View Full Version : Arena 2007 this weekend.

Ihsan
09-12-2007, 11:11 PM
The Arena 2007 3 day gamefest is on this weekend (friday - sunday).
Although it is not just a game tournament, with a grand prize of a H2 hummer Arena is easily the biggest electronic gaming event int T&T history.
bmobile has has put a truly unprecedented amount of sponsorship into Arena and seems committed to its success.
Could this the beginning of corporate support of electronic gaming events, in the same way corporate sponsors currently support sporting events?

http://www.arenatt.com

Hummer photos:
http://www.arenatt.com/cms/modules/wiwimod/index.php?page=Movie+Towne+photo+gallery&back=homepage

Bmobile promo thingy at UWI:
http://www.arenatt.com/cms/modules/wiwimod/index.php?page=UWI+photo+gallery&back=homepage

09-13-2007, 09:57 AM
whats the spectators fee ?

09-15-2007, 10:39 AM
anybody going? i'll head up with my camera

09-15-2007, 02:32 PM
Heard it's $50 to get in. Lots of peeps up there.

They seem to be following TriniGamers league rules for the dota competition.

09-15-2007, 11:15 PM
Any word on how this event is going so far???

09-16-2007, 11:49 AM
Unfortunately Bmobile closed off all major sponsorships for the year with Arena, they ent gonna dish out any major amounts of money till carnival parties start around new years.
And doubley unfortunate is the fact that if Arena is a total buss, getting sponsorship for future events will be even more difficult... not impossible though

09-16-2007, 01:03 PM
We need to start doing proper reports/summaries of our tournaments.

# of teams/players, times between matches, food availability, do a survey after the tourney for people to say how good/bad/ugly it was.

It'll help us 'pitch' ideas in the future.

Anyone want to talk to digicel?

09-16-2007, 02:47 PM
Sorry I could not be there, I was not feeling well due to the fasting.

everyone email tstt now subject heading

"give Geese/rb the monies nowzzzz!!!"See Geese say forget TG and join GoG (gamers of geese) lol.
It is true, TG could pull off a better event given the resources. TG has the most experience with regards to PC/Console/Anime events.

exterminatus
09-16-2007, 04:43 PM
tg had a anime event ?

09-16-2007, 07:08 PM
You all trashing Topper but.. From what I've seen, and from what I've experienced, our TG tournaments don't seem to come off perfectly either. Sure, it's easy to sit behind your monitor and say "We can do better". It's easier said than done people. Much more than money is needed.

Proper Management is the most important thing!

09-16-2007, 07:24 PM
Hoss. TG tournaments are MUCH better organised than the disaster that is arena. I'm not surprised@your comments since u werent there to witness the kinda nonsense that took place. E.g why is a COD2 match that was scheduled for 'promptly' 9am starting at 6pm? hmm?

09-16-2007, 07:39 PM
whenever I see topper i get disappointed for one reason or another:mad:. I had expect bullsh*t like this which is y saved my money and went to work:D. They do not know the game known as Defence of the ancients. They therefore cannot referee any such event. I got screwed last time after they held some small cafe versus cafes and it had no rules . wat kind of dota games have no rules anyway. fellas how about wE SAY SCREW ARENA AND and just hold more tournies of our own probably sponsored by trinigamers. People get screwed last time , this time and undoubtably the next time if it has another one(Oh god I hope not).Yet ppl will go next year and spend there money and get screwed and come back and complain about . I only heard what happened and i am upset .Fellas ok i got carried away how about we keep the tournies and the MONEY$$$ in the trinigamers community and keep each other rich :D and shun arena next time.. dat is talk yes u guys know u will go :(.

09-16-2007, 08:10 PM
And why don't you think I was there? Because I learned from my mistakes with Arena. I was not putting TG on the same level as Arena in terms of organisation. Yes, the tournaments come off better but they don't come off as they should; which is what everyone here is saying about "showing them how to throw a tournament.. etc"

Last Arena.. We even got to play dota? No electricity??

09-17-2007, 12:18 AM
well no tourney is ever pulled off to perfection... even @ the very top... but @ the very least you must be able to walk away from the tourney feeling a little bit satisfied... not everybody frustrated etc....

09-17-2007, 04:48 AM
This is why I was kinda disappointed when Genesis decided against a videogame tourney (separate) companion to anime city.

We were supposed to start small to gauge and test, and then work up to big leagues over multiple events. Woulda been a thing of beauty.

But without any sort of tangible unity in the gaming community (not to mention vocal leadership), I don't think that we as gamers are going to be able to exploit the opportunities that are currently available to us.

For one thing, it would have been great if we could present ourselves as a community to Flow or TSTT to get some sort of special package or service dedicated to online gaming. I think there are enough of us here, with enough money to entice any corporation.