View Full Version : Uwi
09-05-2007, 01:43 PM
Just wondering... What's the selection criteria for acceptance into UWI? Because, for example, I had two friends who applied to Civil Engineering. One was packing straight one's and two's while the other was backed by four's and seven's. No.. It's not a typo. I said seven.
How on God's green earth is it possible for the latter to get accepted while there are others with one's and two's ( I know other men with better grades who did not get in as well ) who were rejected. It was not until my friend with his one's and two's personally went up into UWI and began to quarrel.. alot!
He was told that "he should have gotten in but they don't know what happened." I guess he quarreled enough ( some days ) because he eventually got in. The same situation is recurring with other friends with different courses. They did not get in while others with lower grades are being accepted.
Selection criteria?? What made my friend with four's and seven's get into UWI while the other with one's and two's had to argue his way in?? They both represented the college they came from in football.
09-05-2007, 01:52 PM
I'm unfamilair with Cape, are 4' and 7's considered passes?
09-05-2007, 01:56 PM
Up to a five is a pass.
with the advent of free tertiary education, uwi has been packed with more than their usual quota of retards. kinda lowers their reputation a bit i guess, though fortunately i don't believe their examining standards have dropped too much as yet. ofcourse when 80% of a class protests against a lecturer for grading too harsh..standards do begin to drop. :(
as for their selection process. if u have family in there, u should be safe. otherwise, i have not ever recognised any logic behind selecting which students go where based on what. :confused:
09-05-2007, 03:14 PM
uwi is full of bobol... simple as that... i see all kinda things goin on there... "with regards to students and employees"...
so dont try to hurt ur head figurin out why men didnt get accepted... u never will... to many factors
09-05-2007, 05:04 PM
Soldier its pretty simple you numb nuts,
Connections, connections and last but not least..... connections
I had a partner who had a U (fail) in A'level Chemistry and crap in physics and maths..... he still ended up getting in cause his pops pull some "strings" for him.
Its lame how the system has favour to them kinda people, but what can you do?
09-05-2007, 05:13 PM
I concur with MG.
09-05-2007, 06:28 PM
with the advent of free tertiary education, uwi has been packed with more than their usual quota of retards. kinda lowers their reputation a bit i guess, though fortunately i don't believe their examining standards have dropped too much as yet. ofcourse when 80% of a class protests against a lecturer for grading too harsh..standards do begin to drop. :(
as for their selection process. if u have family in there, u should be safe. otherwise, i have not ever recognised any logic behind selecting which students go where based on what. :confused:
The standard has already been lowered, especially the marking in certain faculties.
As for selection critiera, let me give you an example solider.
You apply to 2 faculties, first choice and 2nd choice (I think is really 4 diff majors u can apply for, 1st choice etc, but lets for the sake of argument use 2).
Your freind with the 1's and 2's , puts Medicine first, and Engineering faculty 2nd.
The one with the 5's, puts Engineering first, and nat sci 2nd.
The chances of the guy wtih the 5's getting in , his higher than that of the first person.
Priority is given to students, who have the req grades for their FIRST CHOICE faculty. Those who listed it as their 2nd choice, get a shaft.
I know many cases of this, and it's in the application thing somewhere for you to read.
I know guys with AAAB, being rejected from medicine in my year, and also from Vet (their 2nd choice major).
Others, with ACCC, got accepted into Vet over them, because it was listed as their first choice.
Children of employees get preference in admission, if you didn't know, and free education(back in the day).
I really don't see how someone with a 7 got in, but that one was probably contacts.
At any rate, you can challenge it, lawyers etc.
There are alot of things that people don't know, and then get their panties in a bunch when it doesn't go there way.
Common entrace was the same thing.
If you listed Hillview, Presentation,Naparima and toco composite as your choices, once you didn't make the grade for hillview, you get your 4th choice.
Each faculty works different, it's wise to consult the registrar, or go into the main campus before you apply.
Another problem, is when students apply for 4 first choice faculties, and quarrel when they get brace.
eg:
1st Choice Facluty- Fac of medical sceinces
Medicine
Dentistry
2nd choice faculty--Engineering
Elec?
mech
Many things wrong with that.
1) grades for dentistry are higher than medicine, if you dont; get into the first, you damnsure not getting into the 2nd.
2) Electrical is a first choice faculty, so is mechanical. Many students, with high grades are going to be applying, with that as their first choice fac.
Hard luck if you didn't know before, but a phone call goes a long way.
09-05-2007, 07:42 PM
I guess I should have mentioned that both have Civil Engineering as their first choice. Sorry.:)
i have seen students get their second choice over students with their first choice. not to mention others being thrown into a major that they had no intentions of doing, and then others being rejected from that same major due to it being 'overcrowded'.....
i assume there is some sort of logic applied when selecting students...possibly even a first come first serve basis may occur. but whatever they are doing inside there, many instances don't seem to follow much logic at all.
09-06-2007, 09:33 AM
Naturally, I already knew the answer to my question. Like PhoeniX said, it's all about connections. I also believe it's about paying your way in. At one point, I did, like MG said, believe it was a "first come, first serve" basis but that belief eventually faded away.
Someone also mentioned to me it's and issue of race... But lets not go there.:rolleyes:
mango
09-06-2007, 03:42 PM
this topic is really trivial if you look at it
what para said is true
those who have the grades for their first choice have preference over those who didnt get grades for their first and lookin to get into their second choice which is the same as the person who got their first choice..(confusing i know..)
its not just civil eh soldier
mech is the worst out of all
im seeing ppl with 3's who get into mech
wonder if its probably because mech has 100+ students in first year? nahhhh i doubt
i am in civil so i know
i qualified for elec but i change one time
cuz i wasnt really interested in that
and that connections ting
that eh really assuring u anything nah
becuz you still need an average of 65% and more to get into engineering in general
so that's all high 2's for the least
so this whole problem, i really duno what goin on
men in my maths course from mech, cah even do complex numbers and daz d first ting on the syllabus
wa really goin on jed??
09-06-2007, 03:50 PM
at the end of the day, those who can't manage the work gonna just fail anyway right?
09-06-2007, 04:28 PM
True Laruto, but they're just occupying space for those who really WANT to be there and those who really WANT to excell...That is not fair...
09-06-2007, 04:37 PM
I think i made that pt in an other thread. When i let UWI, at least 2/3 of the student population were dead weight
09-06-2007, 04:46 PM
Naturally, I already knew the answer to my question. Like PhoeniX said, it's all about connections. I also believe it's about paying your way in. At one point, I did, like MG said, believe it was a "first come, first serve" basis but that belief eventually faded away.
Someone also mentioned to me it's and issue of race... But lets not go there.:rolleyes:
Then why mention it?
Mango, they using alya % now boy?That's good stuff though,fairer .
Eg; Man with AAB , but the A's is 80.0 , and the B is 70.0. VS a guy with BBB(79.9) in each case.
Solider, all I could say is, that's the way the world works. When a Harvard Alumni member calls up his buddy in the admin office
"hey john , lil tommy, you remember him?yea, he's all grown up now, applying to harvard this fall actually . Anyway you can help him out? He did pretty average on his SATS"
"Np man, just let me know his full name, i'll see you at the annual barbque"You can't really say anything about it. The world made on connections, sad for those who don't have, but' that's how things are.
I think 2/3 deadwieght is a gross underestimation, then again...everyone has the right to education, weather they want to use up space or not?
09-06-2007, 04:49 PM
True @ connections. Like I always say, life is not about what you know, but who you know!
09-06-2007, 06:23 PM
Well soldier making the post even though he knew the answer isn't a bad thing. It allowed the views of others to be brought out.
GJ soldier.
The same issue outlined here can be applied to entry into any level of education, Primary Schools, Secondary Schools, A Levels, Tertiary and finally the work place. "Donations" go a long way.
09-06-2007, 07:31 PM
all i care about is dat the current year ones not as dotish as the batch we got lass year. if i have to mark anymore labs with stupid answers, i guh cuss...
yeah its all about pull strings in this world today. kyah avoid it. sigh :(
Phats
09-10-2007, 09:10 PM
lol hear alya nah is the world we live in ... the country itself is corrupt !!!
fight for what ya want hoss !!! query argue cuss it works :D
Lithiyum
09-12-2007, 09:39 PM
yea phats that why both you and i can't get a damn query yet... sold u sure it have 7 hoss lol
09-13-2007, 09:42 AM
Lol@ lithiyum.
Man, he got a 4 and 7 in chemistry. I shit you not. :confused:
lion-c
09-14-2007, 11:23 AM
eddoes go be markin meh labs or what XD