View Full Version : Pc problem
05-20-2007, 06:43 PM
So we sold this PC to a customer. He complained about the PC restarting on him while playing games. So we drove down to Siparia and collected the system. One of our guys played on the PC for about six hours straight without any reboot.
We carried the PC back down. He called again saying that is restarting again. Wtf? At first I was thinking its a voltage problem. But we gave him a UPS. I recently ( about 30mins ago ) got the information that upon reboot he receives the error message saying windows has recovered from a fatal error. To my knowledge, this means the game is crashing windows. Please correct me if I'm wrong.
So I'm thinking get the latest drivers and install them. If that does not work then replace the video card. But what has me reluctant is the fact that our guy played game for six hours without any reboot. This has me thinking voltage problem... But the UPS?
PC specs:
64 Bit Mother Board
AMD 3400 AM2 64bit 256 L2 940
2GB DDR2 RAM 533 MHZ
80GB Hard Drive
2 x 18x DVD Rw Drive/DVDROM
56k v.92 Data Fax Modem
ATI RX1600-PRO PCI-Express 256MB
Keyboard
Optical Mouse
17 inch LCD Monitor
500 Watt ATX Case
Logitech X530 5.1 Speakers
HP DeskJet Printer/Scanner/Copier
500 VA UPS
Gigabit Lan
64 Bit Audio Card
A little advice?
05-21-2007, 12:48 AM
If i tell you the problem do i get paid?
>_<
05-21-2007, 01:33 AM
Well we providing free customer service so.. no. u do not get paid XD
Was this PC at any time hooked up to your legendary PC soldier? I hear when soldier plug into LAN anti-virus does go off like whoa.
05-21-2007, 09:13 AM
that could be numerous things soldier...first thing to try is testing the memory...and did the guy play the same game the other guy was playing? ... i doh think voltage is the problem. Most of the time memory is the problem...if that fails try checking the video card. The good thing about having a business like that is that u should have identical pcs at work so that u can troubleshoot very easily
In terms of it being a software issue...i suggest updating the drivers like u said, hope that works...check the blue screen msg it giving you also...if it have an error where it accessing a certain part of memory then u know where the problem lies...if u see a vid card driver u know where it goin from there.
05-21-2007, 10:40 AM
if i tell how to solve that will u pay ecktt?
i eh care if it is free service, its a SOLD merchandise and therefore profit has been made and under certain understanding it muss come with a warrenty of service to show that if anyting goes bad with that pc with in a certain time, u have to fix that because u was paid for such a service....
now having u know that, we could tell u how to fix it or u should never bring that in here, though we are a gaming organisation and will like to help each other out, well that that is business and i doh see how this could involve me or other gamers in here
this part is free of charge if u would like to take advice from it..
if u dont know how to fix a simple solution like that then u should never started a computer store
05-21-2007, 10:58 AM
i doh know nah... i find allyuh does real pick on that man...
simple question simple answer it doh matter if he making a profit jeez... it doh hurt u to put the answer out there...
when a man say... help me build a pc...
and yuh go on newegg and spec out a pc for the man... u doh know if that man gonna order the parts himself and make a big profit jeez...
i agree with seven try testing the memory...
also make sure the guy is tellin you ALL the applications he does have running at the time of game crash.... gettin the windows error and takin a loook @ it might jus help a little bit...
05-21-2007, 11:22 AM
is de chinee in meh muss make business :)
check programs that is installed and get that error message we cant do jack if we dont know what crashing it
what game de guy running anyway??
check if de area of operation is nice and cool and not in ah sweat box
05-21-2007, 11:38 AM
I'll give you a hint Soldier but as Opium said, a profit was made and so after service support was factored into the sales price. Electrical Fault Light.
05-21-2007, 11:44 AM
was ur office air conditioned? how about the room the PC was in?
happened to me too a couple years ago, my pc was only restarting home, and at the repair people's office(whch was air conditioned) it was on for a whole night
ventilated the area and it was fine...
05-21-2007, 12:30 PM
cooling is definitely a probability but the fact that it was during a game kinda had me leaning towards the memory...i also saw ppl had a fan or 2 to keep the pc cool and that solved reboots as well...jus tell us what the blue screen saying and we could take it from there
05-21-2007, 12:44 PM
..@ Opi. It's not that I can't deal with it. I'm just looking for a way to cut down the solutions.
Well he never told me anything about the BSOD. He just says that the PC restarts. But then again he never told me about the error message when the PC restarts. I don't mind testing it you know. The problem is getting it and carrying it back.:o
Did I mention it only reboots while he's playing game? I think I did. :confused:
And neither his, nor where the computer was tested are air conditioned. I doubt it's an overheating problem. Is it? Never thought about the memory. Will have to run sum mem test/ super PI there. Probably run a little prime 95 too??
Thanks for the help guys. Will see if I can get the exact error message he gets upon reboot.
05-21-2007, 01:55 PM
i forget to tell u look for de mc logs, when there is a bsod it normally logs the error.
now telling u where the log is will cost u :P
05-21-2007, 06:20 PM
who said there was a bsod?
..@ u doh think i will know where d log is.. i eh THAT noob ok :(
05-21-2007, 07:54 PM
then where it is? ehh???
so it have ah error msg and it rebooting, but no bsod then that pc need someting called GAS and MATCHES
i am so sure that de failure in all this is because u overlooking certain facts... is best u be a little ignorant and never understand
so far it cutting up to be 2 tings
1. overheating
2. u real went cheap (psu not cutting it, cause it running on spypower)
richjob
05-22-2007, 08:04 PM
H E A T. If it is during a game, it's most likely heat, from the video card and CPU working harder. Or a marginal PSU that exceeding voltages when a game comes on. Check heat first.
05-23-2007, 09:59 AM
Once the pc restarts jus like that due to the person playing a game then there is normally a BSOD involved...right click "my computer", go to advanced, start up and recovery and unclick automatic retart on system failure.
05-23-2007, 10:28 AM
either soldier has figure out de problem or, he was really a noob
i eh hear 1 peep from him yet
so what was de problem
05-23-2007, 02:26 PM
ya well the client eh call me as yet. when he ready he will call. :o
vBulletin® v3.7.0, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.