View Full Version : The New Era Outlaw Art Thread!
New Era Outlaw
05-03-2007, 06:11 PM
So, I thought I should show you guys some of my artwork.
A few of the pictures are from my upcoming "Acolytes: Heroes of the Last Apocalypse", while some are other pictures that I did.
Check it out, and let me know what you think:
http://img126.imageshack.us/img126/4210/crystalherovk3.jpg
http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/8060/neweraoutlaw0015im.jpg
http://img216.imageshack.us/img216/6974/geargirl9xh.jpg
http://img489.imageshack.us/img489/4483/rollandmeeplm1.jpg
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/NewEraOutlaw/DanceoftheFireflySMALLER.jpg
05-03-2007, 06:27 PM
Damn
thats some good work.
05-03-2007, 06:53 PM
neo i new u were good but wow .
05-03-2007, 08:44 PM
kk i do my homework and proven it was really your art work all i have to say is
Good job... keep up the good work...
!doomtack!
05-04-2007, 02:10 PM
I saw ur work since u started way bak wen Sip n Surf was in St. Augustine... i must say, u really improving...
mind if i ask wat programs u using to do d colouring?
05-04-2007, 03:42 PM
I saw ur work since u started way bak wen Sip n Surf was in St. Augustine... i must say, u really improving...
mind if i ask wat programs u using to do d colouring?
it ain't crayons!
I as well would like to inquire into your design process.
New Era Outlaw
05-04-2007, 07:09 PM
Adobe Photoshop CS. Back then, I used to draw and colour using nothing but the mouse.
Nowadays, I sketch my drawings out in pencil first, ink them in and then scan them to colour in CS. The drawings look a heck of a lot better now, I must say.
Anyhoo, just so I wouldn't have nothing to show for this post....
http://img156.imageshack.us/img156/7210/blazevp7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Commander Blaze's bio can be found here:
http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/41791187/
http://img156.imageshack.us/img156/6195/anarchyrocksbyneweraoutsz5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Anarchy's bio can be found here:
http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/41032438/
05-04-2007, 07:11 PM
can you tell us more about
Acolytes: Heroes of the Last Apocalypse <--
New Era Outlaw
05-05-2007, 01:42 PM
I'll be glad to.
"Acolytes: Heroes of the Last Apocalypse" is a comic that I'm currently working on. Basically, if you want to look at the bare bones of it, it's a superhero title, where a young group of heroes are assembled to fight against the forces of evil. If you take a deeper look at it, though, it's a whole lot more than that.
The very origin of the story has a somewhat biblical tone to it, where the world and all of reality was formed from nothingness by a divine power, and this power, deciding that a capable lifeform should be created to tend to the world, created man. For a while, man proved himself worthy of being the guardian of Earth. One day, however, in a moment of weakness, man faltered, and fell out of favour with his Creator by disobeying him. It was then and there that the Divine Power decided that man, susceptible to the whims of evil, needed something to watch over him. He created lifeforms that not only possessed man's intelligence, but special abilities beyond the comprehension of man, so that they would be capable of bailing them out whenever they fell in danger. These beings, servants of the Divine Power, were known as the Acolytes.
For a while, Acolyte and man shared a close bond, working alongside each other. But this companionship was not meant to be for much longer. Man, tainted by evil, soon became jealous of these beings, and desired their gifts for themselves. Soon, man became savage, and hunted down the Acolytes. The Divine Power, enraged by man's brutality, engulfed the world in a devastating flood and destroyed them all, all the while whisking the surviving Acolytes to safety. When his rage subsided, he decided that there were still a few good people left, and they should be watched after to ensure that they prosper as his chosen people. However, He could not risk man's greed for power once more. Giving his Acolytes human forms, he dispersed them around the world, to be the watchers of mankind once more, but in absolute secrecy, posing as humans themselves.
Millenia has passed since then, and the tales of the Acolytes and their deeds have become stories of legend. Mankind has evolved a lot since then, building structures that towered beyond the heavens, machines that gave them abilities that they had never envisioned possible before, and had numbered in the billions.
....it was disaster in the making.
Where mankind had prospered, tensions grew. Wars were waged between people of different cultures, and hatred brewed between people over trivial matters. What made things worse was that mankind....was beginning to undergo a new kind of evolution. The Acolytes of ages past, having been scattered around the world, had assumed human lives, and thus, their divine gifts were now dormant in the gene pool of mankind....until this present day and age. People began to develop their own powers. Some used their gifts as a tool of good, while others saw this as an opportunity for great evil. Others, persecuted as 'freaks', hid away, ashamed of their new talents.
Mankind had become far too powerful, and because of it, dark visions of a terrible war has begun to emerge. One which would pit the forces of virtue against the forces of evil, and threatened to destroy the very Earth itself.
To prevent this terrible omen from becoming reality, an oracle was sent down from the Heavens, to find beings capable and worthy enough to fend off these growing elements of evil, a great concentration of which seems to be emerging from the most dominant community in the world.....Meggido City. To this end, she will travel across the world, looking for heroes descended from the ancient guardians, and unite them in the hopes that the end of the world will not come. Should they succeed, man will enjoy relative peace, but should they fail......mankind will exist no more.
This is their story.
They will be known as the "Acolytes: Heroes of the Last Apocalypse."
New Era Outlaw
05-16-2007, 11:05 AM
Apologies for the double post. Got some new stuff to show off....
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/NewEraOutlaw/RollNotaCareintheWorld.jpg
Another picture of Roll, dancing with Meep as if she doesn't have a care in the world. In a way, I almost envy her for that. Believe it or not, the flowers were the trickiest part of the picture. I had to draw it in such a way that it doesn't look fake or two-dimensional when she's tossing them aside. Also, this time around, I wanted to get away from having Roll just stand around this time, so I'm having her more active in the picture.
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/NewEraOutlaw/RenegadeRedesign.jpg
A while back, Hammy did a gender bender thread, where he turned many of the forumites into the opposite sex. Curious, I asked him to draw a female version of the New Era Outlaw. I thought he did a bang up job, myself, so much so, that I've given the character an identity of her own. I made a few changes to her design over time, though, putting her own spin on the New Era Outlaw's trademark duster/cowboy hat combo.Also, her hair is now much longer than it was before, and the glasses are slightly more slanted. The design of the guns might have to change, though.
And, finally, to cap it off...
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/NewEraOutlaw/NinjettaRedesign.jpg
This is a redesign for a fan character that one of my friends in the AGU community came up with. I wanted to test myself and try to put a whole lot more detail into the picture, but, at the same time, neaten up the design of the armor and make it look a little more conventional for use. The old design was good, and this doesn't stray from that too much.
Be on the lookout for more....
just some constructive criticism, your noses make all your chars look asian. Great colouring and drawings otherwise.
05-16-2007, 12:30 PM
Love the art! but I find the story to be kinda 2 similar to the following events
1) Prophet Adam(alaihi salaam) in the start
2) Destroy man for his evil like in the case during Noah (alaihi salaam) times
3) Beings protecting man as well as taking their form (Angels)
4) A being that will come to unite the good against the evil, like near the end days when Jesus (alaihi salaam) will come from the heavens.
New Era Outlaw
05-16-2007, 01:33 PM
Love the art! but I find the story to be kinda 2 similar to the following events
1) Prophet Adam(alaihi salaam) in the start
2) Destroy man for his evil like in the case during Noah (alaihi salaam) times
3) Beings protecting man as well as taking their form (Angels)
4) A being that will come to unite the good against the evil, like near the end days when Jesus (alaihi salaam) will come from the heavens.
Yeah....I wanted the origins of the Acolytes to have some roots in the Biblical account of mankind's history, to somewhat make the story somewhat 'authentic' to that. A particular passage in Genesis (Genesis 6:4, specifically) speaks about the 'heroes of renown' and how they were descended from the sons of heaven, and I wanted to build a storyline about these heroes that the Bible speaks about emerging in our modern times. I see it, basically, as the very reason as to why the Acolyte universe has super powered beings in the first place. That's basically why I referenced events such as the Great Deluge, Paradise Lost and these heroes of renown in the origin story.....because I saw some potential and a good avenue to explain why there are superheroes.
Good observation, though.
New Era Outlaw
05-29-2007, 09:10 AM
Speaking of which, I've got some sketches to put up.
Would've put them up sooner, but my Internet decided to shrivel up and DIE on me. Isn't that the bee's knees?
This update involves some redesigns for some of the characters planned for the comic, as I was either unhappy with how they were depicted originally, or felt that they could use an upgrade. Anyhoo....
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/NewEraOutlaw/MagentaReesign2007.jpg
Remember her?
Magenta's been a character that has spent an eternity in creative limbo, because, to be quite honest, I didn't really know what the F**K to do with her. She started off slated to fill the gap of the 'silent threat' type of villian, but later on, I decided against it, because she looks a tad too innocent to be one. On top of that, Zanmato (the samurai I drew a while back, go back to the previous page to see him) appealed to me as much more of a scheming overlord, so Magenta got ported over to the side of the angels. She is now going to be the Oracle of the Heavens that seeks out those destined to be the Heroes of the Last Apocalypse, and, as such, she needed a costume upgrade to reflect her position. She now has valkyrie like designs all over her costume. Unfortunately, it seems that Crystal would have to teach her how to smile. (I swear to God, this one time, I even rented some 'Mind of Mencia' DVDs for her to watch, and she didn't do as much as chuckle! =( )
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/NewEraOutlaw/NightHawkInked.jpg
What changed about him?
His name. He's now Night Hawk.
Why is he no longer 'Raven'? Because every Tom, Dick and Harry are being called Raven in a bid to be the 'dark and mysterious' character. The name's even pointed out in the 'Mary Sue Litmus Test' as a Mary-Sueish moniker, alongside 'Hunter'. A shame too, because I rather liked that name.
So, I went with Night Hawk instead. I wanted to keep a nocturnal aspect to his character, as the Acolyte whose specialty are nocturnal missions (Yeah, I know what they sound like, but I don't DARE tell him that. The last thing I need is to be royally stabbed by those damn throwing knives right now.) Hawk sounded like the most logical choice of bird to reflect a noble, yet fierce bird of prey (Eagle sounded a bit...dumb.) 'Black Hawk' was also an alternative, and I still might consider it. The racial connoctations of the name is keeping me away, though.
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/NewEraOutlaw/GeargirlAttacks.jpg
Surprised that Geargirl would show up here?
Well....the only thing that has changed is her hair.
I made it a bit longer to more accurately reflect the look of the person she's based on. Other than that, she's the same old Geargirl we all know and love. Dawwww.
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/NewEraOutlaw/Kimiwantstoknowwhy.jpg
Yes, I know, I know.
But you're just going to have to deal with it.
What can I say? Kimi's always been one of my favorite subjects to draw, and probably my main defense against artist's block when I can't think of anything to draw.
Here, I've experimented with details such as hair and clothing blowing in the wind, and how they move against the human body when they do so. Also, worked on some minor cross-hatching work here to give the picture some sense of completeness.
....and now, perhaps I'll get off of my lazy ass and colour some. Maybe.
06-01-2007, 08:28 AM
Keep up the good work NEO as always you have found your style, keep honing your craft.
New Era Outlaw
06-08-2007, 12:00 AM
Will do, cheif! And thanks.
So, anyhoo, a couple more from me.
http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/2376/jennyxj10wallpapersmallys4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Hm. I must be on one of those 'roll' things again.
Anyhoo, about the drawing.
I had the day off today, so, long story short, I'm at home twiddling my thumbs doing -nawthing-. So, I figure..."Why not DRAW something, genius?" After some pondering (and listening to the Marvel vs. Capcom soundtrack), I figured that I would draw Danny Phantom.
.....but, as I picked up the piece of paper to do so, I thought, "Nah......let's tackle something -new- for a change." I then remembered that "Nicktoons Unite!" picture that I did a good while back, and figured that I should give Jenny a shot, seeing as how I've done Danny Phantom twice before and.....well, I don't need to tell you how much pictures I've done of Kimi. So, here goes.
Just like I had given new looks to Kimi and Danny Phantom, I had decided to put my own spin on Jenny's character, giving her a more 'advanced' design. The goal here was to draw something that was an evolution of Jenny's design, but kept things relatively simple at the same time.
Well, this was the result, but I found that, in the end, Jenny looked -way- too advanced to be her original 'XJ-nai-yun" self. And that's when something clicked.
Remember that episode where Dr. Wakeman joked about an XJ-10? Well, I figured that if she ever did get cracking on that, XJ-10's final design would just be -miles- ahead of XJ-9's. Of course, seeing as how XJ-9 was the first successful robot, who's to say that it's not just an upgrade on XJ-9's specifications?
I added some glowing lights to give the impression that XJ-10 is powering up. Her hair's basically derived from the fanon interpretations of her. Also, forgive me for being a Mega Man fan, but I just couldn't finish this off without giving her an arm cannon. There's just too much Mega Man and Jenny has in common to get away with not including one.
Also, this happens to be a wallpaper. Please download it here (http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/57083064/) if you want to see all of the details.
Also....
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/NewEraOutlaw/MayIhavethisdance.jpg
....you know, I figured I'd just tack this on here.
With this picture, I experimented with a lot of things. In particular, I worked to make the hair as flowing and as detailed as I possibly could. Believe it or not, the most troublesome part of this picture was the damn dress. I spent hours trying to come up with the perfect colour....the end result being the very -first- one I thought of, pink. Damn it, I feel like such a jackass for that.
New Era Outlaw
07-30-2007, 01:26 AM
*brushes off cobwebs*
Whoo. Why, hallo there. o_o
If you're wondering where I've been, let's just say that work has been hell in a handbasket as of late. Try putting a billion kids with A.D.D. that has been fed a steady diet of sugar, Fruit Loops and nitrous oxide into a small building and then stick me in there to try to teach them a million things at once, and you've got a recipe for sheer chaos. Thank GOD it ends on Tuesday.
Also, I've been occupied with work on a local board game.
Yup, you heard right....NEO's been working onna board game.
And, after three weeks of hogging the front desk's computer and enduring a lot of nagging customers, employees who want to check their e-mail and lots and lots of caffeine in my bloodstream, the board is finally finished:
http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/5067/miguelstreettheboardgamzy2.th.jpg (http://img411.imageshack.us/my.php?image=miguelstreettheboardgamzy2.jpg)
This board game was done as part of the "One Book, One Community" programme at the library where I work, and I was called upon to be the lead designer for this project, based upon the novel by V.S. Naipaul. The game board you see before you was done completely by me.
Here is some information as to what went on during the making of this game:
- The game board was going to be fairly big, so I drew a rough draft of what it would look like. After showing it to my boss, she told me to change around a few things here and there (such as the location of George's Pink House, which should be more centrally located), and add more characters from the book.
- The game was digitally coloured over a period of 3 weeks, which one page taking about a week or so. The very last page was what gave me some serious horrors, because 1) it didn't scan properly, and 2) I forgot to do the Brightness/Contrast thing before I jumped on colouring it. I'm such a DITZ.
- Towards the later stages of this board's development, I added some more 'hazards', such as missing turns or being sent backwards through the game.
The game is played like a cross between Pictionary/Charades/Snakes and Ladders. Players must guide themselves through Miguel Street, where they will encounter many of the strange (and fascinating) people who live there, such as:
- Man-Man, the madman who later becomes a "prophet";
- Mr. Popo, the carpenter forever working on the 'thing without a name';
- George, the sharp-tongued drunkard;
- Titus Hoyt, the professor;
- Hat, a man of the world who has a comment for every occassion, accompanied by his nephews, Errol and Boyee;
- Bigfoot, the big boxer;
- Laura, the mother of 8.
Along the way, you may run across hazards, such as "Wha De Scene?", which is a charade-like game where your teammate has to guess what you're trying to say, and "Bacchanal!", where you draw and try to get your teammates to guess the correct answer. Be warned....you may need to read the book to get some of them!
*cough* Ugh. What a cheesy thing to say.
So, long story short, that's what I've been working on for the last few weeks.
Also.....
http://img520.imageshack.us/img520/9580/whitemageredonesmallernv6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
A while back, (three years ago, to be precise) I did a fanart piece for "8 Bit Theater" by Brian Clevinger, of White Mage, one of my favorite characters from the strip. At the time, I was pretty proud of it, not just because I had branched out into something new, but because it was remarkably easy to pull off (just how much of a challenge is it to render white?)
Just recently, I came across that same picture, and I figured that, three years later, I could definitely improve on what I had done so long ago. And this is the end result.
Well, until next time, amigos....
!doomtack!
07-30-2007, 12:00 PM
great work on the white mage i must say... down to the detail of each and every grass... you're constantly gettin better... jus wish i had th time to get my drawings back up an running...lol
New Era Outlaw
08-02-2007, 01:31 AM
Have you tried starting a DeviantArt account as yet? That website might be able to help you out by hosting your work. When you do find some free time, that is.
Anyhoo...here to drop something that I'm sure a lot of red-blooded Trinigamers would appreciate:
http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/7489/asukakazamamedwu9.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Hey, what can I say? When you're me, and you have a day off, you've just gotta draw something.
And I meant to draw Asuka Kazama for the looooongest while, let me tell you.
This picture was not only a tribute to one of my favorite video game vixens, but also an experiment in textures. From her cotton shirt right down to her leathery suit. Of course, this meant a whole lot more time, but, for me, it was more or less something I undertook to really go to the next level with regards to the detailing that I put into my work.
I hope you guys like it.
See you around, hombres.....I'm feeling peckish and there's some leftover pizza lying about that's about to be read its last rites.
New Era Outlaw
10-02-2007, 09:39 AM
Wow. It has been a whole two months since I've gotten off of my lethargic ass and actually drew something.
I think that's due for a change, don't you?
http://img485.imageshack.us/img485/6586/maifanartsmallerjx6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Yeah.
Basically, after a two month hiatus from doing anything remotely artistic (I blame work and the hundreds of hyperactive children that feed off of my energy like vampiric midgets), I decided to poke around and experiment a bit. I decided to take Mai, from Avatar for a spin.
She was pretty simple to draw and colour, and I dig the folds.
Still.....for some reason, not too overly proud of this one.
Call me picky, but I tend to hate drawings of mine where the character just stands there. Then again, Mai has always been the stoic, "Meh...whatever." type, hasn't she? :lol:
When next you see me, I should have something a lot more awesome to hand up for the class. Promise....*dodges spitball*
http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/7427/rollxdrawingbz0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
You know, no matter how long it has been since I first drew her, I just can't seem to forget about Roll X, a fan character that I had created 5-odd years ago. In a homage to the ghost of my artistic past, I took a stab at drawing Roll X in the costume I had designed for her back then. Chimpo advised me that such a getup, despite looking good, isn't at all practical in battle. Looking back, I'm pretty much inclined to agree.....cotton isn't going to block much....except for the occassional moth.
Well, that's all I've got....for now, anyway. Hope you like it, all the same.
Sadface
10-02-2007, 05:41 PM
So, I thought I should show you guys some of my artwork.
A few of the pictures are from my upcoming "Acolytes: Heroes of the Last Apocalypse", while some are other pictures that I did.
Check it out, and let me know what you think:
http://img126.imageshack.us/img126/4210/crystalherovk3.jpg
http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/8060/neweraoutlaw0015im.jpg
http://img216.imageshack.us/img216/6974/geargirl9xh.jpg
http://img489.imageshack.us/img489/4483/rollandmeeplm1.jpg
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/NewEraOutlaw/DanceoftheFireflySMALLER.jpg btw drawings best but u makin it a comic "book" or u making a website o yea that pic look like that girl from rugrats
Sadface
10-02-2007, 05:43 PM
oops
New Era Outlaw
10-03-2007, 02:57 AM
1) Yup. I intend to make "Acolytes: Heroes of the Last Apocalypse" a comic. At first, I was planning to make it in an actual paperback format, but, given our local market's skittishness towards locally made comics, I decided that maybe I should test the waters online first.
2)Correct on that second one. Aside from being a comic artist, I'm also a fanartist. That picture is indeed of Kimi, from Rugrats, more specifically, the spin-off, All Grown Up.
Maniac
10-03-2007, 10:01 AM
NEO you rock dude! i can see the improvement in your work, good job man! keep it up!
i recently started back drawing and i dont intend on stopping this time (thanks to the Claymore anime + manga) and your drawings have also inspired me to keep going, ill post up some stuff some time, black n white though, im too lazy to color with a mouse :D
New Era Outlaw
10-18-2007, 09:31 AM
Thanks!
Anyhoo, just thought I'd pop by with some more of them thar pik-chars.
http://img263.imageshack.us/img263/2167/notacareintheworldsmallcy4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Ah, yes. It's finally done.
As some of you may have already known, I'm currently working on a new Halloween-themed picture right now. Since September, as a matter of fact.
However, I've run into a creative block with that one, and I've decided to bide my time. In biding my time, I ran across one of the sketches that I did a few months ago. I got some good feedback on that one, so I decided to give it the treatment that it deserves and colour it. Go me. :P
So, here we have Roll and her Metool sidekick, the Incredible Meep, frolicking in a grassy meadow after picking some flowers, without a care in the world. Well, aside from the fact that her brother's out there risking his neck to save the world, that is. Right now, I'm hoping that bouquet of flowers she just tossed isn't the exploding kind-
O_o
HIT THE DECK!
*boom*
Anyway, I hope you guys like it.
http://img514.imageshack.us/img514/4076/rollxarmorga3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
A concept drawing of Roll X with a more conventional armor set.
http://img514.imageshack.us/img514/8352/maiscrapdrawing1tf7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
This is a concept sketch of Mai, from Avatar: The Last Airbender, done shortly after all of the positive responses that I got for my first crack at her. This one's not even past the erasing stage, though, and the lineart hasn't yet been refined.
Still, I liked how this turned out.
Also....
http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/7682/shardou3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img514.imageshack.us/img514/7663/technobratjf6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
New Era Outlaw
11-21-2007, 09:37 AM
http://img20.imageshack.us/img20/3511/nighthawkinkedcq7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
A concept sketch of Night Hawk on patrol in London. Looks like he ran into some trouble downtown, but, as can be expected, common crooks are stereotypically terrible shots in the comic book world. You know the drill.
Not much has changed about his design, but I made a few tweaks. The cybernetics on his wings have been neatened up to allow for a better sense of visual functionality, and there are now blade launchers on his gloves, which allow for sharp blades to fly out at the press of a button as a surprise attack when on the defensive.
Colour version (and his bio) coming soon!
New Era Outlaw
11-28-2007, 09:08 AM
i love bees
http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/434/ilovebeespa8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
...don't you? :wink:
New Era Outlaw
02-01-2008, 02:01 AM
Well, well.
First of all, Happy Holidays and a belated New Year's to all.
I know....it's been a while since I've been here.
But, I'm back, and with a nugget of goodness.
http://img110.imageshack.us/img110/2509/angelgirl2008bwwp6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Here's a sketch of a character that I haven't drawn in four YEARS. FOUR YEARS. That's a heck of a long time.
Anyway, this is Angelgirl.
The brainchild of a girl I knew, used with permission, of course.
Her original concept for her character was that Angelgirl was capable of wielding magic spells and armed with a bow and arrow. I gave the character a tweak and made her abilities more 'elemental'- as you can see here, she still has the bow and arrow, but she's fashioning it out of lightning.
So....you might want to avoid getting hit by an arrow. Just saying.
Angelgirl Concept by Alexis Lynell Brown,
Artwork and Design by Ryan Joseph Rodriguez.
New Era Outlaw
03-25-2008, 09:22 AM
A taste of things to come...
http://img37.picoodle.com/img/img37/4/3/25/f_BlueBomberSm_bffeb34.jpg (http://www.picoodle.com/view.php?img=/4/3/25/f_BlueBomberSm_bffeb34.jpg&srv=img37)
whiplash
04-10-2008, 04:43 PM
Ill see them saturday. Why Roll have a broom?
New Era Outlaw
04-11-2008, 02:41 PM
Ill see them saturday. Why Roll have a broom?
She gains one (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roll_%28Mega_Man%29#Roll) as a weapon in Mega Man: Powered Up. Too bad Capcom didn't think of that sooner instead of making her a Mega Man clone....
Update: The coloured version!
http://img30.picoodle.com/img/img30/4/4/13/f_BlueBomberSm_5885dab.jpg (http://www.picoodle.com/view.php?img=/4/4/13/f_BlueBomberSm_5885dab.jpg&srv=img30)
New Era Outlaw
06-21-2008, 03:16 AM
http://img292.imageshack.us/img292/1702/kimimechalineartxq0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Some lineart I whipped up, just for the fun of it.
As you can tell from the concept, this piece was inspired by the far out designs of Gundam Wing. I'll try to colour this one sooner or later....though the details do seem a bit daunting. Ah, well. Enjoy, regardless.
am totally impressed ;) good stuff d00d...how bout doin some tekken fan art plllz
perhaps kazuya,lingy,devil jin or asuka?
New Era Outlaw
07-09-2008, 12:13 PM
Thanks.
Actually, I did do this one fanart piece of Asuka Kazama last year. Oddly enough, it doesn't seem like I've ever posted it on here.
Anyway, here you go:
http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/3496/justbringitasukakazamabft3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
You can find the original here:
http://neweraoutlaw.deviantart.com/art/Just-bring-it-Asuka-Kazama-61213498
(Click on 'Download' to the left of the image (or just click on the picture itself) for the full-sized image. Warning, it's rather huge.)
New Era Outlaw
08-18-2008, 01:41 AM
Why, hullo.
It's me again.
In case you didn't already know, I draw stuff. I draw a lot of....THINGS. Y'know. JUST IN CASE YOU FORGOT HAR HAR HAR-
http://img32.picoodle.com/data/img32/3/8/17/f_xj10attacksm_7afabb7.jpg (http://www.picoodle.com/view.php?img=/3/8/17/f_xj10attacksm_7afabb7.jpg&srv=img32)
This one was done for 14-bis' Art Jam on DeviantArt.
Some of you may recognise my re-design of Jenny from an earlier piece from only God knows when. In a rare show of consistency, I took that same design and placed her in a more 'active' scenario.
Yeah, I know. She does resemble Mega Man, doesn't she?
http://img29.picoodle.com/data/img29/3/8/17/f_MoyChanSTAGm_996e828.jpg (http://www.picoodle.com/view.php?img=/3/8/17/f_MoyChanSTAGm_996e828.jpg&srv=img29)
So, I was bored. And when I'm bored, I draw.
At the time, I was also frustrated as hell, too, what with my place of work having a summer camp with about 50 kids and NO room to breathe. So, I took my pencil, and a piece of paper, and I drew Crystal as best as I could. The kids went nuts over it, amazed that 'Sir could draw!'
When I went home, I coloured it over, correcting a couple of mistakes here and there. Took me a while, but here it is.
For those of you in the dark about who this character is, she is going to be one of the main characters in 'Countdown to Ragna Rock' (NO THERE WILL BE NO VIKINGS STOP ASKING ME THAT DAMMIT!!!), hailing from China (well, actually.....they'll find her in Tibet.....GOD MY BRAIN HURTS NOW.)
http://img29.picoodle.com/data/img29/3/8/17/f_Vulturus200m_466698b.jpg (http://www.picoodle.com/view.php?img=/3/8/17/f_Vulturus200m_466698b.jpg&srv=img29)
So. Some of you might remember that I was working on a vulture-man character. After some pondering (as well as some critiquing from Kerry-Berry-Banana-Fana-Fo-Ferry), I did over his design. Gone is the overly feathery cowl, replaced with a more vulture-ish one (that emotes, too!) Also gone is the coattails that used to hang from under his cape....I decided that it wasn't going to fly with his costume. I also changed his name to 'Vulturus', as 'Vulturo' was already taken.
Still have to colour this one. Only God knows when.
http://img29.picoodle.com/data/img29/3/8/17/f_Anarchy2008m_52e7060.jpg (http://www.picoodle.com/view.php?img=/3/8/17/f_Anarchy2008m_52e7060.jpg&srv=img29)
Ah, Anarchy.
You mischevous, chaotic ball of fire, you.
Everyone's favorite anarchist rocker is back, complete with a more 'spidery' theme to her chains, as well as an apparent lack of lipstick (she looks better without it, in my opinion.) And is that.....OMG. FINGERNAILS?! :fanboy:
I'd have to say that my favorite villian to draw to date would have to be Anarchy. She's so much fun.
Well, that's it.
Don't forget to tip the doorman on your way out. OR ELSE.
Malice
08-18-2008, 02:08 PM
the guitar chick roxxorz my boxxorz. Man they're all amazing vgfj
08-18-2008, 02:20 PM
Yeah I probably mentioned it already in the thread, he is very talented. While I may not post about it all the time, I look fwd to his next release.
dude u draw these stuff freehand???...freaking awesome
New Era Outlaw
08-18-2008, 03:39 PM
dude u draw these stuff freehand???...freaking awesome
Yes indeedy. The last three I drew while I was sentenced to mind the impish minions of the devi-(AHEM) I mean, at the library's summer camp for the kids.
I then went home, did my magic on Photoshop, and voila. Art.
And thanks, by the way.
Malice
08-18-2008, 04:03 PM
i guess i can challenge you to draw something. I mean artists are always in search of inspiration and challenge, so if i challenge you to draw you'd probably accept right? If you could lina inverse and crystal maiden fanart? =O
08-18-2008, 04:09 PM
malice just want to see boobies!
DRAW A ZERATUL :D
New Era Outlaw
08-18-2008, 06:08 PM
i guess i can challenge you to draw something. I mean artists are always in search of inspiration and challenge, so if i challenge you to draw you'd probably accept right? If you could lina inverse and crystal maiden fanart? =O
I don't really do requests, sorry. =(
08-18-2008, 06:23 PM
lol @ malice get blank
New Era Outlaw
08-18-2008, 06:28 PM
lol @ malice get blank
TL;DR Response:
It's not really a blank. I don't really indulge in doing requests because I know for a fact that I wouldn't dedicate myself to it as much as I do with the regular art that I draw. Unless it's something I know I can really, really get into, any art I try to draw that I don't feel that spark of creativity for would come out rather sub-par.
Abridged Response:
I'm one seriously lazy bastard.
New Era Outlaw
08-19-2008, 01:20 PM
Look kids!
I do banners, too!
http://img238.imageshack.us/img238/8606/bannerinprogressfy9.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
This was done for the San Juan Public Library. Independence Day is coming up, so they asked me to whip up a banner for the event. I used some stock photos of the Trinidadian flag, hibiscus and the Coat of Arms, as well as some tricks I learned from the Good Tutorials website.
Didn't take me long, really. Must've been about what....30 minutes, tops?
08-19-2008, 10:14 PM
so bright.....my retinas are burnt ahhh.
neo, am impressed, really impressed with ur drawings. i'll check u out on DeviantArt. its to bad u don't do request, but i understand why. nice work.
New Era Outlaw
08-25-2008, 11:54 AM
Well, much obliged, Dn2. Feel free to check me ou on DA anytime.
As for the requests, it's true that, for the time being, I'm not accepting them. However, when the time rolls around for my comic to appear, don't be surprised if I open myself up a bit more...
New Era Outlaw
08-27-2008, 08:27 AM
Hooooooooowdy hoooooooo.
http://img378.imageshack.us/img378/9397/outlawdstudiosgifpp3.gif (http://imageshack.us)
I was bored out of my mind yesterday, so I decided to do some work for my website and design a logo for Outlaw'd Studios. Everything here's done from scratch....from the texture of the Studios sign to the little bullet holes punched through it. I was trying to emulate one of those old wooden signs you'd see hung from the rafters of shops in westerns. Of course, I wanted to make the logo something that caught your eye, as well, hence why OUTLAW'D is done in some 'riding off into the sunset' type colours.
I might tone this down a tad eventually (on a friend's advice), but, until then, enjoy.
08-27-2008, 09:04 AM
umm i need a favor. In school there is a party that my organization throws after midterm every semester and the theme is different every term. The event is called sandblast and well the theme this term is Halloween (some white girl pick it ). Can u make a pic for me with the word Sandblast under a halloween theme :P ?? If u lived here i woulda get yuh free tickets to come but since we are fellow trini gamers *cough cough* :p...
!doomtack!
08-27-2008, 09:38 AM
NEO, well done as usual. However, i don't think u need to tone down those colours.
Alot of modern design utilize brighter colors as opposed to the bland look of contemporary design...
in other words, i like it.
Keep up the good work.
(BTW. Metalica's "Outlaw Thorn" might be ah good theme song... lol)
New Era Outlaw
08-28-2008, 11:48 AM
Thanks, doomtack. To be honest, I think I might leave it as is. I'm pretty proud of it. Now, all I have to do is re-install Dreamweaver and I'm ready.
umm i need a favor. In school there is a party that my organization throws after midterm every semester and the theme is different every term. The event is called sandblast and well the theme this term is Halloween (some white girl pick it ). Can u make a pic for me with the word Sandblast under a halloween theme :P ?? If u lived here i woulda get yuh free tickets to come but since we are fellow trini gamers *cough cough* :p...
I'd do it, but I'd have to charge you for the job. If you're serious about this, send me a PM and I'll tell you what my rate for this is.
08-28-2008, 04:28 PM
well if that go smaller u go have a problem the black on brown hard to read.
08-28-2008, 10:23 PM
lol ok nvm then i figured u go charge but it was worth a shot :p.
New Era Outlaw
08-30-2008, 06:27 PM
Well, if you change your mind about it, let me know. I'd love the practice.
http://img378.imageshack.us/img378/2438/charmodelwarlordzanmatokb1.jpg (http://neweraoutlaw.deviantart.com/art/Char-Model-Warlord-Zanmato-96512923)
So....had some free time today, and I decided to colour this old sketch I had of this character.
Warlord Zanmato is going to be the main antagonist of the comic's storyline. He believes firmly that only those who are worthy to be gifted with incredible power are the only ones worthy to inherit the Earth, and he seeks to be lord over such people. A shrewd manipulator (and a bit of a ham), Zanmato plays this deadly game with both his minions and the Acolytes as his pawns. He tends to approach many situations with a calm demeanour, only to berate his followers if (or when) failure occurs.
Warlord Zanmato is a gifted swordsman, and when you combine that with his own innate ability to create personal shields that deflect damage on his person (albeit at the cost of some of his own life energy), and you have a warrior that can (at times) be literally untouchable in combat. It is these qualities that make this warlord a truly deadly nemesis.
I had some trouble coming up with a suitable colour scheme for Zan-Zan-Bana-Fana-Fo-Fan, to be honest, until a mentor of mine suggested that I use purple and red for him. I think it's appropriate, really....purple shows off an air of nobility and regality (despite Warlord Zanmato not being the least bit noble) and red is a classic villain colour. It was a lot brighter than this before, so I toned down the colours a bit. I hope you guys like it.
New Era Outlaw
09-25-2008, 08:51 AM
http://img223.imageshack.us/img223/7566/rollx2008yr0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
So, last night I was in somewhat of a bad mood, so I decided to take it out on canvas.
I figured that Roll X, an old fan character I did up way back in 2002, wasn't getting enough love from me, so I drew her up. On Chimpo's advice, I made her armor a lot more practical this time around, instead of being a fashion plate.
And, just so you wouldn't get alienated from what Roll usually looks like, I made her costume predominantly red and white, and kept her trademark hair ribbon.
For those of you in the dark who Roll X is, no, she's not the watch, she's supposed to be a version of Roll for the X series as a companion model to Mega Man X.
NEO's Jukebox: (a.k.a. the songs that guided me throughout this piece)
- Alia & Gate (Mega Man X6 OST)
- Papa Don't Preach (Madonna)
Roll © Keiji Inafune and CAPCOM.
09-25-2008, 08:32 PM
The first one is cool . I like just about everything about it . The only thing i have to say is that he looks like a mixture of Reiko from MK4 and digimon LOL. But thats not necessarily a bad thing just saying it reminds me lol. Let me know if u get netime to help me with the thing. GJ!
New Era Outlaw
09-25-2008, 09:55 PM
Hey, now that you mention it, he does, doesn't he? :P
Somebody else told me that those markings make him resemble Sigma (from Mega Man X). I guess it's a matter of perception, yessss.
kriminal_kl
09-26-2008, 02:06 PM
hardcore pic hoss....mussss make time to do some art!!!!!!!!!!!
New Era Outlaw
10-01-2008, 08:15 PM
Wow. This is too awesome.
http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/7052/crystalbyanimagetaliev1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
All the credit goes towards this girl (http://animagetali.deviantart.com) for making this Crystal doll a reality. She had to crop some of the details out to make room for it on the doll, but damn, she did a fine job.
Thanks a lot, Taly! =)
New Era Outlaw
10-13-2008, 06:52 PM
To show my appreciation towards my fans on Deviantart, here's something I did to celebrate 25,000 pageviews.
http://img378.imageshack.us/img378/8159/thanksfor25000ck3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
....Beat's one baaaad mama jamma.
New Era Outlaw
10-20-2008, 06:03 PM
http://img361.imageshack.us/img361/3316/crystalbirthdaycardwipfnc1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/8427/crystalbirthdaycardinsiza9.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
A design for a birthday card featuring Crystal.
It's going to be bundled up with the doll featured earlier in this thread, held in the doll's tiny hands. Awwwww.
neo that card a ninjaing that
a doh care!
New Era Outlaw
10-21-2008, 11:01 AM
a doh care!
You really like it, eh? Well, feel free to use it, my friend. Just be sure to let 'em know who did it.
You know....I think I just might do more of these.
It was actually pretty fun doing this card.
!doomtack!
10-21-2008, 12:11 PM
NEO... that was hands down, excellent. I like it, and i might actually consider buying one if u do put them into production... Kudos man, keep up the good work.
You really like it, eh? Well, feel free to use it, my friend. Just be sure to let 'em know who did it.
You know....I think I just might do more of these.
It was actually pretty fun doing this card.
PLOI
NEO FOR THE HALLMARK
Pacmania
10-21-2008, 02:11 PM
a doh care!
i always knew bill's real name is Crystal!!
PFFT
notting paint cant edit out!
New Era Outlaw
10-22-2008, 09:59 AM
NEO... that was hands down, excellent. I like it, and i might actually consider buying one if u do put them into production...
Thanks. Some people suggested that I do up one for Christmas. I'll have a ball with that one, yesss.
PFFT
notting paint cant edit out!
Paint? Paint?
You dare defile my....sophisticated work of ART....with......*shudder* pAiNt?
I AM SO MISUNDERSTOOD. OH WOE IS ME.
wada hoss i sorry but paint is what i have!
i could make kaizen look thin with paint.
Bill you really have to upgrade to Paint.NET at least. It free and you know what that means!
New Era Outlaw
12-12-2008, 12:02 AM
http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/5712/neweraoutlawsayswussapxf0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
After an entire year of slacking off, the last picture in the set consisting of Commander Blaze, Geargirl, Crystal and yours truly is finally done. And all it took was me getting sick to do it. Feh. :P
So, a bit about this handsome devil.
The New Era Outlaw was a character that I had envisioned for quite some time now, but could never quite pull off.
The first few cracks I had at him ended in complete and utter FAILURE, for two very good reasons.
1) He wasn't a cowboy.
2) He didn't even have guns, or believed in them.
...when that went over as well as a lead balloon with my test audience, I revamped him until he is what stands before you now....a smirking smartass gunslinger with an attitude and an ego the size of Texas.
Codename: The New Era Outlaw
Country of Origin: Texas, U.S.A.
Team: Acolytes (Combatant)
Notable Powers/Abilities: Fires concussive blasts of light from his guns. Power, rate of fire and accuracy all depend on the type of weapon used to channel energy. Capable of absorbing light from external sources, mainly the sun. Also capable of channeling energy in small, yet powerful bursts through the soles of his feet to gain a small boost in land speed (but GOD ALMIGHTY, does it wreak havoc on your SHOES!)
BIO:
The wise-cracking cowboy of the gang, there isn't anything that the New Era Outlaw doesn't have a response for. Be it a cheesy one-liner or several blasts fired from his guns (or sometimes both), he always seems to be one step ahead of everybody he's up against.
...or so he would think. "Look before you leap" might be the motto of his fellow superheroes, but definitely not the New Era Outlaw, who'd have probably flung himself head first into some crazy situation, guns blazing all the way. Needless to say, it has gotten him into a lot of dangerous situations WAY over his head, and has caused his well meaning (and yet so frustrated) commander his fair share of headaches, especially when you consider the fact that the two often bump heads on how things should be done. And, more often than not, NEO's solution would be to shoot everything.
Of course, this doesn't mean that NEO is without compassion or a moral compass. He values life and vows to live each day to the fullest, especially in light of the tragedy that marred his life a good while ago. Despite his gung-ho attitude, he refuses to outright kill anybody (letting them wallow in humiliating defeat while he gloats over them is another story.)
Despite his wild nature, he has a soft spot for his fellow team-mate and partner, Crystal, and is more open towards her than his fellow compatriots. Commander Blaze is often wary as to how NEO's behaviour would rub off on the highly-impressionable Crystal, but, given their performance as a team, he wouldn't have it any other way.
COSTUME:
Designed by Geargirl and Crystal, New Era Outlaw's costume emphasizes a classic cowboy look with a modern twist. His duster (jacket) conceals a finely woven mesh armor that can trap bullets and other objects. The yellow portions of his costume allow NEO to absorb and occassionally diffuse solar energy as his discretion, without excess build-up. In dark, shadowy areas, these portions can also glow in the dark.
Ironically, New Era Outlaw's eyes are sensitive towards light, and must wear tinted glasses to shield his eyes.
PERSONALITY
Optimistic and outgoing is probably the best way to describe the New Era Outlaw....when he's not being an egotistical jackass, that is. He generally gets along well with his fellow Acolytes, always ready with a joke or random bit of nonsense to keep their spirits up on the battlefield. However, he can also be a bit annoying with his remarks (as Crystal and a random frying pan can tell you.)
Once he mellows out, however, he can be a very cool and receptive individual that's a genuine pleasure to have around. He is also genuinely concerned about his friends, seeing them as the family he's never had, and will go that extra mile for them. With that said, he is exceptionally fond of Crystal, whose kindness inspired him to join the team to begin with.
QUOTES:
"Not that it'd do you any good, but once I aim these babies, I reckon you oughta run."
"I reckon so./I reckon not." (He says this a lot.)
"Who am I? I'm the New Era Outlaw. What is this, you ask? It's my shotgun aimed directly at your face. Any other questions?"
"Be quick or be history. It's as simple as that."
12-12-2008, 12:17 AM
Well thought out character. Nice bio as well. I look forward to reading about his adventures with said team mates.
New Era Outlaw
12-26-2008, 09:36 AM
Just fooling around here.
http://img392.imageshack.us/img392/7828/abominationgestaltvm7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/6652/abominationgestaltsidevxj3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
In no particular order:
Right Leg - Avaricia, Dark Acolyte of Greed
Left Leg - Shard, Dark Acolyte of Vanity
Right Arm - Berserkus, Dark Acolyte of Gluttony
Left Arm - Scorn, Dark Acolyte of Wrath
Shoulders, Upper Back and Right Wing - Talon, Dark Acolyte of Apathy
Left Wing, Lower Torso and Tail - Lillith, Dark Acolyte of Seduction
Upper Torso and Head - Infernus, Dark Acolyte of Jealousy
...yeah. :\
EDIT: Ignore the 'www' on his left wing. I scribbled that there when I was trying to get somebody's website address down quickly.
http://img244.imageshack.us/img244/4365/nemesisdrawingad0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
If I ever get my comic made into a cartoon, I want Jim Cummings to voice this guy.
vBulletin® v3.7.0, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.