View Full Version : Quakecon??? Quakewars???

The Real Pacman
09-07-2007, 01:25 AM
Welcome all gamers and members.. Most of you dont know me at all so let me introduce myself. Name is Ronnie Jones and I am a visionary for gaming in this country.
How many of you have dreamed of going to quakecon???
well what if quakecon came to you

I have an idea for a massive lan party in south trinidad.
I most definately have the money and i believe something like this can really push gaming in Trinidad to the next level

think the coliseum.... full of gamers from across the country.
You bring your own pc of course
Cash prizes for the teams

and quake doesnt have to be the only game played.... DOTA and UT2k7 etc are welcomed

Well ppl its up to you.. Your feedback on this will be greatly appreciated
I have already run this idea past gamers such as kaizen and it seems to be a good 1.
THANKS ALOT
GOD BLESS

09-07-2007, 08:45 AM
Mad scene... lol

Great idea though. Concept --> Reality is the hardest part. One obvious 'delay'; Vista, and XP. Though you can network the two, when you have as much gamers present as you propose.....

09-07-2007, 09:03 AM
its a great idea but its hard to pu together

i mean where will be this great hall for gamers to meet an sweat it out?

i dont mind helpin out in the vision of yours but porper organization an alot of help is need

you know what its is to control an watch over some 20 odd hard back man

i remember first time pass through the 3v3 dota in java...it was a good lime but ah mean loki had his share of problem i sure

09-07-2007, 09:09 AM
think the coliseum....

Thats an area in South, Dre. Can more than hold enough gamers.

But alot of other factors are involved, example: Security and the overall organisation of the event needs to be 'top notch'. Don't want someone to steal your machine now do you?? Worst case scenario, it can turn out like Arena a couple of years ago. Those who were there know what I'm talking about. TOTALLY unorganised. Playstation 2's and other items ( RAM, cough .. cough >_> ) were stolen..

This is a serious project and will require some serious planning. A dedicated team is a must have!

Nike
09-07-2007, 01:09 PM
really not a bad idea but you gotta remember that its Trinidad ;)
if it pulls tru u need to rent a police guy with a gun or 2 and have Really Bright Lights so that way everyone is looking means less chances to ninja ram and ppl that attend need to bring ducktape so that the PC goes where they go :D

09-07-2007, 02:16 PM
Nice idea, however, that's all you have.. an idea.

Quake really does not have the mass following it once had to use for this event, so it's good that it won't be the only thing played.
Would you really expect gamers from around the country to come to South with their Pcs for this event?
And since this seems like it would be your first event, why such a large scale?

You should probably speak with Scar or RB as well.

09-07-2007, 03:02 PM
i dont know the history of some off the events that has been organized

but i know that anything like this would be the biggest thus far

an i like the point soldier made....what about security for what you bring...let hope ah man dont watch your mouse an want to take it when you make a trip to the washroom

The Real Pacman
09-07-2007, 09:52 PM
Yes ppl i know that its my 1st event and that i may be going to big
but thats just the way i am i like to go all out
1st issue... venue- I can arrange to get the coliseum for free... its an old club that has a capacity of 5000 so i could more than fit 500 pc's in there
2nd issue.. Security... I have never been to any of the past events so i honestly have no idea what to expect.. judging by the replies i can see that alot of security is needed.. that also be arranged very easily
3rd issue..... Food and drink................ i have no idea wat to do for this 1 so i would need your help..
4th issue.... people from north..... this tournament would be the largest gaming tournament ever held in trinidad.. Am i to believe that you arent going to show up bcuz its "to far" ???
tables, chairs, lan cables.. all that is small thing
my biggest concern is people showing up and keeping everthing in order.....

whoever i have to talk to to get this idea of mine turned into a reality i would like to tlk to him/her bcuz money is not a problem for me and its not a fund raising event.. its just something i have always wanted to do and i would like to share that dream with the rest of you.... :D

The Real Pacman
09-07-2007, 09:57 PM
a simple way to make sure nothing is stolen is to tag and inspect every pc on entry and exit.....
not every and everyone would be able to just stroll in the arena....
police presence can be obtained easily as this would be a big event i would need to go to them anyway and report it

09-07-2007, 10:08 PM
I ent saying they won't come (i am from central and i went to sweats in north, east, south and right here in central) but i am saying they need a reason to come, whether it be the games being played or the prizes being offered.
And just out of curiosity: What's the largest group of BYOC peeps anyone ever saw here in Trinidad?

09-07-2007, 10:09 PM
If you start big and plan wrong you will fail miserably. Vision is good but vision usually neglects reality. This is why events like Arena fail on a grand scale.

To throw an event depending on people to bring their pcs is pretty far fetched right now, especially since most people with high end pcs will not carry em around. People like toppers paying cafes to use their pcs, cafes like SNS and them places with sub standard pc gaming machines.

What games would you have ? No Dota right ? Theres goes attendance , the only way you can expect to throw a massive lan party ala quakecon and have it succeed is to slowly build up by doing smaller scale events to heighten awareness of what you doing.

The Real Pacman
09-07-2007, 10:27 PM
what i would like from all of you is to give me your ideas on what i should do
i have the funds and the power to do practically anything i want i just need alot of support from the gaming community

my worst fear is failure...bcuz if i set out to do something thats not only for me but for everyone i would like you all to take advantage of the situation and lend support...

the venue is there sitting and waiting
my ideas are here waiting for a spark and then i can prepare for the best or the worst

and to geese... dota is obviously a game that will be played as well...
This tournament can be stretched and twisted to become anything
you want counterstrike it will be there
starcraft etc... it is limitless

what i would like are for the people in the gaming community who actually could pull strings and get people organised..to speak to me

can anyone organise a poll for me so i could get an estimate on people who would like to see this tournament materialise???

The Real Pacman
09-07-2007, 10:30 PM
if i am coming across as to pushy or nething yall needs to tell me ok
i am not afraid to face facts

09-07-2007, 11:10 PM
and to geese... dota is obviously a game that will be played as well...

Dota is neither a game, nor expansion.. It's a map..

MG
09-08-2007, 12:34 AM
thank you for that enlightening comment soldier. now that you have cleared that very serious misconception, i'm sure we can get back to the topic on hand....

slider
09-21-2007, 02:57 AM
i rel want 2 c something like this pull off, i can promise available sweatbox resources.

call me at 684.6664 (slider) and let's make this happen.