View Full Version : Dual core or Quad core

wildchild
07-16-2007, 08:22 AM
Guys i need some advice. Is Quad core processors a better investment than the dual core? I knw it's obviously faster and such but is it 100% guarantee not to give any trouble? I dont wanna place an investment into getting quadcore and then to realize i hadda push out more dough for cooling etc.

I was content with getting a Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.40GHz and the EVGA nForce 680i SLI NVIDIA Socket 775 with a Geforce 8800 GTS to start off with but then i read about the quad core and doubted myself.

Basically i wanna be able to run (when they come out) Unreal 3 and Starcraft 2 smoothly at high resolution and high graphics and the pc should last me about 2 and a half years or 3 if i'm lucky.

07-16-2007, 05:03 PM
If gaming is you primary concern, dual core will be adequate but there are already games that make use of more then 2 cores. I'd go with the Quad core later this moth to be on the safe side.

wildchild
07-19-2007, 08:14 AM
ok with that said where do you guys purchase your parts? do you source all abroad or not?

I need some sites, local and abroad, that what you guys use to purchase equipment.

07-19-2007, 08:45 AM
Locally for available high end stuff you can check out http://www.mmstt.com/

Otherwise most PC vendors can bring down anything you need, provided you'll wait.

07-19-2007, 09:31 AM
I was recently informed that tigerdirect.com accepts Trini Credit Cards.

07-19-2007, 11:11 AM
they did for quite some time... u can also get your stuff from them through amazon.com... i find it easier...

bourbon_sensei
07-19-2007, 02:39 PM
soldier..

you crazy yes...

wildchild
07-22-2007, 09:11 AM
sweet! i guess the same goes 4 newegg.com? thx peeps

07-22-2007, 02:05 PM
www.frys.com

They got getto prices , doh complain about TT CC and ship faster than Newegg imho. Check the www.hardforums.com for hot deals. I saved a bundle when building my new computer by jumping on the specials posted there.

07-23-2007, 09:37 AM
wdmc. where my post gone :mad:

i was jus tryin to help help the man ship down he stuff.. steups -_-

07-23-2007, 08:08 PM
i will hold until penryns come out i see de price list on dem mofos...

dey uber cheap.. cheap enough to make ah chinee man feel at home

wildchild
07-25-2007, 07:52 PM
whats penryns?

And thx Ecktt...w00t Ecktt to the rescue!