View Full Version : Naruto Hundo on Cartoon Network...
08-17-2007, 11:33 AM
Yes, is de English dub, but Cartoon Network is showing Naruto non-stop till Sunday night. It started like 7 or 8 this morning.
They now reach the Zabuza fight.
*strugglin not to bawl, "Believe it!"*
08-17-2007, 11:45 AM
too tell you the truth... thais real torture... to watch that much naruto in that shitty english... TORTURE... i could tell yuh thats 1 station i skippin this weekend
08-17-2007, 11:47 AM
ya i hear about this naruto marton my co-worker told me about it
well i dont got cable :( so this will pass me by
would like to see the chunnin exam an the attack on kohana in eng
they said is about 100 esp of naruto...sigh goin to miss all that :(
08-17-2007, 11:55 AM
De dub not terrible.
De censoring of blood though...kinda weak. They show the bloody wound/bruise after the attack as normal, but they never show the attack actually drawing blood, the blood splash etc. That wouldna be a big deal if it were edited more intelligently...instead they cut away to a picture of the sky with birds passin, or a static picture of someone's face. It's noticeable and distracting.
08-17-2007, 12:06 PM
De dub not terrible.
OMG!!! that is by far the WORST english sub ever... tell me a sub that shittier than naruto english?
08-17-2007, 12:12 PM
dragonball z? bleach?
08-17-2007, 12:45 PM
dragonball z? bleach?
never watched dbz... not even in jap...
didnt know bleach had a eng dub
08-17-2007, 01:28 PM
never watched dbz... not even in jap...
didnt know bleach had a eng dub
yep bleach is also out on cartoon network...but never seen an esp so cant say how it is think it does be one like 11 or 12 in the night...
but naruto eng dub is shit dont like the naruto voice...to annoying :(
jus like to see to see how they try to bring it out
08-17-2007, 02:20 PM
Naruto English dub competent. Far from great, but I wouldn't say bad.
I've seen far worse, but mostly on low-profile anime. I haven't seen any high-profile dubbed anime over the last few years.
A dub of an anime TV series will seldom be a good thing. Just hearing that sweet Japanese, with all its melody and intonation simplified into English...it rarely works.
Plus yuh hadda acknowledge the fact that the dialogue in anime series is almost always terrible. It works with subs because the Japanese sounds great, and because we make allowances for whatever is lost in translation in subtitles.
The best English voice actors in the world couldn't make the average Naruto episode sound good. You could imagine the voice actors from Batman: The Animates Series bawlin, "Demon Shadow Windmill Technique!" and it soundin great?
It might sound even worse, like a opera singer singin Old MacDonald.
Dubbing works better for movies, especially Mizayaki movies, because the dialogue tends to be a lot better, and less niche.
08-17-2007, 03:10 PM
ummm... so what u have to say about the likes of samurai x, ninja scroll etc....
they sound great... is jus a damn shitty bunch of people do the dubs for naruto etc... oh yeah i heard the bleach not half bad...
08-17-2007, 03:29 PM
Samurai X dubbin eh no better than Naruto.
Alyuh men watchin them series through rose-tinted glasses.
Fuh starters, none of us were watching Samurai X Japanese versions when we first saw Samurai X. The English dub is the standard for the vast majority of us.
It eh like Naruto that we watchin in Japanese fuh 4+ years now.
Secondly, we were a lot younger and less discerning when we were watchin Samurai X. In fact for plenty of us, that was the first real anime we ever saw.
Samurai X was at its peak when...almost 8 years ago? And even then I remember men laughin at how ridiculous the characters used tuh sound talkin out these long, fast technique descriptions in the heat of battle.
Try and watch a episode now and tell mih the dubbin great. It full of the same kinda exaggerations and quirks as Naruto.
I only saw the Ninja Scroll movie. Never the TV series. It was ok dubbing as far as I can remember, but I explained why that happens in the post above.