View Full Version : Modding PC Case
02-25-2007, 06:25 PM
My typhoon is pretty close to the side panel of my case. It's probably hampering air flow so what I would like to do is cut a 120mm hole there and drop a grill on it to increase airflow.
Where can I get this done? And at what cost?
This is what the side looks like..
http://soldier.trinigamers.com/pc...JPG
02-26-2007, 12:06 AM
simple DIY!!!
all u need is ah power drill and check ah man for some hole saw kits
i would lend u mines but u ah man that not easy to reach :P
02-26-2007, 02:33 AM
i did a similar proj on my current case... the hardest part was drilling the plexi so it wont crack... and i didnt really have proffesional bits for the drilling... i used some old wood bits.. :D
02-26-2007, 08:34 AM
So phoenix cud do it for me? :D
02-26-2007, 01:22 PM
while working on mine 1 of the holes did crack :o so i eh perfect... wouldnt want to crack ur plexi... i coulda cover up mine cuz the whole case wasnt plexi...
02-26-2007, 03:41 PM
Lord soldier u cheap
>_<
Anyways; cutting/drilling plexi not not nice or easy so I advise you find someplace that specialize in them thing such as a custom window/mirror shop. There is one in Marabella around the Police Station. I suggest you perforate the area of the plexi that covers the fan so the you would have to worry about get a grill or cutting a big hole. If you want to do it yourself, I suggest u use a drill press and not a normal drill.
02-26-2007, 03:58 PM
Hmm. That perforation sounds like the best best. How much will all this cost me? :o
02-26-2007, 04:23 PM
I you want to do it urself, i suggest u use a drill press and not a normal rill.
ent cyah use a normal drill at all... i used a press and still get a crack...
but the grill will look cool doh imo
xecutive_mc
02-26-2007, 05:28 PM
Sold take ecktt advice and go by professionals....my advice - a car shop where they does do customizing could handle that for u, for example, car craft. Only disadvantage, might cost a bit. Dunno how much for sure...srry
02-26-2007, 05:45 PM
buy me some dremel discs and i do it for no other cost :) and i think i need a new #402 mandrel
02-26-2007, 09:17 PM
nah the secret on drilling acrylic go slow real slow,
first drill small pilot hole(s), if u force it upon ah big hole first it WILL crack
second u have to work on both sides, some how the surface is the what will kink and cause it to crack
i drilled so many holes on plexi and never had a crack. take these advice and it will come out well
and let andro give u a hand in cutting. it with a dremel, case modding is not as fun when u send it to some guy and coughing big cash to cut holes.
u learn how and what not to do, that is what modding is about. time to be a true modder
uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh....
opi sound like he break in quite a few virgins in he days oui
02-26-2007, 09:52 PM
Ha ha. If i had an old pc lying around to experiment on, sure :D
But this d only pc i have man. if i fork it up :(