View Full Version : Windows Vista help
07-09-2007, 10:30 AM
Does any one else get problems running games with vista???? I'm seeing forums about problems and then I'm seeing about flawless running with games.. even using areo! :S
But I read that " Also, though Vista supports OpenAL, it does not support OpenGL directly. when playing OpenGL games, they are remapped to DirectX APIs, which slows the game down drastically. Games such as Doom 3 and Prey rely on OpenGL."
So wtf?! How people cud say d games runnin flawlessly.. My game does stick a lil on ultra high settings now:(
07-09-2007, 10:44 AM
soilder sys still weakkk!!!
rahahahahaha
07-09-2007, 10:45 AM
i really doubt is d sys...
07-09-2007, 11:20 AM
Sigh...
There are 3 ways to implement OpenGL on Vista. OpenGL-to-DirectX API translation is just the least efficient method. You have and ATi video card and ATi never had a good OpenGL driver in the first place. Now the reason you can't run games in in Ultra high mode anymore is; Areo throws most of the video processing onto the video card and so uses more video memory. Normally when games (Quake i assume) say ultra high, they are reffering to the fact that they load un-compress texture into video ram and require 512MB of Video memory to run. Since Aero is running on you computer you don't have the full 512video memory for games. Disable Areo and you might be able to return to ultra high settings. I have not seen an problem with games as yet. The biggest one i had so far was CS1.6 but a simple right click "XP sp2" emulation resolved that problem for me.
07-09-2007, 11:45 AM
so what is the cause for d slow alt tabbing of warcraft.. its not smooth as it was in xp. takes LONG to alt tab :(
http://www.opengl.org/img/uploads/pipeline/vol003/fun-with-windows-800.jpg
wtf????? steups. I seein men alt tabbing in doom 3 and thing. WHY can i NOT do this :mad:
07-09-2007, 02:35 PM
Ugh. Help!?
07-09-2007, 05:33 PM
Try vista 64
07-09-2007, 08:30 PM
fine. passin by u dis weekn :)