View Full Version : Blue Screen of Death

02-16-2007, 12:24 AM
Sometimes [ Rarely ], my PC crashes and I get the BSOD. I get the following error:

DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

Doing some reading I've come across the fact that this can be caused by bad memory, bad drivers or overheating...

Maybe I can get some tips?

02-16-2007, 01:48 AM
first tell me what is the last ting u installed,

then u can find your solution there

02-16-2007, 02:01 AM
Hardware wise, a stick of RAM..

Software wise, firewall..

02-16-2007, 03:10 AM
looks like de ram is de main cause, take out all de ram and install de last stick of ram u installed and run memtest, to check the ram. errors on the ram will give u BSOD.

if then check the other ram just to make sure.
btw how long u have that ram installed?

i hope dey are de same type of ram too, mismatched paird does cause major errors sometimes

02-16-2007, 04:07 AM
They be same type. got the second one at christmas.. err ram prime on two of them together and passed :confused:

02-16-2007, 07:41 AM
Sound like an NVidia motherboard driver issue.

02-16-2007, 08:09 AM
u need to run memtest86 to detect memory errors also super pi 32Mdoes a good job. Prime is more for CPU stressing.

Of course, I thinking like ecktt again (heaven forbid) and gonna say user..... i mean driver problem.

02-16-2007, 08:17 AM
hmmmm....skunga could be right but a blue screen is a very funny thing....normally it is predictable and other times it jus happens randomly

the question is when does it happen?

Is it randomly as in by jus using any normal app or after a certain period of time the pc is left on?

Is it during a game?

the last blue screen i got was a memory problem which is the case most of the times...normally when u see hex in the code then the pc was trying to access a portion of memory that was corrupted..u see "beginnin memory dump" or something like that...sometimes u see the name of the driver.

If u have another pc u can do rel trouble shooting in terms of hardware...gg gl...but see if u can find any patterns

02-16-2007, 10:04 AM
yes @ bsod's does be mostly error problems... or related to (i saw 1ce a hard drive was bad and when it was trying to get stuff from the page file it get bsod...)...

i doubt is the mobo driver as he said the only new things were fw and mem... as opi said take out the old ram leave the new one in and memtest x86+ it...

and well as 7 said when does it happen.. if it happens randomely then is mostly likely the ram...

02-16-2007, 11:48 AM
Why soldier PC always have the aids so?

02-16-2007, 12:31 PM
It happens randomly; rarely..I'll get the memtest86 [ I have the super PI ], run the tests and get back to you all.

02-16-2007, 01:02 PM
mofo! guess when man like me go get dat same error nuh....sigh

and d ting is i never see da error before!!

SOLDIER SPREADIN D VIRUUSS

02-16-2007, 01:53 PM
hmm..soldier gave xec the 'virus'. interesting.

on a side note, monitor your temps, and invest in some aftermarket cooling

02-16-2007, 02:14 PM
i told him to use protection :(

02-16-2007, 02:36 PM
but xec u supposed to ensure that men doh plug dey thumbdrive in ur usb port just so man

02-17-2007, 04:20 PM
I ran memtest for about 1 hr and a little more and no errors.. Is that cool? Or should I do it for longer?

02-17-2007, 05:21 PM
well since u gettin the error so rarely you should run it for more than an hour... leave it runnin when u go to work or sumtin....
let it heat up and thing... get a full workout

02-17-2007, 08:32 PM
i say
Format c: /u /fs:ntfs
ftw

02-17-2007, 11:32 PM
me too? it only happened once to me but still...

02-18-2007, 01:14 AM
sold when was the last time u had a reinstall?

02-18-2007, 07:23 AM
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/916595

Looks familiar?

02-18-2007, 09:49 AM
Reinstalled windows recently.. Within a 2 months..

02-18-2007, 10:39 AM
But is the update installed?

02-18-2007, 03:43 PM
That release date is June 2006... I installed the latest version of auto patcher.. The update should be there..

02-18-2007, 09:19 PM
gosh man soldier check for it in add/remove programs...

02-21-2007, 01:06 PM
I saw Solider PC in action. There were little hiccups in it but nothing to write home about. I still say proper Format C: though the PC is in a livable state for the average user.

BTW Soldier I don't recommended you run Q4 @ 1200 * 1024 @ 16X AA on a 6600GT.
>_<