View Full Version : Anti-aids gel trials halted
This caused quite a stir when trials were announced in 2005. Unfortunately for the women used to test the product, it went horribly wrong.
The World Health Organization said the drug, which uses a microbicidal gel, did not help the women and made them more vulnerable. The tests were carried out on more than 1,300 women in South Africa, Benin, Uganda and India.
The WHO and the United Nations Aids agency said it was not clear why the product did not work.The International Aids Society said it was extremely disappointed at the setback, but that lessons would be learnt.
[ source : http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/africa/6319787.stm ]
Mr Shooter
02-02-2007, 09:22 PM
So why did they attenpt human trials before knowing if it works? Look at the places that it was tested, doh get me wrong i've lost friends yo HIV/AIDS and it aint no way to go but u testing this thing out on ppl and u doh know if it works only to discover that it don't. Now i'm wondering how many ppl died in the search for a cure or relief for HIV/AIDS sufferers..............
02-02-2007, 10:02 PM
hiv is a disease that any treatment can only be tested in humans, as hiv targets human immune systems...it isnt like bacteria that can be harvested, isolated and killed
02-03-2007, 08:43 AM
So why did they attenpt human trials before knowing if it works? Look at the places that it was tested, doh get me wrong i've lost friends yo HIV/AIDS and it aint no way to go but u testing this thing out on ppl and u doh know if it works only to discover that it don't. Now i'm wondering how many ppl died in the search for a cure or relief for HIV/AIDS sufferers..............
Some always need to suffer for the good of the population.
HIV is probably one of the most 'perfect' viruses you'll ever see, in the way it attacks the immune system.
(Basically it knocks out your security system, disconnects your phones and leaves u there high and dry exposed).
This is the same trail wrt the HIV vaccine that they supposed to release the results of in 2008?
02-03-2007, 09:42 AM
no dinesh this is a next one..this is a gel, like a spermicide gell but for HIV. the vaccine is a shot that you take. i heard that its not going too well either, with the initial set i think it gave someone HIV immediately
02-03-2007, 10:03 AM
Yea well that's what a vaccine usually is :) An attenuated form of the virus/bacterium.
From what I've been reading/hearing on the news the Vaccine that they're testing has had positive results, not really to innoculate AGAINST the infection, but more to reduce the risk of infection when exposed...One step at a time I supposed.
Then again you need to appreciate how difficult it is to make a Vaccine against something like HIV...
02-03-2007, 12:43 PM
it must be quite hard...i was also reading that the virus had to be lab-created, as its so balanced and "perfect"... it may just be a conspiracy theory tho
02-03-2007, 12:54 PM
It's so perfect that many believe it was. However if you look back at when HIV first hit the human population, and the advances we had made in science then...it's highly unlikly.
Guess it's mother natures way of controlling the population....
Mr Shooter
02-03-2007, 09:59 PM
You fellas shared some info dat i didn't know and as Dinesh says its the only way that a cure or relief can be found.. tru human trails...no matter how sad it may look.
As to conspiracy theories i have heard that it very well be man made, but dere ain't know evidence to support such a claim. I see it as a from of race control like cancer.... but dats a different topic all together.
For all the suffers in the world i hope there can be a cure
Phats
02-04-2007, 02:10 PM
if that work well men gonna start brushin girls in uwi like mad :S
02-04-2007, 06:51 PM
i don't think it's man made, but i do believe that all illnesses are encourages by the pharmaceutical associations
02-07-2007, 08:03 PM
they prolly have a cure for it,but it'll be much more profitable for them to make drugs to 'help the infected' than to release the cure
02-07-2007, 08:09 PM
they prolly have a cure for it,but it'll be much more profitable for them to make drugs to 'help the infected' than to release the cure
i dont think so.... i really really hope not
Mr Shooter
02-08-2007, 01:18 PM
Well X remember it have ppl in this world dat doh really care if certain ppl live or die, so i won't doubt that it have a cure and dey keepin it secret so dey can profit from sellin all dem tablets dat suffers does have 2 take. But like u I really really doh hope so.
Phats
02-11-2007, 01:28 AM
hey is life money makes the world go round and ppl do a lot of shit for cash
02-11-2007, 08:35 AM
X. It is very possible. Think about this, let's say a person with AIDS needs about $1000 a month in medication. That means he spending at least $12,000 a year. Multiply that by all the patients who need AIDS treatment. Assuming a cure came out, it would sell quite cheap. Let's say $200 for the cure. After a couple years, AIDS would be wiped out, and then is bye bye for the pharmaceutical company's cash cow.
02-11-2007, 09:09 AM
The cure would NOT come cheap.
Once it's lisensed , (/me forget how dat FDA thing works) , or if one company owns the 'formula' , it's still going to be damn well expensive.
Why make it cheap for poor people, when you can jack the price up for rich promiscuous mcs?
At either rate, the way health is progressing, you relaly need to ask yourself where are we headed.
It's already been seen over the last 100 years ,wtih an increase in health education, increase in health services available to people, and WHO efforts that people are LIVING LONGER. The average age of life has gone up by over 20 years in most cases.
What's going to happen when a cure for Aids comes out?Or a way to wipe out malaria completly? We already cannot feed the world population, nor provide adequate shelter.
Nature has to control the population, curing aids will only make something more virulent emerge.
02-11-2007, 11:53 AM
but dinesh, it is only human to want to preserve more life. a virus is more devastating than hunger...not to diminish the world crisis in hunger though.
question though...Magic Johnson...he has had AIDS since 1990 and he is still very much kicking...makes you wonder though
02-11-2007, 01:22 PM
You dont die from HIV, you die from opportunistic infections that target a compromised immune system.
Donot expose the HIV person to those, and you good to go.
Cancers will also be on the rise because of HIV..
Time is going to make it worse.
Many people are still dieing, 3 million a year or so.
I still think it's measure of population control, and I doubt you are going to see any real 'cure' in our lifetime.
Phats
02-12-2007, 12:14 AM
it is a form of population stability it will help the world from being over populated ..... it was man made i tell u
man made by them dam american scientists ...... dam u americans dam uuuuuuuu.............
02-12-2007, 05:49 AM
Hiv- discovered 1981
Advances in science and medicine at that time make it almost impossible for man to have concievably had any part in it.
02-12-2007, 08:16 AM
unless maybe it was a man-made accident :eek: ... not saying that i believe man mad it... but it is concievable that they could have made it by accident... no matter if they werent advanced enough to engineer the entire thing themselves @ that time