View Full Version : Linux can Game!

02-24-2007, 01:44 AM
Well i had a little sweat carnival weekend. Everyone came across with their PCs setup began gaming. The usually AV firing off took place as a few men PC was loaded with crap. One man stood out in the dance. He was running Linux. He started to laugh @ the rest of the men. Why? He was more or less immune. Not only that, he was able brows everyone PC without any bothersome windows protection getting in his way. As a matter of fact most of the game we played had a Linux port (Q3, Q4, Unreal 2k4....). The few games that that didn't were handled by Cedaga (Windows DX emulation) pretty well. He ended up hosting most of the games! This was a cool experience for me and show that Linux has evolved to a viable choice for gamers. The only problem he had was ATi. He had to replace his X800GTO with a NV7600GS because ATi drivers were a big problem for Linux.
All you Windows XP pirates might want to consider giving Linux a chance (unless you have an ATi card).

02-24-2007, 08:52 AM
well everyone has different experiences with graphics on linux. While i agree that Linux is capable of gaming today, I have had nothing but bad luck with my 7800gt and drivers. To date, i have never had a single Linux distro install in GUI mode on the PC with the nvidia card. Even after installing in text mode and downloading updates packages (yes in text mode) i got X to run properly, but i keep getting opengl errors when i run games.

An older system with an x800pro AGP card installed the OS using the gui mode without any problems on 3 of the 4 distros i used on the system so far. Only OpenSuse caused installation presha so far on this pc, but after updates, it ran games well using opengl.

I wouldnt mind finding out what which flavour of linux this guy was using cos i lookin for one that plays nice with my 7800gt for a while now :). Do u remember offhand ecktt?

02-24-2007, 08:58 AM
He was using Ubuntu but now uses a distro built on that has Berly for the XGL by default. He's a pretty decently Linux guy. The next release of Ubuntu will have a package he built installed by default.

02-24-2007, 12:08 PM
you can check out the ubuntu- it works well for gaming even on the ps3! along with yellow dog

whatever you do do NOT use fedora 5....not good for the gaming aspect at all

02-24-2007, 12:21 PM
i have been playing with suse for a long long while now and i love it.

though i run it on my laptop with a x700 ati chip, i pushes all the games that a x700 does push easy. played UT2004 on it too. all i have to say is that it was ORN.

btw i tried wine and its one of de biggest head aches ever. i will invest into transgaming soon maybe for de summer

and i forget to say ATI actually has better drivers than nvidia, cause mines kicked ass

02-24-2007, 12:29 PM
and i forget to say ATI actually has better drivers than nvidia, cause mines kicked ass

>_<
Yuh know the ironic thing, this man was die hard ATi up until he get serious with XGl. I suppose the L in Linux is for Luck. Going to re-install Fedora 6 as soon as i finish instal meh "RC2" of vista.

02-24-2007, 09:04 PM
lol @ FC 6 ecktt... das one of the distros i tried on my 7800gt. install in textmode ftw! then rpm -uvh rpm.livna.org ftw!!!

see what fixes u could get there to get startx to not freeze when u try to load faulty nvidia drivers.

02-24-2007, 09:13 PM
Actually i going with Berry (http://yui.mine.nu/berry/) which based on Fedroa 6.

02-24-2007, 10:49 PM
weak x !!!!!

saX2 FTW!!!!

02-26-2007, 09:23 AM
for some of you guys new to the linux scenes n jus came across the the word 'ubuntu'. jus a little FYI you can order it free from their site. about 3months ago i ordered 10cds (various versions 32,64,server etc.) n in a couple of weeks it reached home. nice simple packaging n no shipping costs either.

ubuntu also allows you to run it as a 'live cd' so you can evaluate it before.

02-26-2007, 09:25 PM
lol we not noobs, i live on ubuntu for weeks and switched to kubuntu and went back to suse.

btw ubuntu is better at getting the video drivers up and GUNNING, but u need to get the correct script though, because X sets up the setting wrong thus when u run glxgears it wont load, cause of issues with opengl

02-26-2007, 09:36 PM
lol doobs... for u to post something like that in a thread containing this level of discussion, it seems you are the weakest link :(

02-26-2007, 11:48 PM
but wasnt ubuntu been discussed??

doobs u are known to be the weakest link, and plz if u dont use linux and have no input about the use for it, DONT STEP IN THIS FIGHT IS FOR DE HEAVY WEIGHTS

02-27-2007, 09:29 AM
lawdd i can't believe i have to defend my post..but i will.

my post clearly stated

"for some of you guys new to the linux scenes"

so obviously if u r not in that category then the post was NOT meant for you.
the post obviously catered to ppl who were not in your 'level of discussions' as you put it.

also don't assume anything about me...
i never claimed to be a nix gosu i was just sharing a bit of info from my experiences for the betterment of the other trinigamers out there. Don't be so quick to bash someone. I may be the weakest link but I i'm not the one looking like a fool here.

Peace...:p

02-27-2007, 10:01 AM
actually to a new users of nix u wont recommend ubuntu, though it easy to install, its hard to manage.

i recommend moving to susie, or dora

yes dey more advance but more user friendly