View Full Version : MGS3 disappoints me

02-13-2005, 08:31 AM
ok i might get a lotta bad remarks for saying this but to me Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater was nothing fun to me....

okay ill try to explain where im comming from....
-when i first played Metal Gear Solid for the PS1 it was nothing what i expected the game was AWESOME! the sneaking the silly guards looking at my footprints and the story was just out of the ordinary
-the second metal gear was alright but as the first it was repetitive with its bosses and its weird story i mean seriously cant hideo kojima change something apart from the environment?
-now i just borrowed snake eater from a friend and conquered it with ease i mean the game was plain borring the same bosses based on the same bosses in previous games. maybe you ppl e wont see it but i realized theyre all just the same thing to me and we're doing the same shit every single new series...

and this hideo kojima fella who developed HE REL LIKE HESELF LAWDDDD everywhere on the game has his stupid name on it talk about vanity :(

welll tell me what allyuh tink nah i thought it was a good game eh just i mean god try something different for once apart from eating fruits and snakes

02-13-2005, 10:41 AM
i find it was a rell cool game and i mean the repetitive thing is nothin big,cuz almost all game series i find repetitive,it's called takin somethin old and improvin on it,thas how ur sposed to make it better,if it ain't broke doh fix it dred

02-15-2005, 05:48 PM
Fist thing: Kojima was a man dat NOBODY take serious until the make make a killing with Metal Gear on NES. Hell, the CEO's were expecting the game to fail and fail miserable.

Next thing: He make d game, let him promote heself. After all, if you made a game that sells copies by the million on opening day worldwide, ent you go feel like a boss too?

Now, I'll go along with Phoenix here on one or two issue. I'll admit, the game gets tedius, esp. after you beat The Fury and you're stuck with the whole 'military base map' scene again after all the nice bush you endured, but I will say one thing: the game's physics and overall gameplay have improved DRASTICALLY, esp. with your wounds and the effects they have on performance in the game.

In all, Kojima put some thought into the game and improved some things. Hell, the boss battles: I LIVE for. The End is my current favorite boss. There's a trick to beating them all in under 5 mins of course, but then again: what game doesn't have that?

But cmon, as Itachi put it: no fix if it ain't broken. The made made his sales and the game didn't suck gonads like some games premiering the same year and same time. But then again: Kojima is notorious for his cryptic storylines, immersible characters, lush environments and the overindulgence in the nice little 'TOO MUCH CUTSCENES' habit. But it all makes the game what it is: playable and fun. Because tell truth, anyone who play it: ent yuh was LIKING yuhself when you see bodies not disappearing? shooting weapons out of guards hands? disarming them? destroying armory and food stashes and watching them salt like pork?

IMO: this is a game, at least in my eyes, play it the three times to unlock all the secrets and put it away. It's got uniqueness, I'll give it that, but the replay value diminishes over time, esp. after the first 2 plays when you beging to get the hang of how to move quickly and knowing where everything is.

02-15-2005, 08:33 PM
haha,u doh need to beat it 2 or 3 times to get everything boy,lol u juss hadda make sure and examine EVERYTHING the first time u play it ;)

03-28-2005, 07:59 PM
daz tru eh.

but i like the new MGS. Its a nice idea but you could see the innovation is still in development. How you have to stop in the middle of combat, fix this, fix that, stop this bleeding. Its cool, but sometimes kinda frustrating. take a health back, fixup and yuh done.

Otherwise, well it IS the man last MGS game he doing. From now on i think he goin to be a cosulted in future games, so yeah makin an impression is maybee what he wah do. "HELOOOOOOOOO doh forget mih eh!!"

camrachi-mishima
03-29-2005, 09:56 AM
Metal Gear is an acquired taste of sorts. Hideo is a quirky dude, and I don't mean regular Japanese type quirky, I mean extra quirky, extra weird. Many of his fans see him as a genius, while I can appreciate most of his work and artistic veiws I am not one to consider him a genius. Mr. Miyamoto is a genius, I don't consider him to be anything close to that caliber.

With that said, Metal Gear is truly a decent series, yes, very repetitive, but also brings subtle but integral upgrades and changes along.

As a stealth title, Metal Gear is the closest thing to fun and seriousness both at the same time. If you want serious, no nonesense stealth go play Splinter Cell. If you want some fun and most times clever gameplay stick to MGS. You have to learn to accept the weirdness to appreciate Hideo and his visions. :kakashi4:

03-29-2005, 05:43 PM
This is the same reason why the game is enjoyable and stuff. Kojima LOVES to mess with people's minds with semi-convoluted storylines and ties to recent day events.

I just finish playing the game for about the 10th time this weekend and I still like it, just that as Touya quoted: "Kojima puts too many silly things to unlock. E.g. the Stealth Camo-if you SO good to finish the game to unlock it in the first place, you eh go need it anyway :P"

03-29-2005, 08:15 PM
dred i eh saying iz a bad game
i just tink those blasted bosses shu change boi
always the same boss with a different look

but ill give kojima this-------->that camo index is really kool!!!!!! i like the idea of different face paints and outfits

-------->just please give a goddamn map so i can see where the enemies JEEEZ!!!! the old metal gears gave you a camera (except on the hardest difficulty of course) REMEMBER!! and you used to know where the stupid soldiers were looking!!!

03-29-2005, 08:41 PM
Man, I know that game in and out now and where EVERY soldier is. If you want a general idea-run out like a mc and just watch where men does come from.

03-29-2005, 08:44 PM
and den you wud get caught and tat wud be added to your total score of ALERTS when you finish the game lol that wud be kinda gay dred i just wish they had a radar installed in the gameplay wudda make tihng alot koooler maybe easier but still less irritating with all the soldiers spotting you as you run across some trees

camrachi-mishima
03-30-2005, 09:42 AM
You know I did not miss the radar at all. It really desnt make a difference because of the sonar. Actually I liked the excitement of not knowing where a guard was and wondering if he would hear the ping. Unlocking stuff in MGS is all about bragging rights. Cause it's never anything practical. :kakashi4:

03-31-2005, 05:01 PM
ENT @ camrachi

The no-radar thing wasn't so bad, but after yuh first few alerts, you get used to it...unless yuh harden and was saving from area to area so you wouldn't get caught :P

But some of dem unlockables was kinda useless man, but at least the Colt Single Action had a use in the battle with Ocelot :P

karrion
04-02-2005, 03:41 PM
I think the Splinter Cell series has given the MGS series a run for it's money. They're coming out with fresh ideas in the Splintercell games where MGS 3 has n't done anything outstanding to beat it. Plus it also on an inferior machine cyar help the game none, either.

camrachi-mishima
04-02-2005, 08:53 PM
well I won't say they compete, people who like Splinter Cell tend to not like MGS, and vice versa. I like both, but I prefer MSG. :kakashi4:

04-03-2005, 10:27 AM
I choose SC any day over MGS. I like both allot eh, but i mean the 2 SC games i play i eh stop playing till i was done. The Metal Gear, well i had fun but i find the cut scenes a little too long.
Graphics wise, gameplay wise and fun wise i enjoyed SC. Plus the online feature for this game just wicked. SC3 have co-op gameplay, and dread it lookin crazy cool!!

karrion
04-03-2005, 10:40 AM
Originally posted by camrachi-mishima@Apr 2 2005, 08:53 PM
well I won't say they compete, people who like Splinter Cell tend to not like MGS, and vice versa. I like both, but I prefer MSG. :kakashi4:

Of course they competing,they're in the same genre. SC is more mature prehaps but when the game first hit it was directly challenging MGS as the king of all stelth games. Yet Kojima did n't bother to top it with MGS3 All it has going for it is a stupid jungle chase. Which is one other thing why japanese delvelopers suck in comparison to the western ones at the moment. The Japanese are too concerned with flash and style and no content while western game makers are concenred with content and no style.

04-03-2005, 10:56 AM
yes of course. Culture differences sometimes transfer poorly. Stereotypically a japanese game's merit rests in a storyline (Final Fantasy, Xenosaga and yes MGS). Long cut scenes, VERY in depth storylines and detailed character design.

However, the US market doesnt take to these kind of games as much as the Japanese market does. Now UBI is a French company but they have their LA base setup. Bottom line, the games that are comming out today that are stealing the sales are generally the US games. The storyline can be engrossing and detailed without extra long cutscenes and talking.

Loko at Valve with their HL2 game. Amazing, and made in the US.

Western gamers want content AND style. They just prefer it in a different manner. Now once in a while (KATAMARI DAMACY) a game comes along and is just great. But generally speaking, home systems were well known in the US, the Japanese saved our lives and now its going back to the US.

Typical US, trying to control everything. Well, to be honest i dont care, once they do it well :P

karrion
04-03-2005, 11:16 AM
I agree with what you said but I'm commenting on the lack of innovation and good games from the Japanese side. Most of the fresh and challenging games are coming from the west IE:Europe and a few american studios. FF DQ and DMC are just BORING to me. It's been done before and better. I can't generalise all of Japan but the majority of their games are lazy in ideas and game engines. Korea seems to be coming out with decent games than Japan is at the moment.

04-03-2005, 11:24 AM
Agreed. Games today dont hold my attention for more than 30 minutes at the most. Rarely there is a game that is fun to play and you cant put it down. I just played GOD OF WAR. The game is not inovative, but it is fun, and has an element of nostalgia. Inovation is something that is far and in between with games. We had Splinter Cell, then KOTOR, then POP then Chronicles of Riddick, Far Cry, HL2...what else? Well now this Katamari game

People would say RE4 is inovative but it isnt. Its just what RE was SUPPOSEd to be 5 years ago. People just happy for that (including me). Because to be honest i have not been interested in a Silent Hill game since the first one.

Its not that the Japanese are not inovative, because i mean look at Nintendo. You want inovative you go there. Nintendo DS, Animal Crossing (cool game), Donkey Konga. They may be innovative but still not cut it.

karrion
04-04-2005, 11:29 AM
Yeah,The big N is at the same place Sega was four years back. Sega was cutting it's teeth with some dred games yet people ignored them. Nintendo has a more secure audience than Sega has but when i see people buying a game which is craupo like FIFA Street and ignoring rel good games then I despair for the future of the games industry. People take some games WAY too seriously thanx to Sony propaganda about adult games. The bottom line is if the game is actually good to play or not,challenging and any fun. DMC was fun to play. DMC3 is a chore.
These are what's important at the end of the day.

BigBoss
06-29-2005, 02:10 AM
Originally posted by PhoeniX@Feb 13 2005, 08:31 AM
ok i might get a lotta bad remarks for saying this but to me Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater was nothing fun to me....
okay ill try to explain where im comming from....
-when i first played Metal Gear Solid for the PS1 it was nothing what i expected the game was AWESOME! the sneaking the silly guards looking at my footprints and the story was just out of the ordinary
-the second metal gear was alright but as the first it was repetitive with its bosses and its weird story i mean seriously cant hideo kojima change something apart from the environment?
-now i just borrowed snake eater from a friend and conquered it with ease i mean the game was plain borring the same bosses based on the same bosses in previous games. maybe you ppl e wont see it but i realized theyre all just the same thing to me and we're doing the same shit every single new series...
and this hideo kojima fella who developed HE REL LIKE HESELF LAWDDDD everywhere on the game has his stupid name on it talk about vanity :(
welll tell me what allyuh tink nah i thought it was a good game eh just i mean god try something different for once apart from eating fruits and snakes

I fully respect Your Opinion But survival was the whole Tact behind this game so for u to say this "i mean god try something different for once apart from eating fruits and snakes" then U just not likin the new and realistic direction that kojima has decided wit the series No longer was it a matter of going balls out an runnin into a group of soldiers on every level with a health bar that was increased after every previous boss battle or Knowing were a ration was station everytime the area was loaded and playing suit how to get to were your ration was waitin for U . Its now a matter of SURVIVAL hence the reson for the stamina Factor (bar) which does play a more important role than the actuall health bar .U now hav to play smartly as a conservative and thinking of the situation the character is put in this Being the way this stealth genre is played .The mere fact of character Upkeep for optimum performance hence the reason snake has to eat the pure Nutriets in the only way they are available to him (IE the FOREST) or havin to steal from guards Nutrients that are even Better than what can be found in the forest for xample Life MEds

With Regard to this ( with its bosses and its weird story i mean seriously cant hideo kojima change something apart from the environment?
-now i just borrowed snake eater from a friend and conquered it with ease i mean the game was plain borring the same bosses based on the same bosses in previous games.)

U seem to be one of those who knows about the series But are not PASSIONATE about it like myself Hence the reason U borrowing the game and not owning it. That same bosses s#@& U r talking that is wat is appealing to the gamer in the first place to hav the only boss of its type for Xample the End who really can't be compared to Ne one else from previous games Only the Fear ,Gray fox and Vamp(which is Blattant for those who know the series)Unless You're talkin about the Usually group of rogues whom Snake/Big Boss hav come accross in previous games wen in actuallty that is one of the very important remedies to makin mgs what is and invariably shows the direction of the story But the individuals within each group really can't be compared as similar Unless those stated above

waitin for a response an ppl doh come wit no week S@#* cuz i am AN MGS GURU

itachi is a MC

BigBoss
06-29-2005, 02:45 AM
Originally posted by PhoeniX@Mar 29 2005, 08:15 PM
dred i eh saying iz a bad game
i just tink those blasted bosses shu change boi
always the same boss with a different look
but ill give kojima this-------->that camo index is really kool!!!!!! i like the idea of different face paints and outfits

-------->just please give a goddamn map so i can see where the enemies JEEEZ!!!! the old metal gears gave you a camera (except on the hardest difficulty of course) REMEMBER!! and you used to know where the stupid soldiers were looking!!!

Now radar was'nt Bad realy jus that U had more challenge to Unless U one ah dem types who does get irate at difficult games cuz i did'nt mind not seein weh d enemies were placed But there was a pace maker that kept with the coldwar times setting which facilitated as a kind of radar But Picked Up Other life forms including the fauna of the forest havin a radar wud hav helped but Kojima Really wanted the time frame to be reflected as forcefully a possible so this had to be reflective in the game hence no radar But i Doh mine it cuz wen coupled with the open forests i find a challenge that i m willing to accept ... cuZ no longer can i wait on a soldiers routine movements to exploit him as was done previously das d same S@^% reason Y i Beat d first two so easily Barely usin ammo on extreme plus D vision range ting made Mgs1 and 2 the easy games they were BECAUSE I CUD HAV XPLOITED THE 'privileges the radar Provided

Ps ......U ever tried Extreme and hard with no radar on the first occations u play d game Matter fact try in the re-release with
Mgs2 Substance D MGS 1 Missions with wihtout Radar.....The Mgs domain were only Skill triUmphs

May not get one cuz dis a late post But ...xcuse d xam hibernation i waitin for a response PPL PLEASE DO NOT COME BY ME WIT NO LAME XCUSE CUZ I DO KNOW MY MGS

Itachi is a MC

BigBoss
06-29-2005, 03:04 AM
Originally posted by camrachi-mishima@Mar 29 2005, 09:56 AM
Metal Gear is an acquired taste of sorts. Hideo is a quirky dude, and I don't mean regular Japanese type quirky, I mean extra quirky, extra weird. Many of his fans see him as a genius, while I can appreciate most of his work and artistic veiws I am not one to consider him a genius. Mr. Miyamoto is a genius, I don't consider him to be anything close to that caliber.

With that said, Metal Gear is truly a decent series, yes, very repetitive, but also brings subtle but integral upgrades and changes along.

As a stealth title, Metal Gear is the closest thing to fun and seriousness both at the same time. If you want serious, no nonesense stealth go play Splinter Cell. If you want some fun and most times clever gameplay stick to MGS. You have to learn to accept the weirdness to appreciate Hideo and his visions. :kakashi4:

I m One Of those WELL EXCEPT FOR THE ACID SERIES REALLY WASN't A GENIUS IDEA

06-29-2005, 08:29 AM
I support Camrachi and his statements. This game is a pioneer for both the introduction of movie cutscenes into games as well as storyline.

In a world where each videogame tries to do something original by defining its genre MG clearly leaves a mark. The game is of high quality, its well thought out and very well put together.

Of course it must have ppl that dont like MG. I would certainly HOPE they are. Without diversity in videogames the industry would be pretty boring. But for those that can appreciate it, its a excelent game.

The idea of using a change in radar system like they did in MGS3 was brilliant in my opinion. With a sonar device and such. It captured the element of the time period that game was set and it still allows the gamer to APPRECIATE the radar sense in that you use it sparingly. the FPS view also helps the gamer survey the landscape and area they are in.

06-29-2005, 01:28 PM
dred i rel like d game yuh know the sorrow was rel sick wit he shit but i mean start sumthing new das all

btw boost whose d chinne chic dred dem is pornstars or sumthing?

BigBoss
06-29-2005, 02:12 PM
Originally posted by PhoeniX@Jun 29 2005, 12:28 PM
dred i rel like d game yuh know the sorrow was rel sick wit he shit but i mean start sumthing new das all

btw boost whose d chinne chic dred dem is pornstars or sumthing?

LOL a Pheonix someone clearly hasn't been watchin their G4's ay Boost Mizota sweet in real life

06-29-2005, 04:10 PM
Yea boy she sweet. Morgan HOTTER in real life. i sh!t you not. The COOLEST of all of them is Laura though. She talking with anyone and liming an ting. real cool. Security was around Morgan like flies on shit. Woman had a circle of security everywhere she go. And no p@nty men mine you, them big@ss ex wrestler kinda men.

Bob
06-30-2005, 07:20 AM
I was gonna intercede on behalf my Master Snake

But you guys pretty much summed it all up.

I love the MG series been playing it since the NES days (didnt have an MSX)

Im glad they took it back to the jungle . And killed the radar

Very few games have managed to completely draw you into a jungle setting like snake eater has.

The only other 2 in my opinion are Far Cry and Vietcong.

06-30-2005, 08:55 AM
Itachi is a MC

why you say that bigboss ? cuz i find dante badder than snake ?

Bob
07-01-2005, 01:19 AM
BLASPHEMY!!!

I WILL SNAP YUH NECK DE NEXT TIME AH SEE YUH!!1

BigBoss
07-02-2005, 12:37 PM
Nope Itachi is jus dat U R a MC But personally i prefer ppl from D Mgs series But i know Put every body from D series in a room With dante and yes Dante Will Beat deh ass down .Mgs fans don't get mad i will never forsake thee jus dat i can face the truth Dante can physically beat snakes ass But i kinda feelin dante's cockyness is really over done das y i prefer snake/BigBoss or The Boss/The Joy

ACTUALLY YUR UTILIZATION OF THE YOU COMMAND

07-02-2005, 01:03 PM
well i would HOPE so. Dante is a half demon. But since neither exists all we can compare is the games: The only good DMC is the first one.

BigBoss
07-02-2005, 01:14 PM
Why do you think so Boost(Dmc1 bein the only good DMC) and which series U prefer Dmc or MGS

07-02-2005, 02:13 PM
Well FIRST thing: these are 2 different genres, so comparing them will obviously have disadvantages

DMC is one of the best games of THIS GENERATION CONSOLE era. one of the FIRST games to offer UPGRADEABLE weapons and character attacks. EVERYTHING really copy that game. (Lord of the rings, Ninja Gaiden immediately come to mind) Mind you those games cool, but i just saying DMC was a pioneer in it

BUT. Metal Gear was one of the first games to actually incorporate a MOVIE storyline into a game and REALLY pull it off. They have so much RPG's out there that try to do this and still cant, and MG is a Stealth action game.

I not talking stand up fight. That i dont care about, and i doubt that could happen. But as far as GAMES go you comparing a straight up action with a stealth action game.

DMC1 imo is one very mad game. I mean it really holds its own enough to every MG game in gameplay (if you comparing gameplay from its genre). but i mean really this is ONE GREAT game against 3 VERY GOOD games. Just plain numbers wins in MG.

Look it 2 different genres. I know real man that hate Metal Gear and i dont know anyone that doh like DMC1. but THEN i know MORE ppl that dont like DMC2 and a good few (like me) not really impressed with DMC3.