View Full Version : Looking for a new phone.
08-26-2007, 11:06 AM
I am contemplating getting a new phone, due to my forgettfulness as of late.
Need something with a decent camera(nothing less than 1.3mpx), organizer is a MUST. If it has a touch screen or full keyboard, that is also great.
It must be syncable with a computer via bluetooth , so incase I Type up reminders here, or little notes or spreadsheets I can load it up on it..
Nothing too large, must be able to fit in my pocket without looking like a hardon gone wrong.
decent battery life,
08-26-2007, 11:24 AM
i'd suggest a palm treo or a nokia n95
08-26-2007, 12:52 PM
I find the Palms a bit too large for my taste.
Played with a 650 the other day, didn't like it much, and the camera sucked.
What kind of price range am I looking at?
08-26-2007, 01:31 PM
http://www.amazon.com/palm-Treo-680-Phone-Unlocked/dp/B000KHF7ZQ/ref=pd_bbs_8/002-9778961-2374439?ie=UTF8&s=wireless&qid=1188145708&sr=8-8
http://www.amazon.com/Palm-One-Treo-Cellular-Unlocked/dp/B000Q9M2FQ/ref=pd_bbs_12/002-9778961-2374439?ie=UTF8&s=miscellaneous&qid=1188145708&sr=8-12
http://www.amazon.com/Nokia-N95-Silver-Phone-Unlocked/dp/B000PEOLAG/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/002-9778961-2374439?ie=UTF8&s=wireless&qid=1188145834&sr=8-1
http://www.amazon.com/Nokia-Smartphone-Cell-Phone-N95/dp/B000RL5C0U/ref=pd_bbs_sr_3/002-9778961-2374439?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1188145834&sr=8-3
Check the above links..that's the treo 680 and 750 and the n95..dont even think about buying them down here
08-26-2007, 02:00 PM
gosh,that's real money for a a phone.
08-26-2007, 02:25 PM
Sounding like you would like a blackberry
check out what tstt/digicel have to offer, they give good prices and good repair service in the event of a damage.
http://www.bmobile.co.tt/bmobileshop_availablephones.cfm
^^or maybe check mg after arena! :p
08-26-2007, 08:50 PM
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=147840
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=146738
i spammed these links but like dinesh msn eh working..anyways.. check those out
08-26-2007, 11:56 PM
HTC 8525 FTW!!! (http://www.america.htc.com/products/8525/default.html)
it something like what andro post but only better:
and yeah... doh think bout gettin it down here
i think u can get it from that site self...
also check out the others
08-27-2007, 12:36 AM
^^or maybe check mg after arena! :p
MG go hit yuh a bess price.
Dinesh, like yourself I was keen on having a full keyboard or touch screen access so that I may text faster. I realized that even though those methods are pretty decent in writing texts, predictive text (over time) can do the job just as well. I say over time because some of slang words we use have to be added in.
Organizer functions are integrated into most phones (including my cheapish k790).
Check out these phones
http://www.gsmarena.com/blackberry_pearl_8100-1701.php <-- Thats the one i had in mind for you based on your post.
http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_e70-1323.php <-- fold out keyboard
http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_n73-1550.php <-- the phone I would have purchased in TnT (for 3gs+) if I didn't find a k790. Its geared towards the exec kinda person.
DO NOT FORGET TSTT,
THEY HAVE SOME KINDA TRUCK THAT COMES TO UWI
KEEP ABREAST WITH WHATS GOOD ON THEIR SITE AND RUSH THE TRUCK!
08-27-2007, 10:48 AM
:O @ Truck.
I'll check them out, thanks.
The black berry isn't a true Qwerty?.
What about a P990 type model.
Any of those can connect to my wireless internet @ home, and check mail?
08-27-2007, 08:46 PM
the one i posted can do everything.. check eeet out
09-03-2007, 07:48 PM
Any can use PDA software?
Like say I get some pda software for..a math textbook...which cellphone can i load it on?If any.
09-04-2007, 01:09 AM
Bmobile truck thing should be in UWI this week, be on the look out.
09-04-2007, 12:00 PM
checkmeon msn whenever
if you intrested in a n95
09-04-2007, 12:32 PM
Any can use PDA software?
Like say I get some pda software for..a math textbook...which cellphone can i load it on?If any.
sighs... did u check out my link?... it can do everything your pc can do...
09-04-2007, 06:45 PM
I'm seeing it listed for 600USD.
What's the tax like on phones?
09-04-2007, 11:14 PM
smuggled in?? very little (demo tax only)
skybox? lost somewhere between reached trinidad and custom officers hands if lucky otherwise Arm+leg+kidney = more that dan de mc phone
09-04-2007, 11:36 PM
U know any other phones, a bit cheaper that might accomplish what I need opi?
I can't see myself walking around with a $4000 phone in my pocket.
09-05-2007, 12:48 AM
/me walks around with a 4gran fone in his pocket but tries to b inconspicuious as possible
09-05-2007, 09:03 AM
My padna have a 6 grand phone. But like para said, he uses the wrist strap thingy provided with it. It's always there when not in his pocket. Even when he's talkin on the phone, or using the camera, it's bounded to his wrist.
09-05-2007, 10:26 AM
ebay has the 8525 for 350... and my bro brought down the earlier model last year ... and no.. he din dead with tax...
it was reasonalbe... normal 15% yadda yadda
09-05-2007, 12:01 PM
Bmobile special on Blackberry curve and Pearl in UWI for the duration of Orientation week (while stocks last)
$999.99
not bad at all.
09-05-2007, 12:25 PM
Bmobile special on Blackberry curve and Pearl in UWI for the duration of Orientation week (while stocks last)
$999.99
not bad at all.
not bad indeed... i wanted to get a pearl (cuz of the full querty but neat design) for my gf... but i wasnt willing to spend 3k on a seemingly subpar phone...
however 1k looks much more appealing...
09-05-2007, 01:50 PM
yeah but remember you will have to take it post paid, + data package (199 perm onth unlimited) and be a UWI student.
09-05-2007, 03:20 PM
she is a uwi student... but eek... post paid... ah well.. back to tryin to procure the e70