DOTA matches and 3 of the machines simply had to be replaced completely.
This time crunch caused the cancellation of the best-of-three DOTA matchups and instead an elimination system was NECESSARY. This was not communicated effectively to the competitors so VALID COMPLAINTS were made by the competitors.
Despite all the confusion which the readers of this post probably know more about than me, the competition did end with a win by SM who HAPPILY accepted their prizes.
I will not post my personal opinion on the matter but I did make a personal request to officiate DOTA next year.
P.S. The CoD rules were NOT changed mid tourney, the only complaint we had was about one team who WRONGLY believed that ANOTHER team was allowed 2 matches against ANOTHER "noob side".
Nuff said.
09-17-2007, 08:25 PM
Well here is my 2 cents judging from what I heard and what I saw myself.
1. The Arena Staff have no idea how to set up rules and run a tournament properly. I'll use Tekken as an example , what bullshat rules was being used there ? Seriously ? No one understood it, including myself and several players who SHOULD have placed better. I guess the best player did win (Sheppard) and congrats to him on his strong showing yet again.
I've said it before and I'll say it again, Non gamers should not run tournaments on ANY level without understanding what lies ahead of them. Toppers couldn't even say what version of Warcraft was to be played when asked. If I were asked by bmobile to give Arena a grade they'd fail in that department with flying colors.
I find it amazing how they ended up using TG's league rules (which shouldn't really be used in a tournament setting anyway IMO)
2. Do not promise what you know you cannot or will not deliver. Car Show ? 1 car... Skate Exhibition ? Wow....Bikes!?....Wow again. Arcade Machine placement sucked. Where was the hummer ? Even if no one entered all tournaments, after Movietowne and UWI it wasn't even at the event.
I hadda go but I will update this post as time goes on. I wanted to post a lil bit on Mr. Toppers attitude but I'll leave that out.
It wasn't all crappy, I had some fun, but only because I saw many familiar faces around and they mostly agreed ARENA FAILED.
Who say next time Kaizen playing Dance Dance Revolution!
I would have preferred not reserve comment on ARENA 2007 being an official (Call of duty and Halo 2) but i feel I must shed some light on what occurred on Saturday.
Call of Duty was supposed to be finished by 2:00pm to free up the 10 extra machines for the DOTA matches. Due to a complete lack of support from Sip-and-Surf who supplied the machines, Cod was unable to START by 2:00pm. We were not supplied PASSWORDS in a timely manner to access the systems, we had to perform Warcraft installations for DOTA matches and 3 of the machines simply had to be replaced completely.
This time crunch caused the cancellation of the best-of-three DOTA matchups and instead an elimination system was NECESSARY. This was not communicated effectively to the competitors so VALID COMPLAINTS were made by the competitors.
Despite all the confusion which the readers of this post probably know more about than me, the competition did end with a win by SM who HAPPILY accepted their prizes.
I will not post my personal opinion on the matter but I did make a personal request to officiate DOTA next year.
P.S. The CoD rules were NOT changed mid tourney, the only complaint we had was about one team who WRONGLY believed that ANOTHER team was allowed 2 matches against ANOTHER "noob side".
Nuff said.
How about you organise with TG staff to handle the tournaments for you all, we got the experience and are well versed in the rules and we know a thing or two about keeping the order...
Ihsan
09-17-2007, 09:34 PM
How about you organise with TG staff to handle the tournaments for you all, we got the experience and are well versed in the rules and we know a thing or two about keeping the order...
1 MONTH ago I suggested that we request an official from TG (Scar or Paradoxx off the top of my head) to set the Arena dota rules and help officiate but topper wasn't taking advice from me at the time (we had only just met). Lots of "little" things like that were lost in the clutter.
P.S. That missing HUMMER and car show is a story by itself. Lets just say Toppers considering LEGAL OPTIONS against the owner of Maska motors who suddenly jumped on a plane to Miami on friday. The hummer is, of course, missing. Imagine having to explain that to bmobile (they also stole his wii so toppers was in a bad mood before the Dota incident started).
1 MONTH ago I suggested that we request an official from TG (Scar or Paradoxx off the top of my head) to set the Arena dota rules and help officiate but topper wasn't taking advice from me at the time.
we have people who can officiate all the games that where present for Arena.
@ ishan the rules used where TG's league rules a copy was sent via email to one of the dota ppl and was used.
09-17-2007, 09:58 PM
Time issues always arise but damn, the times I was hearing between games was ridiculous I hadda say.
Ihsan
09-17-2007, 10:12 PM
@ ishan the rules used where TG's league rules a copy was sent via email to one of the dota ppl and was used.
I heard about that but I walked with a copy myself, 6.48b, trailers, and CoD patches. TG rules were there since friday.
I suggested TG rules because I like them. I think mass hex sticks and mass meks ruin dota but that's my personal opinion.
Friday night to be exact, after the whole day passed without any games being played.
Well for my part it was a real disappointment. Considering this is the 2nd Arena tourney you would have thought they would have learned something by now. The entire setting was abysmal in that hot, humid indoor facility. Officials..well at least for the DotA didn't seem to know their arse from their elbow. Rules were changed so many times it wasn't even funny. For the DotA they first told us 3 games, same team, 1 and half hr each. Wins are 10, draws are 5 points, loss is 0 points. I'm on team GASU btw, and right before our game against RnH, one of the guys who was officiating told us that the winner of this moves on. So I was like "But we still have the third game in case we lose". He tells me no that the only way you get a third game was if you draw with a side. This made no sense to me so I asked again to make sure. He said the same. We made it clear that this was not what was said earlier but he said that was how it is.
Our game with RnH ended up being a draw since the time ran out. This should have meant 5 points each, however some smart officials decided to use the disconnection rules, where you would count towers, barracks and kills and award points to see who would win. Then they said it was simply a draw and we would have to play RnH again. Confusion yet again because we couldn't understand why we would have to play RnH again. RnH and Gasu would have been on 15 points and we would have definitely been part of the final 5 to go through. When we left that Saturday evening we had our game with RnH Sunday morning. Later I got a call from one of the members from Sys Lab Gamers saying that it was mass confusion in Arena. The Toppers guys like he wanted to fight people, apparently an X-box 360 and a Wii got stolen, police was up in the dance and all sorts of drama. In the end of it all apparently they allowed everyone their 3rd game. Gasu ended up playing Sys Lab Gamers on Sunday and apparently the other teams played their 3rd game the Saturday night.
We played Sweat Box to go through to the finals where we met up with SM(not quite sure who's minions this time..lol) who had defeated RnH in a great comeback victory. SM defeated GASU with ease as the hero choices we made could do nothing against their selection, especially when they came together. Their teamwork was superb nonetheless and they deserved the win and the prizes. Congrats to SM for showing continuing their dominance after the online league! Well done to my fellow GASU players as well considering we played together with that team for the first time in Arena.
09-18-2007, 10:51 AM
sounds no different to arena 1....the amount of stuff that was stolen from there eh...
09-18-2007, 10:55 AM
salt eh know bout paragrahs and spaces? steups.
ent@ no different. das prob d MAIN reason I was not interested in it. Correct @ stuff got stolen. PS2 and thing. man loss ram and thing.. cough :o
AHEM:rolleyes: they need better management!!
09-18-2007, 04:39 PM
TG did well in the PC events, good stuff.
09-18-2007, 05:44 PM
Dota was there but not CS? heh
09-18-2007, 06:11 PM
Soldier, Salt used paragraphs, he just did not indent them, and there were spaces as well... in fact his punctuation in that post is better than most of what is posted on the forums.
09-19-2007, 09:12 AM
Spaces between paragraphs would have made it easier to read. It looks jumbled and uninviting at the moment.
09-20-2007, 11:31 AM
Just had a talk with topper,Bmobile claims that we will get the prize money/phones on wednesday now.....i dont know about you guys but im a little sour...
09-20-2007, 01:02 PM
good luck with that lol!
flashback to last arena where the halo winners still havent got their money or sponsorship in an overseas tournament
09-20-2007, 01:18 PM
and the cod game is yet to be played ^
don't forget d dota.
Err Sm eh get paid yet hard luck
Menace
09-24-2007, 02:49 PM
Since last year they said they were having counter-strike. Topper, amin from wcg caribbean, they are all the same, looking for what they can get and never taking the time to even do the event rite. I knew arena 2 would have been a waist. sad sad trini's . Have hope guys the ex-owner of The Nintendo Outlet and GameBoyz retail stores will do an event to make you proud.